Customer Reviews for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock

BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock

Meets or exceeds the California Department of Justice acceptable gun safe standards. The Bighorn 6030EL will give you unparalleled peace of mind and security against fire & theft at an unbeatable value.  This rock solid safe features thick heavy bodied construction, 70-minute/1200°F fire protection, fine styling and adjustable interior, and the industry's best residential warranty and customer service. Residential Limited Lifetime Warranty: Limited Lifetime Warranty Free repair or replacement in the event of an attempted or actual Burglary attack Free repair or replacement in the event of a Fire UL ® Listed Commercial Grade Type 1 Electronic Lock: Quick and simple code entry for access Easy to program entry code Up to 1,000,000 possible different codes Entry codes are stored inside the safe, not in the external keypad Anti-tamper auto lockout after three incorrect code entries Battery accessible from outside User codes are not lost when battery is removed or goes dead or if keypad is damaged or removed Security Features: Listed with UL ® as a Residential Security Container and meets or exceeds California DOJ acceptable gun safe standards UL ® Listed Commercial grade Type 1 electronic lock Extra thick rigid door for added security against prying attacks.  4.75” overall thickness 1.25” diameter door bolts securely lock the door at 10 different points for maximum 4 sided protection (10 door bolts total) Triple hardened steel plate protects the lock from drill attacks Spring loaded re-locker keeps safe secure if lock is tampered with or removed Weight:700 lbs. / 24.58 external cubic feet Interior Features:   14.87 cubic feet of interior space Interior dimensions: 56" H x 27" W x 17" D Holds up to 26 long guns Adjustable shelving and interior walls upholstered in automotive grade fabric Predrilled for anchoring to the floor Predrilled though the steel for a dehumidifier External hinge, 180° opening door provides greater access than internal hinged designs, limited to only 90° of opening Exterior Features:   24.58 external cubic feet External dimensions:  59” H x 30” W x 24” D (not including handle) Durable, baked-on powder coated Black finish with Brass accents Removable steel shipping feet Fire Protection: Full 70 minute / 1200°F fire protection: internal safe temperature remains below 275° Heat activated expanding door seal – helps keep out smoke and heat Fully fire lined, no uncovered hot spot areas like most internal hinge designs
Average Customer Rating:
4.759 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
(out of 58 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
57 of 58(98%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Review 1 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, Tx
Date:March 30, 2014

Can't beat it, especially for the price!

Pros: the delivery guy was very helpful and knowledgable, very professional delivery, delivered without a scratch!
Cons: hate the digital lock not secure., no factory option to have manual lock
Model Number: B6030EL
"This is a GREAT gun safe. Arrived without a scratch. Delivery guy was outstanding and it was a week early from when we'd been told to expect when we ordered it. Very happy buyer! Nice, heavy and secure."
Review 2 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:March 14, 2014

Geat Safe Great Price

Pros: quality finish and free delivery., great customer service
"Can't beat the price with FREE delivery. Easy set up and safe looks great. I was afraid customer service would be poor due to lower prices but when I called Rhino Metals for some extra shelf clips Margaret from Customer Service was AWESOME!!! Thanks Margaret!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cypress, CA
Date:February 14, 2014

Great safe - Great service

Pros: all pros
Cons: none
Model Number: 19ECB
"The safe met all my expectations - couldn't be happier with my purchase. There was a problem with the first safe so I contacted Rhino and Costco and they responded. Becka Hayden got the ball rolling at Rhino and presented my photos to her supervisor who in turn authorized a new safe to be shipped. Mike Harvey at Rhino also contacted me with additional details. Many thanks to all the Rhino folks and Costco reps. Great product and exceptional service from both companies.
Anything can have a problem, It's how you solve it and the customer service from Rhino was awesome. My next safe will be a Rhino, without question.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:January 14, 2014

