Customer Reviews for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

$1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer

CLICK HERE FOR WASHER SPECS   Washer - Installation & Haul Away are included in the purchase price of the WASHER.   Washer Features: Model: WFW9400SZ   ENERGY STAR® Qualified     Ultra Capacity: 4.0 cubic foot capacity   14 Cycles   6TH Sense Technology   1,200RPM Spin Speed   Sanitary Cycle CLICK HERE FOR GAS DRYER SPECS   Gas Dryer -Installation & Haul Away ARE NOT INCLUDED In the Purchase Price of the GAS DRYER. Gas Dryer Features:   Model: WGD9400SZ   7.0 cubic foot capacity   10 Automatic Cycles   Acceler-Care Drying System   5 Temperature Selections   4-Way Venting  Wrinkle Shield Plus Feature CLICK HERE FOR ELECTRIC DRYER SPECS   Electric Dryer - Installation & Haul Away are included in the purchase price of the Electric Dryer.   Electric Dryer Features:   Model: WED9400SZ   7.0 cubic foot capacity   10 Automatic Cycles   Acceler-Care Drying System   5 Temperature Selections   4-Way Venting   Wrinkle Shield Plus Feature CLICK HERE FOR PEDESTAL SPECS   Pedestals - Installation is included in the purchase price of the Pedestals.   Pedestal Features: Model: LAB2700MQ   Each drawer has three-compartment storage   Provides easy access to front loading doors by elevating washer or dryer 13" above the floor level. Minimizes bending and stooping when loading and unloading appliances. Model:11468095
Average Customer Rating:
3.737 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
(out of 57 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
9
39 of 57(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Review 1 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frisco, Texas
Date:April 19, 2009

Fantastic set for the price

Pros: great price
Cons: have them delivered
Model Number: WFW9400SZ
"My husband and I spent months researching washers and dryers. We are loyal Costco customers so when they offered the Duet we researched them and felt the price was perfect. I have to say I absolutely love my set. I am so happy with the way the washer cleans, less water and less time because it has much more capacity than my old set . I have three boys and I do loads of laundry, I am very impressed at how clean the clothes came out. The dryer takes less time due to the washer's higher RPM spin cycle. I haven't seen my whites glow like this in a long time. I would recommend having the set delivered unless you have several strong people to help lift. We picked ours up at the local Costco and getting the washer down off of the truck was quite a task."
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:East Bay SF
Date:August 10, 2009

Overall Good Product, Except Dryer Door

Model Number: Whirlpool 9400 Duet Dryer 7.0 CF
"The Duet pair was delivered in July, so have had them about 1 month. The first day, after the installers left, I noticed that the dryer door would not securely close. Tthe dryer door has a button-switch that needs to held down by the door in order for the dryer to operate.
We had the repair service out within a week and they replaced the top latch. Unfortunately, the switch is near the 12 o'clock position and the door handle is at 9 o'clock. So, even with the new latch, it requires the user to close the door, then press on the top of the dryer door to secure the latch. The techs said this is a common issue. We checked this out at an appliance store and sure enough, only about 1/2 of the Whirlpool dryers with this type door worked correctly.
Bottom line: a really poor dryer door design. Make sure you check this issue out before the installers leave."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:September 25, 2009

Pretty Happy

Pros: cleans beautifully
"I went from a bottom of the line washer and dryer to this. I am very happy with everything...except the dryer. The sensor seems to have a hard time sensing when the clothes need to be dried for a longer period of time. Also, a week ago, it just stopped heating all together. Whirlpool sent someone out who claimed they fixed it. Still does not work. Called Whirlpool again and they told me I had to get it straightened out with the company who tried to fix it. Whirlpool is NO HELP! After many hours on the phone and many calls later, my husband is just going to return the dryer and get another one.
Over all, I am glad we have it. Whirlpool has a horrible warranty process."
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 20, 2009

Buyer Beware!

