Customer Reviews for Outfitter X9 Pontoon Boat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Outfitter X9 Pontoon Boat

Includes High-Volume K-Pump Stowable Transport Wheel, and 7' Two-Piece Aluminum Oars
Average Customer Rating:
3.182 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
6 of 11(55%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Outfitter X9 Pontoon Boat
Review 1 for Outfitter X9 Pontoon Boat
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:February 7, 2010

Excellent Value

Pros: comfort, easily storable and transportable, cargo pockets and rear storage rack
Cons: heavy frame, no seat swivel
"I have used this pontoon boat 4 times now and I love it. I have never had an issue with the pontoons leaking. I did not have broken valve caps and in case I did there was an extra set in the box. The boat takes about 15-20 minuets to set up completely. It is pretty comfortable. Every time I have gone out it has been for 6-8 hours straight. The frame is very heavy duty, which makes the boat a little heavy, but the wheel is awesome. I have wheeled this boat with all my gear (about 15 lbs.) 100 yards through rocky lake shore terrain and it was no problem. Moving around with the oars is very easy, both forwards and backwards. I can fit two of these boats in my tiny sub-compact car easily. The k-pump is awesome and works flawlessly. I highly recommend getting the K-Pump Kwik Check Pressure Gauge to monitor the bladder pressure as it fluctuates throughout the day in the sun. Storage is unbelievable. I can fit all my fishing gear, cooler, emergency supplies, etc. Wait until it goes on sale, I got it for $340 in December '09. I highly recommend! I can't wait to try it with a trolling motor."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Outfitter X9 Pontoon Boat
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:December 30, 2009

Save your money and time...

Pros: price, accessories, storage
Cons: bladders, motor mount placement, seat mounting
Model Number: Outfitter X9
"Had my pontoon for a year and had used it twice previously, just to familiarize myself with the rowing system. Stored it in the original box in the garage. Finally planned a trip to use it for it's intended purpose and went out with a friend who had the same model. Long story short the bladders leaked on both boats (and my buddy had never used his prior). On top of the leaky pontoons the seat slid all over the place, even though I had installed it and tightened it according to the manual. Keep in mind I knew going in that this wasn't a pro-rig, but for the value (the K pump retails for $60 alone) I thought it was worth it. Thankfully Costco was true to their word and accepted the boats back for a refund. Bought the Bucksbag pontoon online from Costco.com and have enjoyed it since, as has my fishing partner."
Review 3 for Outfitter X9 Pontoon Boat
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:July 26, 2009

Excellent boat!

Pros: easy to handle in the water.
Cons: takes two to load and unload into a truck.
"I just retired and have wanted to start fly fishing. This boat was a retirement gift and I have had no prior experience with pontoon boats. My friend has an older model. It was easy to assemble and inflate. I am over 250 lbs and it worked great. My friend and I use fins to propel the boat. You can put a motor on it but where it is located it would make it harder to fly fish. If you just needed to get somewhere and drop anchor or fin that might work. My only complaint is that the caps for the air chambers both broke. One during assembly and the other a day later. Their only function is to keep out foreign objects. But one never likes to see something break out of the box. Another issue which is not the boats fault is that I lost one oar and can't find a replacement. It does row very well."
Review 4 for Outfitter X9 Pontoon Boat
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Stockton, CA
Date:July 25, 2009

great design, but pontoons leak

Model Number: Outfitter X9 Pontoon Boat
"I ordered this for my husband for fathers day. He loved it until he realized that one of the pontoons was leaking. We returned it and I ordered a new one for our camping trip next week. He just pumped up the new one in our garage, and one of the pontoons has a slow leak! Great design, but very frustrating that 2 different boats would not hold air. We are former whitewater rafting guides and KNOW how to blow up boats and not overinflate - very disappointing!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Outfitter X9 Pontoon Boat
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:July 19, 2009

Great Boat - Great Price

Pros: easty to put in a van, 5 minutes to put together
Model Number: X9 Pontoon Boat Item # 405576
"I bought this a few weeks ago after doing some fairly extensive comparison shopping. While I hate to say it, price was a consideration. However, aesthetically speaking, I think it is one of the better looking pontoon boats out there and even better, it seems to function right along with it's looks! It took about an hour plus to put together the first time (front room of house, removing plastic, etc.) but now that I take it out to the lakes, I can put it together in about 5 minutes, 10 if you include a trolling motor and battery.
It's very stable and it rides high in the water. I'm about 250 pounds and I have no problems with drag or sitting low. I do wish it had a way to measure air pressure but I never fill to 'rock-hard' state, it will 'grow' with heat.
Lot's of storage and neat little pockets. The pump comes with it, it really works well and it has a strap to carry it on the boat.
One of the air valve caps was partially broken when I bought it but didn't affect the valve itself, never lost any air. New one is on it's way.
The carrying wheel can drag in the water a bit, but come on, this isn't a speed boat and you hardly notice it. I'm glad it has one!
Told my brother-in-law and now he wants one.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Outfitter X9 Pontoon Boat
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Middle Tennessee
Date:July 18, 2009

