Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer

Print/Scan/Copy/Fax
Average Customer Rating:
3.358 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(274 Reviews) 274
(out of 274 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (274 reviews)
5 stars
99
4 stars
51
3 stars
33
2 stars
31
1 star
60
158 of 274(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Review 21 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Mexico
Date:October 15, 2009

Best Printer Purchase

Pros: works as advertised, frugal ink consumption
Cons: none yet
"Best Printer Purchase. Has operated flawlessly. Hardwired to an iMac. Also use an Acer netbook via a D-Link router to print wirelessly to the HP 8500. All three units acquired at Costco. Printer is frugal on ink usage as advertised. Extremely satisified with purchase."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto
Date:October 29, 2009

HORRIBLE

Model Number: HP OfficeJet Pro 8500
"Something differentgoes wrong with this printer daily. Paper jam, print heads, alignment, odd colors, etc. I haven't even had the chance to try any other features. Makes an annoynig hissing noise when it's turned on.
I'm taking this printer back
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:November 11, 2009

Tried twice and gave up

Pros: great when it works
Cons: appears to only work for 6 weeks
Model Number: Office Pro 8500 Wireless
"This printer gets either 5 stars or 1 star in the reviews, and I can understand that. When mine worked, it was great. Then after about 5 weeks it indicated a paper jam (when there was none) and nothing we could do would get it going again even spending 2 hours on the phone with HP. When they offered a "remanufacutered" replacement in a week, I took mine back to Costco and got a second printer. About 6 weeks later it indicated that it could not align the print heads and would not go on. It went back again.
Great for the first 6 weeks, then awful! Based on my experience, DO NOT BUY!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, Il
Date:December 21, 2009

beware

Pros: not to difficult to set up.
Cons: didn't work.
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500
"I read the reviews prior to purchasing this product. Have to admit I was pre-warned. I have SEVERAL HP printers. I like HP! At least did. I purchased this product on Saturday. Set it up on Sunday. Not as difficullt to do as I read some of the other people who wrote reviews indicated. Everything worked until I tried to fax from the document feeder. Called customer support (in India). Had difficulty understanding the person on the other end. Explained the problem. It seemed he was reading from a script or monitored responses. I had to explain several times that the printer did not recognize that I had loaded paper in the auto-doc-feeder. After a very long time on the phone he finally admitted that he could not repair it. He offered to send me a refurbished unit. My response to him was I feel that I didn't buy a refurbished unit. I hadn't had it 24 hours yet, and I didn't feel that was the course I wanted to take. Tomorrow I am going to return it to COSTCO. I will purchase a different brand from COSTCO because of the way they stand behind the items they sell. I had to hunt on line to find HP's support phone number. I feel the have gotten like DELL computors when it comes to customer support."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lompoc, CA
Date:March 1, 2010

Beware! this model has a paper loading problem

Pros: nice features
Cons: paper loading problems
Model Number: Officejet Pro 8500 wireless
"The good: The overall quality of the units is nice with lots of functions. The printing is clear and fast (when able to load paper). Colors are nice. The scanner works quickly. The wireless feature is a plus. From now on, any printer I buy will wireless.
The Bad: This model has a paper loading problem. After about 4-5 printed pages, for some reason the loader is unable to pickup paper from the tray. The LED screen than indicates that the paper tray is out of paper when it is full. I returned the first printer and the 2nd has the exact same probem. HP tech said it must be the paper I'm using. But I use HP paper! I've tryed other brand paper, but the problem prevails. I did a search by Google and found that paper loading is a probem with this model. Buyer Beware!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Miami, Florida
Date:October 22, 2009

Horrific - NO SUPPORT FROM HP

Pros: two page printing
Cons: hp nor i could set up this printer
Model Number: HP 8500 Pro A909g
"This is the last of my HP purchases. Could not install. HP Customer Support could not install. Supervisor to call the following business day and never did. HP admits no follow up call was ever placed. Disgusted with lack of customer service. Should have listened to all the negarive reviews both on costco.com and online regarding this product. So now have ordered a Canon after the good reviews......"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Wa
Date:August 18, 2009

