Customer Reviews for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa

Select Cabinet Style Below 2 Pumps, DURA-LAST™ Cabinet System, Includes Storage Steps
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
(out of 56 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
51 of 56(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Review 1 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Renton, WA
Date:May 28, 2011

What a disappointment

Cons: does not work
Model Number: CSXi 80-jet
"The spa looks great and I am anxious to try it, but cannot comment on how it works because I do not know. Once the spa was set up, the power pack was faulty and I waited three weeks for delivery and installation of the new part. I did have to tighten the heater unions because the service team neglected to do so. Once that was done I filled it with water to discover one of the diverter knobs leaking water and pump 2 not working. More waiting..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:March 3, 2011

Will Strong Spas Provide Support After Purchase?

"I would like to share my real-life experience with Strong Spas. Please read this review in its entirety and know it is the truth.
I purchased a Strong Spa 18 months ago. It's a lot of work to get a spa from the curb to your backyard. After that was done, and an electrician installed the wires, the tub failed to turn on. Strong Spas sent out materials (at their expense) to fix the problem.
Six months later, the spa failed again mysteriously, in the same manner. Strong Spas again (at their expense) sent the materials to fix it. They also went above and beyond, and hired a specialist to come out and evaluate the spa.
The specialist evaluated the spa, and found no problem with it. So, we turned it back on. A few months later, again it failed.
Now, at this point, I have to admit I was upset with Strong Spas. I'm a doctor, not a spa technician, Jim, so I didn't realize why the spa continued to fail.
Strong Spas - after spending thousands of dollars to fix my problem - offered to provide me with a full refund and take the spa away; again, at their expense.
The specialist who came out to my house had said something which I hadn't forgotten; he stated that he had worked on several Strong Spas and had never seen a single one fail. This made me re-think what I was doing.
I had a different electrician come out and re-evaluate the first one's work. He found several blatent code violations that were in his opinion directly responsible for the spa failing multiple times.
I brought this to the attention of Strong Spas, and apologized that they had spent so much to fix a problem which they were not to blame for. Even after they knew that it was not a fault in their product, Strong Spas still paid for the second electrician to fix the problem. My spa has worked perfectly ever since.
I sincerely believe that if all companies cared as much for their customers as Strong Spas does, that this world would be a better place.
I cannot recommend this product enough. If you are reading this review and are in the market to buy a spa, you need to know that Strong Spas will always be there for you to ensure your 100% satisfaction, moreso than any company I have ever purchased a product from in my lifetime.
I am a real customer, and this is my real story."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westminster CO
Date:February 14, 2011

Excellent

Model Number: CSXi80
"Ordered the spa figured we would have 4 - 6 weeks to get ready for delivery. 14 days later it was sitting on our driveway. Love the look. Love the jets. Have been a spa owner for 17 years and very happy with the tub we bought and the delivery so quick. Had just over a month now and am glad we bought it. Was scared about buying one on line but am very happy with what we got."
Review 4 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Stockton, CA
Date:January 3, 2011

I thought I did my homework

Pros: looks nice
Cons: upper jets are not really jets
"I studied this spa for over a year. I read all the reviews and finally made my purchase. I feel bad about it but I bought this for neck and shoulder pain. This spa does not have powerful enough jets at the neck and shoulder area, in fact the water trickles out at the shoulder area. It would have been great for lower back pain . Sadly it is going back."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:December 21, 2010

80 Jet Spa

Cons: neck jets don't work properly
"I love this spa except that I need the neck/shoulder jets since I have had two total shoulder replacements and use mine for therapy. I have called and emailed the company and nothing resolved yet. This is very frustrating...no one in area to check it and I have had it for 6 weeks now....very very frustrating."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Parker,CO
Date:December 7, 2010

Great Value

Pros: value and quality
Cons: less lights out of water and more lights underwate
Model Number: CSxi80
"I did days of research before purchasing this tub without seeing it. I was aware of the comments about jet power being weaker than some liked, cover being light weight, lights being out of the water. These are valid concerns but I still feel the purchase was well worth the value. My main concern was temperature of water, will this tub be hot enough? I am happy to report that the water is hot! This has been the third spa I have owned and am very happy with this Costco product."
Review 7 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 27, 2010

Great Spa

Pros: cost, appearance, features, customer service
Cons: deep captain chairs
Model Number: CSXi80
"I purchased this spa in December 2009 after reading through the reviews and have been enjoying it ever since. The jets are powerful enough for me, especially when you close off the jets not being used. The captain seats are deep for me at 5'2", which requires that I boost myself up to keep my mouth above water, but the other seats are a perfect fit. The waterfall and lights are a nice feature. I had two problems that were immediately taken care of by the company: 1) the spa cover was collecting water and 2) the spa seemed to be leaking. The company sent out a new cover within a week at no charge and without requiring me to send back the old one. The company also sent out a technician to check my spa for leaks. It turns out that the cabinet was collecting water when it rained and it took time for it to drain after the rains stopped.
I set the spa in the Economy mode and the temp stays at 102. The insulation of this tub is excellent. Overall, I'm very pleased with this hot tub.
"
Review 8 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fergus Falls, MN
Date:November 1, 2010

Service is Amazing!

