Customer Reviews for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

$249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot

Improved Design: Larger Debris Bin, Anti-tangle Technology, and Wireless Command Center
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
3
13 of 18(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Review 1 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Santa Clara, CA
Date:September 18, 2009

Fails Easily - Best to Buy from Costco

Pros: can be convenient
Cons: a pain to clean - best to clean outside
Model Number: Roomba 500 Discovery Series
"I purchased the Romba 560 from Costco about 18 months ago, and it failed about 14 months after purchase. It was only used once a week (no pet hair) in a 700 sq ft single person use area. Failed two months after warranty expiration - iRobot offered to provide a replacement unit for $120. Called Costco @ Santa Clara and told them about my situation and stated that I do not want to return the item to Costco unless I know it will be returned to iRobot at iRobot's cost (i.e., I didn't want to abuse Costco's return policy since I felt that it was not "fair" to have Costco "hold the bag" for a unreliable product). Costco Rep said bring it in - no worries but I again made sure that Costco will not incur any cost for the return (other than the transaction costs involved). She again stated don't worry - this is why you're a member. Because of this level of service, I'm going to take another chance not because of iRobot's reliable design but rather because of Costco's no worry policy.
Overall: Great product when it works - but my first try was disappointing due to early failure. Even if less $ at other sites, you're better off buying from Costco to avail of their no-hassle return policy."
Review 2 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:September 17, 2009

Still a Work In Progress

Pros: costco will give you a full refund
Cons: great concept but all models are beta
Model Number: iRobot Roomba 570
"The tag line on this product explains it all 'Improved Design', that tag line has been on every model introduced since day one of this product. Roomba has always been a great concept, but through numerous improved versions it still is not a reliable perfected tool that lives up to expectations. Many units are returned in the first few weeks because of problems, or just not meeting expectations. Those that like Roombas usually have owned 3 or 4, because the believe the new improved version will finally live up to expectations. At best when they do work it is only a light dust cleaning, you still need to use a real vacuum to truly clean your rugs. A $10 carpet sweeper picks up more than the Roomba."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:southern CA
Date:September 17, 2009

now have 3...

Pros: time saver, keeps house cleaner
Model Number: 570
"With 2 dogs, I couldn't imagine how we'd keep our house clean without these. We have one upstairs, one down, and a sweeper in the garage. They are amazing- but- aren't perfect. They appear rather dumb- traversing a "random" path. But doing that for 45 minutes gets everywhere- right under beds. Ours go over wood floors onto rugs- no problem- but they won't go on a black carpet (looks like a cliff to a Roomba). Also extension cords can trip it up."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orlando, Florida
Date:September 17, 2009

Works great on tile and hardwood floors

Model Number: 570
"I have had several Roombas in the past 5 years. They work great on Tile and Hardwood floors, however; they do not work very good on plush carpet. The motor is just not strong enough for a deep cleaning especially in Florida where sand gets into the carpet.
The Roomba saves you hours of sweeping if you have a large house and it does a great job on the corners.
I love my Roomba but they are very easily broken. I have never had one last more than one year. Fortunately, Costco is very good about taking them back if they break."
Review 5 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:boston, ma
Date:September 16, 2009

buyer beware

Pros: picks up dirt and debris well
Cons: customer service no repairs
"i have been purchasing roomba since the company came out with the product. i have bought scooba and 3 roombas for myself over the course of time plus i have purchased them for gifts. i was shocked to hear that the irobot company has discontinued repairs. i was told by the customer service rep when i called (always be prepared to wait 15 minutes before someone picks up) that it would be better for me to buy a new machine to replace my 2 year old roomba b/c it would be more cost efficient. NOT! Expect a short life expectancy on these machines."
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:OC
Date:August 20, 2009

Cut Housing Cleaning $ in Half!

Model Number: iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
"I've had the Roomba for almost a year and run it at least twice a week. I turn it on, shut the door and let it do its job. When I get home, my house looks like the house cleaner had just come! I've cut back on my house cleaning from weekly to every other week now."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2009

It really works!

"Roomba is quiet, efficient, and performs the tasks as advertised."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:August 13, 2009

Best use of my money

Pros: great sweeper does an excelent job, good for pet owners
Cons: breaks down easily, brushes need constant replacement, batteries last about 6 months max.
Model Number: iRobot® Roomba 570
"Does a great job specially if you own a labrador retriver and suffer from severe allergies. I am going on my 3rd. roomba and I still love it. Yes they break easily but if this happens whitin the warranty period the company is very good at handling exchanges. Once warranty is over you are on your own. But the cost of the roomba for 2 years of daily picking up my dog's hair is worth it. I will still buy it over and over again. New models a lot quieter."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Date:August 13, 2009

