Customer Reviews for Belkin N+ Wireless Router

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Belkin N+ Wireless Router

USB Storage Port Draft 802.11n 2.0 Gigabit Ethernet Ports
Average Customer Rating:
2.625 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
(out of 88 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
43
35 of 88(40%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Review 1 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Grover Beach, CA.
Date:July 28, 2010

Software is a disaster!

Pros: very fast compared to a g router doubles speed., windows can configure it don't need the software.
Cons: junk software don't install it you are warned., junk applications included worthless garbage.
Model Number: Belkin N+
"Although you will experience improved speed from this router, the biggest mistake is loading the Belkin software disk into your computer.
Use Windows configuration instead, it's built into your existing operating system. Use the configuration already supplied with your wireless hardware.
DO NOT install the Belkin software, it will load junk programs into your computer such as: "Daily DJ", "Print and share center." You DO NOT want this garbage in your system, and by loading the software disk, you have no option but to install it.
And God help you if you have installed it, because it won't un-install unless you shut down the processes manually first, using Windows Task Manager controls.
Also, Belkin makes no mention that you will need to shut off your antivirus, add exceptions to your firewall, update the firmware, etc....before it will function.
I can see why people either loved this or hated it. I wound not expect much more than internet usage, all the other applications that come with it are goofy, and belong in the trash.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 30, 2009

Don't Buy This

"I am an average tech savvy consumer. I have a microsoft MN700 wireless G router right now that is working great. I wanted the N router to be able to stream Netflix faster. This router is worthless. I spent nearly three hours trying to get this to work. The installation CD was great and it worked fine. But after the initial set up finished, within no time the "orange blinking lights of death" came on. The router was saying that there is a "problem" with the modem and cannot connect to interent. The modem is working fine as I can connect directly from it. I tried every trick I new to get this work. Updated the firmware, and all other things imaginable. I did factory default resets on the router and started again. Again to have the smae thing happen. the orange blinking lights would come on at random points. So it was not one particular thing that I was doing wrong that prompted this thing to fail.
In short, do yourself a favor and don''t buy this."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2011

Terrible Product. Costco, please replace!

Pros: wired performance is not bad
Cons: wireless performance is all bad, menus are a mess features are buried, lousy manufacturer ongoing support..., ...no firmware updates in over a year
"I bought this about a year ago, and have regretted it since the start of month three. I have a mix of Apple and Windows machines in my house, and they all have intermittent problems connecting via wireless, although never at the same time. A reboot of the router is at least a weekly occurrence. From what I've been reading of these other reviews, I may be one of the lucky ones, as some folks seem to have to reboot on a daily basis. Belkin could have done us a favor and put a reset switch on the front panel.
I can't believe Costco is still carrying this product. They're usually pretty good about rotating their products (especially the ones that people seem to like), but this one has been their sole offering for at least a year. Please find another manufacturer. I now find myself questioning CNet's rating system, since this came highly recommended from them as well.
I'd give this product a zero star rating, if i could, but it does work when you're using a wired connection, so there's that."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:May 9, 2011

Constantly needed to be reset & connection issues

"I purchased this router to replace my Linksys WRT54G Router as my devices all have N WiFi capability.
I owned this for about a year and experienced the following problems:
- Sent router in twice to belkin due to WiFi radio being broken (couldn't get WiFi signal to room 30 feet from router)
- Moved to new house; router couldn't consistently send internet signal to main level of house or basement (for basement used Netgear N Range Max Extender)
- Many issues with iPhone 3GS/4/iPad connectivity. After I called Belkin for tech support; it worked on the phone; but internet on wifi was worse]
This product started off good; but when it began to have issues; they happened fast and connectivity was a hassle. I have since bought a Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router. I'll post a review once I have used this for some time.
But I will say; if you want to try this, Costco was amazing at working with me on the return and getting me into the Netgear router.
Thanks Costco"
Review 5 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:October 22, 2009

A great product at a competetive price

Pros: good gui on html, easy quick seup, goodd ex explanation of different security options, good tech support
Cons: can't disconnect intruders
Model Number: N+ ver 2110
"I read many negative reviews of all the N wireless routers out there and decided on this one based on Costco's good return policy and competitive price. The modem took me about 30 minutes to set up, and that was doing it manually since I wanted to understand what I was doing rather than let the install program do if for me. It was up and running with little to no problems.
Some reviewers state that this modem is not compatible with Comcast, but I only had one problem, which was fixed by the Belkin tech support rep. Seems that anytime you make a change to the router settings, you must power off the modem. This is not stated in the instructions but nonetheless must be done. After power off for 30 seconds, all comes up and works like a charm. Haven't checked long distances in my condo, but through C-Net learned that this modem beats most others in distance and signal strength. There are many many networks in this building, but I have just as good a wireless speed and connection as a wired, so I'm happy.
I would definitely recommend this router and will come back and modify my review if it fails to perform over time.
I would recommend this router because most N routers <$100 are flawed in one respect or another--the Belkin N+ seems less flawed than most."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:February 12, 2010

