Customer Reviews for Western Digital 1TB My Book World Edition Network Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Western Digital 1TB My Book World Edition Network Hard Drive

Automatic Continuous Backup Media Streaming Secure Remote Access
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
(out of 8 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Western Digital 1TB My Book World Edition Network Hard Drive
Review 1 for Western Digital 1TB My Book World Edition Network Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 31, 2010

Western Digital Reliability for the Mac

Pros: mac compatible, shares another usb drive, looks good, runs cool, includes all cables and software
Cons: the manual leans toward windows users
Model Number: WD 1000 My Book World Edition
"I’m using this with a Mac Mini and Mac Book running Snow Leopard and it backs up using Time Machine flawlessly. It allows up to 5 network connected computers to access and backup, share photos and stream videos and iTunes.
Any software or Firmware updates were easily accomplished and the WD and Mionet network software gets the job done. Just remember to use W_D Backup and Backup as the username and passcode for Time Machine when you first set it up. It’s not that clear in the manual.
It's perfectly quiet, runs cool and looks good. If I needed two I wouldn't think twice about adding another one.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Western Digital 1TB My Book World Edition Network Hard Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, ca
Date:September 20, 2010

iMac Installation Very Easy

Model Number: Costco item #75161
"Followed WD's web based directions for getting setting this up for use with TimeMachine on our new iMac, worked perfectly and only took about five minutes. Based on some other reviews I was ready for a fight, wasn't disappointed when it didn't occur. Of course, the real test will be recovering data off the drive when a disaster occurs, can't speak to that issue right now but in the past I have had back-up drives go south at exactly the wrong time. If they weren't so big and expensive I would have bought a RAID drive to mitigate that risk but as it is I just have my fingers crossed with this one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Western Digital 1TB My Book World Edition Network Hard Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2010

Bottom line: 4.5 stars

Pros: on gigabit ethernet it is very fast
Cons: their pc software is lame.
Model Number: WDH1NC10000N
"I have one. works great! supports CIFS, NFS, FTP, and has a console you can login to (it runs some form of embeded linux). It is fast, especially if you have a gigabit ethernet router and PC.
...except for the remote access software (if you use that option) which is lame.
The iTunes thing is the uPNP media server which is like CQ. it works but its very clumsy. You can brick it if you're not careful. It streams to iTunes, XBox'es, windows Media, and anything else that supports uPNP. I've never done anything useful with the downloader feature.
Bottom line: 4.5 stars: On gigabit ethernet, which I have, it is very fast. It's big (1 TB), and it is power efficient. However, their PC software is lame. Don't install any of it and just use the admin web interface the thing has. The non-file server parts of it were very cheaply tacked on."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Western Digital 1TB My Book World Edition Network Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:October 1, 2010

Does It's Job

"Bought from Costco for return policy as a precaution. Doesn't look like I'll be taking advantage of that.
Installation was easy. I recommend using their WD Discovery to access it. I didn't try any of the other software because I don't need it or want it and that's what usually causes your problems. Always use the minimal software and NEVER if asked, participate in any program that claims to make "their" stuff work better (translation: make "your" stuff work worse).
If you shut it down it gets another IP address so you have to go figure out what it is to access it...WD Discovery already knows where it is. Documentation is there but doesn't really tell you everything. Only way to do "safe disconnect" from USB is through the "configure" program (that's why I had to shut the MY BOOK down instead...because I didn't know). It really doesn't matter though as the USB input on the drive itself is really slow. It is faster hooking an external USB drive to my computer and transfering through my router to the MY BOOK. If you want something really slow try copying something on the MY BOOK to another directory on itself.
The Twonky Server is great...they should tell you that it might come up on your wireless (blu-ray player in this case) with a TM Logo. It's like here's my computer folder, MY BOOK folder, and what's this, if I scroll down far enough...TM - MY BOOK folder. I could see the "normal" MY BOOK drives (just like I could see my old computer...but now I don't have to have it turned on) but pictures over 2.5MB still posed a problem with my blu-ray player just like it always did. It could do slide show with older less than 2MB jpegs but larger and it choked. WOW...with the Twonky I'm doing over 5MB jpegs slide shows with only very minor problems. Before I couldn't even load the first picture. You can scroll the directories like crazy without crashing the player (it has it's limitations). It doesn't take time to "slowly" load each picture like before. Music is great too with all the different ways you can search the files and display them.
So this drive is really going to do what I want. Backup, Music, Pictures, & Video. Video is especially cool with all the different hook-ups to the TV and problems caused by different file types, different camera etc., now just put them all in the Video directory and watch them all NO Problems.
So as the saying goes: "A drive's gotta know it's limitations. Are you feelin' lucky?""
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Western Digital 1TB My Book World Edition Network Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2010

best thing to keep from losing data

Model Number: WD10000h inc-00
"best investment to keep all my pictures,files everything safe. An it dose it automaticly"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Western Digital 1TB My Book World Edition Network Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta GA
Date:September 3, 2010

Good Network Drive

Pros: buying from costco, great support from wd, great support from costco concierge
Cons: setting up is complicated
Model Number: WD100001NC-00
"Needed help to install, WD helpdesk was great. Once all set up, it worked like a charm. More than anything, I bought this particular brand / model because it is sold at Costco. The comfort in knowing Costco will be behind me, should I face any problem with it, at any point of time is priceless."
Review 7 for Western Digital 1TB My Book World Edition Network Hard Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Buena Park, Ca
Date:September 30, 2010

Good Drive, Poor Auto backup software

Pros: well constructed, nice browser based interface
Cons: windows software pretty finicky
Model Number: WD 1 TB My Book World Ed. NAS
"Network setup easy and intuitive via a typical browser interface. File transfers to drive seem to be very fast. Auto backup software not too great. Slows pc down during backups, and difficult to secure data. On two computers, could not get auto backup software to work at all. Two others seemed to work just fine. Software seems finicky for lack of a better word. If the auto backup software worked reliably, I would trust it, but I feel more confident performing manual backups by just dropping a copy of all of my data on a password protected shared folder on the drive."
Review 8 for Western Digital 1TB My Book World Edition Network Hard Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Torrance, CA
Date:October 4, 2010

Good for homes but not for Domains

Pros: speedy connection
Cons: not able to add to a domain
"We bought 4 of these to add to a company domain as backup storage but it did not work even thought the option existed in the setup menu. Western Digital said that they were not provided with all of the needed info to incorporate the drives into a Windows Server 2008 domain and use the domain controller's established permissions. I ultimately returned the drives.
As for a non-domain environment it looks to be a great product."