Customer Reviews for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe

Meets or exceeds the California Department of Justice acceptable gun safe standards. The Bighorn 6039EL will give you unparalleled peace of mind and security against fire & theft at an unbeatable value.  This rock solid safe features thick heavy bodied construction, 70-minute/1200°F fire protection, fine styling and adjustable interior, and the industry's best residential warranty and customer service. Residential Limited Lifetime Warranty: Limited Lifetime Warranty Free repair or replacement in the event of an attempted or actual Burglary attack Free repair or replacement in the event of a Fire UL ® Listed Commercial Grade Type 1 Electronic Lock: Quick and simple code entry for access Easy to program entry code Up to 1,000,000 possible different codes Entry codes are stored inside the safe, not in the external keypad Anti-tamper auto lockout after three incorrect code entries Battery accessible from outside User codes are not lost when battery is removed or goes dead or if keypad is damaged or removed Security Features: Listed with UL ® as a Residential Security Container and meets or exceeds California DOJ acceptable gun safe standards UL ® Listed Commercial grade Type 1 electronic lock Extra thick rigid door for added security against prying attacks, 5.5” overall thickness 1.5” diameter door bolts securely lock the door at 10 different points for maximum 4 sided protection (10 door bolts total) Triple hardened steel plate protects the lock from drill attacks Spring loaded re-locker keeps safe secure if lock is tampered with or removed Weight: 830 lbs. / 31.95 external cubic feet Interior Features: 19.83 cubic feet of interior space Interior dimensions: 56" H x 36" W x 17" D Holds up to 33 long guns Adjustable shelving and interior walls upholstered in automotive grade fabric Predrilled for anchoring to the floor Predrilled through the steel for a dehumidifier External hinge, 180° opening door provides greater access than internal hinged designs, limited to only 90° of opening Exterior Features: 31.95 cubic feet External dimensions:  59” H x 39” W x 24” D (not including handle) Durable, baked-on powder coated Black finish with Brass accents Removable steel shipping feet Fire Protection: Full 70 minute / 1200°F fire protection: internal safe temperature remains below 275° Heat activated expanding door seal – helps keep out smoke and heat Fully fire lined, no uncovered hot spot areas like most internal hinge designs
Average Customer Rating:
4.906 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
(out of 32 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 of 32(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Review 1 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, ARIZ
Date:November 5, 2012

Value and quality driven product

Pros: really good value for the money/personable staff
Cons: none
Model Number: Bighorn B6039EL
"You get your dollars worth and more on this one. The B6039EL is a great safe. We all feel more secure with our rifles, handguns and valuables stored safely. Especially the hand me downs and the one's we've bought and collected over the years. Finally their being tucked away in our new Bighorn gives us a better piece of mind. Besides being a very good safe it has a great presence."
Review 2 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Upstate S.C.
Date:June 7, 2012

Waited Awhile To Review

Pros: wife likes
Cons: door tightness tab
Model Number: B6039EL
". I have waited to write a review because I wanted to be straight up on my assessment. Excellent product. Had professional install, level,give advice. Purchased 2 yr lock warranty. Have done minor support issues inside safe.Odor problem solved by coffee,baking soda. Have a linked light system,dehumidifier. Door tightness tab is 'rinky-dink'. 300' from fire hydrant, so fire rating excellent. Costco/Rhino team good fit. My wife and I like ease of opening. Bottom line, money well spent."
Review 3 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:April 20, 2012

Bighorn Heavy Duth Safe

Pros: well built good lock
Cons: filmsy shelf
Model Number: B6039EL
"This is one sturdy built safe! The bolt lugs are massive and the safe is very heavy at 830 pounds. The lock works very well. I purchased the extended warranty on the lock.
What I didn't like about the safe is the left side configuration for the rifles. I had to call Rhino and pay $29 + shipping to get the horse shoe shaped one like on the right side. From the photos it appeared they both were the same. The top shelf is filmsy and will not support any weight.
"
Review 4 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WELLSVILLE KS
Date:March 27, 2012

Great Safe For The Money

Pros: heavy duty
Cons: none
Model Number: B 6039 EL
"Arrived Much Sooner Than Expected,
Just As Advertised, Seller And Shipper Kept Me Informed Every Step Of The Way
"
Review 5 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 21, 2012

