Customer Reviews for Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna

Average Customer Rating:
3.308 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
8 of 13(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna
Review 1 for Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cupertino, CA
Date:September 8, 2009

Solved My Reception Problems

Pros: much better reception
Cons: manual could be better
"I was getting almost no stable channels with my old bowtie antenna. I ordered this thinking I had nothing to lose since I could just return it for a full refund at a local Costco if it didn't work. When I first connected it up with my converter box (with Smart Antenna Interface), it did no better after doing a quick rescan. I then initiated a full scan that took a very long time to complete. I think what it was doing was trying to find the right phasing for the various channels. When it completed, I got all the channels I was interested in and they are stable. Not sure what will happen when weather turns cloudy but for now it is a great improvement. I would say that without a box that is Smart Antenna compatible, this antenna probably won't help but it sure learned how to pick up the local stations broadcast 50+ miles away. It draws power from the converter box and doesn't turn off when the box is in standby. I have an RCA converter box."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:June 8, 2009

Good product at excellent price

Pros: price, fairly good quality, easy to install
"I purchased three other antenna before trying this Apex antenna. I have to say that I am pretty satisfied with this Antenna. I live about 25 miles from the TV towers in Chicago. The quality of signal is pretty good compared to the three other antenna. The TV screen occasionally flicker, but something you can live with or switch the direction of the receiver. For the price and quality of this Apex, this is definitely a good buy."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fredericksburg, VA
Date:July 1, 2009

What a disappointment

"I live in weak broadcasting area. With my regular rabbit ears, I was able to get 5 local channels. I was hoping this antenna would bring in more channels but to my disappointment, it did not work at all. In fact, I only got 1 channel. The only attractive feature was the clock. I'm glad I got it from costco because I can return it for full refund."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 2, 2009

Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna

Pros: easy to use! love the clock on it!, apex converter and antenna no need for adapter, you just plug in to the converter box and voila!, great antenna! it's amplified
Cons: none!
Model Number: SM550
"I bought this antenna to use with the converter box, I had to use the Adapter that comes with it at first. Please note that it states that this is a "Smart Antenna" and the reason why is because on the back of the APEX converter box is a "Smart Antenna" connection. When you receive a low signal from the outisde, you can go to the menu on the converter box and scroll down until you see "Smart Antenna" use the arrows on there to bring in a better signal and reception. This only works with the two APEX products together. I love the fact that it found all the channels for my area with such ease and my reception is crystal clear! I haven't had to use the Smart Antenna menu in the livingroom once. I used it in the bedroom a couple of times when it was raining but I think that speaks for itself. OH, I was so pleased with the first antenna that I went out and bought the second for the livingroom television, a 32" because eventually the television went out in the bedroom. I ignored a warning sign that it was the television having issues because I thought it was just something to do with the early transition to digital. Now I'm here shopping for a new television for the bedroom. Any suggestions?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:June 26, 2009

Wonderful antenna

"I got my antenna a few days ago and boy, am I satisfied with it! It's easy to install and does wonders whether the power is on or off. I can get channels that are currently on low power with amplification or most of the receivable channels without it. If you need an HD antenna, this is a great buy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:May 28, 2009

Isn't working for me at all

Cons: it didn't work at all.
Model Number: Apex SM550
"I live in the San Francisco bay area. The SM550 wasn't able to pull in a single channel for me, though a flat window RCA unit was able to get about 10 channels. I used both with my recently purchased Tivax STB T8 set-top box for my older TVs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:May 26, 2009

Great Buy

Model Number: SM550
"It is compact and easy to install. It provides excellent HD reception. The best indoor antenna I ever own. In addition, the price is right."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:August 23, 2009

Where is the Amplified signal?

Pros: looks good
Cons: works bad
"I was expecting this device to do better than a regular antenna."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:September 19, 2009

Not too expensive and works well

Pros: looks nice, doubled # of channels
"We bought the Apex antenna a few weeks ago after moving into a new place where the rabbit ears basically stopped working (we went from 16-20 digital channels to 5-6). We had lived on the top floor of a 4 story complex where we could get 16-20 channels and sub channels. Then we moved into a cave-live condo and the channels went away.
We bought the Apex antenna to see if we could just get back to the big 3 channels and voila we're back to 12-15 channels!
It's not the best in the world but it works."
Review 10 for Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellflower CA
Date:June 21, 2009

Great Antenna

Pros: 72 digital channels in the los angeles county area
Cons: you need to plug it to the wall
"This is the best antenna ever. I did a lot of research before buying it. I was considering on buying an outdoor antenna but I decided to buy it just to tried it, but now I'm thinking on buying another one. I get around 70 digital channels. I even get MTV 3 free of the air. My sister got a regular antenna and I compare the channels. I get twice the channels she get's with this antenna. Plus is good looking and comes with a clock."
Review 11 for Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:May 3, 2009

Nothing bad, Nothing great about it

"I bought this antenna thinking that it would significantly enhance the channels' reception and signal. But it is doing the same job as the other regular antenna that I had previously. While I am not disappointed with this product, I am not excited either."
Review 12 for Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2009

Not worth it

"I have a pair of rabbit ears with an inline amplifier and it is better than this Apex unit.
I bought it to try hoping that the smart antenna would improve the signal, it didn't. I'm using a RCA DTA800 converter box, which is Smart Antenna ready.
"
Review 13 for Apex Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:September 15, 2009

Fewer channels than my $3 antenna could pull

Pros: costco return policy
Cons: got fewer channels than my basic antenna
Model Number: SM550
"I tried this antenna on a couple of TVs in my house and on both of them I could get only 5 channels while my old $3 antenna from a thrift store got more than 12. So am living with the rabbit ears for now."