Pros: price, heats well, looks like an expensive spa, quality of construction, steps and cover included, fast delivery
Cons: needs more lights in the water., steps not water tight
Model Number: Evolution CSXi80
"I love the spa. Strong Spas, which makes this spa, is amazing to deal with. I have had two minor issues with our spa, within the first three months of use, which Strong Spas have remeedied each time. One LED went bad and a pillow was wrecked by one of the kids. Christopher at Strong Spas, sent me both and replacing them was easier than he explained it to be.
The delivery of the spa was 2 weeks early. The driver placed it in our driverway and since the mahogany model has panels, we just popped them out and 8 adults carried, with ease, 200 feet.
The spa looks like a +$9,000 spa, but doesn't have the feel of those spas, let's say it's the little things. It is nicer than the $7,000 spas that I looked at.
I wish it had more lights under the water line. I am pleased with the colors and the strobe setting is the favorite of my kids.
The heater is very adequate for the size of spa. We have not had it over a winter yet, but in the last week the air temp was below 30 degrees and it was at its set temp. I am interested in seeing how the insulated shell is during the sub zero months this winter. When I opend the shell last week, it was hot in there, so my gut tells me it will be good.
Costco sells the Evolution CSXI80 for less than the same spa by Strong Spas, mostly because of the two color options. I was nervous about ordering a spa online. No more worries... Costco picked a great company to partner with.
I would buy this spa again. The feature set, for the price, was the difference of buying a spa or not. We decided to dive in and are very happy. I only wish we had more time to use it."
Review 9 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Holyoke, MA
Date:August 31, 2010

CSXi80

Model Number: CSXi80
"We shopped for months, and with our trust in Costco, purchased the CSXi80 - it came on time with proper notice so we had a truck to move it to the back yard ready at delivery. Set up was simple - the family loves it - and the jets are superb. Most important, a chrome trim strip had pulled off on arrival - I called the company, and they could not have been more helpful - shipping a replacement asap. I just called today to request a replacement pillow and they offered to send along at no charge. Very impressed and very pleased"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Camas, WA
Date:August 24, 2010

Wonderful Experience

Model Number: CSXi80
"This is the kind of review that's enjoyable to write. This is my 3rd spa purchase from Costo. The 2nd one was problem ridden and Christopher in the Spa Resolution Team took care of the problem to my complete satisfaction, which led to my 3rd purchase. This CSXi 80 tub is by far the best value and highest quality for the price point. I could not be any more satisfied. Thank you Christopher and Costco.."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:August 9, 2010

Great Tub -- Great Price

Pros: excellent quality for the price
Cons: owner's manual could be better
Model Number: CSXi80
"This spa was better than anything we looked at locally, and cost thousands less than anything similar. It was delivered to our driveway 4.5 weeks after our order. Installation went smoothly and operation has been nearly flawless. One jet was clogged with plastic construction debris, but a call to customer service resolved the problem. They told me how to remove the jet to clean it. They also offered to send a few spare jets for free just in case! My wife and I are moderately tall and were nervous about the fit of the over-the-shoulder jets, but they turned out to fit perfectly. The manual could have been better. The color printing was smeared, making it hard to read, and no information was given on how to adjust or remove jets."
Review 12 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rockland, NY
Date:August 5, 2010
Model Number: CSi80
"The cabinet is brown but at times looks grey or burgundy, depending on the sunlight. The interior shell is white with soft, marble-like grey lines. The moving company leaves it on the street or in your driveway in an upright position, so if you’re not planning on immediately moving it to the location you want and it’s windy, you’ll have to secure it or it’ll blow over. I placed my car on one side and braced it with 2 x 4’s on the other until the crane came the next day. After the crane set it flat near my swimming pool, I rolled it on PVC pipes to get it to the exact spot I wanted. Although I think two people could have slid it easily without using pipes. Advise your electrician that it’s a four-wire and not a three-wire electric install. Many electricians are unfamiliar with four-wire installations. Costco said four to six weeks for delivery. Mine came in less than two weeks. It has six seats: two are comfortable; two are very comfortable; and two are not too comfortable. The female clips used to secure the cover are in a bag stapled to the bottom center of the cover. I thought I had thrown them away with the box. Crane companies near where I live wanted $150 per hour with a minimum of four hours. I negotiated one down to $450. The electrical work was $900. A little steep when compared with what other reviewers paid, but it was a long distance to my breaker box, and electrical material alone was approximately $500."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Date:July 13, 2010

