Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer

Print/Scan/Copy/Fax
Average Customer Rating:
3.358 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(274 Reviews) 274
(out of 274 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (274 reviews)
5 stars
99
4 stars
51
3 stars
33
2 stars
31
1 star
60
158 of 274(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Parkdale, Oregon
Date:September 4, 2010

Best Office machine !!

Pros: easy setup!, quiet operation, very fast printing, great features!
Cons: large footprint, more in depth user manual would be nice.
Model Number: CB025-A
"I purchased the HP Officejet Pro 8500 Premier in July of 2010. It replaced an older 4-in-one machine. I did a lot of research on my selection, as I wanted to have it for a long time so was looking for durability, reliability, and inexpensive to operate. In this machine I found everything. As long as you just follow the very simple setup that comes with the product, use correct paper, it actually sets itself up! I find it is not noisy. Print is fabulous! BETTER than a lot of lasers...
Runs flawlessly. I don't have to stay and babysit it. I am glad I went ahead and purchased this model.
"
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oakland
Date:July 28, 2010

Terrible design

Pros: easy to set up, scanning is easy
Cons: paper jams are impossible to clear
Model Number: 8500
"This machine worked well until we got a paper jam that won't clear. I've basically taken the machine apart and followed all of the steps & tricks that were recommended on the HP site and others. Nothing works. It seems my experience is consistent w/ many others. HP has always made great products, so it's especially disappointing to deal w/ this lemon. Will be returning."
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tucson
Date:July 27, 2010

Do I risk buying this again?

Pros: wireless convenience was great!, good print quality
Cons: quite loud, only worked with one computer printer to computer, slow to fax, complete shut down with one ink missing, didn't last much more than a yr, cant use ink refill options
"I have had this product for one year and 61 days. I was 61 days out of warranty when the printer stopped functioning due to an unresolvable ink error message. One of the ink cartridge colors went empty. When it was replaced the printer would not recognize that is was now full. Unfortunately no functions of the machine are operable when one ink cartridge is out. So you cannot scan or fax out without the ink replaced. You cannot print in black without all three colors full. This is obviously a common issue as there was plenty of info on how to resolve it. However, none of the solutions resolved it at all. HP offered me a discount on a refurbished printer but said it could not refurbish mine.
Apparently the sensors are fragile and don't last long. Also of note due to these sensors HP has installed you cannot not use the recycling ink refill places as they are designed for one time use and only HP products can be placed due to the sensors. This apparently will be resolved soon my the ink refill companies in the next few months. Up until now I have LOVED this printer. The convenience of the wireless was such a great relief. However we are a household of two computers and the machine only recognized the initial computer when trying to communicate from the machine to other computer. Both computers were loaded on the printer but only one worked effectively. No problems from computer to machine.
No I am need of a new printer this week and can't decide whether to risk this one again or not as no printer is complaint free.
"
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:July 26, 2010

Very Nice, but Allow 4 Hours for Setup

Model Number: A909g
"Since I saw so many negative reviews, I am mainly covering what to do to avoid these problems. I successfully installed the software on Vista 32, Win 7 x86, and Win 7 x64.
Be sure to install the software before connecting the printer. Use an account with administrator privilege. Temporarily disable the PC's antivirus, but leave the PC's firewall enabled. All of this is covered in the 2 included hardcopy manuals and in various HP web forums.
I recommend using the printer's touchscreen display to set a static IP address on its wireless interface. You can typically reserve this address in your wireless router, or just use an address below or at the top of the DHCP range defined in the router setup. If the printer is within physical range of your wireless router, there is no need to use the wired Ethernet network connection at all. Computers that have a wired Ethernet network connection to your wireless router can still use the wireless printer. In this case I still installed the printer software on these PCs as "use a wireless connection to the printer".
Paper-handling problems can be avoided with two procedures:
1) Don't use too many sheet of paper or push them too far into the printer. There is a line in the paper tray which shows you where to position the paper stack. Don't try to push it in a half inch further.
2) Update the printer firmware. Note that the update process on the printer continues long after the Windows-based firmware update application seems to indicate that the update is complete.
I had the most problems with the fax setup. I have COMCAST VOIP phone service, and my previous HP all-in-one worked fine with it. But with the 8500 I immediately ran into a situation where my phone line was always made busy by the 8500. The solution is to only use the 10 foot round cross section phone cables of the type included with the 8500, and to connect the cables as follows:
1) Connect a cable from the VOIP cable modem to the 1-Line connector on the 8500, and
2) Connect a cable from the 2-ext cable to your telephone.
Also it may help to set the 8500's fax speed to the slowest setting (9600 baud), using its touchscreen or web server.
The installation of the 2 print heads and 4 ink cartridges is not difficult, but again takes time and should be done very carefully and in good lighting conditions. Make sure these items are fully seated before continuing.
If you allow enough time for the installation, plan carefully, and read the directions first, I hope you will enjoy this printer as much as I am. It certainly has many excellent features that my previous OfficeJet G85 lacked."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2010

