Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer

Print/Scan/Copy/Fax
Average Customer Rating:
3.358 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(274 Reviews) 274
(out of 274 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (274 reviews)
5 stars
99
4 stars
51
3 stars
33
2 stars
31
1 star
60
158 of 274(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Review 21 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose
Date:February 26, 2010

IT professional, Photographer, Business use

Pros: fast clear clean copy, scan to disk, duplex
Cons: takes a long time to set up, does not allow on the fly email address f scans
Model Number: HP Pro 8500
"I wanted a wireless printer, with longer cartridge life than my Canon MX310. It maybe printed 300 sheets before the ink ran out.
I looked at the 6500 and 8500 and chose on the cartridge life expectancy. We will see.
I have a Dlink 1GB wired and a/b/g/n wireless with SAN, Media Servers, and VoIP, using Windows XP, Vista and Mac OS X.
The setup was quick, but complex with printheads and ink. Need to find out about that as HP always had print heads in the cartridges.
The printer is noisy, but now hissing noise on mine, but it is fast so I don't expect silence. I like to hear it work in the other room or downstairs from my roving laptops.
The dual side printing worked, copying worked (though colors were a tad off) and I loved the scanning to SAN (Network) folders and email.
Incoming faxes worked well and most faxes won't work with splitters. I did not check to see if there was a phone jack on the back as my phone is VoIP and I use a land line just for fax and DSL.
The software takes a long time to load, I like the fact I can setup via desktop versus the little screen and I have gigantic fingers and the screen works fine for me. The overall functionality of the software is fine, but I mostly just use it for setup. Worked great on Macs.
The printer did not feed business card stock well. I have had this problem with HP before since it does not use a straight paper path but a U shaped path.
Very fast, feeder worked great on a 35 to 40 page document, and the dual sided printing was clean. The high cap cartridges are 68 dollars at Costco, seems a good deal for the print out .
I would recommend this for business use."
Review 22 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:February 20, 2010

Not Reliable

Cons: quality in engineering
Model Number: HP 8500
"HP once made a quality product. I guess that's once upon a time. I keep on getting a "load paper" error. Looked it up online and that's a known issue with this printer. Wouldn't you say that its basic that a printer pick up paper?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:February 17, 2010

Great prtinter

Pros: easy set up, great wireless
Cons: none yet
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless
"This is a great printer for the price. I originally chose this printer for the cost per page and the wireless function. My wireless network is set up on an older PC running XP. During the install the setup encountered a problem. The setup went out and found a solution, downloaded it and continued the install. It added just a few minutes, but really worked. Next I installed the printer to my Mac, and it runs great."
Review 24 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:South Pasadena, CA
Date:February 17, 2010

This is my 5th Unit!

Pros: fast print speed, reasonably priced
Cons: poor quality control, network problems, ink very expensive
Model Number: Officejet Pro 8500
"I work in the IT field and consider myself an expert when it comes to computers and printers. While all inkjet printers will eventually have problems, the HP 8500 has a number of software/firmware problems but worst of all, there is a general lack of quality control. Let me explain.
First off, I currently have 2 of these units running on a wired 100 Base-T network but I had to return 3 units due to problems.
2 units I had to return because out of the box, each had a relatively loud hissing sound that came out where the power cable plugged into the printer. It is a very persistent hissing sound and is present whether the printer is printing or not. It is even present when the printer is in the sleep mode.
1 unit was returned because I was not able to make copies (or fax) using the input feeding tray. The rollers somehow were misaligned and prevented the feeding mechanism from working.
So of the 2 units that I currently have, both of them somehow disconnected from my network and could not obtain a new IP address from my router. I tried everything, including setting network settings back to its factory default and power the unit off and on repeatedly. Finally the ONLY way I could get the printers onto the network was to manually enter a static IP address into each of the printers! Sounds stupid but that was the only way the printers would get back onto the network.
The software and driver that came on the CD is pathetic. It is extremely large (takes up a lot of memory) and is buggy. To be fair, HP never had reliable printer sofware for ANY of their printers and this was no exception.
So assuming you get to where I am now, the printer is pretty fast and the quality quite good. However, be prepared to pay out of your nose for the ink cartridges! Under normal printing across a typical color gamit, the cyan and yellow cartridges will go pretty fast, follow by the black and then the magenta. The 940 ink cartridges cannot at this point be refilled by a 3rd party source so be prepared to spend $90 for a set of 4. Ounce for ounce, you will pay 8 times more for this ink than some of the best red wines of the world. I have had some of the best wine in the world so I know what I am talking about.
So you would think that given these problems, I would have given up on HP. Having used other brands of inkjet printers, I assure you that each brand have their share of problems too. Given the relatively low cost of this printer, when it does work correctly, the print quality is virtually flawless and the print speed excellent.
So if you are a patient person and willing to spend some time working through some of the pitfalls of this printer, I would say go ahead and buy one and you will probably not be disappointed. Just be prepared to go through multiple units in order to get one that has the least problems. I have written a letter to HP expressing my concern of their lack of quality control for this printer line.
And good luck. You WILL most LIKELY need it!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2010

