Customer Reviews for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe

Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe

Meets or exceeds the California Department of Justice acceptable gun safe standards. The Bighorn 6030EL will give you unparalleled peace of mind and security against fire & theft at an unbeatable value.  This rock solid safe features thick heavy bodied construction, 70-minute/1200°F fire protection, fine styling and adjustable interior, and the industry's best residential warranty and customer service. Residential Limited Lifetime Warranty: Limited Lifetime Warranty Free repair or replacement in the event of an attempted or actual Burglary attack Free repair or replacement in the event of a Fire UL ® Listed Commercial Grade Type 1 Electronic Lock: Quick and simple code entry for access Easy to program entry code Up to 1,000,000 possible different codes Entry codes are stored inside the safe, not in the external keypad Anti-tamper auto lockout after three incorrect code entries Battery accessible from outside User codes are not lost when battery is removed or goes dead or if keypad is damaged or removed Security Features: Listed with UL ® as a Residential Security Container and meets or exceeds California DOJ acceptable gun safe standards UL ® Listed Commercial grade Type 1 electronic lock Extra thick rigid door for added security against prying attacks.  4.75” overall thickness 1.25” diameter door bolts securely lock the door at 10 different points for maximum 4 sided protection (10 door bolts total) Triple hardened steel plate protects the lock from drill attacks Spring loaded re-locker keeps safe secure if lock is tampered with or removed Weight:700 lbs. / 24.58 external cubic feet Interior Features:   14.87 cubic feet of interior space Interior dimensions: 56" H x 27" W x 17" D Holds up to 26 long guns Adjustable shelving and interior walls upholstered in automotive grade fabric Predrilled for anchoring to the floor Predrilled though the steel for a dehumidifier External hinge, 180° opening door provides greater access than internal hinged designs, limited to only 90° of opening Exterior Features:   24.58 external cubic feet External dimensions:  59” H x 30” W x 24” D (not including handle) Durable, baked-on powder coated Black finish with Brass accents Removable steel shipping feet Fire Protection: Full 70 minute / 1200°F fire protection: internal safe temperature remains below 275° Heat activated expanding door seal – helps keep out smoke and heat Fully fire lined, no uncovered hot spot areas like most internal hinge designs
Average Customer Rating:
4.695 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
(out of 59 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
57 of 59(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Review 1 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sonoma, CA
Date:March 22, 2011
Pros: quality, price
Cons: smell
Model Number: B6030EL
"4 out of 5 for an amazing product!!
Bang for your buck, I don't think you'll beat it.
It would be 5 for 5, but the odd chemical smell is just too much to let go.
Smell aside...
This safe if amazing and Rhino Metals is great! Customer service was very helpful. As others have mentioned, deliver was VERY fast. I ordered it online and it was in my room 7 days later!!
At 700lbs, this safe is a beast, so get some help! I had myself and 2 other guys with s super duty dolly to get it from the street to my bedroom. It really was not enough to safely move it. I was nearly crushed when I had it kicked back on the wheels.
One it was in place, I loved it!
This safe is great quality all around. The electronic lock will need time to see how good it is. It is fast and easy to configure and get into, but I will be curious how long it lasts.
I hope I never test the fire proof rating, but with how it is built, I think it will hold up.
Overall I love the safe; I just hope the smell goes away with the coffee trick Rhino recommended."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charleston, SC
Date:October 26, 2011

Can't be beat for the cost.

Pros: specifications for the cost.
Model Number: Big Horn 6030
"I compared a lot of safes and read a lot of buyers guides before I purchased this one from Costco.
Comparing the locking mechanisms and build specifications (including fire ratings), this Big Horn comes out ahead of anything else up to about $1,750.
Most safes under $1,750. on the market are made of 12 gauge steel; the buyers guides say to stick with 10 gauge minimum which this one is.
I could have it shipped within a week but wanted to upgrade the lock to a commercial UL rated lock, which Rhino was more than willing to do for a small upcharge. "Amy" as mentioned in other reviews was very quick to accomodate some accessories I wanted directly from them.
Both the exterior finish and interior are very nice and better than expected. No adhesive smells.
Upon delivery, there was 2 scratches on the side and some chips on the bottom. Rhino is sending me some touch up paint, so I think it will be fine.
We used 4 good size people and a heavy duty appliance dolly to move it. It would have been difficult if not nearly impossible with any less.
Great buy, be sure to bolt it down for maximum security."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Highland Village Texas
Date:December 8, 2011