Disappointed

Model Number: Outfitter X9
"Bought this to run small river and streams with my son who kyaks. Back problems so I chose the Outfitter because of the seat. Air Valve cover was broken when shipped, comapny sent a new one in a short period of time. Problem is I lost air and had to repump a couple of times on a 5 hour float. But my major dissapointment is that it is extremely hard to maneuver in current. I even installed a trolling motor and it is impossible to reach without turning sideways in the seat, the short length causes a constant over steer and correction. I feel sure that it would be an excellent boat for a lake or still water."
Review 7 for Outfitter X9 Pontoon Boat
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2009

Excellent Buy!!

Pros: easy to monuver, easy to setup
Cons: can be a little heavy for some people
Model Number: X9
"Baught a new one from Costco and an used one from an buddy. Worked great and was one of the best choices of boats that we could have used on the river. Great compartments and locations of storage. Had no problems with any of the valves and held air great. The only thing we did was we removed the pins that hold the frames together and used bolts with lock nuts. I am going to buy another."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Outfitter X9 Pontoon Boat
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver Colorado
Date:June 26, 2009

Great Purchase

Pros: great price, lots of storage
Cons: ore lock stop needs tightening occasionally
"Easy to assemble and prepare for use. Have used multiple times on Colorado lakes. Easy to transport in bed of pickup ."
Review 9 for Outfitter X9 Pontoon Boat
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2009

Bad valve cover

"I bought the 1st boat at my local costco and discovered the valve cover was broken . I returned it and got another one. I also found another broken valve cover. I returned it and got my money back. This seems to be a problem with this boat. I went to the display and opened another new box and guess what, I unscrewed the valve cover and it was broken."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Outfitter X9 Pontoon Boat
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:June 6, 2009

A Great Pontoon Boat Design--A Fabulous Price!

Pros: well designed; quality workmanship, transport wheel is a great feature
Cons: transport wheel not easy to release, not heavy to push on wheel but hard to control
Model Number: Outfitter X9 Pontoon Boat
"My husband and I received our pontoon boat last week. It took us a little over an hour to put the thing together, including blowing up the pontoons. A special pump comes with the boat, and it does work. However, we will most likely use a small electric blower we have on hand in the future. Instructions were very clear. I actually think I might have been able to do the job myself, but I was glad to have help.
The pontoon boat seems well designed and constructed. It has a heavy duty quality to it. I took it out briefly on a nearby urban lake a few days ago, and I found it very easy to maneuver with the oars. I felt very safe--very stable float. The boat stirred quite a bit of interest at the lake!
There is no bottom to the boat, which came as a surprise to me (Duh!), so you need to be prepared to get your feet wet even when they are on the foot rests. Not a problem for us. You will not be able to stand up to cast when fishing.
Our boat arrived with a small tear (3/8" or so) in the seat back cushion. I called the warranty phone number, and they are sending us a replacement part--no questions asked. Very professional and customer friendly service.
We are able to transport the boat in our pickup truck short bed with partially deflated pontoons, but you could easily remove the pontoons altogether and strap the frame to your cartop.
The transport wheel is a great feature--missing on most other boats I looked at. It makes hauling the boat to the lake quite easy; however, it does take some strength to guide it--kind of a wheelbarrow concept.
This boat is very well-priced compared to others I've looked at on line and at sporting goods stores. Seems top quality to me!
We haven't named her yet, but tomorrow we will take her out for a real fishing trip! Since there are two of us, I have a feeling that we'll be ordering one more of these boats in the very near future."
Review 11 for Outfitter X9 Pontoon Boat
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern Utah
Date:May 20, 2009

cheap and built that way

Cons: poor quality materials, broken plastic airlocks
"The airlock valves on both pontoons were broken. I was so excited to get my boat on the water this spring and had to cancel my entire trip because the airlock valves on both pontoons were broken. This must be a manufacturing weakness because I hadn't even begun to assemble the boat when I realized that neither pontoon would hold any air. At first I just thought it was an operator error and I tried to tighten the air locks, but they would not tighten and then I noticed that the plastic locking mechanism was broken-- ON BOTH PONTOONS!!!"