Customer Reviews for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa

Select Cabinet Style Below 2 Pumps, DURA-LAST™ Cabinet System, Includes Storage Steps
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
(out of 56 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
51 of 56(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Review 1 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, Texas
Date:April 25, 2009

Fantastic!!!

Pros: quality and construction second to none, fit and finish, cabinet is a thing of beauty
Cons: none
Model Number: Evolution CSXi80
"I ordered this spa after researching tubs for about a year. After looking at all the spas I could and reading all the hype from each manufacturer It became obvious that the Evolution spa was the way to go. The folks at Costco and Strong Spas where great to work with. I priced this tub at a local retailer and the price was 4000.00 more for the lesser model so this is a great price. Now, the way its build. When the guys delivered the tub they said it was the heaviest tub they had every moved and after unpacking it and seeing how its made I see why. This thing is built like a tank. Quality is second to none. Pictures don't do it justice. The cabinet is beautiful and looks like rock. I bought the white/millstone and it is gorgeous. This tub is so well engineered that it will last forever. No WOOD or STEEL to decay or rust out. All for sides are of the cabinet are removable with ease and everything is easy to get to. My electrician and best friend wired it and was the first one in. He said of all the toys I own this is his favorite. It doesn't get any better than this. Do yourself a favor and quit looking around, BUY THIS TUB!!!"
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:July 6, 2010

Excellent Tub at a Great Price

Pros: great value for the money, good jet action, cabinet is solid with a great look
Cons: have to drill your own 220 conduit hole in cabinet, interestingly no clock in the digital controls
Model Number: CSXi80
"First, the delivery went very well. The driver was on time and even walked the tub down the sidewalk a bit to a safe storage spot. Then we had a 75' crane pick it up and place it on the roof. It arrives on its side, not the bottom, so you'll need some friends or a heavy item moving company to lay it flat. After that, the all-resin construction makes it amazingly easy to slide around. Startup went exactly to plan with no glitches. Wiring into the control panel is a bit tight, but doable on your own. The tub looks great, runs great with solid jet action, seats are comfortable, and the access to all sides of the tub with pop out panels is great. We had a Sundance Spa which is considered high end, and this one we like better. Drilling your own power access port through 5" of foam takes the right drill attachment, and remember the pump and power panel are not below the digital controls like most tubs. The steps with storage inside are a nice addition."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:wayne nj
Date:July 12, 2009

amazing

Pros: quiet, powerful, cheap, beautiful, no spa pad needed, support staff is great
Cons: stairs storage space are not rainproof, delievery is only curbside
Model Number: csxi80
"Received spa 3 weeks ago. took 3 weeks to arrive. Easily installed by local electrician. heated up in 2 hours and we were all set. lights are great, jets are powerful, outside looks beautiful. acrylic is beautiful. cover is nice . spa is beautiful and a similar one by the same company is on display in our town for 12000 NO JOKE.! look no further and buy this spa it is outstanding!
bought a hydralic cover lifter for 200 which works great screwed very easily into tub resin frame
had a leaky jet and repair man came out 2 days later and fixed it. support team was nice, fast and helpful
"
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eastern Washington State
Date:February 8, 2010

Great Purchase

Model Number: CSXI80
"We purchased this spa after months of research and debating. We looked at our local spa retail stores as well as going to a few large spa sales events at our local fair and nobody came close to this spa for the money. Our biggest concern was after the sale support. Strong Spas has gone above and beyond what one tends to expect this day and age. We had an issue come up with our local electrical inspector and the tech department solved the issue within one day. We had a light burn out and they sent one ups and have the warranty dealer already set up to make the repair once we receive the replacement light. The spa itself is just what they advertise. Nice cabinet, great looking shell along with powerful jets and the lights make for a perfect evening soak. If you are looking for a spa with all these features at a retail spa store, save the money and buy a Strong Spa at more than half the cost. We are glad we did!!!!!!!!!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brick, New Jersey....the Heart of the Jersey Shore
Date:April 14, 2010

