Customer Reviews for Rhino 5942EL Extreme Protection Vault

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Rhino 5942EL Extreme Protection Vault

1,080 lbs., 150 Minute Fire Protection Safe w/Electric Lock, 37 Cubic Ft., Interior Lights
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
(out of 12 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rhino 5942EL Extreme Protection Vault
Review 1 for Rhino 5942EL Extreme Protection Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Date:November 17, 2009

Great Value

Pros: great big safe
Cons: wow it is really heavy
Model Number: 5942EL
"I purchased this safe earlier in 2009. Ordering and delivery was easy, just make sure you have help to move the safe to its final location. Fortunately, the delivery person rolled the safe into my garage. Tip: Get some metal pipes to roll and/or slide the safe into location. I really like the color of the safe and the gold handle/hinges. The inside carpeted shelving is practical. The inside light is really convenient. Push button combination lock is easy to use. I'm glad I got a larger safe; it is easier than you think to fill it with items you originally might not have considered puting in a safe."
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rhino 5942EL Extreme Protection Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 29, 2010

Excellent Safe

Pros: big, 2 1/2 hour fire rating, heavy, well constructed
Model Number: 399262
"This the safe of all safes. If you want peace of mind buy this safe. It's great. It's the biggest safe I've seen. I'm someone who believes in protecting my own property as well as those I love. So, I bought this safe to put my guns, ammo and important papers in. It's built like Fort Knox. The 2 1/2 hour fire protection was a big plus and selling point to me. If a fire every happens, I know my valuables will be safe with that rating. We travel a lot and I know it's going to give me the reassurance I need to store my valuables while away. Amy's the best at Rhino. She's so helpful and accommodating. She was able to assist me in getting the safe into my garage and that was outstanding. You won't be sorry with this purchase."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rhino 5942EL Extreme Protection Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Litchfield Cnty, CT
Date:May 21, 2010

Peace of mind

Pros: american made, super heavy duty
Cons: should have purchased sooner
Model Number: 5942EL
"This is a bargain. I would have paid double to get these features elswhere. Big enough for my guns and guitars. Documents are secure and safe @ 21/2 hour fire rating. It is important to me that it is American made. Amy and the staff were very helpful and patient with my many questions. It's HEAVY, get some friend's help!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rhino 5942EL Extreme Protection Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern New Jersey
Date:April 13, 2011

Happy ... Very Happy!

"This is a great safe from a great company. If you've read other reviews, it is clear that Amy @ Rhino Safes is just "the best there is at what she does." I couldn't be happier with the product or the service and communication. I researched many safes and found this particular safe is the best "bang for the buck!" Rather than dealing with bringing the safe into my home with potentially catastrophic results, I decided to have the safe delivered to a local Rigger. With an 800+lb. top-heavy safe, I did not want to play around with it. I suggest having professionals handle delivery and interior placement. The safe is absolutely "first-class" in design and workmanship. I, now, feel quite secure with my guns, ammo, papers and P.M. within it.
No Cons ... only Pros. Buy it ... you'll be very happy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rhino 5942EL Extreme Protection Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Klamath Falls, Or
Date:February 9, 2011

Great Purchase

Pros: heavy
Model Number: 5942EL
"I am very happy with my purchase. The safe looks great, and was delivered in perfect condition. I hired a local moving company to move it in the house, I felt this was money well spent. Amy at Rhino metals was very helpful in answering my questions. Their customer service was outstanding."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rhino 5942EL Extreme Protection Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas - Gun Country
Date:February 19, 2011

Love it!!

Pros: looks
Cons: distance between digital dial and spin knob
Model Number: Rhino 5942EL Extreme Protection Vault
"First - it is a monster of a safe. It's huge.
We spent a several days determining how to get it in the house. 3 of us (2 guys 1 girl) rented a jack lift from rental store. We pushed safe over slate tiles to a double door threshold. We then used 5, 1.5 inch PVC schedule 40 pipes cut about 2 feet long to roll the safe into place. We were rolling on travertine and wood flooring. We placed the thin packaging material that was very thin wood under the rollers as we went to protect floor. Took about 30 minutes to get it from garage to office.
Secondly, its so nice inside and a nice upgrade for us. This was a 2.5 times in size jump up for us and I am glad we went with this one which has a longer fire rating. We are getting so many complaments on how it looks.
Finally, the company that made it were so professional. Called me and said my custom safe was done and coordiated a time to deliver it. Very nice people and I was pleased as I have dealt with some real winners delivering products.
The only thing that I have noticed is that your hand can sometimes get caught in between the digital push dial and the spin dial when you lock it. Kinda hurts but now I know. Once you do it a few times you remember. They should have designed more room/distance between the two components. Other then that I love it and so does my husband."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rhino 5942EL Extreme Protection Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern KY
Date:October 17, 2011

Worth every penny!