Easy set up and fun to use

Model Number: a909g
"PROS. Unlike some of the other reviewers of this product, I had an easy time setting up this printer on both a USB (PC/windows XP) and wireless (MacOS 10.4) connection. It did take a couple of hours from start to finish, but I've been printing and making copies ever since. I love the two sided printing and copying features. So handy. And, I was able to print a 3x5 photo in seconds!
CONS. Noisy, clicking sounds. When powering up it takes a long time to get ready and it cleans the printheads each time."
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:July 13, 2010

Review Change from 1 to 5 Stars !!

Model Number: CB023A
"Please Ignore my previous 1 Star view dated July 10, 2010 by Curly15. I was having a bad day because my printer wouldn’t work and I had a deadline to meet. First, I called HP Support and didn’t get the help I needed so I put a 1 star review on Costco. The next day, I emailed HP about the problem I was having with the paper jam error message. The HP Representative called me and he was able to solve the problem! So, my Sincere Apologies for giving a 1 star review before emailing HP. If you need to contact HP, I recommend doing it by email first rather than by phone. Let HP evaluate your problem by email. HP will either email you a solution or HP will call you. HP has great support and I am changing my review to 5 Stars!"
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:July 10, 2010

Do Not Buy Without an Extended Warranty !!

Model Number: CB023A
"* This printer broke down completely 7 days after the 1 year warranty was up.
* HP has no repair service for this printer.
* I currently own an HP Laptop and HP 6500 printer and I've owned several HP printers before this one. However, HP Did Not Recognize Customer Loyalty.
* HP did not offer me a good discount on a new or refurbished printer.
* HP would not give me a 7 day grace period over the one year warranty.
* The duplex printing function works poorly.
* Do Not Buy this printer without an extended warranty !
"
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bay Area
Date:July 9, 2010

VOIP Compatibility

Model Number: HP 8500
"Had intermittent issues with the fax/phone line. My symptoms were that the fax would occassionally pick up before the preset number. Other times the line would be completely in use (no dial-tone). The unit would cycle as follows: 1) Works fine. 2) Picks up early. 3) No dial tone. Downloaded the latest firmware, but no improvement. Not sure if my unit is defective or if there is a compatibility issue with my environment. Returned it to Costco.
I have Comcast VOIP, ADT Alarm, and Panasonic Cordless phone with Answering Machine. My older HP 7410 works fine."
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:June 24, 2010

Poor product - worth 0 star

Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500 (Mfr: CB023A)
"We have had this printer for less than 5 months and rarely use it. It has a "pump" error and needs to be returned to HP. The network connection seems to disappear out of the blue and the PC often can't communicate with it. If I could, I would give it 0 star!
I am sorry to say that we have had unrecoverable hardware errors with 4 other HP Officejet printers in the past 3 years."
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 14, 2010

waste of time

Model Number: 8500
"This was a upgrade from a previous HP printer I had. It has problems with loading/jaming paper. and the first page I print after it has sat for some time, it has blank stripes in the print space.
Stay away
"
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:engineer, Boulder, CO
Date:June 11, 2010

No longer an HP customer

Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless
"I liked the machine the first few months I had it, even though it was a pain to set up correctly and kept putting multiple copies of the printer into the printer file. A few operational issues were cleared up.
Then the first failure happened and thankfully, I used Costco Concierge to mediate the problem. That guaranteed a good pre-screening and then a level two English-speacking American to work through the problem. I received a re-built replacement. It printed vertical lines that neither I or the HP technician could overcome. Rebuild no. 3 had similar problem. Rebuild no. 4 would not even fully boot up. All I can do is print and fax. This got me a level three HP person who offered me a product that, at the HP site, only ranked 3.5/5 and the numerous negatives were awful. My gut said to dump HP and I did. HP reminds me of GM. It is slipping downhill via poor quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2010

The ULTIMATE pile of JUNK

Cons: setup beyond a nightmare
Model Number: 8500
"I have used HP products almost exclusively since being an engineering student 30 years ago and this printer put me over the edge. I will NEVER buy another HP printer. After about 5 hours with CS and them blaming my router and getting a new router with no relief even a paid independant contractor recommended by my router manufacturer had to admit defeat. When you open HP Solutions you could watch it cycle on and off line at will whether hooked up with ethernet cable to our home network or wireless. I have no idea where I will go for another printer but I can guarantee I have bought my last HP."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 13, 2010