Nice machine, but hissing was too much for me

Pros: great features including scan to network location, decent ink costs
Cons: constant hissing noise, very large size
"The machine made a constant "hissing" noise from the moment I plugged in the power. I called HP tech support and, after a couple of diagnostic tests, they told me to return the machine to the store. I searched the Internet and found several others mentioning this problem. I elected not to buy another one and took the refund instead."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mile High - the anti-Metric city
Date:February 14, 2010

HP has major Quality Issues

Pros: good graphics when it works
Cons: horrible quality control, "dont care" about accruacy, hp never test software
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
"Own one and made a huge mistake of reccomending one at work.
When it does work... it is nice.
But, both of our models had the Fax stop working when HP put out a sofware update.
This is just how bad HP quality had dropped:
On the phone wire going to the fax, I have a two way splitter - one for the fax, one for the phone. The phone has a solid dial tone and can dial. The Fax won't get a dial tone. But, thanks to HP bad quality and design, it goes ahead and pretends to dial. Lifting the phone receiver proves that HP never connected or got a dial tone. The phone still has a stead ring. The HP is pretending to go ahead and then falsely tells you that the other side never answered! I know what I am doing with phones and signal levels.
For HP to be so bad as this!!!!
Somebody should be fired for outsorucing this quality. The same thing happened where I worked on the same model.
Is HP really just so bad anymore that they can't build in the most basic panel to tell a user there is no connection?
I use to like HP, trust HP, reccomend HP. No longer.
"
Review 27 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:February 11, 2010

Paper issues

Model Number: HP OFFICEJET 8500
"So far I have tried 5 different brands of paper yet nothing works.
I keep getting an error message (after a few pages print) that the printer is out of paper
I have returned this unit and took a second one and yet the problem still exists.
HP has been NO help. They claim I might have too much paper in the tray
I will be returning this unit again this weekend.
Otherwise when working it is fine
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Encinitas, CA (San Diego County)
Date:February 9, 2010

Use Caution When Choosing This Printer

Pros: easy to use.
Cons: need very small fingers on touch screen, ink cart sensors will not let you remove and, insert the same cart. gives error and you must, insert a new cart.
Model Number: HP Officejet 8500
"Our family has owned and used this printer since July 2009. It has performed well with everyone (5) using it for general printing. The problem lies in the ink system as there are sensors that know what cartridge is in the unit and when they are removed. If you remove one or more with unit on, then the machine will error out on those cartridge(s) when you reinsert them, you can not clear the error and you must install a new cart. I returned the unit today. I have been told the 6500 does not have these problems and I have just ordered one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chico Ca
Date:February 5, 2010

Buyer Beware

Pros: quality printing
Cons: expensive ink, cartridges expiration dates
Model Number: Officejet pro 8000
"Ink replacement costly The black ink ran out after 3 mo. of light use. Replacements ( you need one black & 3 color ) will cost well over $100. Also extremely slow with windows office or if you want to change properties before printing. Cartridges can't be refilled and they have a chip in them with 2 yr. expiration date that disables it even if it still has ink remaining."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, Washington
Date:January 30, 2010

