Customer Reviews for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

$1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer

CLICK HERE FOR WASHER SPECS   Washer - Installation & Haul Away are included in the purchase price of the WASHER.   Washer Features: Model: WFW9400SZ   ENERGY STAR® Qualified     Ultra Capacity: 4.0 cubic foot capacity   14 Cycles   6TH Sense Technology   1,200RPM Spin Speed   Sanitary Cycle CLICK HERE FOR GAS DRYER SPECS   Gas Dryer -Installation & Haul Away ARE NOT INCLUDED In the Purchase Price of the GAS DRYER. Gas Dryer Features:   Model: WGD9400SZ   7.0 cubic foot capacity   10 Automatic Cycles   Acceler-Care Drying System   5 Temperature Selections   4-Way Venting  Wrinkle Shield Plus Feature CLICK HERE FOR ELECTRIC DRYER SPECS   Electric Dryer - Installation & Haul Away are included in the purchase price of the Electric Dryer.   Electric Dryer Features:   Model: WED9400SZ   7.0 cubic foot capacity   10 Automatic Cycles   Acceler-Care Drying System   5 Temperature Selections   4-Way Venting   Wrinkle Shield Plus Feature CLICK HERE FOR PEDESTAL SPECS   Pedestals - Installation is included in the purchase price of the Pedestals.   Pedestal Features: Model: LAB2700MQ   Each drawer has three-compartment storage   Provides easy access to front loading doors by elevating washer or dryer 13" above the floor level. Minimizes bending and stooping when loading and unloading appliances. Model:11468095
Average Customer Rating:
3.737 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
(out of 57 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
9
39 of 57(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Review 21 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:August 20, 2009

I love this washer and dryer

Model Number: whirlpool duet 9400
"after sending a Kenmore Elite Oasis back due to the fact that it shredded my clothes, among many other problems with the set, I reviewed many washer and dryers and ordered this one. I love it!! It gets the clothes clean and it is not at all noisy. I would recommend this to any of my friends."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfield County, CT
Date:August 6, 2009

Great Deal

"We purchased the whirlpool duet for our first home 3 yrs ago - we were happy with it and when we moved decided to go with the Costco deal again. This set is much bigger and laundry is much less of a chore. The cycle time is a bit long ~90m but not out of the norm for other front loads. THe clothes are cleaner than ever. The laundry is right off the kitchen and the set is hardly noticeable when running"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fountain Valley. CA
Date:August 1, 2009

I am a great husband!

Pros: quiet large capacity, water efficient
"Bought these for my wife and she loves them. They were delivered earlier than expected and run perfectly. They are so quiet I did not even realize they were on. I actually thought we had a mouse in our garage because all I heard was some light scratching, until I realized it was the metal zipper banging around in the dryer."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio
Date:July 31, 2009

Outstanding Set

Pros: very quiet, drier senses when clothes are dry thus saving ener
Model Number: Whirlpool 9400 pair
"Order time to delivery/setup time was one week which is outstanding. Installers followed my instructions and placed items where I wanted them. Set up was a snap and took about 50 minutes total to include haul away of old items. Machines work flawlessly and are very quiet."
Review 25 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:July 12, 2009
Model Number: Duet 9400
"Delivery was great. 7 days from order placement. Nice setup and removal of old washer & dryer.
Our laundry is on the 2nd floor and we were concerned about vibration transfer to the floor and house. Noise and vibration is not a factor with this set. We have not seen anymore noise than the tub type set that we replaced. When the installers put in the dryer there was some rattling they noticed. I was given the option to have a new set brought or have a tech come and evaluate/fix. I chose the tech and within a week had it fixed and now no more rattle. (It was the heating element rattling). Quick fix and part of warranty. No out of pocket. I also knew that Costco would replace if we were not happy.
We are very happy so far with the purchase of this set and would recommend this set for others. Price is competitive and setup quick and nearly flawless.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rathdrum, Idaho
Date:June 30, 2009

Whites are Whiter

Model Number: WFW9400SZ
"I am so impressed! First the setup and installation was outstanding! I checked everywhere and all dealers charged extra for this service. I have washed everything in my house just to see what this machine will do. To my surprise my white clothes, comforters, sleeping bags, all are cleaner than they ever have gotten before. SO LITTLE SOAP, SO LITTLE WATER, yet clean!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2009

I love this set!

Pros: affordable, quiet, smooth rotation, quick delivery
"Did a lot of research before I bought this set. The price is very competitive with other units comparable elsewhere. Delivery was faster than estimated. The washer and dryer are very quiet, and the rotation is very smooth. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone. I love it!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frisco, Texas
Date:April 19, 2009

Fantastic set for the price

Pros: great price
Cons: have them delivered
Model Number: WFW9400SZ
"My husband and I spent months researching washers and dryers. We are loyal Costco customers so when they offered the Duet we researched them and felt the price was perfect. I have to say I absolutely love my set. I am so happy with the way the washer cleans, less water and less time because it has much more capacity than my old set . I have three boys and I do loads of laundry, I am very impressed at how clean the clothes came out. The dryer takes less time due to the washer's higher RPM spin cycle. I haven't seen my whites glow like this in a long time. I would recommend having the set delivered unless you have several strong people to help lift. We picked ours up at the local Costco and getting the washer down off of the truck was quite a task."
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:April 11, 2009

Magical Washer & Dryer

Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Model Number: Duet 9400
"My wife loves her new Dryer & Washer.
Take the plunge. They are quiet. Our clothes are cleaner. Our kids like doing wash now!
"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tigard, OR
Date:April 2, 2009

Great appliances & installation

Model Number: WFW9400SZ
"Installers arrived on time and did an excellent job of removing the old and installing the new. The machines work perfectly. The high speed spin of the washer does shake the machine but the transfer to the floor and house is minimal, even with a load of wet towels."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lynnwood, WA
Date:August 23, 2010

