Customer Reviews for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer

Features SRS TruSurroundHD™ & SRS TruVolume Technology™
Average Customer Rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
(out of 33 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
2
23 of 33(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Review 1 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:June 22, 2009

Nice Sounding but Fatal Flaws

"I bought this soundbar at CostCo and was impressed at first. The soundbar and wireless subwoofer is a nice design and sounds pretty nice in a room where a full speaker system is not practical (like a bedroom in my case.). The digital input is also a nice plus, since many flatscreens provide an optical out.
However, there are fatal flaws with this product. One, is that the digital input can only handle 2-channel pcm mode. This means you will get silence on multi-channel source unless you re-configure the source device (OTA tuner, or Satellite, DVD, etc). This is a real pain.
The other flaw is that it doesn't have any hdmi inputs. I believe this is an essential feature in a soundbar. Since one hdmi cable can pass video and audio, it is a natural to wire a remote room with only an hdmi cable. By not having an hdmi input on this soundbar, one is forced to use the analog or digital output on the TV. This will be problematic since some TV's can't convert multi-channel content out the optical port on the TV. And even if they do, this soundbar can't process multi-channel anyway.
If none of this matters to you, then this product is nice sounding and the wireless sub makes it easy and clean to install. Otherwise, you would be better off looking elsewhere.
I returned the product and bought a Sony which does satisfy my requirements for about the same price."
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA.
Date:December 23, 2009

Excellent value, good product.

Pros: price, sound quality (for the average person)., setup, control / operation
Cons: none for the price
"For the money, this is an excellent product but it’s also a good product regardless of the price tag.
It’s great to see how Vizio is not just about low prices but also about great quality. The truth is that I was surprised… I was not expecting the sound quality to be as good as what I’ve experienced so far with this unit (3 days of non-stop TV and movies).
The setup was simple and fast, I had the unit connected and working within 10 minutes from the moment I opened the box. The wireless subwoofer is nice because it can be placed around the room so less mess with cords (we have it 7’ from the bar).
With BR disc movies the sound experience is actually better than what I had with my 7.1 Onkyo and my wife is happy as I removed 6 speakers and tons of wires from the walls… When watching TV (Comcast HDMI to TV and RCA from there to bar), I've noticed some noise (only when volume is very high) but since DVD is fine and it was not consistent with all programs , I suspect that the Comcast signal comes with noise.
I like the simplicity of the remote and the LED indication. I think that the remote is a bit too small.
The design is a matter of personal taste, we think that it's OK. In our case, it blends well in front and below of the Samsung 40" HDTV (both on stands).
The bottom line is that for the average family, this is a a great product!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:los angeles
Date:December 8, 2011

Good sound - terrible quality

Pros: sound
Cons: everything else including the remote, and the lights needed to adjust treble bass etc.
"sound is great. sadly, the quality of the product is not good. within a couple weeks, all the lights go out, and that's the only way to adjust your sound and "see" the volume levels. I bought one, the lights went out, then returned it for another newer model hoping they had fixed the problem, and the lights went out again. I looked at reviews on line and there are tons of complaints about the same problem - even on the vizio site. To bad this company doesn't have the decency to fix problems they know exist. I hate supporting companies like that."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:November 3, 2009
Pros: simple setup
Cons: bass can be a little 'boomy'
"I purchased this a few months ago to accompany a Samsung 55" LCD TV, mainly because I could not get anywhere with help on purchasing a matching Samsung product. (My TV is not wall-mounted, it sits on a 24" deep piece of cabinetry. Placing a similar Samsung sound bar in front of the TV makes the TV's remote eye inaccessible.) This Samsung, as well as many other brands/models, do not have a lot of room between the bottom of the screen and the TV's stand to allow for a better set of speakers to be used. My room's dimensions also left limited space for a wired subwoofer.
Setting the sound bar up was quite easy. I merely shifted the TV further away from the wall and placed the Soundbar behind the screen. (As an alternate, if my TV was wall-mounted, the Soundbar does allow for shifting the feet to a wall-mount style.) The height of the Soundbar overall was low enough so that the midrange and tweeters are only partially obstructed, but not so much to really deplete the sound. The wireless subwoofer is in a corner, about 18 feet away, near the seats, and has reasonably good bass response. The remote does take some very specific aiming to get the volume and other controls to work properly. (No, it's location behind the TV is not a factor; I tested it in front of the TV for sound quality before placing it behind the screen.) Also, my placement makes the use of the top-center mounted controls on the Soundbar basically useless. But, as the setup I have is minimal on devices, it is a non-issue: the remote can do all I need the Soundbar to do.
Sound quality is not fantastic, but it certainly out-performs the stock in-TV speakers. It is only a 2.1 system. Those looking for 5.1 or 7.1 surround should consider a more complex audio setup. It does not get ridiculously loud. The subwoofer can sometimes seem a bit 'boomy' or overpowering, but the sub level can be adjusted separately from the overall volume level."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, Ca
Date:August 26, 2009

Good, not great

"Sound quality is very good, much better then my flat panel speakers. Installation was super easy, wireless sub keeps things clean, and overall the workmanship is first-class. On the downside, I don't get any "surround sound" from the unit. I thought I would from some position (direct, offcenter, somewhere), but no. Given the price, I'm still very happy with purchase."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY
Date:April 23, 2011

Starts great ends in dissapointment

Model Number: Hd soundbar 210
"We bought 2 of these. One for the bedroom and one for the living room. Both are less than a year old and both have stopped working. Should hav taken the hint hen the first one didn't work out of the box an I had to return it. They soun great when they work, but you will be let down in the end. Hang on to your receipt or you will hav a nice paper weigh."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Savage, MN
Date:June 3, 2009

Great Sound, Great Price!!!