Pros: costco has an excellent return policy
Cons: noisy & expensive
"The Whirlpool Duet series starts out great, but ends up pretty bad. Things to consider are the VERY loud noise that will begin about 6 months after purchase during the spin cycle. Costco replaced my washer after 8 months at no charge. The noise & vibration were so bad that the machine began walking. The pedestals might contribute to this, but I had my machines on a 1st floor solid foundation. Just before one year went by, the front started to leak. So, Costco is taking both washer and dryer back for a full refund. The dryer has a cheap plastic locking device that I had replaced at 6 months, and it broke again just before the return.
I have purchased another brand of front loaders and will remain hopeful. I think it would be great if Costco offered more washers than just Whirlpool.
"
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Upland, CA
Date:June 18, 2010

Don't be fooled by False Reviews

Model Number: WFW9400SZ02 and WGD9400SZ2
"I just got my 9400 Washer and Dryer delivered 6/16/10. I purchased online on 6/10/10 so less than 1 week for delivery!
Before buying, I read a lot of reviews on this site and others. Most of the negative comments related to the Dryer Door opening and clothes falling out. I found a few reviews stating this is not a manufacturing defect but rather a Safety feature. The Dryer Door has two closures one located at 12 O'clock and the other at 6 O'clock. In order to close the door properly you must close the door with two hands, one in each of these two positions. Optionally, you can just use one hand located in the center of the door and press it evenly. Pay attention to the manner in which the door locks in place. you should see both positions seat themselves (12 and 6 O'clock). Use a bit of common sense and don't assume the door is going to close securely by just shutting it. This design is bit odd but my guess is that it keeps small kids from locking themselves in.
As far as the Washer and Dryer performance. Well, I'm a single Dad who never looked forward to doing laundry. That has all changed now that I own this set. These machines are incredibly high tech and Environmentally Efficient. My clothes come out clean and wrinkle free. The machines are very quite and don't move when operating under normal loads so far.
If you are think about buying these, all I have to say is... DO IT !!!"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Folsom, CA
Date:September 1, 2009

Do NOT Buy

Cons: display lights confusing
Model Number: Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
"Hi, although I read the reviews, we were a little desparate because we were moving and time was an issue. All the negative reviews (spin cycle shaking, dryer door hard to close, pops open, and long cycles) are true. Really disappointed in Costco for stocking this product. I bought this in the regular store."
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern Cali
Date:March 26, 2010

Rooting for the pair, but they stumble along

Pros: handsome
Cons: loud, faulty dryer latch, dysfunctional dryer lock switch, vibra-cha-cha-cha-on
"OK--We finally upgraded our previous energy star top loader with these lovely looking front loaders. When they work, boy do they work! Sparkly clean clothes.
We have a very flat first level laundry room and the washer still enjoys a lot of movement; more vibration than we were expecting. Our real qualms come with the dryer door. We began having issues with it in the first month. Uh-hh--like a bad boy boyfriend that you really like, and as soon as some minor changes occur he'd be perfect!t! Never gonna happen! But hey, these are appliances right--they deserve a chance off the factory line!
Bottom line, the door unlatches mid-flight, so unless you're hanging around to do the hip thrust @ 4 times a drying session, your clothes will hang out becoming friends with Mildy Mildew. We've finally gotten around to the ever so helpful customer service with costco and are awaiting a repair. I'm all for reuse, reduce and recycle, so I really want these units to work out.
One more caveat, make sure the delivery folks install them properly, ie both doors should swing out producing an open pocket of space such that you don't have to haul wet laundry across a center divide. Alas, being new to the front-loader world, we didn't realize this mistake until after the first week. This too, is on the agenda for repair.
Hope is in high gear with fingers crossed. For now, the faulty dryer has impacted my capacity for joy with this unit!"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:July 12, 2009
Model Number: Duet 9400
"Delivery was great. 7 days from order placement. Nice setup and removal of old washer & dryer.
Our laundry is on the 2nd floor and we were concerned about vibration transfer to the floor and house. Noise and vibration is not a factor with this set. We have not seen anymore noise than the tub type set that we replaced. When the installers put in the dryer there was some rattling they noticed. I was given the option to have a new set brought or have a tech come and evaluate/fix. I chose the tech and within a week had it fixed and now no more rattle. (It was the heating element rattling). Quick fix and part of warranty. No out of pocket. I also knew that Costco would replace if we were not happy.
We are very happy so far with the purchase of this set and would recommend this set for others. Price is competitive and setup quick and nearly flawless.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:November 12, 2009

