Customer Reviews for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe

Meets or exceeds the California Department of Justice acceptable gun safe standards. The Bighorn 6039EL will give you unparalleled peace of mind and security against fire & theft at an unbeatable value.  This rock solid safe features thick heavy bodied construction, 70-minute/1200°F fire protection, fine styling and adjustable interior, and the industry's best residential warranty and customer service. Residential Limited Lifetime Warranty: Limited Lifetime Warranty Free repair or replacement in the event of an attempted or actual Burglary attack Free repair or replacement in the event of a Fire UL ® Listed Commercial Grade Type 1 Electronic Lock: Quick and simple code entry for access Easy to program entry code Up to 1,000,000 possible different codes Entry codes are stored inside the safe, not in the external keypad Anti-tamper auto lockout after three incorrect code entries Battery accessible from outside User codes are not lost when battery is removed or goes dead or if keypad is damaged or removed Security Features: Listed with UL ® as a Residential Security Container and meets or exceeds California DOJ acceptable gun safe standards UL ® Listed Commercial grade Type 1 electronic lock Extra thick rigid door for added security against prying attacks, 5.5” overall thickness 1.5” diameter door bolts securely lock the door at 10 different points for maximum 4 sided protection (10 door bolts total) Triple hardened steel plate protects the lock from drill attacks Spring loaded re-locker keeps safe secure if lock is tampered with or removed Weight: 830 lbs. / 31.95 external cubic feet Interior Features: 19.83 cubic feet of interior space Interior dimensions: 56" H x 36" W x 17" D Holds up to 33 long guns Adjustable shelving and interior walls upholstered in automotive grade fabric Predrilled for anchoring to the floor Predrilled through the steel for a dehumidifier External hinge, 180° opening door provides greater access than internal hinged designs, limited to only 90° of opening Exterior Features: 31.95 cubic feet External dimensions:  59” H x 39” W x 24” D (not including handle) Durable, baked-on powder coated Black finish with Brass accents Removable steel shipping feet Fire Protection: Full 70 minute / 1200°F fire protection: internal safe temperature remains below 275° Heat activated expanding door seal – helps keep out smoke and heat Fully fire lined, no uncovered hot spot areas like most internal hinge designs
Average Customer Rating:
4.906 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
(out of 32 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 of 32(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Review 1 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern Calif
Date:July 2, 2010

Bighorn 31 cu safe

Pros: best gun safe made for the money, customer service the best of the best, thank you "amy" and jason
Model Number: Big Horn 31 cu Ft. Model 6039EL
"I purchased this safe for several reasons and it's largely due to the customer service of Amy and Jason.
Amy answered every question I asked her and she always had the right responses. She was polite and very customer service minded.
When I purchased the safe I ordered it with a manual lock which I decided I didn't care for and later changed it to the digital lock with no problems from Rhino safes. Rhino sent me the digital lock and their safe man ( Jason) called me long distance and walked me through the change over process with no problems. Please keep in mind this process took at least 30 minutes at their expense. Now that is custoner service.
Now for the safe. It's the best gun safe on the market for the money - period. Do your self a favor and purchase this safe with the 70 minute fire rating. Those firearms cost a lot of money.
The reviews of this safe from Costco and Rhino Metals speaks for the safe and the company.
PS: Don't forget Costo stands behind their sales and products."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodland, WA
Date:January 27, 2012

Very Happy!!

Pros: price quality and looks
Cons: none
Model Number: B6039EL
"Like other reviewers, I was told too expect 4-6 weeks for delivery. I had mine in thirteen days. Incredible!! Even with Christmas coming they had it to me three days before Christmas! The driver was great. We live in the country and the fog had started to roll in and it was getting dark. Finding our driveway wasn’t easy for him but he made up our hill and even placed it on our front porch for us. He went above and beyond what would be called a normal delivery. He was fantastic!!
Be advised, you WILL need at least four people to move this thing. Even with it strapped to a heavy duty appliance dolly we couldn’t tip it back to balance it to move it. We wound up removing the door, which I highly recommend. Be careful because it’s heavier then you think once it clears the hinges and putting it back on is a little tricky too. I suggest a floor jack under the bottom edge of the door and then lower it on to the hinges. I love the safe!! It’s even better then I imagined and the price can’t be beat!
"
Review 3 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:(tax and spend) Washington state
Date:February 18, 2010

