Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer

Print/Scan/Copy/Fax
Average Customer Rating:
3.358 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(274 Reviews) 274
(out of 274 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (274 reviews)
5 stars
99
4 stars
51
3 stars
33
2 stars
31
1 star
60
158 of 274(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:September 12, 2009

Great Printer

Pros: easy set up - all functions are easy to use., prints pretty fast and is pretty quiet.
Cons: it would be nice if it could hold more paper, i'd like another tray to hold photo paper
Model Number: HP Officejet PRO 8500
"Used HP printers for years. I was dissappointed that my HP photosmart 1315 does not have updated drivers to work with Vista (maybe it will work with Windows 7).
I had been wanting to get an all in one Officejet type printer that I could copy, scan, fax and print from and be able to do photo quality printing with. I researched the Officejet Pro 8500 and found that it offers the best overall deal for me. It is more efficient, you can get more pages printed with the ink, and the ink cartridges are about same cost in COSTCO.
It was easy to setup and also connect 2 computers to it. I have it connected by USB and ethernet on my main computer. I was told for printing large files, USB would offer faster data transfer than wireless.
Scan, copy and fax are so easy to use. I like the fact that you can scan or copy multiple pages easily. Also, I like that you can scan and fax into a folder on your computer and also directly have it attach to your email. Nicely done. This printer should last me another 8 years."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2009

GREAT PRINTER

Pros: 2 sided printing, easy wireless
Cons: it is a big boy....
"I had an officejet K80 for a long time and it was GREAT for an all in one in my office. this one takes that to a whole new level
2 sided printing!! awesome!!!
scans directly to PDF on your computers chosen folder with a push of a button.... no more opening acrobat and 5 more steps.
wireless.... easily added to my wireless network and using tcpip ports added to all my computers.
unknown on ink usage etc.... but I like that it has individual tanks.
you can log into the printers setting over firefox or IE using the printers IP address to make changes, check settings etc... this is SOOO HUGE compared to clicking through the front buttons... although the front buttons are easy to use do to the touch screen.... bomb printer so far! would be 5 but I have only had it 2 days... so that would be a bit presumptuous"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 21, 2009

Good as long as you NEVER have a jam!

Pros: all functions easy to use, nice quality for price, picture card loads easily
Cons: if it jams it's over, ruins whatever is jammed
Model Number: HP officejet pro 7555
"This is the 4th one of these HP printers I have owned, they are wonderful and easy to use and set up, function great but the moment I get one piece of paper jammed in the document feeder it's over. I have contacted HP over and over again because if they would just make a button that allowed the wheels to release when it jammed it wouldn't be a problem. The wheels can only go one direction so your paper is stuck and not only can you not free the jam but you ruin whatever document is jammed as well. It's not to complex where you could take a screwdriver yourself and just remove it and clear and put back on but HP made that difficult as well by putting there own kind of screws on that you can't mess with at all. Needless to say, about every 6-12 months I want to throw the machine out the window."
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Auburn, WA
Date:April 3, 2010

Poor printer, poor customer service

Pros: worked great when it did
Cons: everything else
Model Number: Officejet Pro 8500 wireless
"I bought this for my home business and for the first few months it did work well other then a few network glitches. We don't print heavily so it is not over used.
We got a paper jam error that would not go away despite no paper jam. After an annoying chat session with a tech they sent another printer because ours was under warranty.
"New" (refurbished ie; someone elses returned junk) printer worked for about 1 hour and then we got print head errors that would not go away.
Another even more annoying chat session which resulted in being told that the printer was out of warranty. ReallY? I send in one in warranty and get one out. Good news though they actually felt it was the print heads which were under warranty so they sent two new ones.
No go with the new heads, same problem.
Do not buy this printer. This was my first HP so I can't comment on all HP printers, but I think I'm going to find another company's similar model."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, cA
Date:May 15, 2009
Pros: easy set up, works as advertised, smaller size than other officejets, quiet, self cleaning heads
Cons: 4 ink system instead of 2, when cleaning mode is on printer is down for 5-10, additional paper try is $80 option, touch screen is small
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500
"Replacement for my 7400 wireless OfficeJet. The Pro 8500 is working flawlessly as advertised copy, fax, scanner, and printing is excellent. The new ink seems to dry faster and the printer cleans its own printer heads. Set up was less than 10 minutes and wireless connection to 4 computers both XP and Vista was a snap. Highly recommended..."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:August 25, 2009

Great Buy!