Whirlpool Duet Washer Service Problem

Model Number: Whirlpool Duet Washer
"I bought a whirlpool washer which was working great until a large bolt came loose, bounced around underneath and cracked the plastic tub. The washer is covered under warranty and when the service team came out to look at it, nine parts were needed. Whirlpool decided it would rather pay the expense of two service men, the nine parts and return the following week to repair it instead of sending me a new washer. However, it has now been 10 days, only 5 of the 9 parts have been shipped to my house and no one can tell me when the other parts will arrive. Apparently they are on backorder."
18 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:August 5, 2009

Door on washer not Reversible!!!

Pros: 4.0 cu. ft...it's big
Cons: doors on washer not reversible
Model Number: Whirlpool Duet 9400
"I purchased it online and it was delivered and it was delivered and professional installed within a week...:)
Pros: 4.0 Cu Ft.
Nice looking unit
Touch menu was intuitive
See thru doors on both washer and dryer
Pros:
4.0 Cu Ft.
Brought it from Costco (2 year warranty)
Impressive looking unit
Nice and easy to use touch menu
See thru doors on both washer and dryer
Pretty quiet even in the spin cycle (comparable to Maytag)
Cons:
Washer not reversible period! Required additional parts (not included) in order to reverse dryer door. If the layout of your laundry room where you can only have the washer on the right and dryer on the left side, do yourself a big favor…buy a Maytag or Bosch...It's such an inconvenience to get the clothes out from the washer , lift it high over the washer and dryer doors (5 high w/ pedestal) ..The workaround is to unload it to a basket and then move it to the dryer, which is bad for your back and defeat the purpose of having the pedestal in the first place)
When the dryer is on, the room becomes humid rather quickly…Turned on the exhaust but to no avail…did not have this problem with my 9 year old Maytag Neptune.
The door on the dryer does not close properly…Not sure if it’s by design but you need an additional push on the top of the door to get it to latch properly"
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sugar Land, TX
Date:August 12, 2009

Not a happy customer

Pros: good price
Cons: washer door does not close correctly, dryer still not delivered, door needs some extra parts to switch door side
Model Number: Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt
"I have always LOVED costco but on this one I am not very happy. The Washer door does not close properly. We still do not have the Dryer two months after we bought the W/D. The first dryer did not even start and the second one could not close the door. It kept on opening.
You need extra parts to change the side of the door as you want the door of the washer and Dryer in opposite side so you can take the clothes out of the washer and put it in the dryer without going around it"
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rathdrum, Idaho
Date:June 30, 2009

Whites are Whiter

Model Number: WFW9400SZ
"I am so impressed! First the setup and installation was outstanding! I checked everywhere and all dealers charged extra for this service. I have washed everything in my house just to see what this machine will do. To my surprise my white clothes, comforters, sleeping bags, all are cleaner than they ever have gotten before. SO LITTLE SOAP, SO LITTLE WATER, yet clean!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 29, 2009

Looks nice but ...

"The washer and dryer look nice, appear to be solidly constructed, and are loaded with features but ....
* A screw in the washer came loose causing damage to the drum.
* Drying has been erratic wherein clothes come out under dry, or crispy dry, at the whim of the machine.
* Display lights on dryer can flicker off mid-cycle.
Return pending."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Farmington Hills, MI
Date:February 6, 2010

