Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer

Print/Scan/Copy/Fax
Average Customer Rating:
3.358 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(274 Reviews) 274
(out of 274 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (274 reviews)
5 stars
99
4 stars
51
3 stars
33
2 stars
31
1 star
60
158 of 274(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Parkdale, Oregon
Date:September 4, 2010

Best Office machine !!

Pros: easy setup!, quiet operation, very fast printing, great features!
Cons: large footprint, more in depth user manual would be nice.
Model Number: CB025-A
"I purchased the HP Officejet Pro 8500 Premier in July of 2010. It replaced an older 4-in-one machine. I did a lot of research on my selection, as I wanted to have it for a long time so was looking for durability, reliability, and inexpensive to operate. In this machine I found everything. As long as you just follow the very simple setup that comes with the product, use correct paper, it actually sets itself up! I find it is not noisy. Print is fabulous! BETTER than a lot of lasers...
Runs flawlessly. I don't have to stay and babysit it. I am glad I went ahead and purchased this model.
"
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:July 26, 2010

Very Nice, but Allow 4 Hours for Setup

Model Number: A909g
"Since I saw so many negative reviews, I am mainly covering what to do to avoid these problems. I successfully installed the software on Vista 32, Win 7 x86, and Win 7 x64.
Be sure to install the software before connecting the printer. Use an account with administrator privilege. Temporarily disable the PC's antivirus, but leave the PC's firewall enabled. All of this is covered in the 2 included hardcopy manuals and in various HP web forums.
I recommend using the printer's touchscreen display to set a static IP address on its wireless interface. You can typically reserve this address in your wireless router, or just use an address below or at the top of the DHCP range defined in the router setup. If the printer is within physical range of your wireless router, there is no need to use the wired Ethernet network connection at all. Computers that have a wired Ethernet network connection to your wireless router can still use the wireless printer. In this case I still installed the printer software on these PCs as "use a wireless connection to the printer".
Paper-handling problems can be avoided with two procedures:
1) Don't use too many sheet of paper or push them too far into the printer. There is a line in the paper tray which shows you where to position the paper stack. Don't try to push it in a half inch further.
2) Update the printer firmware. Note that the update process on the printer continues long after the Windows-based firmware update application seems to indicate that the update is complete.
I had the most problems with the fax setup. I have COMCAST VOIP phone service, and my previous HP all-in-one worked fine with it. But with the 8500 I immediately ran into a situation where my phone line was always made busy by the 8500. The solution is to only use the 10 foot round cross section phone cables of the type included with the 8500, and to connect the cables as follows:
1) Connect a cable from the VOIP cable modem to the 1-Line connector on the 8500, and
2) Connect a cable from the 2-ext cable to your telephone.
Also it may help to set the 8500's fax speed to the slowest setting (9600 baud), using its touchscreen or web server.
The installation of the 2 print heads and 4 ink cartridges is not difficult, but again takes time and should be done very carefully and in good lighting conditions. Make sure these items are fully seated before continuing.
If you allow enough time for the installation, plan carefully, and read the directions first, I hope you will enjoy this printer as much as I am. It certainly has many excellent features that my previous OfficeJet G85 lacked."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:July 13, 2010

Review Change from 1 to 5 Stars !!

Model Number: CB023A
"Please Ignore my previous 1 Star view dated July 10, 2010 by Curly15. I was having a bad day because my printer wouldn’t work and I had a deadline to meet. First, I called HP Support and didn’t get the help I needed so I put a 1 star review on Costco. The next day, I emailed HP about the problem I was having with the paper jam error message. The HP Representative called me and he was able to solve the problem! So, my Sincere Apologies for giving a 1 star review before emailing HP. If you need to contact HP, I recommend doing it by email first rather than by phone. Let HP evaluate your problem by email. HP will either email you a solution or HP will call you. HP has great support and I am changing my review to 5 Stars!"
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:February 17, 2010

Great prtinter

Pros: easy set up, great wireless
Cons: none yet
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless
"This is a great printer for the price. I originally chose this printer for the cost per page and the wireless function. My wireless network is set up on an older PC running XP. During the install the setup encountered a problem. The setup went out and found a solution, downloaded it and continued the install. It added just a few minutes, but really worked. Next I installed the printer to my Mac, and it runs great."
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, Washington
Date:January 30, 2010

