Customer Reviews for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

$1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer

CLICK HERE FOR WASHER SPECS   Washer - Installation & Haul Away are included in the purchase price of the WASHER.   Washer Features: Model: WFW9400SZ   ENERGY STAR® Qualified     Ultra Capacity: 4.0 cubic foot capacity   14 Cycles   6TH Sense Technology   1,200RPM Spin Speed   Sanitary Cycle CLICK HERE FOR GAS DRYER SPECS   Gas Dryer -Installation & Haul Away ARE NOT INCLUDED In the Purchase Price of the GAS DRYER. Gas Dryer Features:   Model: WGD9400SZ   7.0 cubic foot capacity   10 Automatic Cycles   Acceler-Care Drying System   5 Temperature Selections   4-Way Venting  Wrinkle Shield Plus Feature CLICK HERE FOR ELECTRIC DRYER SPECS   Electric Dryer - Installation & Haul Away are included in the purchase price of the Electric Dryer.   Electric Dryer Features:   Model: WED9400SZ   7.0 cubic foot capacity   10 Automatic Cycles   Acceler-Care Drying System   5 Temperature Selections   4-Way Venting   Wrinkle Shield Plus Feature CLICK HERE FOR PEDESTAL SPECS   Pedestals - Installation is included in the purchase price of the Pedestals.   Pedestal Features: Model: LAB2700MQ   Each drawer has three-compartment storage   Provides easy access to front loading doors by elevating washer or dryer 13" above the floor level. Minimizes bending and stooping when loading and unloading appliances. Model:11468095
Average Customer Rating:
3.737 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
(out of 57 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
9
39 of 57(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Review 21 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego,CA
Date:December 9, 2009

Fabulous Set!!

Pros: doors are nice height, quiet, great features, efficient
Cons: soap & softener drawer too high
Model Number: 9400
"Decided to replace my fifteen year old set before it needed replacing and also to save water and energy. This set is wonderful!!! I could not believe how quiet they are. Also, very easy to figure out how to use them. It is sort of odd that the dryer door doesn't always latch the two together, but it really isn't a big deal, although, sort of tacky for such a nice set. I did a load of jeans and sweats and they dried in 40 minutes. My old dry would have taken twice that. It is fun to watch the laundry-simple pleasures!!!"
Review 22 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverside, California
Date:November 20, 2009

Great buy!

"We just received our new washer and dryer and we are ecstatic. They work perfectly. I noticed some cons written about dryer door not catching properly. This is a security feature emplaced by Whirlpool so as not to have young ones lock themselves in the dryer. Very simple, close the door, it latches first time, then push on top of door to latch second time. Very simple, nothing wrong with this method. Almost sounds like buyers getting bent out of shape for nothing."
Review 23 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tampa
Date:January 15, 2010

Better Than Expected

Pros: cleans fantastic, quiet, efficient, easy to use
Cons: none so far
Model Number: WP DUET 9400 GAS
"Better than expected
We first looked at a Samsung but for 3K we looked elsewhere. We have had the units for over a month and they are fantastic. Better than the reviews. Never had any issue with the dryer door coming open and have done lots of comforters and heavy towels. Uses so little water and the laundry seems cleaner! Very little if any vibration and can’t hear the washer when running. We use to close the laundry room door because of noise but now don’t have to. We have the gas dryer version and would rate it and the washer excellent.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Upland, CA
Date:June 18, 2010

Don't be fooled by False Reviews

Model Number: WFW9400SZ02 and WGD9400SZ2
"I just got my 9400 Washer and Dryer delivered 6/16/10. I purchased online on 6/10/10 so less than 1 week for delivery!
Before buying, I read a lot of reviews on this site and others. Most of the negative comments related to the Dryer Door opening and clothes falling out. I found a few reviews stating this is not a manufacturing defect but rather a Safety feature. The Dryer Door has two closures one located at 12 O'clock and the other at 6 O'clock. In order to close the door properly you must close the door with two hands, one in each of these two positions. Optionally, you can just use one hand located in the center of the door and press it evenly. Pay attention to the manner in which the door locks in place. you should see both positions seat themselves (12 and 6 O'clock). Use a bit of common sense and don't assume the door is going to close securely by just shutting it. This design is bit odd but my guess is that it keeps small kids from locking themselves in.
As far as the Washer and Dryer performance. Well, I'm a single Dad who never looked forward to doing laundry. That has all changed now that I own this set. These machines are incredibly high tech and Environmentally Efficient. My clothes come out clean and wrinkle free. The machines are very quite and don't move when operating under normal loads so far.
If you are think about buying these, all I have to say is... DO IT !!!"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Milford, CT
Date:September 10, 2010