Great value

Pros: cost/value, build quality
Cons: temporary glue smell, made in china
"I would have loved to bought the higher end Rhino safe (same company), but couldn't justify it based on the value of this safe. There was a minor issue with the lock on delivery. They were very quick to take care of it. Delivery co put it in garage. Hired a professional company to move it down to basement and bolt it down. It was easy to move the shelves from the right side of the safe to the left side. its solid and well built. It does take a while for the glue odor to go away, but I just left the safe door open for the first week+. I recommend that you put your important papers into a fire-safe box inside ANY safe."
Review 6 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Victorville, CA
Date:February 1, 2012

Best Safe for the job

Pros: good vaule
Model Number: B6039EL
"The quality of this Safe is very high. With 1.5” locking pins and smooth lock mechanism. Good interior. A real value for 70 minute fire protection. Shipping was painless, Costco kept me informed via email until the delivery was made. Bighorn’s bolted on metal “shipping feet” beat a packaging wooden pallet hands down and makes for easy Safe positioning. Installation instructions read good and simple. I bought two of these Safes and would do it again."
Review 7 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodland, WA
Date:January 27, 2012

Very Happy!!

Pros: price quality and looks
Cons: none
Model Number: B6039EL
"Like other reviewers, I was told too expect 4-6 weeks for delivery. I had mine in thirteen days. Incredible!! Even with Christmas coming they had it to me three days before Christmas! The driver was great. We live in the country and the fog had started to roll in and it was getting dark. Finding our driveway wasn’t easy for him but he made up our hill and even placed it on our front porch for us. He went above and beyond what would be called a normal delivery. He was fantastic!!
Be advised, you WILL need at least four people to move this thing. Even with it strapped to a heavy duty appliance dolly we couldn’t tip it back to balance it to move it. We wound up removing the door, which I highly recommend. Be careful because it’s heavier then you think once it clears the hinges and putting it back on is a little tricky too. I suggest a floor jack under the bottom edge of the door and then lower it on to the hinges. I love the safe!! It’s even better then I imagined and the price can’t be beat!
"
Review 8 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Texas (Sutton County)
Date:January 5, 2012

Bighorn B6039EL

Pros: quality, customer service, delivery
Cons: have not found one negative think as of today
Model Number: B6039EL
"When safe was ordered I was given a 4-6 week delivery date. I actually received it in 16 days. WOW! Could not have been more satisfied with the way the order was handeled. It arrived in pefect condition. And the delivery driver brought it inside my garage for me, which was a tremendous help considering the weight. I shopped several different brands, but this one was by far the best in quality for the money. The sales people at Rhino were very helpful when I called with all my questions."
Review 9 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hawthorn Woods, IL
Date:October 27, 2011

Excellent value

Pros: 10 gauge steel, excellent temperature rating, large size
Cons: made in china
Model Number: B6039EL
"OK, I thought I was buying a well made safe with all the features I wanted, including made in America. Close, but not quite.
At this price point I did not find another safe this size with 10 gauge steel walls and the temperature exposure rating. So from a security standpoint, two thumbs up!
Less important is the luxury of the interior. This one is not luxurious, but neither were most of the others I looked at. It's functional, but not more. If you want luxury, spend a lot more or recover the interior of this one.
Disappointing, but a fact of life today, is that the safe is made in China. Probably did not read carefully enough before ordering, but thought it was made in Idaho. Nope, Rhino is in Idaho but the safe arrives with a serial number / Made In China sticker attached to the upper corner of the right side. Oh well, tried to buy most anything else recently? No wonder we don't have as many American jobs as we once did.
Sorry, soap box aside, this is a really good safe, especially for the money paid.
Oh yea, be prepared to pay $400-$500 to get it from the driveway into your house. This thing is heavy and takes four guys and a good dolly to move. Mine is now in the basement thanks to four big guys and their skills."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:October 1, 2011

Buy this safe!

Pros: better fire protection then others in this price, best company to deal with
Model Number: B6039EL
"Great value...weighs 830 pounds and uses 10 gauge steel. Better fire protection then safes costing more. Outstanding company to deal with. Amy in customer service at Bighorn is fantastic and will help you with any accessories you might need and does a great job of updating you on shipping and answering questions. Shipped fast and is outstanding"
Review 11 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2011

real good buy

Pros: 70 min. fire rating
Cons: only two bolt down holes
Model Number: B6039EL
"Great safe for the money. Delivered in about two weeks. Arrived in perfect condition. Had movers put it in place due to its weight. Very happy with the whole transaction."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2011