Costco has a great return policy

Pros: both units look good, installation team was very professional, costco has great customer service, both units operated quietly, great price for the pair
Cons: washer vibrates excessively, dryer broke in 5 days, took over a month to deliver following my order
Model Number: Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair
"This is the 2nd review I submitted for this product. The 1st review didn't get past the censors at Costco, probably because I mentioned the manufacturer and model number of the replacement washer and dryer. To make a long story short - The Washer vibrates excessively. So much so that the entire house floor and anything on it will feel the vibration. I spent hours getting the washer perfectly level, but the vibration was still unacceptable. The floor it sat on is linoleum covered 3/4" plywood on 16 inch centered 2x10 joists. This unit may work well on a cement floor but I wouldn't put it on a wood floor. After dealing with the washer vibration, the matching dryer stopped working on day 5. Displaying code F 22. The dryer would work for exactly one minute then shut itself off and display code F 22. The repair technician thought he fixed it, but the problem reoccurred the same day after he left. I contacted Costco and they offerred to pick both units up and give me a full refund. The replacement washer and dryer the wife and I purchased (name and model will be unmentioned) work great. The washer doesn't vibrate our house and the dryer still works as it should. I only wished Costco sold this brand washer and dryer."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2009

I love this set!

Pros: affordable, quiet, smooth rotation, quick delivery
"Did a lot of research before I bought this set. The price is very competitive with other units comparable elsewhere. Delivery was faster than estimated. The washer and dryer are very quiet, and the rotation is very smooth. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone. I love it!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:East Bay, SF
Date:November 18, 2009

Read Instructions Before Installing

"My Parents recently purchased the Duet set and love it. Washer works great and dryer is nice and fast. No the doors do not reverse. I went to switch the doors and discovered that it cannot be done without extra parts. Not a fault in the product, but can be an inconvenience. As for vibration, none is transferred to the floor. I used to professionally install these front loader washers and dryers when they were just beginning to be popular, and 9 times out of 10, washer vibration or noise happens because the shipping screws in the back of the machine were not removed (Not all installers remember to remove these)."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Corona, CA.
Date:July 6, 2010

1 week and dryer needs service

Model Number: Whirpool Duet 9400 (Gas)
"Delivered 7/1 ..dryer worked till 7/5 and now waiting for repairman on 7/8..UGHHH!! Dryer is not heating any more, and here I was concerned about issues with washer due to reviews I'd read! Blind-sidedI!! I am giving a 1 star rating is as a result of repair issue...I hope to be able to improve the rating after 7/8 (repairman visit).
It's taken a while to get used to how these appliances work since previous washer and dryer were simple and old..very few options. I am reading/re-reading the manuals as I go to ensure I have a complete understanding of what these appliances can do for me if I use them correctly.
Didin't like the smells initially..burnt smell. Got passed that and then cloths was not smelling fresh/clean. Discovered need to use softener to get the clean smell. I imagine it's the HE detergent that isn't as potent as the regular one. Now cloths is soft and clean but no longer DRY! Hoping just a temporary glitch! Confused about sensor and why it kept drying after closths was dry..maybe this is why...not working as it's supposed to. Guess I will find out when tech is here!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sparks,NV
Date:August 16, 2009

Great Dryer, Poor Door Design

Model Number: 9400SZ
"I purchased the dryer at the local Costco, and as soon as the dryer was installed at home the door would not stay closed. There are two latches on the door (12 and 6 o'clock) that keep the door closed. These latches would not keep the door closed enough to keep the dryer running, had to call Whirlpool and they send a technician within a couple of days. The technician installed a new hatch door lock and it seems to be working now. The dryer is great and clothes come out like fresh out of an oven, no complains. If it was wasn't for the door issue, the dryer would of been a 5 star dryer, we as consumers should not have this problem specially from a high end and expensive dryer."
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:August 20, 2009

I love this washer and dryer

Model Number: whirlpool duet 9400
"after sending a Kenmore Elite Oasis back due to the fact that it shredded my clothes, among many other problems with the set, I reviewed many washer and dryers and ordered this one. I love it!! It gets the clothes clean and it is not at all noisy. I would recommend this to any of my friends."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tigard, OR
Date:April 2, 2009

Great appliances & installation

Model Number: WFW9400SZ
"Installers arrived on time and did an excellent job of removing the old and installing the new. The machines work perfectly. The high speed spin of the washer does shake the machine but the transfer to the floor and house is minimal, even with a load of wet towels."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>