A MUST BUY

Pros: best all around printer for the price
Cons: you're missing out if you don't buy this hp
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500
"My family has owned the Officejet Pro 8500 for a couple of months, purchased on sale at our local Costco.
Before we bought it, I checked a trusted 'consumer' review source to which we subscribe and another trusted online source. Both rated this machine as outstanding which is what we have found, too.
The printer was a snap to setup as a wireless device, also easy to install on our 4 wireless computers.
While we do not use the fax function, the output is faster than you eyes can believe, as fast as my Brother laser printer. Make note that the ink lasts longer, too. The black is rich and deep, just perfect.
Take note this is also a duplex printer, so you can print on both sides of a sheet, making costs and organization even better."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Guerneville, CA
Date:December 27, 2009

Everything worked fine for me.

Model Number: A909g
"Considering all the bad reviews on this product, HP may currently have poor quality control. All I can say is that all the functions work fine for me. I like the large XL cartridge size. Have used all the functions and none have failed to please. Works seamlessly on our network."
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:November 9, 2009

Officejet Pro 8500

Pros: great price easy set up great color prints, great delivery time about 3 days.
Cons: slightly large but ok.
Model Number: 8500
"I ordered this printer about a week ago and had it set up in about 1 1/2 hours, I was a little skeptical at first because of the mixed reviews. This is a good product and I recommend that you have someone with a little experience help you get it set up. I am running windows XP on my main computer, also XP on another desktop computer and Vista on my laptop. I have them all hooked up to my network and all PC's prints great wirelessly on this printer. The fax and scanner also works Great!!! I have no regrets about buying this product."
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:October 26, 2009

Outstanding value

Pros: easy to set up, solution center is easy to work with
"I purchased this printer when it went on sale. Setup was easy and installing all the drivers and applications went smoothly the first time I tried them. I had no problem setting up and connecting the wireless to my Dlink router which is downstairs about 70 feet away from the printer.
I also updated one of my other PCs downstairs to Windows 7 and that PC found the printer on my network automatically.
Yes, it is big. Yes, it makes noise but that is because it prints very fast.
Just used the scanning for the first time and it was easy and the quality of the scanned documents was excellent.
I've had none of the problems that others have mentioned in their reviews."
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn NY
Date:October 19, 2009

Good wireless multifunction

Pros: easy set up
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500
"I wanted a wireless multifunction chiefly because I wanted to be able to scan documents to several computers. I also wanted to be able to print from any computer without leaving a machine on to drive the printer. Lastly, I require a reliable fax machine on a dedicated line. The HP 8500 does all of these things well, it was easy to set up (XP Home) and it is intuitive to use. No problems so far, and no complaints - on the contrary I'm pleased with the purchase!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Bernardino, CA
Date:October 18, 2009

Best investment

Pros: wireless printing energy efficient touch screen, print double sided automatically
Cons: slightly bulky no handle to open the copier lid
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro Wirless A909g
"I've had HP Officejet T45 for 10 years. It was time to replace. There was nothing wrong with it, but it was time to buy a more efficient printer, ie HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless. Set up was easy. You don't need a wireless router for this printer and your desktop/laptop to communicate. The printer was able to connect to my laptop. It alerted you to download the printer software into my laptop. From there, it was a cinch. I was able to print wirelessly, fax a document, printed double sided automatically (no manual process here), scan a picture, make copies quickly (not slow here). It was worth the investment."
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:October 18, 2009

VERY good quality printer

"The assembly of the unit was a snap and the wireless installation was simple. It took about 40 minutes to get the machine working but most of that time was because the machine was performing self tests during the initial setup. High quality prints every time."
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Mexico
Date:October 15, 2009

Best Printer Purchase

Pros: works as advertised, frugal ink consumption
Cons: none yet
"Best Printer Purchase. Has operated flawlessly. Hardwired to an iMac. Also use an Acer netbook via a D-Link router to print wirelessly to the HP 8500. All three units acquired at Costco. Printer is frugal on ink usage as advertised. Extremely satisified with purchase."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:September 12, 2009