Last HP We'll Purchase

Pros: works well when it works
Cons: software and hardware issues
Model Number: 8500
"This is the 3rd All in One HP Printer that we've purchased and the quality of these HP All in Ones has steadily declined over the years. We have had software issues and now the printer won't even print. It keeps indicating that the printer has a paper jam - but there is no paper jam. This first HP printer was great! Unfortunately, this was the last HP we'll ever purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:April 22, 2010

good printer when it works

Pros: it offers many features for the price., the hardware is high quality, it is a pleasure to use when it works
Cons: software drivers may be likely to cause conflicts
Model Number: HP 8500
"The printer itself is good, that is, we had no problems with the hardware portion of it. However, we could not get the issues with the software drivers to resolve after 1 year, after multiple installs and calls to HP. This resulted in headaches, lost time, down time and, in the end, complete loss of the use of the printer. Unfortunately we returned it today."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:covina,ca
Date:April 21, 2010
Pros: scannig is good
Cons: faxing software issues
Model Number: 8500 wireless
"This was my first Hp printer, it worked good for about 2 months, after that i had nothing but headaches.I tried working out the issues such as faxing errors, paper jam errors, and the worst was software issues wit hp. They replaced the printer 5 times and it still did not work properly. For the price ,it is junk."
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Moyock, NC
Date:April 7, 2010

a Plug for COSTCO Concierge service

Pros: very fast printing, high quality printing, fast scanning, costco concierge service
Cons: lousy instructions
Model Number: Office Jet Pro 8500
"I was apprehensive about buying another HP product after the premature death of a rather expensive 5 in 1 unit and HP's lousy (Over Seas) customer service. I read consumers report and after reading good things bought the 8500 from Costco (I would only buy it from Costco as they are very good about electronic returns and warrantee extensions) After going through the set up (very poor HP directions) my printer would scan but not print, when I would try too print the computer would tell me the printer was off line. I reinstalled the software and went through the set up 6 times I finally called Costco’s Concierge service. I got an English speaking person and was up in running in less then 10 minutes and it cost me nothing. I was so impressed I cannot even tell you Thank you COCSTCO PS: I only gave it 4 stars because I have had it a short while."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Auburn, WA
Date:April 3, 2010

Poor printer, poor customer service

Pros: worked great when it did
Cons: everything else
Model Number: Officejet Pro 8500 wireless
"I bought this for my home business and for the first few months it did work well other then a few network glitches. We don't print heavily so it is not over used.
We got a paper jam error that would not go away despite no paper jam. After an annoying chat session with a tech they sent another printer because ours was under warranty.
"New" (refurbished ie; someone elses returned junk) printer worked for about 1 hour and then we got print head errors that would not go away.
Another even more annoying chat session which resulted in being told that the printer was out of warranty. ReallY? I send in one in warranty and get one out. Good news though they actually felt it was the print heads which were under warranty so they sent two new ones.
No go with the new heads, same problem.
Do not buy this printer. This was my first HP so I can't comment on all HP printers, but I think I'm going to find another company's similar model."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bakersfield
Date:March 22, 2010

Believe the Worst & You Will be Happy

Pros: it is pretty on the, outside
Cons: it does not work & you will spend hours trying, to make it work
Model Number: HP 8500 Office Jet Pro
"18 hours on the phone to HP, 5 different session and no resolution to their error problems. It came down to the cookies they try to load called Market Research. Once you get this error there is no fix. HP puts you on hold and never comes back. I have used HP from the beginning of time, but no more."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2010

Do Not Buy!

"I should have have listened to all the bad reviews about this product. The sale price got to me. First time plugging this in it displays an error message. Also, its paper sensor is terrible. Every time I turned it on not only does the error message show, but also it said it was out of paper. Please don't fall for this product. I get to bother with driving back to Costco to return this."
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lompoc, CA
Date:March 1, 2010

Beware! this model has a paper loading problem

Pros: nice features
Cons: paper loading problems
Model Number: Officejet Pro 8500 wireless
"The good: The overall quality of the units is nice with lots of functions. The printing is clear and fast (when able to load paper). Colors are nice. The scanner works quickly. The wireless feature is a plus. From now on, any printer I buy will wireless.
The Bad: This model has a paper loading problem. After about 4-5 printed pages, for some reason the loader is unable to pickup paper from the tray. The LED screen than indicates that the paper tray is out of paper when it is full. I returned the first printer and the 2nd has the exact same probem. HP tech said it must be the paper I'm using. But I use HP paper! I've tryed other brand paper, but the problem prevails. I did a search by Google and found that paper loading is a probem with this model. Buyer Beware!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>