One more happy customer

Model Number: Whirlpool 9400 Duet
"We are very satisfied with the performance and the economical water saving technique applied. Machines are quiet and our clothes come out less wrinkled but drier. It's mesmerizing while watching the machines operate. Good buy despite the prices."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2010

7years and going

"I won a grand prize which included the heavy duty washer. This last year I got one of the F Errors. I wasnt impressed with customer service info over the phone but I did get ahold of local repair guy. Wasnt cycling and I gathered it was the "brain". Sure enough it was replaced and works great still. Cost for part was not expensive at all and the local guy was reasonable. less 200 bucks to fix. I really like it. I'm hard on washers but this one has lasted longer than any other i've bought. I later bought the dryer and what can I say, works great even though its not the heavy duty matcher. Saves on water and power for sure"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 15, 2010

Good Bang for your Buck

Pros: looks good, includes pedestals, good price
Cons: doesn't have timer to start on washer and dryer
"The unit looks great overall. The pedestal drawers are big enough to fit Costco size Tide and Downey softener. Shipping was a breeze. Delivery guys were friendly and told us what size gas hose to buy. Functionality: I have not had any problems with the washer or dryer. The door for the dryer is easy to close, tap the top and bottom. It is not your top of the line washer and dryer but it gets the clothes clean and dries it pretty well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lewistown, MT.
Date:April 5, 2010

Does good job

Pros: cleans clothes great
Cons: poor assembly and face printing
Model Number: Duet 9400 with bases
"We also upgraded to this 9400 combo. Costco will not deliver anymore to Montana, WY. and parts of Idaho. After purchasing in the Helena store the local Whirlpool man installed bases and machines. In doing so he found lots of screws loose and both the dryer and washer doors needed lots of adjustment to work. This included return service calls.Once they are in use they work great!
CAUTION; do not use any type of cleaner on the silver face selection printing. It will come off immediately! Whrilpool says they will replace but the service man says the whole front of the machine must come off and he is not thrilled about doing it as whrilpool has a service limit they will pay.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:East Bay, SF
Date:November 18, 2009

Read Instructions Before Installing

"My Parents recently purchased the Duet set and love it. Washer works great and dryer is nice and fast. No the doors do not reverse. I went to switch the doors and discovered that it cannot be done without extra parts. Not a fault in the product, but can be an inconvenience. As for vibration, none is transferred to the floor. I used to professionally install these front loader washers and dryers when they were just beginning to be popular, and 9 times out of 10, washer vibration or noise happens because the shipping screws in the back of the machine were not removed (Not all installers remember to remove these)."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:September 25, 2009

Pretty Happy

Pros: cleans beautifully
"I went from a bottom of the line washer and dryer to this. I am very happy with everything...except the dryer. The sensor seems to have a hard time sensing when the clothes need to be dried for a longer period of time. Also, a week ago, it just stopped heating all together. Whirlpool sent someone out who claimed they fixed it. Still does not work. Called Whirlpool again and they told me I had to get it straightened out with the company who tried to fix it. Whirlpool is NO HELP! After many hours on the phone and many calls later, my husband is just going to return the dryer and get another one.
Over all, I am glad we have it. Whirlpool has a horrible warranty process."
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:East Bay SF
Date:August 10, 2009

Overall Good Product, Except Dryer Door

Model Number: Whirlpool 9400 Duet Dryer 7.0 CF
"The Duet pair was delivered in July, so have had them about 1 month. The first day, after the installers left, I noticed that the dryer door would not securely close. Tthe dryer door has a button-switch that needs to held down by the door in order for the dryer to operate.
We had the repair service out within a week and they replaced the top latch. Unfortunately, the switch is near the 12 o'clock position and the door handle is at 9 o'clock. So, even with the new latch, it requires the user to close the door, then press on the top of the dryer door to secure the latch. The techs said this is a common issue. We checked this out at an appliance store and sure enough, only about 1/2 of the Whirlpool dryers with this type door worked correctly.
Bottom line: a really poor dryer door design. Make sure you check this issue out before the installers leave."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:chicago, IL
Date:September 17, 2010

7 years and dead

"Capacity is great. We had mold problem early on. Whirlpool told us to run an empty machine with a cup of bleach once a week.
Problems first year with seal. That was covered under warranty. Machine is making a lot of noise so I called for service. Technician said it would cost $550.00 to rebuild. I thought for this price, I would get more than 7 years out of a high end appliance. Need to replace.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sparks,NV
Date:August 16, 2009

Great Dryer, Poor Door Design

Model Number: 9400SZ
"I purchased the dryer at the local Costco, and as soon as the dryer was installed at home the door would not stay closed. There are two latches on the door (12 and 6 o'clock) that keep the door closed. These latches would not keep the door closed enough to keep the dryer running, had to call Whirlpool and they send a technician within a couple of days. The technician installed a new hatch door lock and it seems to be working now. The dryer is great and clothes come out like fresh out of an oven, no complains. If it was wasn't for the door issue, the dryer would of been a 5 star dryer, we as consumers should not have this problem specially from a high end and expensive dryer."
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for $1,799.99 after $500 OFF Whirlpool Duet 9400 Pair 7.0 CuFt Dryer 4.0 CuFt Washer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 7, 2009

OK

"On their pedistals these things are tall; no semi-sorting the stuff out of the dryer on the washer top. They are very quiet. They do not hold more laundry than the old Sears washer/dryer they replaced. The cycle time is extreemely long, up to 1 1/2 hours on the wash. The warm rinse and other options are only available with certain cycles. I suspect I would have been happier with the Cabrio pair."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>