Pros: simple set-up, great sound, inexpensive, separate subwoofer volume for night listening, wireless subwoofer
Cons: must point remote directly at soundbar
Model Number: VSB210WS
"The out-of-the-box set-up was simple and the subwoofer was already linked with the soundbar! While you'll never get true 5.1 surround out of a 2.1 system, the virtual surround through their TruSurround technology is great. As long as the side-walls aren't too far apart for the sound to bounce off mimicking surround. I use this system with a 37" Toshiba Regza in my bedroom since it is where my wife and I watch most of our movies after the kids are in bed. And since the kids are in bed, I like that I can turn down the bass a bit if need be. Overall, I am extremely pleased with this system given my use and the cost."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northridge, CA
Date:June 16, 2011

Returned it.

"It produces decent sound, a lot better than what comes from my Samsung flat screen, but I do not like its interface. The remote control does not work consistently, either it quits working or it has a hard time receiving the infrared signal from the remote. There were also a couple times the sound bar shut off randomly.
For a temporary use or cheap upgrade, I would recommend this unit, but if your looking for something of quality, I wouldn't. Maybe it was just my unit, or maybe its the Vizio line, but I don't think i'll be purchasing Vizio again...."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:September 19, 2009

Nice, great buy!

Pros: decent sound, great price, simple to set up
Cons: none really (see comments)
Model Number: Vizio High Definition Sound Bar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
"This is great for a simple application where one does not want to invest a lot of money or bury wires in walls around the room. Sure it doesn't sound a nice as a sophisticated surround sound with speakers everywhere - but it is perfect for some.
Do Not Buy the Boston Acoustics version sound bar and wireless sub-woofer. The lack of a separate remote and the ability to use your existing cable or sat remote is bad. Even if you get it to work, you must be withing around 4-5 ft of the sound bar.."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:November 2, 2009

Worth the Money!

Pros: easy set-up, no cords, great sound, great looking
Cons: short controller distance
"The Vizio Sound Bar was easy to set-up and has a great sound for the price. Took about 10 minutes all together to set-up, not counting clean-up. Sub woofer was easy to sync. The only problem I ran into was the short distance for the controller. To fix the problem I sync'd my universal Vizio remote and everything works great now.
My wife loves the system because there are NO cords running around my floor."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 27, 2009

Wonderful Christmas gift

Cons: recommend using the digital optical cable
Model Number: VSB210WS
"Received the Vizio HD Sound Bar w/ wireless subwoofer as a Christmas gift this year and what a pleasant surprise!! It complements my Vizio VP50HDTV very well thank you very much, and it really ROCKS!! It was really easy to set up. I used the digital optical cable instead of the RCA and what a big difference! Luv it and would recommend it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2011

Quit Working

Cons: won't work
"Purchased this soundbar. Sounded great, but quit working. Called the Visio help line. Thier automated menu system wouldn't even allow you to select this product. When I finally reached someone, they twisted my words trying to make sure it wasn't the product's fault and that it was either the cable box or TV. It went back to the store."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richland, MI
Date:July 31, 2011

Great Subwoofer

Model Number: VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
"Pros: Strong subwoofer, good sound bar and easy to hook up. TruSurround and TruVolume function well. Very pleased overall with sound.
Cons: Cannot get any sound or sync through the optic audio input. Coming from Sony TV and Comcast DVR cable box. Must use the furnished
RCA connectors.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:February 9, 2012

Decent as long as you don't need to use the remote

Pros: decent sound quality, attractive style, wireless sub
Cons: low quality remote, no hdmi inputs, no display, finicky sub connection
Model Number: VSB210WS
"To say it's junk would be harsh... But not totally out of line, reflective of the overall quality of this unit. The sound quality was decent but the rest of the features (or lack) detracts from the overall appeal of this unit. The unit is limited with its inputs - 2 analog (red/white rca plugs) and one optical ($30 sound only cable). No HDMI. Manual states you cannot plug an ipod or other personal player in directly without causing damage, you must use a dock. Remote is a joke. My particular unit was only receptive to remote commands which are aimed at the extreme right from the extreme left. IE: Reach your left arm all the way to the left, point the remote all the way to the right side of the bar and cross your fingers. Then, you have to learn the series of barely visible lighted dots from within the fabric mesh of the sound bar to select your inputs and see volume and sub levels since there is no display nor on-screen display. This is a true audio-only device, can't even have video pass through as there are no video inputs. I plugged all my devices into the tv directly and used the TV's optical audio out cable to connect the sound bar, which is easier than having to change the inputs on the sound bar each time you use a different device, or figure out how to use more than 3 devices with this unit. The wireless is a pain since you have to have it within line of sight of the unit and mine tended to not like pairing wirelessly even when it was right in front of it, but once connected didn't ever lose its connection even after it moved to the corner. This was a gift but I might have bought this unit unknowingly myself because it's a quality brand and sold by Costco, but I am seriously disappointed. We returned the unit and bought a different Vizio bar with more features, a display, hdmi inputs and an awesome remote, from the warehouse for the same price. It was easier to set up (wireless and wired connections) than this one and sounds to me to have a much more theatre-like sound quality, and looks better. I understand you get what you pay for, but $200 is still a lot of money to me and with its shortfalls I don't see this unit being worth it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:November 21, 2009