heavy duty value

Model Number: Bighorn 6039EL
"I received my Bighorn 6039 safe within 2 weeks of ordering. I also did a ton of research on the net and looked at various stores in the region. I feel like I made the right choice with this purchase. Just having it shipped and delivered saves a lot of time and straining, as well as having 2-3 people having to tag along and assist loading into your large truck! Getting it into your dwelling is another matter,however. This safe weighs 830 pounds and is made with 10 guage steel as opposed to 12 guage steel,which is lighter. These were the main reasons as well as the 70 minute fire rating, I purchased the Bighorn over the other brands. Rhino even swapped out the e-lock for the manual combo,which I preferred! The price cant be beat for what you get! Also, everybody said buy the biggest safe you can afford! That is true,you can never have enough room and they fill up quickly. I was going to go smaller but glad i didn't. This safe will last forever and be passed down to my son someday. Very satisfied with my decision,no regrets!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SF , CA
Date:April 5, 2010

Excellent Buy

Pros: spacious, solid, secure
Cons: heavy also a plus.
"This should be big enough to hold my stuff.
It is very nice...no regrets. Great investment for peace of mind. If I had room I'd even go bigger but that might be overkill.
The distributor rep was easily available via email and was very helpful. They switched out the digital lock for a manual one for free.
I ordered on a Saturday, they shipped on Wednesday and I received it on Friday plus the shipper was early. The driver will move it to your garage (give the guy a few bucks).
Moving it into your house will probably require 3 - 4 average size guys for safety if you use a dolly. 2 - 3 guys if you use plywood and wooden dowels to roll it. Stairs ??? Then hire a pro.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:November 19, 2009

Excellent Safe

Pros: qualtiy overall
"What sets this safe apart from the others is it's price. It has quality features that are found on safes costing hundreds more.
Finish is top-notch and you can 'feel' the quality, which is something important to me. Rhino was very helpful and had no problems giving me the standard dial rather than electronic lock. Also, the carpet interior is much better than others well above the price range which I liked.
It was delivered and the truck had a pallet jack so we put it in the garage until someone came and moved it in. It's really heavy but I found several people that would move it in for 150-200 bucks which isn't a bad price. With an appliance dolly and 4 friends you should be able to move it.
I just might buy another!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2011

I Want another one

Pros: 70 minute fire rating
Cons: could use better shelf brackets
Model Number: B6039EL
"I chose this safe over some more expensive brands because of the 70 minute fire rating. The finish is not as pretty as the expensive high gloss safes but is nice and durable. This safe is heavier than others the same size so you will need help and equipment to move it. The door lifts up and off when it is open so you can move it in two pieces which made it much easier. The interior also isn't quite as nice as the more expensive brands but is acceptable. The locking system is heavy duty and easy to use."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gun lovin Arizona!
Date:November 19, 2009

Bighorn #6039 31CuFt Heavy Duty Safe

Pros: roomy and versatile
Cons: none found yet
Model Number: #6039
"Awesome safe for the value and price!!! Don't miss this one!!! I had been looking for a good quality gun safe and did a lot of research. After many reviews and 9 out of 9 5 Star ratings I decided to go for it. The safe is beautiful and the delivery was within a week. The driver was professional and friendly. Be nice to him. help him and he will spot if for you in the garage. My only request would be more information or service on how to get it into the spot you want it in the house. After all it is 830 lbs. Great safe and highly recommended. It is my first and I am very pleased."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gillette, WY
Date:July 20, 2011

Awesome Safe

Pros: high quality
Cons: strong odor inside
Model Number: Bighorn B6039EL
"After extensive research I decided to buy the Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe mostly for its size and the70 minute Fire Protection. It far surpassed all the other safes I had looked at. When it arrived I was very impressed with the craftsmanship and quality of the safe. It is VERY heavy and I needed 3 strong friends to put it in the house. It has holes in the bottom of the safe so you can anchor it to floor, which I recommend. I am very happy with it and would recommend it to anyone wanting a large sturdy well built safe. It has a very strong odor of industrial glue used to glue the carpet inside, but I left the door open and put a fan if front of it for a couple of days and it dissapated the smell."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:March 17, 2010