Pros: quality, size, fire resistance
Cons: no internal outlet
Model Number: 5942EL
"I was tempted by some safes from a local company that cost a bit less, but they didn't have the 2.5 hour fire protection, double door seal or solid plate door face this one has. Now that I have it I'm so glad I chose the Rhino instead. The build quality is absolutely first rate, it looks fantastic and the thickness of the fire protection in the walls is really comforting. I installed mine in the garage because it's just too big to fit inside our small house. The delivery agent was kind enough to use his pallet jack to roll it inside the garage for me. I should mention that the local delivery agent they used was very helpful and accommodating. The whole process of scheduling delivery couldn't have been any easier.
It comes on metal shipping legs so you will need a strong prybar and some wood blocks to remove them once you unbolt it. I used a long pry bar to gently lower it onto a layer of steel BB's and used them like tiny ball bearings to roll it into position against the interior wall. I used four strike bolts to bolt it firmly in place to the concrete floor---you'll need to buy or borrow a hammer drill if you're installing it on concrete. Don't even think about not bolting it down in spite of the fact it's almost 1/2 ton--thieves are amazingly resourceful when it comes to stealing thousands of $$$ worth of guns.
The safe comes with a fluorescent light bar installed in the top, which is nice, but I think Rhino missed an opportunity. The back of the safe has an electrical socket that accepts a standard computer power cord but the internal wire from it runs to the light bar and nowhere else. It would have been great if they had wired up an internal outlet to plug in a Goldenrod, but they didn't. You have to drill out a hole through the back. Still, that's a minor criticism of what is otherwise one of the smartest investments I've made. This thing just screams quality and security and I don't think Rhino is exaggerating when they call it an "Extreme Protection Vault". This is a purchase you won't regret. The slightly higher initial cost will be long forgotten if you ever suffer a fire or a burglary. Knowing the entire place could burn down around it and your valuables would still be safe makes this a great investment in peace of mind. Go ahead, buy the best one...you'll never have to upgrade later if you get the best one from the start."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rhino 5942EL Extreme Protection Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:November 11, 2011

Incredible Safe!

Pros: appearance quality price
Model Number: 5942L
"I shopped long and hard before choosing this safe. It is absolutely amazing. The outside and inside could not be better. The light is really needed and handles the job. Fit and finish superb. Bottom line--if you are in the market for a top of the line safe, just buy this one and you will be happy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rhino 5942EL Extreme Protection Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Goldendale, WA
Date:June 2, 2010

Beautiful workmanship

Pros: beautiful safe
Cons: this baby is a brute to move!
Model Number: Rhino 37 CuFt Safe
"This safe is heavy! One of the reasons I bought it-unlikely to be opened or removed from its home! Great warrenty and holds all our family's firearms. The light is nice and the color augments my man-cave decor. Makes me feel better just knowing our firearms are safe (theft, fire, kids)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rhino 5942EL Extreme Protection Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clackamas, Or.
Date:September 12, 2011

Best bang for the buck

Pros: value fit & finish size
"This is the most safe you can get for the money. 37 cu.ft., 10 ga. construction and a 2.5 hour fire rating. Interior materials are also very nice. Delivered as promised, the delivery guy even wheeled it into my garage."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rhino 5942EL Extreme Protection Vault
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
Date:October 28, 2011

Great Safe

Model Number: Rhino 5942EL
"This is an outstanding safe...the pictures are nice...but do not do it justice...particularly the fit and finish and powder coat finish, which is the nicest I've seen on a safe, even nicer, in my opinion, than the metalflake automotive type paint finishes found on very high end safes. Also, the safe has a very narrow and uniform gap between the door edge and the door frame. The modular interior is easy to reconfigure...and the interior light is a nice feature. All aspects of this purchase were outstanding. Amy at Rhino Metals is easy to reach and always pleasant and very helpful. The delivering motor carrier called me two hours before delivery...and was very professional and great to work with....and positioned the safe at the top of my driveway only 30 feet from my back door. (I used a local safe company with all the proper equipment to move it into my home.) And finally, the safe was very well prepared for transport. It had two steel pallet type skid structures bolted to the bottom (total of 4 bolts) of the safe (easy to remove) that elevated the safe about 5 or 6 inches making it easy to access by handling equipment. The safe was well wrapped in a sheet of foam protective material which was securely taped into place. This was covered by sheets of particle board, which were also securely taped into place...and then a heavy duty cardboard box was lowered over the safe and secured in place. For those who need a half ton fire-resistant safe...I can't imagine that you'd be anything but extremely pleased with this safe."
Review 12 for Rhino 5942EL Extreme Protection Vault
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2012
Model Number: Rhino 5942EL
"37 cubic ft capacity claim is misleading. Actual interior is less than 20 cubic ft. The difference between interior and exterior height dimensions is only 3 inches. This isn't very much divided between top and bottom. I'm guessing the bottom has no fire protection. That might be ok if you are installing it on a basement or garage slab, but I would'nt place it on a wood structure."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.