Customer Reviews for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

$1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer

CLICK HERE FOR WASHER SPECS   Washer - Installation & Haul Away are included in the purchase price of the WASHER.   Washer Features: Model: WFW9400SZ   ENERGY STAR® Qualified     Ultra Capacity: 4.0 cubic foot capacity   14 Cycles   6TH Sense Technology   1,200RPM Spin Speed   Sanitary Cycle CLICK HERE FOR GAS DRYER SPECS   Gas Dryer -Installation & Haul Away ARE NOT INCLUDED In the Purchase Price of the GAS DRYER. Gas Dryer Features:   Model: WGD9400SZ   7.0 cubic foot capacity   10 Automatic Cycles   Acceler-Care Drying System   5 Temperature Selections   4-Way Venting  Wrinkle Shield Plus Feature CLICK HERE FOR ELECTRIC DRYER SPECS   Electric Dryer - Installation & Haul Away are included in the purchase price of the Electric Dryer.   Electric Dryer Features:   Model: WED9400SZ   7.0 cubic foot capacity   10 Automatic Cycles   Acceler-Care Drying System   5 Temperature Selections   4-Way Venting   Wrinkle Shield Plus Feature CLICK HERE FOR PEDESTAL SPECS   Pedestals - Installation is included in the purchase price of the Pedestals.   Pedestal Features: Model: LAB2700MQ   Each drawer has three-compartment storage   Provides easy access to front loading doors by elevating washer or dryer 13" above the floor level. Minimizes bending and stooping when loading and unloading appliances. Model:11468095
Average Customer Rating:
3.737 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
(out of 57 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
9
39 of 57(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Review 1 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange, CA
Date:October 2, 2010

Expensive Repairs

Pros: we did not have drain problems
Cons: short life and expensive repairs
Model Number: Duet
"We bought this washer and it worked well for two years except for the fact that it gets a horrible smell if you don't leave the door open for it to dry out between washes. Then in the third year we had to start replacing 'nodes' at about $350 to $400 a shot. It is only five years old we paid over $800 for it and I would have expected a slightly longer life for the price we paid."
Review 2 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:chicago, IL
Date:September 17, 2010

7 years and dead

"Capacity is great. We had mold problem early on. Whirlpool told us to run an empty machine with a cup of bleach once a week.
Problems first year with seal. That was covered under warranty. Machine is making a lot of noise so I called for service. Technician said it would cost $550.00 to rebuild. I thought for this price, I would get more than 7 years out of a high end appliance. Need to replace.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:September 12, 2010

Very pleased with pair

Pros: quiet, cleans well, large capacity, installation & warranty
Model Number: Whirlpool Duet 9400
"Recently purchased and am very pleased with this pair. Washer is quiet and load type selects it's own water level, so no more guessing. Minimal use of detergent (1/2 recommended for regular liquid detergent) still leaves clothes smelling clean. For bulky items e.g. coverlets, duvet covers, I added Drain and Spin cycle to remove extra water. Cannot run this cycle if you remove items.
Dryer also quiet, seems to get everything very dry. Pulled out sheets 20minutes before timer set to end cycle. They were fine. Only drawback on dryer is lint filter isn't well-mounted though it works just fine.
"
Review 4 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Milford, CT
Date:September 10, 2010

Love it

"We are truly impressed with the capacity of these units. Bought the washer & dryer last year and have told many people about it. Our laundry room is on the first floor of the house so the lowest spin cycle on the washer is the best otherwise we hear and feel the spin in the next room. If your laundry is on foundation (concrete), I don't think this will happen."
Review 5 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Temecula, CA
Date:September 9, 2010

Horrible Product

Model Number: WFW9400SZ04
"Had this product delivered on 8/28/10, and the washer is already not working. The power doesn't seem to come on any longer, called Whirlpool customer service, and they can't get a technician out until next week."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Illinois
Date:September 9, 2010

Excellent Washer and Dryer

Pros: cleaning, efficiency, quiet
Model Number: Duet 9150
"We have had our Whirlpool Duet with pedestals for about 4 years now and LOVE them. Not only have they been workhorses, but they do a beautiful job washing and drying. The washer is quiet, doesn't creep along the floor and the dryer is efficient and quick."
Review 7 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tallahassee, Florida
Date:September 2, 2010

Happy with Purchase!

Model Number: 9400 Suite
"After studying and comparing the offerings of front loaders I finally decided on this pair and have been so pleased with my choice. I love the pedestals; they save my back and make the work much easier. The many cycle options are wonderful and make laundry almost fun... almost. You can order the stationary shelf for the dryer which is a no charge addition and is very nice. If you are short the laundry detergent loader is a bit high with the pedestal. I still can recommend this pair without hesitation."
Review 8 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lynnwood, WA
Date:August 23, 2010

One more happy customer

Model Number: Whirlpool 9400 Duet
"We are very satisfied with the performance and the economical water saving technique applied. Machines are quiet and our clothes come out less wrinkled but drier. It's mesmerizing while watching the machines operate. Good buy despite the prices."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2010

Happy Customer

"Awesome Set!
Delivered, perfect professional install, took old set away!
Have had this for a month now. Perfect with no problems. Can't beat this deal!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:August 6, 2010

So far all is good!