Green Mountain Brothers Bag 3 Bighorns

Model Number: Bighorn 31 Model # 6039 and Two - Bighorn 47 Model # 7144
"We spent several months conducting research: internet, visiting safe dealers, locksmiths, and telephone conversations with numerous manufacturers. We discovered that the Bighorn Safes from Rhino Metals had the product that met our specifications along with excellent customer service and support as well. The crew at Rhino impressed us a great deal during our research phase. Both Amy and Jennifer at Rhino Metals are very knowledgeable about the product and assisted us with the purchase of add-on options like: extra shelving, dehumidifier rods, and locks.
Of primary importance, we all wanted the thicker 10 gauge steel as apposed to the thinner 12 gauge. Most other manufacturers of 10 gauge thick safes were nearly double in price in contrast to Bighorn! The 70-minute fire rating and 1 ½” locking bolts on Bighorn Safes were the secondary factors that convinced us that Rhino Metals had the product of choice.
My oldest brother enjoys the Bighorn 47 with the electronic lock as advertised. Our youngest brother prefers the manual/mechanical lock on his Bighorn 47. Rhino Metals allows the customer to substitute locks and will install the manual combination lock at no extra charge! My storage needs are less therefore, I ordered the Bighorn 31 with the electronic lock and purchased the manual lock in case I decide to switch it out in the future. Amy informed me that the technicians at Rhino would talk me through the lock installation process when I’m ready. That’s what we are talking about when outstanding customer service is mentioned!
Curbside delivery is included however, the friendly professional driver will gladly place the safe under cover in your garage providing you recognize his service.
The Green Mountain Boys believe that the “class act” Rhino Metals will be in business for many years to come."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Date:January 2, 2011

Awesome Safe

Pros: heavy safe, great price, delivery included
Cons: should have bought this sooner
Model Number: B6039
"I finally got my Bighorn Safe after a year of researching the best safe for the price and weight. It took eight days to be delivered to my house. The delivery driver was even kind enough to help me roll the safe into the garage because it was about to start raining. Four friends came the next day and with the help of a dolley with straps and beer, we were able to get it in the house with no problem. The safe is big and heavy for the average person's usage. The codes were easy to install as were the shelves. All that I need now is a dehumidifier. Thanks Costco.com and Bighorn for your fast and professional service."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sandpoint, N. Idaho
Date:April 20, 2010

A pleasure to do business with...

Pros: superior customer service
Model Number: Item # 399367
"I read reviews of gun safes to see how owners felt about their purchases. Reviews of some manufactures’ safes were over half dissatisfied, due to poor customer service. When I checked the reviews for Rhino safes, every one raved about the customer service, as well as the quality and gave Rhino/Big Horn safes 5 stars. I knew Rhino was the right company; I just had to choose the right model. I’m looking forward to getting the safe and the accessories. Thanks to Amy for a great buying experience. It’s a pleasure doing business with a company that provides great service to go with their excellent products."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:February 26, 2010

Best Safe for Money

Pros: great quality, super value, quick delivery, very responsive
Model Number: Bighorn 31CuFt Heavy Duty Safe
"I purchased the Bighorn 31 CuFt safe recently and have to say that I have been very impressed with the value, responsiveness and quality of the experience. I spent a lot of time researching safes and ended up joining CostCo to purchase this particular model. When I had questions, I received very prompt and accurate responses from Rhino Metals (the manufacturer of the safe) and the delivery time was much faster than Costco quotes on their site or I expected.
You can spend a lot more for a gun safe, but you won't get any better value, quality or service in my book.
Very Satisfied"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gilroy, CA
Date:March 17, 2010

Highly Recommend

Pros: great value
Model Number: Item # 399367
"I knew the moment I took the cardboard off the package I had made the right choice picking a Rhino safe. The quality of the outside surface is excellent. The extra plush carpet and care Rhino uses to finish the inside of the safe makes it standout from safes costing much more. After researching safes for the last year I was all set to go with another national brand that Costco carries. In looking for that safe I found The Big Horn Safe from Rhino. It took all of 2 minutes to realize the extra thick steel case, the external hinges and the huge 1 ½ inch diameter locking pins made this safe a great value. When I realized the fire rating for this safe was twice that of safes costing much more, I knew I had found the safe I had been looking for. You can not go wrong with this brand. I ordered my safe Sunday night and received a confirmation email by 9:00 Monday morning. The safe shipped that same afternoon. Talk about customer service, from ordering, (including the extra items I ordered from the factory) to the delivery of the safe four days later, it was truly a pleasant experience. The trucking guy even went above and beyond the call of duty helping me move it into the garage out of the rain. A word of warning, moving this safe around on your own is a challenge. Be smart and have a couple of your buddies around to help man handle it. At 840 lbs you don’t just push this to move it. I highly recommend this unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hawthorn Woods, IL
Date:October 27, 2011