Heavy Duty

Pros: fire protection over an hour, 24 cubic feet
Cons: 24 cubic feet may be less than you think
Model Number: B6030EL
"This is a nicely made safe, with more than an hour of fire protection for only a little more than 30 minutes.
The inside is lined with a carpet like material which will hold Velcro - a nice feature they don't tout.
The delivery driver DIDN'T drop it "at the curb" but instead rolled it into the garage where we wanted it - down a steep driveway. He refused to take a tip.
The safe feels massive when you swing the door - and massive is really how it feels when you try to move it - this is a very heavy object.
Take the number of gun ratings with a grain of salt. It's really hard to pack them in that tightly. But this is a nice safe, and it has room for my guns, and for visitors who come by on their way to hunt.
Regarding the "smell issue" - it smells like carpet glue - let it air out - OK? The safe closes very tightly so it can't vent the odor as it cures. Mine was very slightly scented."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, Tx
Date:March 30, 2014

Can't beat it, especially for the price!

Pros: the delivery guy was very helpful and knowledgable, very professional delivery, delivered without a scratch!
Cons: hate the digital lock not secure., no factory option to have manual lock
Model Number: B6030EL
"This is a GREAT gun safe. Arrived without a scratch. Delivery guy was outstanding and it was a week early from when we'd been told to expect when we ordered it. Very happy buyer! Nice, heavy and secure."
Review 5 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:March 14, 2014

Geat Safe Great Price

Pros: quality finish and free delivery., great customer service
"Can't beat the price with FREE delivery. Easy set up and safe looks great. I was afraid customer service would be poor due to lower prices but when I called Rhino Metals for some extra shelf clips Margaret from Customer Service was AWESOME!!! Thanks Margaret!!!!"
Review 6 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:January 14, 2014

Great Safe

Pros: great safe and a great price, this safe is well made!!
Cons: none
Model Number: 6030EL
"This is definitely a 5 star safe.
It was delivered in 8 days of the order.
It is heavy at 700 pounds. It says curbside but the delivery guy wheeled it into my garage with a pallet jack. The only problem is that you can only get one of the lifters under the safe. I balanced it as he pulled it up the driveway and into the garage. He put it just where I wanted it and I tipped the guy. This was a weekday and I couldn’t get any help because all of my friends were working.
The safe came with our a scratch or anything wrong with it. The electronic lock works great so far. I have only had the safe for about 3 weeks. You do need a new 9 volt battery to operate the lock.
I didn’t smell anything real offensive. Just leave the door open for a couple of hours. By the time I bolted it to the floor and it was ready for the guns there was no smell."
Review 7 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:July 14, 2009

Awesome Safe

"I just received my Big Horn/Rhino safe, an I'm very impressed with the workmanship (i.e. the heavier gauge steel, the 70 minute fire protection , the 100 weight difference etc,. These are features which other safes in this category/price do not have.
Additionally, I was also impressed with the excellent customer service from Big Horn/Rhino's corporate associates. I like to do my homework when purchasing big ticket items; and they graciously answered all my questions , and even educated me on some things I was not aware of.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, Arizona
Date:August 9, 2013

Costco Comes Through Again

Pros: quality product and great service.
Cons: none
Model Number: Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
"Yet another great purchase from Costco. The safe is so much nicer than I expected and we received it within two weeks of ordering it. The smell that I have read others comment on dissipated with the door left open for a couple of days before having it moved inside.
This is the third product we purchased from Costco delivered by the transportation company Reddaway. The Reddaway staff and their delivery drivers have always been great to work with. The drivers are polite, professional and efficient. Mo was our delivery person this time and was wonderful. The safe arrived in perfect condition and the gentleman I spoke to on the phone told me they would be more than happy to put it in our garage for us, which Mo did without hesitation.
I would definitely recommend this safe to anyone looking for a quality product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cypress, CA
Date:February 14, 2014

Great safe - Great service

Pros: all pros
Cons: none
Model Number: 19ECB
"The safe met all my expectations - couldn't be happier with my purchase. There was a problem with the first safe so I contacted Rhino and Costco and they responded. Becka Hayden got the ball rolling at Rhino and presented my photos to her supervisor who in turn authorized a new safe to be shipped. Mike Harvey at Rhino also contacted me with additional details. Many thanks to all the Rhino folks and Costco reps. Great product and exceptional service from both companies.
Anything can have a problem, It's how you solve it and the customer service from Rhino was awesome. My next safe will be a Rhino, without question.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:September 23, 2013

Horrid Experience - not worth one star!