Okay, except for digital audio & Sony Remote

Pros: good sound, appears solidly built
Cons: sony remote will not recognize, digital audio must be 2 channel?, s/pdif cable must have small ends
Model Number: VSB210WS
"I bought the VSB210WS and Sony KDL-46VL160 LCD TV at Costco in October 2009. They are used with a Comcast HD cable box and a Sony DVD player. I had a surprising amount of trouble setting up the Visio soundbar, despite reading the manuals and having setup a number of surround sound systems over the past 15 years. The problems I found with the Visio soundbar were:
1. My Sony remote controls cannot control the VSB210WS (Sony does not have codes for it). This is more of a Sony issue, but still causes trouble. I've heard the Comcast remote will work, but I am out of buttons to program on it.
2. The S/PDIF optical audio input is recessed into the back of the Visio, requring a special cable with small diameter end shells (unlike the first 2 I bought, which would not snap in).
3. The S/PDIF optical audio could not easily be made to work from the Sony TV. Setting the Sony TV's Sound Output to "external speaker" and "fixed" level was not sufficient. First I thought my unit was defective, but then I read another review on this site which infers that my Sony TV and Comcast cable box need to be set to 2.1 mode instead of the normal 5.1 or 7.1 in order for the optical audio to work. This is way too much trouble, so I just bought a 10 foot RCA cable and used analog audio, which works fine for this low-end system.
One more setup issue - you have to play around (once) with the TVOL or TSHD button on the sound bar remote to get any volume; just operating the VOL+ and VOL- button is not sufficient.
"
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2009

Good idea, but sound Mediocre

Pros: simple installation
Cons: sub-par sound
"The sound bar is a good idea - it's easy to install and connect. The wireless sub-woofer synchronizes easily. The sound, however, is only slightly better than the Sony Bravia to which the Sound Bar was connected."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Point, TX
Date:May 18, 2011

Great Value

Pros: intallation and setup was a breeze
Cons: a direct line of site must be maintained
Model Number: VSB210WS
"Ordered online. Received several days later in excellent condition. Unpacking, installation and setup was a snap. The wireless subwoofer is what prompted my purchase of this unit. The one and only drawback, it is minor issue, as outlined in the setup manual, a clear site of view between the sound bar and the subwoofer is mandatory. If anything comes between the two units the subwoofer does not function. This restriction makes the unit not truly wireless. A direct invisible connection is a must."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Date:January 25, 2012

Good Value

Pros: sound quality
Cons: remote, vizio customer service
"First one shipped did not work. Spent some time with a Vizio technician to confirm it did not work. Vizio asked me to photocopy the receipt and they were to call me back about a replacement. I just returned it to the store and ordered another thru the internet. The replacement came is two days. Two weeks later Vizio called be back. What a joke. The sound quality is great. The wireless sub works well behind the couch. The remote is cheap and barely works."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Silicon Valley, CA
Date:October 17, 2009

Easy Set Up, Ok sound

Pros: easy setup up
Cons: no real surround sound woofer weak
Model Number: Vizio Sound Bar
"I purchased this unit at the Costco warehouse where they have them in stock. The unit is super easy to set up. As with most flat screens, my Samsung 46" included, the sound quality is horrible. This sound bar has acceptable sound but does not replace a surround sound setup. Even a simple Left, Right, and Center Channel will give you better sound than this 2.1 setup. If you want surround sound pass and get a 5.1 or 7.1 setup."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO High Definition Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CAVE CREEK AZ, & STATEN ISLAND NY
Date:November 23, 2011

VIZIO SOUND BAR

Pros: love it--looks great--sounds great & fair price
Cons: remote weak & difficult to use
Model Number: VSB210WS
"PURCHASED THIS VISIO SOUND BAR, FROM COSTCO, A FEW MONTHS BACK. SOUND BAR FITS (PERFECTLY) UNDER MY VIZIO 42" FLAT SCREEN & IT LOOKS GREAT THERE. I USED THE OPTICAL SET UP TO CONNECT IT TO MY TV. WIRELESS SUBWOOFER HAS MANY SETTING TO ACCOMODATE YOUR LISTENING PLEASURE. ROCKS THE ROOM WHEN SET ON HIGH. LOVE THE BASE SOUND IT PRODUCES. HIGHS ARE NICE ALSO. I WOULD GIVE HIGH MARKS IN ALL AROUND PREFORMANCE."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>