DO NOT HESITATE

Pros: everything....the unit is truly beautiful
Cons: no remote controller board available
Model Number: Vienna 80
"After being without a hot tub for a few years now, I decided to dive into this one.....not literally, but you know what I mean. Priced out what seemed like a million spas....between visiting stores, checking the paper, going to "spa expo's" and looking in those annoying mailers we all get with 250 coupons in it....alas--the end. I went with this spa after seeing it at a retail store for about $9,100 and change for the same options. It is so nice, 2 seats have the shoulder massagers.....what seems like jets for every part of your body, it really is a bargain. The color I got, Pearl Shadow / Grey Slate Rock Cabinet, seems to no longer be available......but it is beautiful. The suround looks great, geat construction, and much quieter than spas I have had in the past---but much strongr jets......and there is tons of them.
It really is a great buy for the price, and would highly recomend it to anyone and or everyone."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Erie, PA
Date:July 5, 2010

Truly A Great Value

Pros: unique cabinet, great price and loads of features, costco gurantee & strong/evo cust. svc.
Cons: no local dealer support, does not come with gfi/breaker
Model Number: CSXi80
"Our CSXi80 was delivered about 5 weeks after placing the order. I did TONS of research prior to buying. Believe me, there is not a better value out there in a spa this large. I researched all the components(Balboa, A.O. Smith, Waterway) and found them to be the same high quality, industry standard parts used in many other name brand spas out there. Strong/Evolution's customer service has been excellent and you actually get a live person on the phone when you call them with a question. This thing has a beautiful, classy, one-of-a kind look. The jets seem very good and can be adjusted for more or less power. The LED lighting is very cool and the waterfall is a nice touch.
The only drawback is not having a local dealer to set it up for you and be there for support. Obviously, that drawback was not enough to prevent me from buying. I simply do not beleive the local service is worth the extra $3,000 to $5,000 you'd pay them for a similar spa. Especially with the Costco satisfaction guarantee.
Go ahead and hesitate. Do your research. Check the prices at your local dealers. Then buy this thing because it is definitely worth the money."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 27, 2010

Great Spa

Pros: cost, appearance, features, customer service
Cons: deep captain chairs
Model Number: CSXi80
"I purchased this spa in December 2009 after reading through the reviews and have been enjoying it ever since. The jets are powerful enough for me, especially when you close off the jets not being used. The captain seats are deep for me at 5'2", which requires that I boost myself up to keep my mouth above water, but the other seats are a perfect fit. The waterfall and lights are a nice feature. I had two problems that were immediately taken care of by the company: 1) the spa cover was collecting water and 2) the spa seemed to be leaking. The company sent out a new cover within a week at no charge and without requiring me to send back the old one. The company also sent out a technician to check my spa for leaks. It turns out that the cabinet was collecting water when it rained and it took time for it to drain after the rains stopped.
I set the spa in the Economy mode and the temp stays at 102. The insulation of this tub is excellent. Overall, I'm very pleased with this hot tub.
"
Review 8 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rio Rancho, NM
Date:January 1, 2010

Excellent Spa, GREAT Deal

Model Number: CXi80
"We had looked for a spa for over a year and priced them up to 15,000 dollars. After the reviews of this spa, we made our purchase. The spa was delivered within 30 minutes of planned delivery, and hired a spa moving company to place it in the back yard. The spa mover said it was the heaviest spa he moves at 950 pounds. The quality of the cabinet and size are excellent. The set up was simple, the spa activated, balanced and was heating in 10 minutes. The water went from 56 to 102 in about 7 hours. The steps and stairs make entrance and exit easy. The jets are very powerful and the shoulder jets are divine. Only negative is you have to mount your own spa cover hold downs and one on the clips on the spa cover have already broke. As information, spa moving cost 250 and the 220 electrical work from an established box to the pool was 400. All in all, another terrific CostCo purchase that we are very happy with. All we need now is the right patio furniture and Im sure we will buy that from CostCo as well."
Review 9 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Watkins Lake, Michigan
Date:December 21, 2009

Better than expect...much better!