"I was happy and felt so safe after the purchase of this safe. Two months later my home was burglarized. A 300 lb. safe was taken and the gun safe was "snipped" - a term the detectives use when a safe has the key pad removed and the safe is opened. I had a police officer and two Sgt. Detectives explain this to me. It was a very professional job. They kept the paperwork and keypad - they had to remove their gloves to touch the key pad and thus keep it in case because of finger prints. Rhino asked me to return the safe to them. I did. They then said I must not have locked it as no marks (crow bar, etc.) were on the safe. I have to applaud Costco for refunding me since Rhino would not."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roswell, GA
Date:August 9, 2011

Very satisfied! Neighbor's buying the same one

Pros: quality, secure, weight
Cons: weight
Model Number: 6030EL
"Yep, she's heavy! I asked three friends to help, but only two made it. If you're just moving it on one level two strong people with a serious hand truck will do. If you're moving it down a hill and up two stairs you'll need three. If you think you're going to move it up or down a flight of stairs, you're brave. We followed the advice of an earlier poster and lifted the door off. We used the hand truck, then brought the safe itself down next.
With three healthy guys we had our hands full; putting the door back on is tough. The threat to your fingers is substantial.
The safe itself is excellent quality and I'm completely satisfied. The finish looks good, door swings easy and bolts move easy. I can't imagine anyone being able to break into this thing and they sure aren't going to carry it away. I like the outside hinges that make access to contents easier.
Yes it smells bad, leave it open in your garage for a day.
Note the 70 minute fire rating, better than most.
The only thing I question is the lock quality, and for $75 you can extent the lock warranty.
I have at least one neighbor who likes it so much he's buying the same model."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2010

Best customer service

Model Number: model 6030EL
"I purchased this safe on 2/24/10 and received it on 3/10/10 2 weeks not bad considering they say 4-6.When I ordered I ask for a combonation lock instead of a electronic and was told no problem, however mistakes happen and it came with electronic. I called Amy and she is sending the right one out right away set with the numbers I want for a combonation.
I have dealt with many on line dealers for products and can think of only 2 others with service as good or as fast as Rhino and Amy or Jennifer as the service reps.
I would recommend these people to anyone considering a safe bought through costco or anywhere else.
This one weighs 700lbs. so I need to get some help to put in final resting place. I can tell you it weighs more than my champion and seems to be built just as well for about $500.00 less.
Great buy.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Va
Date:February 26, 2010

What to know before you buy

Pros: 10 gauge steel 10 locking bolts 700 lbs
Cons: chemical smell
Model Number: 24Cu ft Bighorn
"I did a lot of research before I purchased this product. I visited stores, shopped online, and spoke to representatives of many different companies before purchasing and here is what I found.
Cannon Safes has the worst customer service. I originally ordered a cannon safe however after seeing and touching the poor quality of the Cannon, which was on display at Tractor Supply, I cancelled the order...they still sent me that safe...which I had cancelled...which was of poor quality... and I when I called them about it the customer service was poor and the logistics manager had an attitude. AVOID CANNON SAFES!
The people at Rhino/Bighorn know what they are doing. Their customer service representatives are great. A personal thank you to Amy, Drew, and Jason for handling my order so professionally!
Bighorn Safes has a dedicated customer service team that will give you great service and assurance that your order is important to them.
This safe is high quality. It is heavy too. I moved mine with a heavy duty appliance dolly and a friend. We aren't huge guys and we got it in my 1st floor apartment. I recommend about 2 extra people to help besides yourself if possible.
My safe has a strong chemical smell from the glue used in the manufacturing process. Its been about a week and still remains strong. Bighorn told me it would go away in a few days if left open however when the safe is closed I can't smell anything.
I would have given 5 stars if there was no smell. Ask about the smell before you odrer. Overall I recommend this safe."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2011

Good Value, with exceptions

Pros: high value
Cons: shipping feet are not compatible with fork lifts
"Most importantly they have good customer service, you can always reach someone and they follow up (can't be said for other vendors). While I am very happy with my safe, there were problems with shipping. The first one arrived damaged and it was agrivated by the shipping feet that are used. The fork lift must have caught the feet on something and the bolt extruded the bottom of the safe. The second safe shipped with the incorrect lock, and also had similar damage on the bottom due to the shipping feet getting caught on something. Third one was the charm and everything was fine.
Lastly, there was some confusion regarding anchoring and be aware that this safe is pre-drilled for anchors that are no larger than 3/8" outer diameter. Sleeve anchors of this size are a bit hard to find, the more common being 1/2 diameter (using a 3/8" bolt). Also, Customer Service stated that the warranty requires that the safe be anchored to the floor. However, I could not find that in the user manual or in the copy of the warranty supplied (other than saying it needed to be properly installed). Customer Service did not seem to be aware of the hole size in the safe, telling me that a 3/8" bolt (ie, 1/2" anchor) would work."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:August 27, 2011