"Best Printer I've ever had! So easy to install...within a couple hours I had it all put together and completely set up! Love the touch feature! Plus it was the same price in the store as online but online I got free paper, free mking package, and i bought extra toner and got another $10 off...so I was very happy!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose
Date:September 19, 2009

Good Printer

Model Number: HP8500
"I am using the printer wirelessly on three computers running Windows Vista and XP.
Pro: The printing and faxing on this printer is very fast. No jams as of yet.
Con: Make sure the Printheads are properly locked in place or else it will tell you you have a "paper jam" even if there is no paper in the printer.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Date:October 15, 2009

Good Prints, Set Up's a Bear

Pros: lot of capacity for the price
Cons: moronic customer service, difficult network set up
Model Number: HP 8500g
"We're admitted HP-ophiles, having had a number of HP printers over the years. This one worked without much effort right out of the box by plugging it into one computer (an HP w/ Vista), but the ultimate hookup to the network (and use by an Apple desktop) caused us to call in technical help. There are two replaceable printheads, one B&W and one color, and the B&W failed (printing horizontal lines across the paper) within the first few copies. The first call to customer service (pretty clearly offshore) was wholly unsatisfactory, asking again and again that we run the same tests and, not surprisingly, getting the same results. A second call resulted in a new printhead which, upon installation, immediately solved the problem. Since, then, it loads well, copies well, scans well, faxes well, etc. At $190, if you can get the thing running, this is a great deal."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntley IL
Date:May 14, 2009

A Great Deal

Model Number: HP 8500
"Purchased this printer 12 May 2009 @ Costco in Lake in the Hills IL. Wireless network installed flawlessly, a breeze. Auto Print head alignment took about 20 min but otherwise total time to set up and install was maybe an hour, time included to read the docs. Output is great and all operations can be done from AIO printer of HP's control panel."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, Washington
Date:January 30, 2010

A MUST BUY

Pros: best all around printer for the price
Cons: you're missing out if you don't buy this hp
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500
"My family has owned the Officejet Pro 8500 for a couple of months, purchased on sale at our local Costco.
Before we bought it, I checked a trusted 'consumer' review source to which we subscribe and another trusted online source. Both rated this machine as outstanding which is what we have found, too.
The printer was a snap to setup as a wireless device, also easy to install on our 4 wireless computers.
While we do not use the fax function, the output is faster than you eyes can believe, as fast as my Brother laser printer. Make note that the ink lasts longer, too. The black is rich and deep, just perfect.
Take note this is also a duplex printer, so you can print on both sides of a sheet, making costs and organization even better."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:August 13, 2009

No Regrets

Pros: easy wireless printing from windows vista and os x, faxing and scanning also easy.
Cons: setup in windows vista was a little confusing, ignored an error message but it worked
Model Number: HP Officejet 8500
"I was hesitant to switch back to HP after using Canon and Epson for the last 10 years or so. However, HP seems to provide the best selection among all-in-one models which include stand-alone FAX capability. I was surprised that I didn't have to do any troubleshooting to get it to work with our Mac notebook, Imac, and Dell desktop running Windows Vista. Pleasantly surprised."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:engineer, Boulder, CO
Date:June 11, 2010

No longer an HP customer

Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless
"I liked the machine the first few months I had it, even though it was a pain to set up correctly and kept putting multiple copies of the printer into the printer file. A few operational issues were cleared up.
Then the first failure happened and thankfully, I used Costco Concierge to mediate the problem. That guaranteed a good pre-screening and then a level two English-speacking American to work through the problem. I received a re-built replacement. It printed vertical lines that neither I or the HP technician could overcome. Rebuild no. 3 had similar problem. Rebuild no. 4 would not even fully boot up. All I can do is print and fax. This got me a level three HP person who offered me a product that, at the HP site, only ranked 3.5/5 and the numerous negatives were awful. My gut said to dump HP and I did. HP reminds me of GM. It is slipping downhill via poor quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Denver, Colorado
Date:May 16, 2009

disappointed with HP 8500

Model Number: HP 8500 Color Inkjet
"I had bought the 8500 to reproduce color catalog photographs. While it could handle partial pages, when asked to do a complete 8.5 x 11 photo, both ribbons and vertical lines appeared. Worked with HP to solve problem. Couldn't.
Otherwise it is a good product, just not what I had bought it for.
Store people reviewed sample prints and agreed there was a problem. Took back printer graciously....
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mile High - the anti-Metric city
Date:February 14, 2010