Does all I need

Pros: i would highly recomend this product for the home
Cons: more paper storage capacity.
Model Number: HP Pro 8500
"This has been a great pruchase. Set up was a piece of cake. It's great to have a wireless printer I can use for my laptop as well. Bought the printer for home office use primary interest was the duplex mode and have had no problems. It would be great if it was faster in duplex but for the price paid can't complain. This replaced a previous HP printer and I look foward to the same reliability."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northville, MI
Date:September 11, 2009

Never Worked

Model Number: OfficeJet 8500 Wireless
"I have nothing but trouble trying to get this machine to work over the last month. HP has sent me two replacement machines and other problems keep coming up. Print heads won't align which takes forever, door error message says it's open, out of ink error but never used, etc. Don't buy it. I'm taking it back to Costco!"
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:October 13, 2009

I have never given a product 1 star before...

"but I feel it is my responsibility to warn anyone who will listen not to buy this multi-function printer.
First, the wireless printing failed though I followed directions exactly and got the onscreen message saying the machine was communicating with the computer wirelessly. In less than 24 hours, it quit working even when connected via usb cable.
I then Googled this particular model and discovered my experience with it was not unique. I returned it to Costco and bought a Canon. What a incredible difference between the two."
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 13, 2010

Last HP We'll Purchase

Pros: works well when it works
Cons: software and hardware issues
Model Number: 8500
"This is the 3rd All in One HP Printer that we've purchased and the quality of these HP All in Ones has steadily declined over the years. We have had software issues and now the printer won't even print. It keeps indicating that the printer has a paper jam - but there is no paper jam. This first HP printer was great! Unfortunately, this was the last HP we'll ever purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chico Ca
Date:February 5, 2010

Buyer Beware

Pros: quality printing
Cons: expensive ink, cartridges expiration dates
Model Number: Officejet pro 8000
"Ink replacement costly The black ink ran out after 3 mo. of light use. Replacements ( you need one black & 3 color ) will cost well over $100. Also extremely slow with windows office or if you want to change properties before printing. Cartridges can't be refilled and they have a chip in them with 2 yr. expiration date that disables it even if it still has ink remaining."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:October 25, 2009

Terrible Printer

Model Number: Officejet Pro 8500g
"I'm on my second HP Officejet Pro 8500 printer. The first one indicated that it needed a new ink cartridge, which I replaced. It still thought it needed a new ink cartridge. After 1 1/2 hours on the phone with HP technical support, they diagnosed the problem as a bad print cartridge. When it arrived, the printer still though the ink cartridge was bad. Took it back to Costco and brought home a new one.
Installed it and the first time I tried to make a copy, 1/3 of the page was completely black. Back on the phone with HP technical support. Printer hardware problem; printer has to be replaced.
Back to Costco for refund. I'm not wasting any more time on HP Officejet printers - must be terrible manufacturing quality control."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:October 28, 2009

do NOT buy this printer.

Pros: when it does work it works well.
Cons: just about everything., won't fax when out of ink., won't scan when out of ink., won't fax when printhead fails., no functions work when out of ink / printhead fail, won't wake up from sleep mode
Model Number: Officejet Pro 8500
"This review is mostly negative so I will start with the good..
When it does work, it does a good job.
Now the reality..
Set aside at least 1.5 hours to install this printer (FAR more time than any other printer I have ever installed).
1. this unit will NOT wake up from sleep mode. If you use the energy saver mode, you will find yourself unplugging the unit from the outlet and then waiting for it to recycle to on again.
2. If you run out of ink, NONE of the other functions work. You cannot fax, or scan, or print with the colors that are still available, for instance if you are out of yellow, you Cannot print black documents.
3. if you have a printhead failure, (and you will) the unit will not function. You cannot fax, or scan or print, period.
This unit is not a multi-function print solution for anyone who needs foolproof and/or failsafe print/fax/scanning. If you do buy this printer, make sure you have supplies, such as extra printheads, as they are NOT readily available in stores, and you will be waiting to use it until they are shipped to you.
They are scheduled to fail within 15,000 pages, and usually they fail way before that, costing almost 100 dollars each (2).
Don't be fooled by the "promise" of what this printer can do, because it rarely does.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland OR / student
Date:October 22, 2009