Very Satisfied

Pros: great value well built lots of jets great power
Cons: long delivery time poor installation instructions
Model Number: CSXi80
"We couldn't be happier with our new hot tub. We have had it for about 2 months and have used it just about every night. It is well built and has lots of power at the jets. We replaced an older one that had a gas fired boiler for heat. Since we are on year long averaging for our gas billing we don't know what the adjustment will be on the gas, but it only raised our electric bill by $16.00 for the first month. It is the summer months now so we anticipate more electrical consumption in the winter. We found a small leak at one of the lights. Strong Spas doesn't have a store in our state. We called the factory and they took immediate steps to get it repaired. I give the Strong Spa Hot Tub my highest recommendation. The bang for your buck is un-believable."
Review 14 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:July 6, 2010

Highly recommend! What are you waiting for!

Pros: great price for what you get. super jet power, simple to do a comparison... there isn't any!, temperature has to be set low or it gets too hot!, or another way to say it is very energy efficient.
Cons: one piece of pipe had small leak but i was sent, a replacement within a day. water fall had small, pieces of plastic stuck inside that i removed, needs to have bigger pillows so neck jets don't, splash all over! dang powerful jets don't ya know!
Model Number: Strong spa CSXi80
"I had an existing Jacuzzi hot tub that I sold and had the cement slab and electrical in place. The curb side delivery guys wheeled it up the driveway and positioned it for an easy move to the back yard. Tub will show up on a pallet on it’s side. It will have to be tipped down into the flat position. I would suggest 4 to 5 guys to complete the move. I had to drill a 1" hole for electrical access. (easy)
We use it for stress relief for all the family - Hockey, soccer, medical issue (neck), and work. The neck jets hit spots no other spa has replicated. There are enough spots for 4 adults to comfortably enjoy even though it is a 6 person spa. (4 adults and 2 children if you want to pack everyone in.) Jets have enough power to push you out of your seat! Every jet is adjustable, filters the water 10X better that previous spa, and mood lighting LED’s make it well worth the price.
The service tech on initial setup was available and easily reachable through e-mail and phone. Maintenance manual is pictorial and very detailed on shutdown, operation, and general care. Easy access to 360 degrees of the hot tub without screws or fasteners. Overall, a great hot tub.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:July 6, 2010

Excellent Tub at a Great Price

Pros: great value for the money, good jet action, cabinet is solid with a great look
Cons: have to drill your own 220 conduit hole in cabinet, interestingly no clock in the digital controls
Model Number: CSXi80
"First, the delivery went very well. The driver was on time and even walked the tub down the sidewalk a bit to a safe storage spot. Then we had a 75' crane pick it up and place it on the roof. It arrives on its side, not the bottom, so you'll need some friends or a heavy item moving company to lay it flat. After that, the all-resin construction makes it amazingly easy to slide around. Startup went exactly to plan with no glitches. Wiring into the control panel is a bit tight, but doable on your own. The tub looks great, runs great with solid jet action, seats are comfortable, and the access to all sides of the tub with pop out panels is great. We had a Sundance Spa which is considered high end, and this one we like better. Drilling your own power access port through 5" of foam takes the right drill attachment, and remember the pump and power panel are not below the digital controls like most tubs. The steps with storage inside are a nice addition."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Erie, PA
Date:July 5, 2010

Truly A Great Value

Pros: unique cabinet, great price and loads of features, costco gurantee & strong/evo cust. svc.
Cons: no local dealer support, does not come with gfi/breaker
Model Number: CSXi80
"Our CSXi80 was delivered about 5 weeks after placing the order. I did TONS of research prior to buying. Believe me, there is not a better value out there in a spa this large. I researched all the components(Balboa, A.O. Smith, Waterway) and found them to be the same high quality, industry standard parts used in many other name brand spas out there. Strong/Evolution's customer service has been excellent and you actually get a live person on the phone when you call them with a question. This thing has a beautiful, classy, one-of-a kind look. The jets seem very good and can be adjusted for more or less power. The LED lighting is very cool and the waterfall is a nice touch.
The only drawback is not having a local dealer to set it up for you and be there for support. Obviously, that drawback was not enough to prevent me from buying. I simply do not beleive the local service is worth the extra $3,000 to $5,000 you'd pay them for a similar spa. Especially with the Costco satisfaction guarantee.
Go ahead and hesitate. Do your research. Check the prices at your local dealers. Then buy this thing because it is definitely worth the money."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakland, NJ
Date:June 20, 2010