Love it

"We are truly impressed with the capacity of these units. Bought the washer & dryer last year and have told many people about it. Our laundry room is on the first floor of the house so the lowest spin cycle on the washer is the best otherwise we hear and feel the spin in the next room. If your laundry is on foundation (concrete), I don't think this will happen."
Review 26 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2010

Happy Customer

"Awesome Set!
Delivered, perfect professional install, took old set away!
Have had this for a month now. Perfect with no problems. Can't beat this deal!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:August 6, 2010

So far all is good!

Model Number: 9400sz
"No problems and in my 2nd week. Washer is not loud and does not seem to vibrate like most reviews said."
Review 28 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington the State
Date:June 28, 2010

Washer works great

Pros: works great less vibration than my top load
Cons: should have picked up this washer 2 years ago
"Read the online reviews pro & con.
Read Consumer Reports
Read the instalation manual and followed it carefully.
Washer works great, less vibration than my old whirlpool top loader and a lot easier on the clothes.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tallahassee, Florida
Date:September 2, 2010

Happy with Purchase!

Model Number: 9400 Suite
"After studying and comparing the offerings of front loaders I finally decided on this pair and have been so pleased with my choice. I love the pedestals; they save my back and make the work much easier. The many cycle options are wonderful and make laundry almost fun... almost. You can order the stationary shelf for the dryer which is a no charge addition and is very nice. If you are short the laundry detergent loader is a bit high with the pedestal. I still can recommend this pair without hesitation."
Review 30 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Illinois
Date:September 9, 2010

Excellent Washer and Dryer

Pros: cleaning, efficiency, quiet
Model Number: Duet 9150
"We have had our Whirlpool Duet with pedestals for about 4 years now and LOVE them. Not only have they been workhorses, but they do a beautiful job washing and drying. The washer is quiet, doesn't creep along the floor and the dryer is efficient and quick."
Review 31 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:East Bay SF
Date:August 10, 2009

Overall Good Product, Except Dryer Door

Model Number: Whirlpool 9400 Duet Dryer 7.0 CF
"The Duet pair was delivered in July, so have had them about 1 month. The first day, after the installers left, I noticed that the dryer door would not securely close. Tthe dryer door has a button-switch that needs to held down by the door in order for the dryer to operate.
We had the repair service out within a week and they replaced the top latch. Unfortunately, the switch is near the 12 o'clock position and the door handle is at 9 o'clock. So, even with the new latch, it requires the user to close the door, then press on the top of the dryer door to secure the latch. The techs said this is a common issue. We checked this out at an appliance store and sure enough, only about 1/2 of the Whirlpool dryers with this type door worked correctly.
Bottom line: a really poor dryer door design. Make sure you check this issue out before the installers leave."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:September 25, 2009

Pretty Happy

Pros: cleans beautifully
"I went from a bottom of the line washer and dryer to this. I am very happy with everything...except the dryer. The sensor seems to have a hard time sensing when the clothes need to be dried for a longer period of time. Also, a week ago, it just stopped heating all together. Whirlpool sent someone out who claimed they fixed it. Still does not work. Called Whirlpool again and they told me I had to get it straightened out with the company who tried to fix it. Whirlpool is NO HELP! After many hours on the phone and many calls later, my husband is just going to return the dryer and get another one.
Over all, I am glad we have it. Whirlpool has a horrible warranty process."
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lynnwood, WA
Date:August 23, 2010

One more happy customer

Model Number: Whirlpool 9400 Duet
"We are very satisfied with the performance and the economical water saving technique applied. Machines are quiet and our clothes come out less wrinkled but drier. It's mesmerizing while watching the machines operate. Good buy despite the prices."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:East Bay, SF
Date:November 18, 2009

Read Instructions Before Installing

"My Parents recently purchased the Duet set and love it. Washer works great and dryer is nice and fast. No the doors do not reverse. I went to switch the doors and discovered that it cannot be done without extra parts. Not a fault in the product, but can be an inconvenience. As for vibration, none is transferred to the floor. I used to professionally install these front loader washers and dryers when they were just beginning to be popular, and 9 times out of 10, washer vibration or noise happens because the shipping screws in the back of the machine were not removed (Not all installers remember to remove these)."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 15, 2010