Great Safe

Pros: great safe and a great price, this safe is well made!!
Cons: none
Model Number: 6030EL
"This is definitely a 5 star safe.
It was delivered in 8 days of the order.
It is heavy at 700 pounds. It says curbside but the delivery guy wheeled it into my garage with a pallet jack. The only problem is that you can only get one of the lifters under the safe. I balanced it as he pulled it up the driveway and into the garage. He put it just where I wanted it and I tipped the guy. This was a weekday and I couldn’t get any help because all of my friends were working.
The safe came with our a scratch or anything wrong with it. The electronic lock works great so far. I have only had the safe for about 3 weeks. You do need a new 9 volt battery to operate the lock.
I didn’t smell anything real offensive. Just leave the door open for a couple of hours. By the time I bolted it to the floor and it was ready for the guns there was no smell."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonds, WA
Date:November 15, 2013

Bighorn B6030EL

Pros: well made heavy nice lock and handles
Cons: not as much room as i thought
Model Number: B6030EL
"I'm impressed! Ordered last Saturday delivered today, Friday (6 days). Delivery was within the 30 min window and the drive brought the safe into my garage. Everything was intact with minor blemishes from the cardboard. I'll be contacting Rhino Metals for touch up paint. Once again (it's minor). All in all the safe meets my expectations + some. Well made with no smell. I would definitely recommend costco and the Bighorn safe. Thanks, from a happy customer"
Review 6 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:October 13, 2013

Why do you think they call it "Safe"?

Pros: all interior surfaces well padded, adjustable shelving, solid and heavy (700 lbs)
Model Number: B6030EL
"This Bighorn is the first safe I've ever purchased, so I have nothing to compare it to. That said, this bad boy is all it's "cracked" up to be. Upon first unveiling, what struck me most was how "flaky" the keypad appeared to be. It's all plastic, and hung on the door via a keyhole slot on it's back. However, I don't perceive this as a weakness; it actually is quite convenient to be able to remove it entirely in a matter of seconds (i.e. for additional security). It also made it easier to wrap the entire keypad assembly in a Faraday cage, to shield against EMP's. I will most certainly buy another for myself, and recommend it to others who want a large, robust safe."
Review 7 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
Date:September 11, 2013

Good quality - Good value for the buck

Pros: fit finish quality price
Cons: no door organizer available from big horn that, doesn't require modifying/cutting the shelves.
Model Number: B6030EL
"Received the safe within 2 weeks. Fit and finish are very good. The door swings very easily for as heavy as it is. It seems to be of top quality construction. (Made in China). If you have a lot of long guns, buy a bigger safe. I have 6 long guns on the left hand side and can probably fit 2-3 more on that side. You will need to remove the shelving on the right hand side to fit more. I was dissappointed that Big Horn/Rhino did not have a door organizer which could be installed without shaving the shelves.
All in all a good value, I am happy with the purchase.
"
Review 8 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2013

Most Bang For The Buck

"Great safe for the money! The freight company said that placing the safe in the garage upon delivery is standard. Only disappointment was when I called Rhino to get the electronic lock swapped for the mechanical they said they had stopped providing that service. Had to call in a smith after it was delivered. Added a couple hundred to the price tag..."
Review 9 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, Arizona
Date:August 9, 2013

Costco Comes Through Again

Pros: quality product and great service.
Cons: none
Model Number: Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
"Yet another great purchase from Costco. The safe is so much nicer than I expected and we received it within two weeks of ordering it. The smell that I have read others comment on dissipated with the door left open for a couple of days before having it moved inside.
This is the third product we purchased from Costco delivered by the transportation company Reddaway. The Reddaway staff and their delivery drivers have always been great to work with. The drivers are polite, professional and efficient. Mo was our delivery person this time and was wonderful. The safe arrived in perfect condition and the gentleman I spoke to on the phone told me they would be more than happy to put it in our garage for us, which Mo did without hesitation.
I would definitely recommend this safe to anyone looking for a quality product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakland, CA
Date:July 9, 2013