Highly Recommended

Pros: well worth the price, many jets with good power, well made cabinet
Cons: delivery to curb without much flexibility, cover handler not available, access to all sides required for maintenance, quality of selector knobs is sub-par
Model Number: Evolution Spas CSXi80
"The spa came very quickly, almost didn't give me time to prepare for it! I got rid of a Marquis Euphoria Spa that was 10 years old and basically beyond cost effective repair. The replacement Marquis Spa would have been twice the cost of the Evolution. My decision to go to Costco was simple. Although I see differences in the quality, the "name brand" spa didn't last anywhere near it's estimated life (and it was well cared for).
Installation was simple, since I had a spa previously, however, be aware that the placement of equipment is less than ideal in this spa. The panel that needs to be wired is on the left side of the spa, based on the steps. In my case, when the spa is set into a structure with only the front accessible, this poses a huge problem. Also, rather than having all of the important equipment accessible from one spot, there are important pieces all over the spa! Pumps on opposite sides, electrical panel in another location, and ozone unit up in the top corner, etc. the good thing is the access panels are easily removed, so if you can get to all sides, repairs are simple. Also, not being encapsulated in foam makes everything easy to access, but I don't know if it will be anywhere near as inexpensive to run. Overall, very happy with the purchase. We spent the first soak in it just a few hours after receiving it and was pleasantly surprised by power and variety of jets.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas Texas
Date:June 17, 2010

Powerful

Pros: beautiful well built unit, 80 jets, awesome heating unit
Cons: wasn't free =)
Model Number: CSXi80
"Believe the reviews on here, this thing is a monster. Very well designed and built, doubt you'll find a better spa out there for this price. They over-sized the pumps and the heater on this unit which is a Good thing. You want to feel the jets on you and trust me, you will.
I'm in the pool business and find this product to be superior to any we've looked at previously. Our steps got left off the delivery but Costco is all over it for us.
Delivery was great as well, we were called a few days before to set up a delivery time and then another hour before to inform us they were on the way.
You'll need help, it's heavy.
A lot of jets are only good if you have the pumps to make them work and this unit has plenty.
For what it's worth, we bought this unit sight unseen because of the reviews on here. If you're on the fence I don't think you can go wrong here.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chino Valley, AZ
Date:May 29, 2010

great product for the money

Pros: great customer support, heats quickly
Cons: doesn't fit coverlifts
"I bought the 6 person,60 jet, 1 pump version of this a few months ago and I'm very happy with it. The jets are strong, but can be adjusted down if you want that. When I first started filling it there was a leak. The company that you call for problems was very helpful. It turns out that a gasket was tweeked and had to be replaced. They got a repair person to fix it right away. The only thing I'm not happy with is that cover lifts don't fit this tub because of the rounded corners. In fact, I was told the manufacturer doesn't recommend using a cover lift. Someone from our local spa store told me they thought they could make something that would make it possible to use a cover lift.The other thing is it would be hard to fit 6 adults in my tub. 4 is very comfortable.5 would be the maximum. Otherwise, very happy with this hot tub for the money."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brick, New Jersey....the Heart of the Jersey Shore
Date:April 14, 2010

DO NOT HESITATE

Pros: everything....the unit is truly beautiful
Cons: no remote controller board available
Model Number: Vienna 80
"After being without a hot tub for a few years now, I decided to dive into this one.....not literally, but you know what I mean. Priced out what seemed like a million spas....between visiting stores, checking the paper, going to "spa expo's" and looking in those annoying mailers we all get with 250 coupons in it....alas--the end. I went with this spa after seeing it at a retail store for about $9,100 and change for the same options. It is so nice, 2 seats have the shoulder massagers.....what seems like jets for every part of your body, it really is a bargain. The color I got, Pearl Shadow / Grey Slate Rock Cabinet, seems to no longer be available......but it is beautiful. The suround looks great, geat construction, and much quieter than spas I have had in the past---but much strongr jets......and there is tons of them.
It really is a great buy for the price, and would highly recomend it to anyone and or everyone."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>