HP has major Quality Issues

Pros: good graphics when it works
Cons: horrible quality control, "dont care" about accruacy, hp never test software
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
"Own one and made a huge mistake of reccomending one at work.
When it does work... it is nice.
But, both of our models had the Fax stop working when HP put out a sofware update.
This is just how bad HP quality had dropped:
On the phone wire going to the fax, I have a two way splitter - one for the fax, one for the phone. The phone has a solid dial tone and can dial. The Fax won't get a dial tone. But, thanks to HP bad quality and design, it goes ahead and pretends to dial. Lifting the phone receiver proves that HP never connected or got a dial tone. The phone still has a stead ring. The HP is pretending to go ahead and then falsely tells you that the other side never answered! I know what I am doing with phones and signal levels.
For HP to be so bad as this!!!!
Somebody should be fired for outsorucing this quality. The same thing happened where I worked on the same model.
Is HP really just so bad anymore that they can't build in the most basic panel to tell a user there is no connection?
I use to like HP, trust HP, reccomend HP. No longer.
"
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:July 26, 2010

Very Nice, but Allow 4 Hours for Setup

Model Number: A909g
"Since I saw so many negative reviews, I am mainly covering what to do to avoid these problems. I successfully installed the software on Vista 32, Win 7 x86, and Win 7 x64.
Be sure to install the software before connecting the printer. Use an account with administrator privilege. Temporarily disable the PC's antivirus, but leave the PC's firewall enabled. All of this is covered in the 2 included hardcopy manuals and in various HP web forums.
I recommend using the printer's touchscreen display to set a static IP address on its wireless interface. You can typically reserve this address in your wireless router, or just use an address below or at the top of the DHCP range defined in the router setup. If the printer is within physical range of your wireless router, there is no need to use the wired Ethernet network connection at all. Computers that have a wired Ethernet network connection to your wireless router can still use the wireless printer. In this case I still installed the printer software on these PCs as "use a wireless connection to the printer".
Paper-handling problems can be avoided with two procedures:
1) Don't use too many sheet of paper or push them too far into the printer. There is a line in the paper tray which shows you where to position the paper stack. Don't try to push it in a half inch further.
2) Update the printer firmware. Note that the update process on the printer continues long after the Windows-based firmware update application seems to indicate that the update is complete.
I had the most problems with the fax setup. I have COMCAST VOIP phone service, and my previous HP all-in-one worked fine with it. But with the 8500 I immediately ran into a situation where my phone line was always made busy by the 8500. The solution is to only use the 10 foot round cross section phone cables of the type included with the 8500, and to connect the cables as follows:
1) Connect a cable from the VOIP cable modem to the 1-Line connector on the 8500, and
2) Connect a cable from the 2-ext cable to your telephone.
Also it may help to set the 8500's fax speed to the slowest setting (9600 baud), using its touchscreen or web server.
The installation of the 2 print heads and 4 ink cartridges is not difficult, but again takes time and should be done very carefully and in good lighting conditions. Make sure these items are fully seated before continuing.
If you allow enough time for the installation, plan carefully, and read the directions first, I hope you will enjoy this printer as much as I am. It certainly has many excellent features that my previous OfficeJet G85 lacked."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
Date:October 23, 2009

Great Printer - Wireless an issue

Pros: loaded with features
Cons: wireless may be difficult to setup, long setup time but worth it
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500
"First the Bad - I had planned to use this printer's wireless feature however it did not find my LinkSys WRT610N router which is less than 10 feet away. Fortunately I was able to connect to the printer using a wired connection. I had read other reviews with people having issues with the wireless and thought that perhaps they were not experienced users which is why they had issues. I have been doing consulting with networking and application development for 12+ years so if I have issues then it is not due to inexperience. If I needed to, I am sure I could get the wireless to work. (I also have a LinkSys WRT54G and the printer was able to connect to that router.)
I had also read some reviews complaining about the setup time for this printer and recalling that I can not believe it would take that much time. Guess what they were right. My result was that it took longer than other stated but that was only because I created my own problems which are not the fault of this product. Do plan at least one and half hours to get this printer setup though.
Now, On with the Good Stuff - I can say that the time spent setting up this printer was worth it. I have been impressed with the features that this printer offers. I did not read the user manual before purchasing it so I was pleasantly surprised by the features that the specs page does not mention or that I ignored believing that it was just marketing hype.
One of the first things I was impressed with was the quality and functions available on the Embedded Web Server. This was the first thing I took a look at once I got the printer unpacked, connected, and waiting for the software to install. (This is were I caused my own problems by changing the IP Address to static address after the setup program found the printer at the DHCP assigned address.)
While stepping through the Embedded Web Server pages, I found some capabilities of the printer that I did not expect.
- HP Digital Fax: This allows faxes to be sent to a shared folder on my network
- Scan and email documents without using the computer
- An E-mail Address Book to support the scan and email function
- Scan to a shared folder on my network
- Backup & Restore Settings to a shared folder on my network
- Usage Tracking
There were other options which were impressive but I do not plan to use.
- Junk Fax Blocker
- Fax Forwarding
I was also impressed that the software provided a twain driver which works over the network to scan documents to my computer. I ran a test with PaintShop Pro X2 and it was able to wake the printer up and scan a document. I feared that I would need to use USB to scan directly from my software but thankfully that was not the case.
All in all I am really happy with the printer. I did just receive the printer yesterday so it is still the Honeymoon phase. FYI my previous printer was a HP OfficeJet 6110xi which I had for 7 years."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Moyock, NC
Date:April 7, 2010