Pros: powerful nice looking well built comfortable
Cons: the provided matching steps are not waterproof, i drilled holes in bottom of steps to drain rain
Model Number: CSXi80 80-Jet, 6-Person Spa with Storage Steps
"We have shopped for a spa for over a year...getting friends recommendations about their tubs etc. One thing we found was all tubs at some point have a problem/leak...but the ones with blown in insulation are a nightmare to find and fix leaks. This tub uses removable insulated side panels of heavy duty rotational molded panels to insulate and it holds the heat inside the enclosure. This design means all your hoses, connections, etc are visable and easy to service. Now...delvery was quick and easy, we even slid it down a set of deck stairs on its side to get it to our deck by the lake. Its about 1,000 lbs, so we had three big guys but one or two more is recommended. We left the foam/shrink wrap on the exterior until it was in postion. The electrician (friend) had it up and running in no time, no leaks and the led lights are a nice touch..as is the waterfall...the two main seats work you from the top of your shoulders down to your calfs...with all the jets and power, there's not a bad seat in the place! Perfect, low maintaince and has run like champ since hooking up over a month ago....oh, and it's winter here in Michigan and the whole family goes down at least every few days...Merry Christmas to all!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando Florida
Date:May 25, 2009

Great product

"I love the tub. Looks great, well made, feels great. The only problem is that the owners manual stinks. It is written for a spa pro or installer and not an end consumer like Costco purchasers. For example it gives very little instruction on how to clean and apply chemicals. That said I still gave it a 5 star because the customer service on the phone was simple to get a hold of very friendly and helped out right away. We had an install issue and they sent a tech out when the customer service could not fix it over the phone. Turns out that it was our electrician's mess up and the product was fine. Whole family loves the tub."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:March 3, 2011

Will Strong Spas Provide Support After Purchase?

"I would like to share my real-life experience with Strong Spas. Please read this review in its entirety and know it is the truth.
I purchased a Strong Spa 18 months ago. It's a lot of work to get a spa from the curb to your backyard. After that was done, and an electrician installed the wires, the tub failed to turn on. Strong Spas sent out materials (at their expense) to fix the problem.
Six months later, the spa failed again mysteriously, in the same manner. Strong Spas again (at their expense) sent the materials to fix it. They also went above and beyond, and hired a specialist to come out and evaluate the spa.
The specialist evaluated the spa, and found no problem with it. So, we turned it back on. A few months later, again it failed.
Now, at this point, I have to admit I was upset with Strong Spas. I'm a doctor, not a spa technician, Jim, so I didn't realize why the spa continued to fail.
Strong Spas - after spending thousands of dollars to fix my problem - offered to provide me with a full refund and take the spa away; again, at their expense.
The specialist who came out to my house had said something which I hadn't forgotten; he stated that he had worked on several Strong Spas and had never seen a single one fail. This made me re-think what I was doing.
I had a different electrician come out and re-evaluate the first one's work. He found several blatent code violations that were in his opinion directly responsible for the spa failing multiple times.
I brought this to the attention of Strong Spas, and apologized that they had spent so much to fix a problem which they were not to blame for. Even after they knew that it was not a fault in their product, Strong Spas still paid for the second electrician to fix the problem. My spa has worked perfectly ever since.
I sincerely believe that if all companies cared as much for their customers as Strong Spas does, that this world would be a better place.
I cannot recommend this product enough. If you are reading this review and are in the market to buy a spa, you need to know that Strong Spas will always be there for you to ensure your 100% satisfaction, moreso than any company I have ever purchased a product from in my lifetime.
I am a real customer, and this is my real story."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chico, CA
Date:March 22, 2010

Super Happy

Model Number: CXi80
"We looked around for about 3 years, comparing pricing, quality and suitability to our needs and this one won out, hands down. We decided to bite the bullet this last Christmas and get ourselves a gift! Inital set up was a little tough because someone at the factory had mixed up the Jet settings, but they were great in working with us, and when we decided that we couldn't get it done, they sent someone the next day, and we live in a VERY rural area. We had figured it out before they came and called them, but it was amazing that they were that quick...since we are on the West Coast and they are in the East.
Our back problems are nearly gone...and they were bad, and we are amazed at the power and quality of the jets. GREAT DEAL...no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hot tub! Treat yourself! We waited too long!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:October 10, 2009