Great Safe

Pros: quality fit and finish, 70 minute fire protection, great manufacturer customer service, external door hinges
Cons: none
Model Number: B6030EL
"I did a lot of research before purchasing my first rifle safe and the Bighorn B6030EL was the best safe available for the money. The quality, fit, and finish was equal to safes costing 100's more. Be aware that the specs say it fits 26 guns but if you have ammo, accessories, scoped rifles etc, your safe will hold far fewer than 26 guns.
I had an issue with my keypad and had to contact the manufacturer, Rhino Metals. Dan, the tech at Rhino determined it should be replaced and the new one arrived in 3-4 days. I plugged in the new keypad and Dan went over all the functions of the safe with me to make sure that mine was functioning just as it was shipped from the factory.
The carpeted interior is very nice and the space is designed perfectly for guns, ammo, and accessories. You also have the option of configuring it to suit your needs. It does not come with an interior light but you can run an electric cord into the safe for lighting or a humidifier. I bought an inexpensive set of 6 LED lights from Costco that work perfectly to illuminate the safe when open. Heavy gaged steel, exterior door hinges (allows complete access with 180 degree door swing), and 70 minute fire protection make this one great safe. Costco value coupled with the manufacturers customer service made the B6030EL a great buy for my first gun safe."
Review 11 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:April 20, 2013

Excellent Safe!!

Pros: weight, construction, fire protection rating, value, fast delivery
Cons: none
Model Number: B6030EL
"Despite the website stating delivery would take between 4 to 6 weeks, I ordered this safe on a Tuesday and it was delivered the following Monday!
Communication from Rhino Metals and the shipping company were prompt and accurate. The delivery driver was also a pleasure to work with as I found her to be courteous, professional and punctual. She was nice enough to wheel it into the garage on a pallet jack, with a little help pushing it up the driveway.
Once in the garage we inspected the carton and both agreed it was packed and handled very well as there was no visible damage to the cardboard. After unpacking the safe I was pleased to see it was in prefect condition without a single scratch.
After installing the battery I immediately felt the safe's massive weight when I swung open the door. This safe weighs every bit of 700 pounds and this is exactly why I decided to purchase this particular model.
Although the safe description states it holds 26 long guns I don't feel this is possible with today's firearms and optics. For my particular use I'm able to easily store 12 rifles/shotguns with various optics, 14 cased pistols as well as extra magazines, assorted accessories and small quantity of ammo.
Many other reviews describe an odor associated with the glue used to attach the carpet to the interior, however, I must say the safe did not have any offensive odor at all. In fact, I found the smell to resemble that "new car smell" which I did not find objectionable.
I am extremely pleased with this purchase and the wonderful price. I did extensive research when I decided to purchase a gun safe and I found the Bighorn B6030EL heavy duty safe to be an excellent value. I am so pleased I'll probably buy the Bighorn 19ECB to store the rest of my ammo!"
Review 12 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wauconda, IL
Date:March 14, 2013

Excellent Safe

Pros: sturdy, weighs 700 lbs, 70 minute fire rating
Cons: weighs 700 lbs, not much bigger than the 19ecb model, can require professionals to move it
Model Number: B6030EL
"This safe is great. The day after I ordered it, I called Rhino Safe to have it changed to a manual lock. The people hadn't received the order from Costco yet so I waited until I received an email confirming that the order had been sent to the manufacturer. I called back and the people were very helpful. It cost me an extra $100 to have the change made. The safe shipping was in the expected time... within the 4-6 weeks from order. The delivery guy was fine with putting it into my garage despite the "curbside delivery" stated in all shipping related correspondence. This thing is a beast at 700 lbs. I removed the door to cut down on weight when moving it to my basement. Appliance dolly is required and would recommend a minimum of 3 people if stairs are involved. I wanted this model because the fire rating is 70 minutes. If you don't require the 70 minute rating, the 19ECB version of Bighorn is about the same size and about 300 lbs less and less money. NOTES: Lifetime Warranty is not for the lock mechanism. The lock is warranted for 1 year only (electronic and manual lock). You can purchase an extended warranty from Rhino Safe by calling them. Also, your warranty will be invalid if you don't bolt this thing to your floor. Very important thing to remember. Some people complain about smell. Mine smelled like Elmer's glue which really didn't bother me. A day with the door open makes it go away. Some people complained about damage upon delivery but I didn't have any issues. The back bottom corner of the safe looked like the paint was a little scraped on the edge from being moved around but I'm not putting this thing on my kitchen table, so I don't really care. If you're interested in purchasing a very sturdy, good safe, you can't go wrong with this one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WHITTIER, CA
Date:December 5, 2012

GREAT GIFT!

