Customer Reviews for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer

Features SRS TruSurroundHD™ & SRS TruVolume Technology™
Average Customer Rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
(out of 33 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
2
23 of 33(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Review 1 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2012

Not bad at all

"I am quite impressed with the sound from this unit. Clear vocals, full, crisp bass and nice wide sound. I found my best results with TruSurroundHD on and TruVolume off.
I have it directly connected to the optical output of my TV, so I don't have the need for HDMI switching or multiple inputs. I also use my Directv remote to control the volume so I don't have to deal with the ridiculous little remote that came with it."
Review 2 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:FOLSOM, CA
Date:February 18, 2012

AWESOME - MUST HAVE!!! VIZIO High Definition Sound

Pros: easy set up it all works together - must have.
Cons: does not include the hdmi "hook~up" cable.buy one.
Model Number: Item # 405580
"Costco - is a GOLDEN again ... Purchased the VIZIO
46” Class Theater 3D™ Edge Lit Razor LED LCD HDTV
Full HD 1080p
240 Hz SPS
4x HDMI
VIZIO Internet Apps™
802.11N Dual Band Wireless
Item # 946030
... At Christmas 2011 with the $100 instant rebate.
Then January 2012 added the VIZIO Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Features SRS TruSurroundHD™
& SRS TruVolume Technology™
Item # 405580. It is built to go with this TV and WOW what an added sound quality perfection ... this is a perfect fit, a MUST HAVE and well worth the added
$180.00
"
Review 3 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:February 9, 2012

Decent as long as you don't need to use the remote

Pros: decent sound quality, attractive style, wireless sub
Cons: low quality remote, no hdmi inputs, no display, finicky sub connection
Model Number: VSB210WS
"To say it's junk would be harsh... But not totally out of line, reflective of the overall quality of this unit. The sound quality was decent but the rest of the features (or lack) detracts from the overall appeal of this unit. The unit is limited with its inputs - 2 analog (red/white rca plugs) and one optical ($30 sound only cable). No HDMI. Manual states you cannot plug an ipod or other personal player in directly without causing damage, you must use a dock. Remote is a joke. My particular unit was only receptive to remote commands which are aimed at the extreme right from the extreme left. IE: Reach your left arm all the way to the left, point the remote all the way to the right side of the bar and cross your fingers. Then, you have to learn the series of barely visible lighted dots from within the fabric mesh of the sound bar to select your inputs and see volume and sub levels since there is no display nor on-screen display. This is a true audio-only device, can't even have video pass through as there are no video inputs. I plugged all my devices into the tv directly and used the TV's optical audio out cable to connect the sound bar, which is easier than having to change the inputs on the sound bar each time you use a different device, or figure out how to use more than 3 devices with this unit. The wireless is a pain since you have to have it within line of sight of the unit and mine tended to not like pairing wirelessly even when it was right in front of it, but once connected didn't ever lose its connection even after it moved to the corner. This was a gift but I might have bought this unit unknowingly myself because it's a quality brand and sold by Costco, but I am seriously disappointed. We returned the unit and bought a different Vizio bar with more features, a display, hdmi inputs and an awesome remote, from the warehouse for the same price. It was easier to set up (wireless and wired connections) than this one and sounds to me to have a much more theatre-like sound quality, and looks better. I understand you get what you pay for, but $200 is still a lot of money to me and with its shortfalls I don't see this unit being worth it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Date:January 25, 2012

Good Value

Pros: sound quality
Cons: remote, vizio customer service
"First one shipped did not work. Spent some time with a Vizio technician to confirm it did not work. Vizio asked me to photocopy the receipt and they were to call me back about a replacement. I just returned it to the store and ordered another thru the internet. The replacement came is two days. Two weeks later Vizio called be back. What a joke. The sound quality is great. The wireless sub works well behind the couch. The remote is cheap and barely works."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:los angeles
Date:December 8, 2011

Good sound - terrible quality

Pros: sound
Cons: everything else including the remote, and the lights needed to adjust treble bass etc.
"sound is great. sadly, the quality of the product is not good. within a couple weeks, all the lights go out, and that's the only way to adjust your sound and "see" the volume levels. I bought one, the lights went out, then returned it for another newer model hoping they had fixed the problem, and the lights went out again. I looked at reviews on line and there are tons of complaints about the same problem - even on the vizio site. To bad this company doesn't have the decency to fix problems they know exist. I hate supporting companies like that."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CAVE CREEK AZ, & STATEN ISLAND NY
Date:November 23, 2011

VIZIO SOUND BAR

Pros: love it--looks great--sounds great & fair price
Cons: remote weak & difficult to use
Model Number: VSB210WS
"PURCHASED THIS VISIO SOUND BAR, FROM COSTCO, A FEW MONTHS BACK. SOUND BAR FITS (PERFECTLY) UNDER MY VIZIO 42" FLAT SCREEN & IT LOOKS GREAT THERE. I USED THE OPTICAL SET UP TO CONNECT IT TO MY TV. WIRELESS SUBWOOFER HAS MANY SETTING TO ACCOMODATE YOUR LISTENING PLEASURE. ROCKS THE ROOM WHEN SET ON HIGH. LOVE THE BASE SOUND IT PRODUCES. HIGHS ARE NICE ALSO. I WOULD GIVE HIGH MARKS IN ALL AROUND PREFORMANCE."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Grants Pass, OR
Date:November 8, 2011

mostly satisfied

Pros: compact and easy to locate for better sound.
Cons: needs more positive indication of speaker status
"I purchased the Visio soundbar and Subwoofer because my new TV has mini speakers that are pointed downward. I am reasonably pleased with the system. The remote control for the speakers is sporadic and the indicater lites on the speakers are difficult to deciefer."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Newport Beach, CA
Date:August 20, 2011