Great Printer

Pros: easy set up - all functions are easy to use., prints pretty fast and is pretty quiet.
Cons: it would be nice if it could hold more paper, i'd like another tray to hold photo paper
Model Number: HP Officejet PRO 8500
"Used HP printers for years. I was dissappointed that my HP photosmart 1315 does not have updated drivers to work with Vista (maybe it will work with Windows 7).
I had been wanting to get an all in one Officejet type printer that I could copy, scan, fax and print from and be able to do photo quality printing with. I researched the Officejet Pro 8500 and found that it offers the best overall deal for me. It is more efficient, you can get more pages printed with the ink, and the ink cartridges are about same cost in COSTCO.
It was easy to setup and also connect 2 computers to it. I have it connected by USB and ethernet on my main computer. I was told for printing large files, USB would offer faster data transfer than wireless.
Scan, copy and fax are so easy to use. I like the fact that you can scan or copy multiple pages easily. Also, I like that you can scan and fax into a folder on your computer and also directly have it attach to your email. Nicely done. This printer should last me another 8 years."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:August 25, 2009

Great Buy!

"Best Printer I've ever had! So easy to install...within a couple hours I had it all put together and completely set up! Love the touch feature! Plus it was the same price in the store as online but online I got free paper, free mking package, and i bought extra toner and got another $10 off...so I was very happy!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Wa
Date:August 18, 2009

Does all I need

Pros: i would highly recomend this product for the home
Cons: more paper storage capacity.
Model Number: HP Pro 8500
"This has been a great pruchase. Set up was a piece of cake. It's great to have a wireless printer I can use for my laptop as well. Bought the printer for home office use primary interest was the duplex mode and have had no problems. It would be great if it was faster in duplex but for the price paid can't complain. This replaced a previous HP printer and I look foward to the same reliability."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westport, Washington
Date:August 8, 2009

Great All-in-One

Pros: delivered within 4 days of ordering online, lcd display panel is great
Cons: none
Model Number: HP OfficeJet Pro 8500
"Set up was a breeze, no problems at all (and I'm a bit challenged normally with such things) - the directions were very clear.
Have had it under a week and tried the faxing, printing and copyng features which worked great. I also wirelessly saved photo images from an XD card (it accepts several sizes/capacities on the unit itself) to my computer.
I highly recommend this product."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, cA
Date:May 15, 2009
Pros: easy set up, works as advertised, smaller size than other officejets, quiet, self cleaning heads
Cons: 4 ink system instead of 2, when cleaning mode is on printer is down for 5-10, additional paper try is $80 option, touch screen is small
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8500
"Replacement for my 7400 wireless OfficeJet. The Pro 8500 is working flawlessly as advertised copy, fax, scanner, and printing is excellent. The new ink seems to dry faster and the printer cleans its own printer heads. Set up was less than 10 minutes and wireless connection to 4 computers both XP and Vista was a snap. Highly recommended..."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntley IL
Date:May 14, 2009

A Great Deal

Model Number: HP 8500
"Purchased this printer 12 May 2009 @ Costco in Lake in the Hills IL. Wireless network installed flawlessly, a breeze. Auto Print head alignment took about 20 min but otherwise total time to set up and install was maybe an hour, time included to read the docs. Output is great and all operations can be done from AIO printer of HP's control panel."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2010

Easy set up and fun to use

Model Number: a909g
"PROS. Unlike some of the other reviewers of this product, I had an easy time setting up this printer on both a USB (PC/windows XP) and wireless (MacOS 10.4) connection. It did take a couple of hours from start to finish, but I've been printing and making copies ever since. I love the two sided printing and copying features. So handy. And, I was able to print a 3x5 photo in seconds!
CONS. Noisy, clicking sounds. When powering up it takes a long time to get ready and it cleans the printheads each time."
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless Color Inkjet Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Moyock, NC
Date:April 7, 2010

a Plug for COSTCO Concierge service

Pros: very fast printing, high quality printing, fast scanning, costco concierge service
Cons: lousy instructions
Model Number: Office Jet Pro 8500
"I was apprehensive about buying another HP product after the premature death of a rather expensive 5 in 1 unit and HP's lousy (Over Seas) customer service. I read consumers report and after reading good things bought the 8500 from Costco (I would only buy it from Costco as they are very good about electronic returns and warrantee extensions) After going through the set up (very poor HP directions) my printer would scan but not print, when I would try too print the computer would tell me the printer was off line. I reinstalled the software and went through the set up 6 times I finally called Costco’s Concierge service. I got an English speaking person and was up in running in less then 10 minutes and it cost me nothing. I was so impressed I cannot even tell you Thank you COCSTCO PS: I only gave it 4 stars because I have had it a short while."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>