"I PURCHASED THIS GIFT FOR MY BOYFRIEND AND HE LOVES IT! THE DELIVERY WAS WONDERFUL...ARRIVED A WEEK AFTER ORDERING!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson,Az
Date:October 18, 2012

Great safe!

Pros: nice lookingquality safe.
Cons: none
Model Number: B6030El
"Nice beefy safe.No damage,no smell.Well worth the money.Did alot of research before purchase,best bang for the buck.Delivered only seven days after placing order.Rented appliance dolly and moved into house with help of one person.If I had enough room,would get another one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tracy Ca
Date:August 30, 2012

Bighorn 6030el

Pros: shipped very fast
Cons: comes with shipping scratches
Model Number: 6030 EL
"I had to refuse the first two safes do to lots of damage.The third came with only one scratch on the back side."
Review 16 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:July 28, 2012

Damaged

Pros: fast shipping, easy return policy
Cons: damaged
Model Number: B6030EL
"Inspecting the safe on delivery there was a large chunk out of the bottom and a good size scratch on the side. There was no damage to the packaging so I would assume this damage was not from the delivery service?
The delivery driver told me the majority of the safes from this company are damage and are refused.
Did receive it in about 3 weeks from order.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marietta, GA
Date:June 12, 2012

Great Safe

Pros: solid well built
Cons: havent really found one yet
Model Number: Bighorn B6030EL Heavy Duty Safe
"I have been looking at safes for a while and determined that this Bighorn model was certainly the best bang for the buck with size, weight, and fire protection.
I received a call from the shipping company within 7 days of ordering, and took delivery approximately 10 days after placing my order.
I was immediately impressed with the size and weight of the safe and with how solid it was. Unfortunately, there was some shipping damage resulting in several large scratches on the left side of it. I chose to accept delivery of it, even though the shipping agent asked if I wanted to refuse delivery. I realized that the damaged side would not be visible where I was planning on placing it and did not want to wait for delivery of another safe that may have shipping damage as well.
As far as getting in into my house, I was able to get it up 3 steps from the garage and back into my bedroom with the assistance of just one other person (and a lot of sweating and some serious soreness the next day). I put down some extra carpet that I had left over on my hardwood floor and layed the safe down on the steps, picked up the back end, and slid it into the bedroom. We continued sliding it on the carpet and then finally stood it up and rocked it into place.
There is a smell from the glue, but it is not very bad, and I have not done anything to air it out. I placed some baking soda in the safe and it seems to have dissipated a bit. It does not emit any sort of odor while it is closed, so you don't need to worry about that.
It looks great and has a perfect amount of space for my guns and valuables.
"
Review 18 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2012

Great Purchase

Model Number: Big Horn B6030EL
"The unit is definitely heavy duty. Perfect size for our needs. Very impressed with quality. It was received within 10 days of placing order---WOW--did not expect such quick delivery."
Review 19 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:May 24, 2012

Very very nice safe

Pros: lots of room
Cons: shipping does take 4 to 6 weeks
Model Number: B6030EL
"Very very nice safe exactly as described shipping does take 4 to 6 weeks..."
Review 20 for BIGHORN Safe | 24 CuFt | 70 min Fire Protection | 59”H x 30”W x 24”D | Electronic Lock
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 10, 2012

Good Value

Pros: inexpensive, very secure, excellent fire protection, arrived in 3 weeks
Cons: wrinkle painted not powder coated
Model Number: Bighorn B6030EL
"This safe is a good value. The price is about half of the other Brands. The finish is a wrinkle type paint, not the baked on powder coat as advertized and not the glossy finish as seen on the higher end units. The hinges are exposed so the face is not smooth. There are 10 locking bolts, one on the top and bottom with 4 on each side. This is a very secure safe with an excellent fire rating. It does have a strong odor inside when first received. I left it open for a few days and this helped. I am happy with my purchase because I new what I was getting. If you are looking for a furniture or presentation quality unit spend the extra money. You will not be happy with this brand."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>