Disappointed

Pros: heavy
Cons: interior construction
Model Number: 6030EL
"The safe itself looks great - exactly what I ordered. The inside, the quality of work was very disappointing. The lining wasn't glued properly on the base floor as well as along the sides. The shelving is cheaply made. Be prepared to buy the necessary bolts needed to maintain the warranty. We read some reveiws about the odor, we did not notice much - as instructed, leave the door open for 24 hrs. More disappointed in the 3rd party delivery company - twice the product was delivered all scratched up, not well packaged, driver rushes your visual inspection & dispatcher put wrong date so they came 2 days earlier than scheduled."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 10, 2012

Good Value

Pros: inexpensive, very secure, excellent fire protection, arrived in 3 weeks
Cons: wrinkle painted not powder coated
Model Number: Bighorn B6030EL
"This safe is a good value. The price is about half of the other Brands. The finish is a wrinkle type paint, not the baked on powder coat as advertized and not the glossy finish as seen on the higher end units. The hinges are exposed so the face is not smooth. There are 10 locking bolts, one on the top and bottom with 4 on each side. This is a very secure safe with an excellent fire rating. It does have a strong odor inside when first received. I left it open for a few days and this helped. I am happy with my purchase because I new what I was getting. If you are looking for a furniture or presentation quality unit spend the extra money. You will not be happy with this brand."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2010

MADE IN CHINA

Model Number: Bighorn 24 cubic foot
"Received safe two days ago via FedEx National. We almost lost safe off the back of the truck while unloading using a pallet jack; very unstable as only one fork is able to get under safe. Once the lift gate was lowered this heavy safe started heading down the road and both the driver and I did everything we could to stop this beast. Finally I was able to inspect the unit and found small impact damage to top corner with missing paint, the front turn handle hub was scraped due to no packaging protection. First thing I noticed while the unit was still in the truck was the printed inscription on the box "MADE IN CHINA" ... wow, I thought this safe was made in the U.S. … oh well .. found out that the Bighorn is made in China while the Rhino brand is made in USA.
Also make sure you have a 9 volt battery on hand as you will need it to open the safe ... Once I located one and opened the safe the (top and one side) seal strips around the periphery of the door seal plate fell on the floor. These I guess are the expandable seals effective during a fire ?? This is defenitely a solid safe and the customer service at Rhino exceeds expectations. The digital key pad is easy to use and overall I am pleased. I opted to simply have Rhino send me some touch-up paint and replacement hub component and seal strips. I will recommend this safe because of the price and the service. What took me by surprise is the fact that this safe was fully made and assembled in China. Also, make sure that someone capable of helping the delivery person is available when the unit arrives.
"
9 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Date:March 5, 2010

Great Purchase

Pros: quality/value
Model Number: 6030EL
"Did research and felt this safe was the best value for money spent. Came in perfect condition make sure you have a 9 volt battery if you get the electronic lock you will need it to get it open. Shelfs were stacked in bottom went together in less than 5 minutes. One person who does this kind of moving can manage but get a friend to help,700lbs not fun by yourself."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:April 2, 2011

Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe

Pros: good value
Cons: pre-drilled holes were not straight
Model Number: Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
"I thought this safe was reasonably priced, and delivered earlier than expected. The safe was in perfect condition, and after a fresh battery was installed the combination change was easy. I recommend two strong guys to move it to where ever you want it to go, because it is top heavy and difficult to move. The interior is excellent, and it is easy to adjust the shelves to what suits you. Everything is carpeted and protects your firearm's finish. The only thing I did not like was the pre-drilled holes on the bottom. Whomever did the drilling drilled at a slight angle and it was not possible to secure it to the floor until I re-drilled them straight. Otherwise, I like this safe quite a bit, although it is my first one, so I have nothing to compare it to. I find it to be adequate for someone with a modest amount of guns."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, MO
Date:October 3, 2011

Perfect

Pros: thick door, 70 minute protection, door bars. no entry even if hinges are cut off, 700 lbs. this won't walk away
Cons: none nada zip...
"Exactly what I was looking for! This thing is a monster. Don't let the other reviews talking about the smell shy you away from this safe, they're just being overly picky. The smell goes away after a couple of days, or if it's too strong, use baking soda or something to absorb the smell. I am extremely happy with this purchase!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>