Great tub, not perfect

Model Number: CSXi80 80-Jet
"I purchased this tub from Costco. It did not ship as quickly as advertised, but, once it arrived, it was as expected. The light mode switch does not work, and when I called support, they said this button is not used for this model. They confirmed I have to toggle the light button on and off to switch lighting modes. This is a little odd. The other problem is the plastic panels change in size with hot and cold weather, and sometimes fall out. This is problematic because this is how the unit is insulated. Lastly, there are a limited number of cover arms you can purchase due to the rounded corners and material (no solid wood to drill into)"
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chino Valley, AZ
Date:May 29, 2010

great product for the money

Pros: great customer support, heats quickly
Cons: doesn't fit coverlifts
"I bought the 6 person,60 jet, 1 pump version of this a few months ago and I'm very happy with it. The jets are strong, but can be adjusted down if you want that. When I first started filling it there was a leak. The company that you call for problems was very helpful. It turns out that a gasket was tweeked and had to be replaced. They got a repair person to fix it right away. The only thing I'm not happy with is that cover lifts don't fit this tub because of the rounded corners. In fact, I was told the manufacturer doesn't recommend using a cover lift. Someone from our local spa store told me they thought they could make something that would make it possible to use a cover lift.The other thing is it would be hard to fit 6 adults in my tub. 4 is very comfortable.5 would be the maximum. Otherwise, very happy with this hot tub for the money."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:July 6, 2010

Highly recommend! What are you waiting for!

Pros: great price for what you get. super jet power, simple to do a comparison... there isn't any!, temperature has to be set low or it gets too hot!, or another way to say it is very energy efficient.
Cons: one piece of pipe had small leak but i was sent, a replacement within a day. water fall had small, pieces of plastic stuck inside that i removed, needs to have bigger pillows so neck jets don't, splash all over! dang powerful jets don't ya know!
Model Number: Strong spa CSXi80
"I had an existing Jacuzzi hot tub that I sold and had the cement slab and electrical in place. The curb side delivery guys wheeled it up the driveway and positioned it for an easy move to the back yard. Tub will show up on a pallet on it’s side. It will have to be tipped down into the flat position. I would suggest 4 to 5 guys to complete the move. I had to drill a 1" hole for electrical access. (easy)
We use it for stress relief for all the family - Hockey, soccer, medical issue (neck), and work. The neck jets hit spots no other spa has replicated. There are enough spots for 4 adults to comfortably enjoy even though it is a 6 person spa. (4 adults and 2 children if you want to pack everyone in.) Jets have enough power to push you out of your seat! Every jet is adjustable, filters the water 10X better that previous spa, and mood lighting LED’s make it well worth the price.
The service tech on initial setup was available and easily reachable through e-mail and phone. Maintenance manual is pictorial and very detailed on shutdown, operation, and general care. Easy access to 360 degrees of the hot tub without screws or fasteners. Overall, a great hot tub.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakland, NJ
Date:June 20, 2010

Highly Recommended

Pros: well worth the price, many jets with good power, well made cabinet
Cons: delivery to curb without much flexibility, cover handler not available, access to all sides required for maintenance, quality of selector knobs is sub-par
Model Number: Evolution Spas CSXi80
"The spa came very quickly, almost didn't give me time to prepare for it! I got rid of a Marquis Euphoria Spa that was 10 years old and basically beyond cost effective repair. The replacement Marquis Spa would have been twice the cost of the Evolution. My decision to go to Costco was simple. Although I see differences in the quality, the "name brand" spa didn't last anywhere near it's estimated life (and it was well cared for).
Installation was simple, since I had a spa previously, however, be aware that the placement of equipment is less than ideal in this spa. The panel that needs to be wired is on the left side of the spa, based on the steps. In my case, when the spa is set into a structure with only the front accessible, this poses a huge problem. Also, rather than having all of the important equipment accessible from one spot, there are important pieces all over the spa! Pumps on opposite sides, electrical panel in another location, and ozone unit up in the top corner, etc. the good thing is the access panels are easily removed, so if you can get to all sides, repairs are simple. Also, not being encapsulated in foam makes everything easy to access, but I don't know if it will be anywhere near as inexpensive to run. Overall, very happy with the purchase. We spent the first soak in it just a few hours after receiving it and was pleasantly surprised by power and variety of jets.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marlton New Jersey
Date:January 21, 2010