Model Number: 9400sz
"No problems and in my 2nd week. Washer is not loud and does not seem to vibrate like most reviews said."
Review 11 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2010

NICE WASHER AND DRYER

"I've had this set for three weeks now and they work great. Costco delivered the set promptly within 2 weeks after I placed the order online. Both the washer and dryer work nicely. I've washed full loads and comforters and haven't had any problems as of yet!"
Review 12 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:N Whitehall, Pa
Date:July 16, 2010

issues abound

"not too happy with the pair. The latch on the dryer doesn't stay closed and the door often opens after a few minutes. I have to check on it constantly to ensure the door stays closed. This occurs even with the smallest loads.
The fabric softener is sometimes released into the washer at the beginning of the wash cycle and not at rinse. This causes clothes not to be their cleanest. The delivery company did not set up the set. I had to do it myself. I was reimbursed for installation through Costco, but it would have been nice to not have had to do the labor. I'm not looking forward to haveing the service technicians in my home.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cali
Date:July 13, 2010

Great looking set

Pros: happy wife ;)
Cons: non yet
Model Number: Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
"We have owned this set now for a month, and works great also. Combine this good product with Costco’s unbeatable customer service you can’t go wrong."
Review 14 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Corona, CA.
Date:July 6, 2010

1 week and dryer needs service

Model Number: Whirpool Duet 9400 (Gas)
"Delivered 7/1 ..dryer worked till 7/5 and now waiting for repairman on 7/8..UGHHH!! Dryer is not heating any more, and here I was concerned about issues with washer due to reviews I'd read! Blind-sidedI!! I am giving a 1 star rating is as a result of repair issue...I hope to be able to improve the rating after 7/8 (repairman visit).
It's taken a while to get used to how these appliances work since previous washer and dryer were simple and old..very few options. I am reading/re-reading the manuals as I go to ensure I have a complete understanding of what these appliances can do for me if I use them correctly.
Didin't like the smells initially..burnt smell. Got passed that and then cloths was not smelling fresh/clean. Discovered need to use softener to get the clean smell. I imagine it's the HE detergent that isn't as potent as the regular one. Now cloths is soft and clean but no longer DRY! Hoping just a temporary glitch! Confused about sensor and why it kept drying after closths was dry..maybe this is why...not working as it's supposed to. Guess I will find out when tech is here!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2010

7years and going

"I won a grand prize which included the heavy duty washer. This last year I got one of the F Errors. I wasnt impressed with customer service info over the phone but I did get ahold of local repair guy. Wasnt cycling and I gathered it was the "brain". Sure enough it was replaced and works great still. Cost for part was not expensive at all and the local guy was reasonable. less 200 bucks to fix. I really like it. I'm hard on washers but this one has lasted longer than any other i've bought. I later bought the dryer and what can I say, works great even though its not the heavy duty matcher. Saves on water and power for sure"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Louisiana
Date:June 30, 2010

F-28, F-28, F-28, F-28, F-28

Model Number: WFW8410SW01
"What is F-28? Whirlpool doesn't seem to know yet it is this code that causes my washer not to complete its cycle. We bought the duet washer and dryer in April, 2007. They operated well for about two years, then the F-28 error started occuring right after the warranty ran out. The serviceman ($75) cleaned out the drain trap, didn't fix anything. The service technician wants $300 for a part plus another $75 for labor/service call, and he's not sure the part will fix the problem. We have been living with it for over a year but now I'm ready to give up. I don't recommend the Duet for its lack of reliability and poor service from Whirlpool customer service. Is there another brand that is not owned by Whirlpool?"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington the State
Date:June 28, 2010

Washer works great

Pros: works great less vibration than my top load
Cons: should have picked up this washer 2 years ago
"Read the online reviews pro & con.
Read Consumer Reports
Read the instalation manual and followed it carefully.
Washer works great, less vibration than my old whirlpool top loader and a lot easier on the clothes.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:June 20, 2010

Great when it works!

Pros: washes clothes beautifully, energy efficient, saves on detergent/additives
Cons: horrendous reputation for poor quality, insanely heavy
Model Number: 9400
"This has been the best washing machine we've ever owned...as long as it is working, anyway. This heavy beast of a machine tackles the most difficult wash loads, including delicate materials and heavy comforters. The problem is that the door latch relays often fail, rendering the machine useless. The relays are built into the main control board, which costs around $300 just for the part! Search the 'net for "Whirlpool duet door error" and you'll find a plethora of owner complaints regarding the problem. My repairman told us it's not worth fixing even though it is only four years old."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Upland, CA
Date:June 18, 2010

Don't be fooled by False Reviews

Model Number: WFW9400SZ02 and WGD9400SZ2
"I just got my 9400 Washer and Dryer delivered 6/16/10. I purchased online on 6/10/10 so less than 1 week for delivery!
Before buying, I read a lot of reviews on this site and others. Most of the negative comments related to the Dryer Door opening and clothes falling out. I found a few reviews stating this is not a manufacturing defect but rather a Safety feature. The Dryer Door has two closures one located at 12 O'clock and the other at 6 O'clock. In order to close the door properly you must close the door with two hands, one in each of these two positions. Optionally, you can just use one hand located in the center of the door and press it evenly. Pay attention to the manner in which the door locks in place. you should see both positions seat themselves (12 and 6 O'clock). Use a bit of common sense and don't assume the door is going to close securely by just shutting it. This design is bit odd but my guess is that it keeps small kids from locking themselves in.
As far as the Washer and Dryer performance. Well, I'm a single Dad who never looked forward to doing laundry. That has all changed now that I own this set. These machines are incredibly high tech and Environmentally Efficient. My clothes come out clean and wrinkle free. The machines are very quite and don't move when operating under normal loads so far.
If you are think about buying these, all I have to say is... DO IT !!!"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 15, 2010

Good Bang for your Buck

Pros: looks good, includes pedestals, good price
Cons: doesn't have timer to start on washer and dryer
"The unit looks great overall. The pedestal drawers are big enough to fit Costco size Tide and Downey softener. Shipping was a breeze. Delivery guys were friendly and told us what size gas hose to buy. Functionality: I have not had any problems with the washer or dryer. The door for the dryer is easy to close, tap the top and bottom. It is not your top of the line washer and dryer but it gets the clothes clean and dries it pretty well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>