Excellent value

Pros: 10 gauge steel, excellent temperature rating, large size
Cons: made in china
Model Number: B6039EL
"OK, I thought I was buying a well made safe with all the features I wanted, including made in America. Close, but not quite.
At this price point I did not find another safe this size with 10 gauge steel walls and the temperature exposure rating. So from a security standpoint, two thumbs up!
Less important is the luxury of the interior. This one is not luxurious, but neither were most of the others I looked at. It's functional, but not more. If you want luxury, spend a lot more or recover the interior of this one.
Disappointing, but a fact of life today, is that the safe is made in China. Probably did not read carefully enough before ordering, but thought it was made in Idaho. Nope, Rhino is in Idaho but the safe arrives with a serial number / Made In China sticker attached to the upper corner of the right side. Oh well, tried to buy most anything else recently? No wonder we don't have as many American jobs as we once did.
Sorry, soap box aside, this is a really good safe, especially for the money paid.
Oh yea, be prepared to pay $400-$500 to get it from the driveway into your house. This thing is heavy and takes four guys and a good dolly to move. Mine is now in the basement thanks to four big guys and their skills."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:May 7, 2010

Excellent safe!!!!

Pros: everything is great about this product, shipping included in price
Cons: none
Model Number: 6039EL
"After researching online, at guns stores, and many companies and products I opted on this one because of quality and best bang for the buck. It has a great appearance and the interior is designed well not to mention it weighs in at 800 pounds and is very sturdy. I would recommend this to anyone. The experience with Costco was awsome and the folks at Rhino are very friendly and great to work with."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Norco, ca.
Date:April 29, 2010

Outstanding purchase and value. Very pleased.

Pros: excellent exterior and interior finish
Cons: none
Model Number: 6039EL
"This is really a great safe at a great price, an excellent investment. I expended many hours in research into all the major safe companies and selected the Bighorn 31 Cu Ft safe due to the value and features for the price. I purchased this as a firearms safe.
My wife thinks it looks "really nice"."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2011

real good buy

Pros: 70 min. fire rating
Cons: only two bolt down holes
Model Number: B6039EL
"Great safe for the money. Delivered in about two weeks. Arrived in perfect condition. Had movers put it in place due to its weight. Very happy with the whole transaction."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:March 3, 2010

Great safe, amazing customer service

Model Number: Item # 399367
"I purchased this safe primarily to store valuables, documents and photographs. I am not a gun owner. I wanted a safe that would be highly secure and would give me peace of mind against a theft, burglary or fire. Both of us work and there are folks in the house to take care of kids and for other odd jobs. I wanted a safe to put all important documents away. Most people I talked to do not think of a safe for this purpose but I would highly recommend that they do!
After extensive research and talking to a number of people that have safes - inexpensive ones to those that cost thousands of dollars, I think I have found the best value. At 830 pounds, no one is going to be able to carry this away and I would doubt it would be broken into. With the strong fire rating, I never have to worry about the contents getting damaged.
The customer service at Rhino Metals was amazing. They took me through the entire process very smoothly. Amy, thanks a lot for your patience and help. You were great. Thank You!
Amy answered any and every question that had whether it was related to kinds of safes to consider, delivery, how to get in inside the house, features, warranty etc.
I would highly recommend this safe. You will not be disappointed."
Review 19 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 21, 2012

Great value

Pros: cost/value, build quality
Cons: temporary glue smell, made in china
"I would have loved to bought the higher end Rhino safe (same company), but couldn't justify it based on the value of this safe. There was a minor issue with the lock on delivery. They were very quick to take care of it. Delivery co put it in garage. Hired a professional company to move it down to basement and bolt it down. It was easy to move the shelves from the right side of the safe to the left side. its solid and well built. It does take a while for the glue odor to go away, but I just left the safe door open for the first week+. I recommend that you put your important papers into a fire-safe box inside ANY safe."
Review 20 for Bighorn B6039EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:northwest arkansas, USA
Date:February 1, 2010

I really like my Rhino

Model Number: Rhino Bighorn 3069
"After A LOT of research, I recently decided this safe was the one for me and made the purchase. I am absolutely convinced I made the right choice, and everyone I've shown it to agrees. I've never reviewed a product before, but feel compelled to share my complete satisfaction with this one. The over-all quality, features and value really are quite impressive, as was my customer service experience with the fine people at Rhino. Jennifer, if you read this, thanks for going the extra mile and then some for me. You made this my best customer service experience ever."
1 2 next>>