I Want another one

Pros: 70 minute fire rating
Cons: could use better shelf brackets
Model Number: B6039EL
"I chose this safe over some more expensive brands because of the 70 minute fire rating. The finish is not as pretty as the expensive high gloss safes but is nice and durable. This safe is heavier than others the same size so you will need help and equipment to move it. The door lifts up and off when it is open so you can move it in two pieces which made it much easier. The interior also isn't quite as nice as the more expensive brands but is acceptable. The locking system is heavy duty and easy to use."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gillette, WY
Date:July 20, 2011

Awesome Safe

Pros: high quality
Cons: strong odor inside
Model Number: Bighorn B6039EL
"After extensive research I decided to buy the Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe mostly for its size and the70 minute Fire Protection. It far surpassed all the other safes I had looked at. When it arrived I was very impressed with the craftsmanship and quality of the safe. It is VERY heavy and I needed 3 strong friends to put it in the house. It has holes in the bottom of the safe so you can anchor it to floor, which I recommend. I am very happy with it and would recommend it to anyone wanting a large sturdy well built safe. It has a very strong odor of industrial glue used to glue the carpet inside, but I left the door open and put a fan if front of it for a couple of days and it dissapated the smell."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:January 29, 2011

Fantastic safe

Model Number: B6039
"Incorrect safe arrived at first but Mike at Rhino took care of the p/u and redelivery immediately and I had the correct safe within a few days. I am very pleased at Rhino and Costco's customer service. This is a really solid safe and very high quality. It does have a pretty strong solvent smell that permeates every item you store in the safe and takes on the solvent odor. Other than the smell, I am very pleased."
Review 15 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Date:January 2, 2011

Awesome Safe

Pros: heavy safe, great price, delivery included
Cons: should have bought this sooner
Model Number: B6039
"I finally got my Bighorn Safe after a year of researching the best safe for the price and weight. It took eight days to be delivered to my house. The delivery driver was even kind enough to help me roll the safe into the garage because it was about to start raining. Four friends came the next day and with the help of a dolley with straps and beer, we were able to get it in the house with no problem. The safe is big and heavy for the average person's usage. The codes were easy to install as were the shelves. All that I need now is a dehumidifier. Thanks Costco.com and Bighorn for your fast and professional service."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Western North Carolina
Date:December 8, 2010

A Safe Bet!

Pros: great deal!
Cons: none
Model Number: B6039EL
"This safe purchase exceeded my expectations! From prepurchase questions that were answered by the sweet ladies at Rhino Safes, to the Costco online order, and the excellent above and beyond quick and helpful R&L trucking delivery, everything went right. Shopped around and Costco had the best price with the shipping included. Would repeat this transaction again.A+"
Review 17 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clinton, MO
Date:July 27, 2010

Great Value

Model Number: 6039EL
"Great service, very quick delivery. The safe is as stated, nice interior and the lock system works great and is very easy/quick to open. The exterior finish and weight factors are good and the fire rating is above average for the price range. Good value. Just wish it had been "Made in the USA"."
Review 18 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern Calif
Date:July 2, 2010

Bighorn 31 cu safe

Pros: best gun safe made for the money, customer service the best of the best, thank you "amy" and jason
Model Number: Big Horn 31 cu Ft. Model 6039EL
"I purchased this safe for several reasons and it's largely due to the customer service of Amy and Jason.
Amy answered every question I asked her and she always had the right responses. She was polite and very customer service minded.
When I purchased the safe I ordered it with a manual lock which I decided I didn't care for and later changed it to the digital lock with no problems from Rhino safes. Rhino sent me the digital lock and their safe man ( Jason) called me long distance and walked me through the change over process with no problems. Please keep in mind this process took at least 30 minutes at their expense. Now that is custoner service.
Now for the safe. It's the best gun safe on the market for the money - period. Do your self a favor and purchase this safe with the 70 minute fire rating. Those firearms cost a lot of money.
The reviews of this safe from Costco and Rhino Metals speaks for the safe and the company.
PS: Don't forget Costo stands behind their sales and products."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2010

Excellent

Pros: it's huge
Cons: it's huge
"This was a great father's day gift for my girl friends dad. The shipping is included in the price and the company is great to deal with. They let you know everything that is going on without asking and the safe came in perfect shape. Couldn't ask for more."
Review 20 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:May 7, 2010

Excellent safe!!!!

Pros: everything is great about this product, shipping included in price
Cons: none
Model Number: 6039EL
"After researching online, at guns stores, and many companies and products I opted on this one because of quality and best bang for the buck. It has a great appearance and the interior is designed well not to mention it weighs in at 800 pounds and is very sturdy. I would recommend this to anyone. The experience with Costco was awsome and the folks at Rhino are very friendly and great to work with."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>