Great Performer, once configured properly

Pros: best throughput of any router at this price point.
Cons: tech support couldn't get it to work. techie, forums held the answers
Model Number: Belkin n+
"I have had this router setup for 4 months. Went through some tough times getting it to stay connected to internet(Comcast). I've read 30+ reviews of this router, most are either 5star or 1star. That is a pretty accurate assessment. I spent too much time with tech support(no help, they didn't have a clue) and researching tech forums(found my answers here) than a person should. In the end it paid off!
Here is how I got the most out of mine. First, I went to Belkin's web site and updated the firmware. This is a must!
Set wireless security to WPA2 & AES encryption. Set the Bandwidth to Dual(20/40Mhz). These two settings brought my connection speed from 54Mbps to 300Mbps!
Placement of the router itself...Makes a big difference. Higher up and unobstructed is best. Even rotating it a 1/4 turn or raising it 6" can improve your signal. Try it a few different ways. I am getting 4 or 5 bars and full speed throughout a 4000+sqft home and as far away as 100' from the router, through many walls.
So in the end, it took a bit of work to get it setup, but once you do it is worth it!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rochester, Michigan
Date:March 19, 2011

Lacks Parental Control and other features

Model Number: Belkin Play N600 HD - F7D8301
"Purchased this and set it up pretty easy. Speeds were good and all. However it totally lacks ability to set up proper parental controls a must have feature for me with kids in the home. This router will not let you set up parental controls:
1. Limit access based on time of day to certain websites (eg Facebook when kids are supposed to do homework) and
2. Deny access to certain websites 24 x 7
you can either restrict access by time or deny full access cannot do a combination.
What a joke. They totally overlooked the most basic function.
Secondly this router will not allow you to assign static IP addresses to any of your devices. Tech support said you need to do it at the device. Again what a joke. So when the IP addresses get renewed or refreshed I will the devices with the static IP addresses may loose connectivity.
Did not try the NAS storage via the usb port.
So if parental controls and assigning static IP addresses are something you need this is not the router for you.
So I am going to return this router. Thank goodness I bought it at Costco.
"
Review 8 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle,WA
Date:December 11, 2009

Very fast WiFi Router

Pros: very fast router, supports "n" and "g" protocols, longer range than the "g" routers
Cons: the built-in usb port cannot be used for printers, setup can be tricky
"My family has 4 different computers and laptops with WiFi cards so it was very important that I find a good Wireless router to have everything connected to the Internet. Since most of our newer laptops have the WiFi "n" protocol, I wanted to get a Wireless Router that supported the "n" protocol as well (for maximum efficiency and speed). As such, I decided to try the Belkin N+ Wireless Router. Although I read all the negative reviews here and on other online sites, this router was voted best buy by CNet so I decided to try it (and with Costco's generous return policy, I didn't have anything to lose).
It turns out that this router worked great for all my computers. Both the "g" and "n" protocol WiFi adapter PCs that I have worked just fine. The only issue I had was with my new Dell 11z laptop that was recently upgraded to Windows 7. I had problems of intermittent disconnecting from the Internet, but I tracked the problem down to an outdated driver for the WiFi Card. Since correcting this problem, my Dell laptop has been working flawlessly with my router.
So, I do recommend trying out this router if you want something that supports the "n" protocol."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:December 14, 2010

Random Disconnects

Pros: nice when n speeds work
Cons: loses connections
Model Number: F5D8235-4 V2010
"Although I've had this router for over a year, I had to remove it from my network after several months. My D-Link wireless G Print Server kept disconnecting from it, as well my wireless N Sony Blu-Ray while streaming movies. I plugged in my old Netgear G router and all the problems solved. I tried once more with this router today and same issues, so taking it back."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:March 27, 2011

Belkin routers are not good

"I have purchased a Belkin router before and it worked ok. I bought this router about 8 months ago and it consistently drops the signal, and cannot handle complex passwords for the router login (to change the SSID and encryption).
I have to disconnect and reconnect to the router on my laptop which gets annoying. My ipad 2 can't hold a connection for more than an hour without being disconnected.
I though it might be a firmware issue so I downloaded the latest firmware and I got an error while the router tried to update.
I am glad I bought this at Costco, because it is going back. Do not bother with Belkin products, because you will be disappointed later on."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2010

N stands for nightmare

"This router drops connections regularly throughout the day. The wireless connection is very slow and undependable. If you depend on the internet to do your work this product will cause you a ton of grief! The tech support speaks broken English at best and did not solve any of our problems. This router is going back to the store!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland Oregon
Date:November 8, 2009

YES ! ! , this one works !