Wonderful Spa

Pros: large spa, great price, easy to use, very comfortable, easy access to heater and motor, decent warranty, excellent repair service
Cons: make sure you have handy guys to help move., if you are not handy you may have to pay someone, not the easiest to move
Model Number: CSXi80 80-Jet
"Purchased spa end of Dec 2009. Delivered curbside they placed it in our driveway with our direction. We had at least 6 strong guys to help move it to our patio which was carfully moved with a hand truck used to move pallets. We rented for $20.00 for the day. Not the easiest task but with the team work of every one we managed to place it in the correct spot without damage to the Spa or our vinyl fence . We replaced our 20+ year old spa with the CSXi80. We had an existing 220 line already installed. Once the Spa was connected and after we read all the installations instructions, we did find a small leak between the motor and the heater . We called the number in our manual and the company sent a service guy out 2 days later. He found a defective gasket that was easily replaced . Very quick service. Great communcation with service man. So within 2 to 3 days our Spa was up running and ready to use. We have had this Spa for 3 maybe 4 weeks now . So far with no problems. For the money we paid I don't think there is a better spa on the market. If you don't have 220 line you would have to pay some extra money for an electricican but you would have to do that anyway, no matter where you bought your spa. The CSXi80 is very big . You can fit 4 people easily with lots of room to spare.
The cabinet around the Spa will last forever not like the old wooden cabinets .
Very easy to get to spa parts if you have to. There are six panel that can be opened if you ever had to fix a line or leak. Easy access to motor and heater.
We are enjoying this CSXi80 80-Jet Spa.
Again cannot get a better spa for the price.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:May 26, 2009

Best Costco purchase to date

Pros: price, quality construction, energy efficient
Model Number: CSXi80
"We love this hot tub. The lights and waterfall are nice features. The jets are powerful. The outside of the tub looks great and it will not require any maintenance. The steps open and are great for storing chemicals. The controls are user friendly. This is half of the price of similar tubs at sold at dealers. Worth every penny."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern NJ
Date:June 14, 2009

Evolution CSXi Spa

Model Number: Evolution CSXi 80 Spa
"We have had ours for one month. I just read all of the reviews and can only say MEGGA DITTO. This is extremely well made. My wife and I have been doing research for two years and we finally took the plunge and are very satisifed with the purchase. I spoke with Strong Spa's 2 or 3 times prior to the purchase and was very satisifed with the response. You cannot find a better tub and value. I am really impressed with the design and construction. The tub will not disappoint!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Spas™ CSXi80 80-jet, 6-Person Spa
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas Texas
Date:June 17, 2010

Powerful

Pros: beautiful well built unit, 80 jets, awesome heating unit
Cons: wasn't free =)
Model Number: CSXi80
"Believe the reviews on here, this thing is a monster. Very well designed and built, doubt you'll find a better spa out there for this price. They over-sized the pumps and the heater on this unit which is a Good thing. You want to feel the jets on you and trust me, you will.
I'm in the pool business and find this product to be superior to any we've looked at previously. Our steps got left off the delivery but Costco is all over it for us.
Delivery was great as well, we were called a few days before to set up a delivery time and then another hour before to inform us they were on the way.
You'll need help, it's heavy.
A lot of jets are only good if you have the pumps to make them work and this unit has plenty.
For what it's worth, we bought this unit sight unseen because of the reviews on here. If you're on the fence I don't think you can go wrong here.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>