a Plug for COSTCO Concierge service

Pros: very fast printing, high quality printing, fast scanning, costco concierge service
Cons: lousy instructions
Model Number: Office Jet Pro 8500
"I was apprehensive about buying another HP product after the premature death of a rather expensive 5 in 1 unit and HP's lousy (Over Seas) customer service. I read consumers report and after reading good things bought the 8500 from Costco (I would only buy it from Costco as they are very good about electronic returns and warrantee extensions) After going through the set up (very poor HP directions) my printer would scan but not print, when I would try too print the computer would tell me the printer was off line. I reinstalled the software and went through the set up 6 times I finally called Costco’s Concierge service. I got an English speaking person and was up in running in less then 10 minutes and it cost me nothing. I was so impressed I cannot even tell you Thank you COCSTCO PS: I only gave it 4 stars because I have had it a short while."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, OR
Date:January 30, 2010

It's an HP.

Model Number: Officejet Pro 8500
"Ok, After reading the reviews here and on Consumer Reports I was scepticle. I have found good luck in heading reviews.
I had to replace my 7310xi HP due to an alignment gear stripping as I was deep in printing need. I rushed off to Costco after doing my research with the Photosmart Premium in my sights. (Highest rated Multi-function on CR).
When I talked with the salesman and he recommended the 8500 for my needs I informed him of my research. He was literally astonished and said they have sold a ton of the 8500 and have had no complaints. The price was $70 off and I was in a rush so I folded my ego and went for the 8500. Once I got home the setup took a little over an hour and the wireless and all functions worked perfectly. I even setup fax and email from my laptop through the HP software. I have print 150 pages so far with nary a glitch. I am very happy with my purchase. I must comment on the downsides of this unit though. It is a tad noisier then my 7310 was but I like the energy saving feature. There are the extra print heads that I am not sure were a part of the extra cartridges I picked up? I will see when they need replacing.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:N/VA
Date:November 11, 2009

Bad printer, worse tech support

Pros: fast black text.
Cons: horrible color print quality, slow incompetent tech support, no phone support, no chat support for macs owners
Model Number: A0909g officejet pro 8500 wireless
"I have owned HP printers in the past and generally found them to be pretty reliable. This printer is a dog. Out of the box, it failed to recognize 1 of 2 print heads. After I ran through several steps in troubleshooting, I finally was able to get it to print, but it showed white streaks on blue material. I callled tech support 3 times and was told 1 of their centers was unable to receive phone calls, but I could hold, at which point I was disconnected. I tried to use chat tech support, but they don't support Mac users. I emailed them on Sunday and was promised a quick response. My reply was delivered 2 days later and it only included steps to reset the printer, when the problem was obviously a bad print head. By this time after going through numerous print head cleaning and alignment cycles and quality check printouts, i received warnings that the 3 color cartridges were low and I needed to buy new ones--all this after less than a week of ownership. I'm solving my problem by returning this dog back to Costco for a refund and the purchase of another brand."
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westport, Washington
Date:August 8, 2009

Great All-in-One

Pros: delivered within 4 days of ordering online, lcd display panel is great
Cons: none
Model Number: HP OfficeJet Pro 8500
"Set up was a breeze, no problems at all (and I'm a bit challenged normally with such things) - the directions were very clear.
Have had it under a week and tried the faxing, printing and copyng features which worked great. I also wirelessly saved photo images from an XD card (it accepts several sizes/capacities on the unit itself) to my computer.
I highly recommend this product."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>