Good Bang for your Buck

Pros: looks good, includes pedestals, good price
Cons: doesn't have timer to start on washer and dryer
"The unit looks great overall. The pedestal drawers are big enough to fit Costco size Tide and Downey softener. Shipping was a breeze. Delivery guys were friendly and told us what size gas hose to buy. Functionality: I have not had any problems with the washer or dryer. The door for the dryer is easy to close, tap the top and bottom. It is not your top of the line washer and dryer but it gets the clothes clean and dries it pretty well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lewistown, MT.
Date:April 5, 2010

Does good job

Pros: cleans clothes great
Cons: poor assembly and face printing
Model Number: Duet 9400 with bases
"We also upgraded to this 9400 combo. Costco will not deliver anymore to Montana, WY. and parts of Idaho. After purchasing in the Helena store the local Whirlpool man installed bases and machines. In doing so he found lots of screws loose and both the dryer and washer doors needed lots of adjustment to work. This included return service calls.Once they are in use they work great!
CAUTION; do not use any type of cleaner on the silver face selection printing. It will come off immediately! Whrilpool says they will replace but the service man says the whole front of the machine must come off and he is not thrilled about doing it as whrilpool has a service limit they will pay.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2010

7years and going

"I won a grand prize which included the heavy duty washer. This last year I got one of the F Errors. I wasnt impressed with customer service info over the phone but I did get ahold of local repair guy. Wasnt cycling and I gathered it was the "brain". Sure enough it was replaced and works great still. Cost for part was not expensive at all and the local guy was reasonable. less 200 bucks to fix. I really like it. I'm hard on washers but this one has lasted longer than any other i've bought. I later bought the dryer and what can I say, works great even though its not the heavy duty matcher. Saves on water and power for sure"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sparks,NV
Date:August 16, 2009

Great Dryer, Poor Door Design

Model Number: 9400SZ
"I purchased the dryer at the local Costco, and as soon as the dryer was installed at home the door would not stay closed. There are two latches on the door (12 and 6 o'clock) that keep the door closed. These latches would not keep the door closed enough to keep the dryer running, had to call Whirlpool and they send a technician within a couple of days. The technician installed a new hatch door lock and it seems to be working now. The dryer is great and clothes come out like fresh out of an oven, no complains. If it was wasn't for the door issue, the dryer would of been a 5 star dryer, we as consumers should not have this problem specially from a high end and expensive dryer."
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 7, 2009

OK

"On their pedistals these things are tall; no semi-sorting the stuff out of the dryer on the washer top. They are very quiet. They do not hold more laundry than the old Sears washer/dryer they replaced. The cycle time is extreemely long, up to 1 1/2 hours on the wash. The warm rinse and other options are only available with certain cycles. I suspect I would have been happier with the Cabrio pair."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:August 5, 2009

Door on washer not Reversible!!!

Pros: 4.0 cu. ft...it's big
Cons: doors on washer not reversible
Model Number: Whirlpool Duet 9400
"I purchased it online and it was delivered and it was delivered and professional installed within a week...:)
Pros: 4.0 Cu Ft.
Nice looking unit
Touch menu was intuitive
See thru doors on both washer and dryer
Pros:
4.0 Cu Ft.
Brought it from Costco (2 year warranty)
Impressive looking unit
Nice and easy to use touch menu
See thru doors on both washer and dryer
Pretty quiet even in the spin cycle (comparable to Maytag)
Cons:
Washer not reversible period! Required additional parts (not included) in order to reverse dryer door. If the layout of your laundry room where you can only have the washer on the right and dryer on the left side, do yourself a big favor…buy a Maytag or Bosch...It's such an inconvenience to get the clothes out from the washer , lift it high over the washer and dryer doors (5 high w/ pedestal) ..The workaround is to unload it to a basket and then move it to the dryer, which is bad for your back and defeat the purpose of having the pedestal in the first place)
When the dryer is on, the room becomes humid rather quickly…Turned on the exhaust but to no avail…did not have this problem with my 9 year old Maytag Neptune.
The door on the dryer does not close properly…Not sure if it’s by design but you need an additional push on the top of the door to get it to latch properly"
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>