Roomba 570

Pros: efficient, quiet, great for long haired pets
Cons: requires daily cleaning between charges, battery life is disappointing
Model Number: 570
"It keeps your home fairly clean, doing its job to remove pet hair and occasional dirt and grime.
It MUST be cleaned after every usage, including the animal hair that gets wrapped around specific areas of the brushes and inside the bearing caps.
After extensively reading about problems before purchase, I believe that regular cleaning is essential for problem free use.
Of course, this cleaning ritual is somewhat like cutting open your old vacuum cleaner bag and getting personal with all of your 'stuff' ... and on a regular basis, thus the Roomba can help you become somewhat 'obsessive' in life. Failing to clean up after your cleaning machine for just one 'cycle' reduces efficiency significantly, and I can see where letting this task go for a week can lead to mechanical failure.
The battery is a disappointment and will run for about an hour before it redocks. This is the time for that cleaning ritual, as allowing it to return for another cleaning cycle will choke the rollers and cause problems.
So, if you like waking up to clean floors every morning it's great. Just remember, you need to get dirty after breakfast and clean it out!
It also helps to start with a clean home, as its shape and size don't allow total coverage in corners, along edges, on steps and under many objects.
Lastly, its cliff technology (able to sense stairs) is daunting yet functional. It has not taken a header off the top of the stairs yet.!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Iowa
Date:August 3, 2009

Better Living through Robot Technology

Pros: really does clean as advertized, great for gadget lovers
Cons: does not handle non-trivial room arrangements
Model Number: 570
"This review is based on 2 weeks of use. Overall we are very happy with our new assistant in the house and see that we will not only enjoy a house that stays cleaner during the week, but will also either save money on cleaners or be able to have them do other work than spend so much time vacuuming.
If you have a pet (such as our Hungarian Pointer) that has short hairs that are shed constantly, then you will love the Roomba.
If you have hard wood floors and hate to see dust bunnies, you will love the Roomba.
If you have sort of thick Berber carpets on hardwood floors you will find that the Roomba has lots of difficulties making the transition between them requiring one to set up zones to do one first, then move on and without the Roomba being able to return to its docking for charging. This is a big disappointment.
If you have furniture with slanting bottoms, dark colored carpets, throw rugs with gaps of hardwood floor next to the wall, gaps in furniture less than the width of the Roomba, then your vacuum will get stuck in the middle of its work a lot requiring you either to re-decorate or manually re-start the robot thereby defeating its purpose.
Why would I still recommend it?
1. Daily cleaning is the most healthy. Without Roomba we would never vacuum every day.
2. Great conversation piece.
3. Perfect for pet owners who want an environment with less hair and dust.
4. Great encouragement/excuse to always leave house picked up.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:July 29, 2009

Great while it works

"The vacuum cleaner is so convenient but I have bought 3 because they constantly break. I love the concept however it is not reliable."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:June 24, 2009

big improvement over discovery series

Pros: more parts are replaceable; better operation
Cons: still concerned about how long it will last
Model Number: 570
"I have had two Discovery series robots and finally gave up on them.
I decided to try again with the new generation because the idea is just so alluring to make the dog hair disappear automatically. These brushes are much easier to clean. The scheduling is easier to set up. The voice prompts to clean the brushes are better than having to remember the number of beeps. The vacuum capability seems to pick up quite a bit more dust.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2009

Wonderful vacuum

Pros: picks up dirt very well.
Cons: had to replace the brushes once.
Model Number: Roomba 550
"I purchased my I-robot 1 year ago and it has been fabulous. I have carpet and laminate floors and it picks up very well on both. I used to sweep my floors everyday with kids and a dog and now it does it for me!! So easy to use, I recommend it to all my friends. I wouldn't go without one again, it is my housekeeper."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Napa
Date:May 30, 2009

a broom will last longer

Pros: cleans up nice under the couch
Cons: the onboard computer goes wacko after a few months
Model Number: discovery
"the roomba we have lasted about 5 months, when it did work it worked good, although it had to be cleaned after each use. but as time wore on, the computer started acting up. the company sent a new programer, and it worked again for about 2 more months.
it's a great idea, but it just doesn't last"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2009

I've owned several over the last 18 months

Pros: picks up dirt/dust etc.
Cons: breaking brushes defeat the purpose
"and the same thing happens every time - the brushes underneath break off. No toys or cords or rugs on the floor, and the brushes continually break off. Returned all of them over time, even though the company sent me new brushes for me to disassemble and reassemble myself. The new brushes do not have as many bristles on them, so I didn't bother to try them - just returned each unit."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Great Falls VA
Date:May 3, 2009

Fabulous Product

Pros: work great/just turn on and leave them alone.
Cons: somewhat expensive.
"Over the past few years I have owned 2 iRobot vacuuming robots and 2 Scooba scrubbing robots. All have exceeded my expectations. They keep our cat friendly home very clean between visits from our housekeeper."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Yelm, WA
Date:May 3, 2009

Wonderful!

Model Number: 570
"This is wonderful! We have a 2300 sq ft home w/mostly carpet and it can do about 3/4 of the house before it needs to charge. I was concerned about how intensely I would have to clean the brushes etc between uses but it is a breeze and takes less than 5 minutes! It goes from carpet to vinyl to rugs with no prob. We have 3 black cats and a puppy and light carpet and it gets all the hair the pets leave behind. It's a great time saver."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for $249.99 after $100 OFF iRobot® Roomba 570 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:moose jaw
Date:May 3, 2009

robot

Model Number: 570
"not worth it. It is a coversation piece for people with to much money!!"
2 of 24 people found this review helpful.