A MUST BUY

Pros: best all around printer for the price
Cons: you're missing out if you don't buy this hp
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500
"My family has owned the Officejet Pro 8500 for a couple of months, purchased on sale at our local Costco.
Before we bought it, I checked a trusted 'consumer' review source to which we subscribe and another trusted online source. Both rated this machine as outstanding which is what we have found, too.
The printer was a snap to setup as a wireless device, also easy to install on our 4 wireless computers.
While we do not use the fax function, the output is faster than you eyes can believe, as fast as my Brother laser printer. Make note that the ink lasts longer, too. The black is rich and deep, just perfect.
Take note this is also a duplex printer, so you can print on both sides of a sheet, making costs and organization even better."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, OR
Date:January 30, 2010

It's an HP.

Model Number: Officejet Pro 8500
"Ok, After reading the reviews here and on Consumer Reports I was scepticle. I have found good luck in heading reviews.
I had to replace my 7310xi HP due to an alignment gear stripping as I was deep in printing need. I rushed off to Costco after doing my research with the Photosmart Premium in my sights. (Highest rated Multi-function on CR).
When I talked with the salesman and he recommended the 8500 for my needs I informed him of my research. He was literally astonished and said they have sold a ton of the 8500 and have had no complaints. The price was $70 off and I was in a rush so I folded my ego and went for the 8500. Once I got home the setup took a little over an hour and the wireless and all functions worked perfectly. I even setup fax and email from my laptop through the HP software. I have print 150 pages so far with nary a glitch. I am very happy with my purchase. I must comment on the downsides of this unit though. It is a tad noisier then my 7310 was but I like the energy saving feature. There are the extra print heads that I am not sure were a part of the extra cartridges I picked up? I will see when they need replacing.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bartlett, IL
Date:December 30, 2009

So far, so good......

Pros: looks good, like the touch screen
Cons: big, 20 min to align print heads
"I purchased this printer about 2 weeks ago and prior to reading the reviews and I have to admit I'm really concerned. Anyhow, I thought the setup was straightforward but took about 1 hour - 20 minutes just to align the print heads. I used the touchscreen to setup the printer to my wireless network and that went flawlessly. I have 2 computers in my house, 1 being a laptop, and the printer has never lost its wireless connection, jammed or anything strange like that. I hate to disagree with the "1 star" people, but so far the thing is great."
Review 33 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Guerneville, CA
Date:December 27, 2009

Everything worked fine for me.

Model Number: A909g
"Considering all the bad reviews on this product, HP may currently have poor quality control. All I can say is that all the functions work fine for me. I like the large XL cartridge size. Have used all the functions and none have failed to please. Works seamlessly on our network."
Review 34 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:December 22, 2009

Looks good.....but doesn't work

Pros: price, features
Cons: needs to work. imagine that a working machine.
Model Number: Officejet 8500 Wireless Pro
"This multi function machine looks good out of the box, but does not print consistently. I have to constantly "load paper" even when the paper is full of HP Bright White Inkjet paper. I am sick of taking paper out of the printer that is marked up with black lines from the rollers that cannot grab the paper. This is my second machine"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, Il
Date:December 21, 2009

beware

Pros: not to difficult to set up.
Cons: didn't work.
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500
"I read the reviews prior to purchasing this product. Have to admit I was pre-warned. I have SEVERAL HP printers. I like HP! At least did. I purchased this product on Saturday. Set it up on Sunday. Not as difficullt to do as I read some of the other people who wrote reviews indicated. Everything worked until I tried to fax from the document feeder. Called customer support (in India). Had difficulty understanding the person on the other end. Explained the problem. It seemed he was reading from a script or monitored responses. I had to explain several times that the printer did not recognize that I had loaded paper in the auto-doc-feeder. After a very long time on the phone he finally admitted that he could not repair it. He offered to send me a refurbished unit. My response to him was I feel that I didn't buy a refurbished unit. I hadn't had it 24 hours yet, and I didn't feel that was the course I wanted to take. Tomorrow I am going to return it to COSTCO. I will purchase a different brand from COSTCO because of the way they stand behind the items they sell. I had to hunt on line to find HP's support phone number. I feel the have gotten like DELL computors when it comes to customer support."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:November 11, 2009