I REALLY like this, even though 1st was a "lemon"

Pros: all-in-one; fast wireless; duplex
Cons: careful to fan paper before insert to tray
Model Number: HP OfficeJetHP OfficeJet Pro 8550 Color Inkjet Multifunction printer
"I bought this on sale from Costco, and had a paper jam that neither HP Support in India nor in the Philippines could resolve; but COSTCO accepted it back without a problem 2 mos after the sale. I figured I encountered a "lemon", & turned around and purchased the same printer again, as I wanted 1) wireless, 2) duplex printing 3) fax/copier/printer all-in-one unit, 4) "economy" ink cartridges, and 5) sufficiently large paper tray. I had a friend with the same model & we were both impressed. I found this printer easy to set up for wireless and duplex printing, and it allows for lots of copier sizing options. The ink cartridges on this printer also lasts better than on most HP printers that I have owned. I also appreciate the large paper tray size, and the speed of printing. Of course, back-to-back printing for inkjet slows printing as one side must allow for a little drying time before printing the backside, but that aside... this printer suits my need well. I go to school and have a ton of research papers to print, research and document, and back-to-back conserves a lot of trees. I recommend this printer."
Review 35 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 19, 2009

Slow

Model Number: HP 8500 Pro
"I realize an all-in-one is not going to do any one function that fast, but this prints and copies slower than my little old HP D7160 Injet. I have had trouble scanning and printing photos - my compute tells me there is no connection, yet it works to fax from e-mail. I'll have to play with it ahwile, but my first reaction to it is not all that positive."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Manteca, CA
Date:September 29, 2009

Bad Choice

Model Number: HP 8500
"My last HP printer never gave me as much trouble as this one! You replace the ink cartridges and the machine continues to tell you that your out of ink so it won't print."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2010

The ULTIMATE pile of JUNK

Cons: setup beyond a nightmare
Model Number: 8500
"I have used HP products almost exclusively since being an engineering student 30 years ago and this printer put me over the edge. I will NEVER buy another HP printer. After about 5 hours with CS and them blaming my router and getting a new router with no relief even a paid independant contractor recommended by my router manufacturer had to admit defeat. When you open HP Solutions you could watch it cycle on and off line at will whether hooked up with ethernet cable to our home network or wireless. I have no idea where I will go for another printer but I can guarantee I have bought my last HP."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Encinitas, CA (San Diego County)
Date:February 9, 2010

Use Caution When Choosing This Printer

Pros: easy to use.
Cons: need very small fingers on touch screen, ink cart sensors will not let you remove and, insert the same cart. gives error and you must, insert a new cart.
Model Number: HP Officejet 8500
"Our family has owned and used this printer since July 2009. It has performed well with everyone (5) using it for general printing. The problem lies in the ink system as there are sensors that know what cartridge is in the unit and when they are removed. If you remove one or more with unit on, then the machine will error out on those cartridge(s) when you reinsert them, you can not clear the error and you must install a new cart. I returned the unit today. I have been told the 6500 does not have these problems and I have just ordered one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn NY
Date:October 19, 2009

Good wireless multifunction

Pros: easy set up
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500
"I wanted a wireless multifunction chiefly because I wanted to be able to scan documents to several computers. I also wanted to be able to print from any computer without leaving a machine on to drive the printer. Lastly, I require a reliable fax machine on a dedicated line. The HP 8500 does all of these things well, it was easy to set up (XP Home) and it is intuitive to use. No problems so far, and no complaints - on the contrary I'm pleased with the purchase!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:February 11, 2010

Paper issues

Model Number: HP OFFICEJET 8500
"So far I have tried 5 different brands of paper yet nothing works.
I keep getting an error message (after a few pages print) that the printer is out of paper
I have returned this unit and took a second one and yet the problem still exists.
HP has been NO help. They claim I might have too much paper in the tray
I will be returning this unit again this weekend.
Otherwise when working it is fine
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>