Nice Sound - Cheap Remote, Loose Connections

Pros: sounds good
Cons: cheap materials, bad remote, no universal remote support, loose connections in back
"Just like the title says, it's a nice product in terms of sound, but... The remote is the most annoying remote in the world - cheaply made and works intermittently. Additionally, I cant get any other remote to work with the system which leaves me needing to have an extra, cheap, ugly, useless, small remote."
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richland, MI
Date:July 31, 2011

Great Subwoofer

Model Number: VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
"Pros: Strong subwoofer, good sound bar and easy to hook up. TruSurround and TruVolume function well. Very pleased overall with sound.
Cons: Cannot get any sound or sync through the optic audio input. Coming from Sony TV and Comcast DVR cable box. Must use the furnished
RCA connectors.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mendocino
Date:June 18, 2011

Excellent Value

"Easy wall installation....GREAT sound! I would definitely recommend this to anyone wishing to improve sound quality. The ease of use of the remote isn't what it should be. Even at close range it doesn't always respond on one "click". Somewhat annoying."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northridge, CA
Date:June 16, 2011

Returned it.

"It produces decent sound, a lot better than what comes from my Samsung flat screen, but I do not like its interface. The remote control does not work consistently, either it quits working or it has a hard time receiving the infrared signal from the remote. There were also a couple times the sound bar shut off randomly.
For a temporary use or cheap upgrade, I would recommend this unit, but if your looking for something of quality, I wouldn't. Maybe it was just my unit, or maybe its the Vizio line, but I don't think i'll be purchasing Vizio again...."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fresno, Ca.
Date:June 9, 2011

Vizio Soundbar

Pros: worthwhile investment
Model Number: VSB210WS
"What an improvement to watching TV. Instead of straining to hear a program, we can sit comfortably and understand the entire program."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tumwater, WA
Date:May 31, 2011

Lovn' It!

Pros: calms the varying volume, price was right!, sub woofer works without line of sight
Cons: itty bitty remote - yes another remote, bit confusing on knowing which input to be synched
Model Number: VSB210WS
"We needed something to tone down the highs and lows from different commercials or series or movies; this did it! The price was right too! Took me some time to set it up, but mixing brands may have that affect (Sony DVD player, Wii, Comcast cable box, Vizio sound bar and tv). I recommend getting a Vizio Universal Remote - took care of all the remotes, with an exception to the cable box functions."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2011

Quit Working

Cons: won't work
"Purchased this soundbar. Sounded great, but quit working. Called the Visio help line. Thier automated menu system wouldn't even allow you to select this product. When I finally reached someone, they twisted my words trying to make sure it wasn't the product's fault and that it was either the cable box or TV. It went back to the store."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:May 25, 2011

Vizio Soundbar & Subwoofer

"This unit sounds terrific. And it's easy to install. I've used the optical cable for superior noise free sound. The wireless subwoofer is a dream because you don't have to run cables."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Point, TX
Date:May 18, 2011

Great Value

Pros: intallation and setup was a breeze
Cons: a direct line of site must be maintained
Model Number: VSB210WS
"Ordered online. Received several days later in excellent condition. Unpacking, installation and setup was a snap. The wireless subwoofer is what prompted my purchase of this unit. The one and only drawback, it is minor issue, as outlined in the setup manual, a clear site of view between the sound bar and the subwoofer is mandatory. If anything comes between the two units the subwoofer does not function. This restriction makes the unit not truly wireless. A direct invisible connection is a must."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sugar Land Texas
Date:May 17, 2011

Great sound

Pros: great sound, easy set up, good value
"Although not a full 7:1 surround sound the audio with wireless sub woofer sounds great. Used an optical audio cable from the Vizio BluRay player and the RCA cables from the TV to the center speaker. Setup was easy. Got rid of my external speakers and Pioneer receiver."
Review 18 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY
Date:April 23, 2011

Starts great ends in dissapointment

Model Number: Hd soundbar 210
"We bought 2 of these. One for the bedroom and one for the living room. Both are less than a year old and both have stopped working. Should hav taken the hint hen the first one didn't work out of the box an I had to return it. They soun great when they work, but you will be let down in the end. Hang on to your receipt or you will hav a nice paper weigh."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:December 30, 2009

Having issues

Pros: great idea in theory. worked great the first day.
Cons: not quite as easy to use as i'd hoped
"Bought it the day after Christmas, wouldn't work out of the box so had to call Vizio. The CSR was nice but didn't really know the product. Finally got it to work after turing off Surround Sound and the speakers for the TV. The next morning, didn't work right again. The speakers on the TV (the ones physically attached) are turned off according to the menu but sound is coming out of both the TV speakers and the sound bar and it's not nearly as good as it was yesterday. Can't hear the bass at all anymore. Going to call Vizio once more then likely take it back if it still doesn't work."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 27, 2009

Wonderful Christmas gift

Cons: recommend using the digital optical cable
Model Number: VSB210WS
"Received the Vizio HD Sound Bar w/ wireless subwoofer as a Christmas gift this year and what a pleasant surprise!! It complements my Vizio VP50HDTV very well thank you very much, and it really ROCKS!! It was really easy to set up. I used the digital optical cable instead of the RCA and what a big difference! Luv it and would recommend it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>