Tried twice and gave up

Pros: great when it works
Cons: appears to only work for 6 weeks
Model Number: Office Pro 8500 Wireless
"This printer gets either 5 stars or 1 star in the reviews, and I can understand that. When mine worked, it was great. Then after about 5 weeks it indicated a paper jam (when there was none) and nothing we could do would get it going again even spending 2 hours on the phone with HP. When they offered a "remanufacutered" replacement in a week, I took mine back to Costco and got a second printer. About 6 weeks later it indicated that it could not align the print heads and would not go on. It went back again.
Great for the first 6 weeks, then awful! Based on my experience, DO NOT BUY!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:N/VA
Date:November 11, 2009

Bad printer, worse tech support

Pros: fast black text.
Cons: horrible color print quality, slow incompetent tech support, no phone support, no chat support for macs owners
Model Number: A0909g officejet pro 8500 wireless
"I have owned HP printers in the past and generally found them to be pretty reliable. This printer is a dog. Out of the box, it failed to recognize 1 of 2 print heads. After I ran through several steps in troubleshooting, I finally was able to get it to print, but it showed white streaks on blue material. I callled tech support 3 times and was told 1 of their centers was unable to receive phone calls, but I could hold, at which point I was disconnected. I tried to use chat tech support, but they don't support Mac users. I emailed them on Sunday and was promised a quick response. My reply was delivered 2 days later and it only included steps to reset the printer, when the problem was obviously a bad print head. By this time after going through numerous print head cleaning and alignment cycles and quality check printouts, i received warnings that the 3 color cartridges were low and I needed to buy new ones--all this after less than a week of ownership. I'm solving my problem by returning this dog back to Costco for a refund and the purchase of another brand."
Review 38 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:November 9, 2009

Officejet Pro 8500

Pros: great price easy set up great color prints, great delivery time about 3 days.
Cons: slightly large but ok.
Model Number: 8500
"I ordered this printer about a week ago and had it set up in about 1 1/2 hours, I was a little skeptical at first because of the mixed reviews. This is a good product and I recommend that you have someone with a little experience help you get it set up. I am running windows XP on my main computer, also XP on another desktop computer and Vista on my laptop. I have them all hooked up to my network and all PC's prints great wirelessly on this printer. The fax and scanner also works Great!!! I have no regrets about buying this product."
Review 39 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto
Date:October 29, 2009

HORRIBLE

Model Number: HP OfficeJet Pro 8500
"Something differentgoes wrong with this printer daily. Paper jam, print heads, alignment, odd colors, etc. I haven't even had the chance to try any other features. Makes an annoynig hissing noise when it's turned on.
I'm taking this printer back
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:October 28, 2009

do NOT buy this printer.

Pros: when it does work it works well.
Cons: just about everything., won't fax when out of ink., won't scan when out of ink., won't fax when printhead fails., no functions work when out of ink / printhead fail, won't wake up from sleep mode
Model Number: Officejet Pro 8500
"This review is mostly negative so I will start with the good..
When it does work, it does a good job.
Now the reality..
Set aside at least 1.5 hours to install this printer (FAR more time than any other printer I have ever installed).
1. this unit will NOT wake up from sleep mode. If you use the energy saver mode, you will find yourself unplugging the unit from the outlet and then waiting for it to recycle to on again.
2. If you run out of ink, NONE of the other functions work. You cannot fax, or scan, or print with the colors that are still available, for instance if you are out of yellow, you Cannot print black documents.
3. if you have a printhead failure, (and you will) the unit will not function. You cannot fax, or scan or print, period.
This unit is not a multi-function print solution for anyone who needs foolproof and/or failsafe print/fax/scanning. If you do buy this printer, make sure you have supplies, such as extra printheads, as they are NOT readily available in stores, and you will be waiting to use it until they are shipped to you.
They are scheduled to fail within 15,000 pages, and usually they fail way before that, costing almost 100 dollars each (2).
Don't be fooled by the "promise" of what this printer can do, because it rarely does.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>