Model Number: N + Wireless Router
"I returned my D-Link to the Clackamas Costco that I had purchased on line. You can see my review on that product here.
This was the only one they had at that store so I picked it up.
The return on the first D-Link was super easy and they even refunded the shipping cost.
I looked at the little pictures, and plugged this in. I DID NOT INCERT THE CD, and boom!
INTERNET! YES! IT WORKED WITH NO SET UP ON THE DISK OR ANY OTHER CONFIURATION! ! ! !
After wasting 5 hours on the D-Link, this was a total surprise!
I inserted the CD to set up the security, it was super easy.
I am really surprised and pleased.
My wife is upstairs with the Toughbook doing her email and I'm in the basement with the wired computer.
The signal up stairs is five bars.
* * * * *
Five stars on this one.
RR
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2010

Router freezes daily

Cons: consistenly locks up.
"I'm not sure why cnet gives this thing a good rating. It works well when it works. However, when browsing it seems to lock up once or twice daily. I have to then unplug / replug the power to the router to solve the issue immediately. It seems to resolve itself if you want to wait 15-30 minutes. This is a huge headache as my router is down stairs. My old linksys router never had to be repowered. I will be returning this. What a let down. I should have listened to the other bad reviews."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2010

Tried 2 and had different problems with each

Pros: good value (if it worked)
Cons: poor configuration interface, unstable
Model Number: Belkin N+ Wireless Router F5D-8235-4 v2
"This one looked like a good value and I was looking forward to using it. The initial out of the box setup seemed to go fine, but things quickly went downhill when I tried to change settings. I first changed only the admin password and the router became unresponsive, so I reverted back to default settings & tried again. This time other issues came up and although it first saw my cable modem, it soon lost connection even after I powered both devices off and then on again. It seemed stable for a few minutes but soon began losing connections to the other devices on my network (Windows 7, Windows XP, iPhones, etc). Those are too many issues to have so I exchanged it to try another.
The next one seemed to work even after I customized the settings. After ~20 minutes it it lost connection to the internet (WAN) again so I started configuring it from scratch again. It kept the config but soon became unresponsive yet again.
In all I probably configured it a dozen or more times using various levels of customization (from default settings through highly customized config including elevated security and MAC filtering and even changing the IP address and DHCP settings). At no point did it remain stable more than 30 minutes. I checked Belkin's support website to see if there was a newer firmware version (there wasn't).
I'm an IT professional and am very comfortable configuring these devices but I feel the configuration interface is poor and will confuse many people.
I gave up and went back to my D-Link wireless router that's been running well for ~ 1 year."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 8, 2010

SLOW!

"I have been using it for about 3 months. Using my router, when I access a website, the amount of time to load a page is about 3 seconds. Using this router, the same page takes about 20 seconds. This poor performance is consistent regardless if I am wireless or using a ethernet cable.
I am a computer geek by profession and hence knows what I am doing.
I would said skip this product. Extremely disappointed."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:October 28, 2010

Stay away from Belkin Products

Cons: cumbersome setup, spotty performance, ip address errors
Model Number: F7D4302
"I purchased the Belkin Play Wireless Router Model F7D4302. My experience was so bad I thought I would warn others. I'm in the computer business (worked for HP for 10 years and now at another computer company) so I know a little about this stuff. Setup was cumbersome and took quite a while. You would expect this process to be turnkey. Since day 1, I've had a host of problems, including losing connection, IP address conflicts with other computers on the same router, and average performance at best. I purchased a Cisco Linksys E2000 and it took me about 90% less time to set up than a Belkin and was a very turnkey process. I can't say I'll ever buy a Belkin product again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:selma, ca
Date:February 4, 2011

worst purchase ever

Pros: nice lights
Cons: everything else
Model Number: belkin n+ wireless router
"had this router for over a year. it constantly needed a reboot, 5-6 times a day. we thought it was our carrier. they checked out our line over and over again. i finally had enough. i looked on costcos site and couldn't believe thy were still selling this unit and all the bad reviews. deceided to take it back. no problem with costco. while i was there i saw the belkin n600 hd. i was reluctant to try another belkin router but deceided to give it a try. WHAT A DIFFERENCE. i have had it up and running now for about three months and has not dropped once. i had an initial setup concern and belkin support was very good. i am a belkin fan again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Azusa, CA
Date:January 20, 2010

Belkin N+ Wireless Router

Pros: works as advertised lots of display lights, better range than my g router
Cons: only sits vertically., tiny uniluminated lettering on faceplate.
Model Number: Belkin N+ router
"Although I have had this router only a couple of days, I'm very glad I got it. Setup was fairly easy, but I had to try a few times before success due to some confusion entering information. It still took less than an hour to get the amber blinking symbols to go blue. It was relatively easy to network my two Windows PC's, my new iMac, a network printer, and my iPod. I also networked a USB drive. My only problem was that Microsoft Vista on my laptop really doesn't like to network, at least the way it's documented. Security was well explained, and the padlock lights up on the front of the unit when it is password protected."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:November 17, 2009

Wirless N?

Pros: simple installation
Cons: wireless performance lacking, bad technical support
Model Number: Belkin N+
"I bought the Belkin N+ to replace the Dlink router that went bad. The install process went without a problem, in fact it was pretty simple but I noticed the lack of speed in the wireless. It was running at 5mbs up to 50 but keeps dropping down to 5. My Dlink gave me a constant 130mbs. I spent an hour with their customer service only to have them tell me to keep my wireless setting a b and g. I couldn't believe my ears. So they want me to buy an N router to run on G. Needless to say Belkin technical support was of no help. I guess I will be taking this back and ordering one of the dlink routers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:November 27, 2009

Belkin N+ = No Internet

Pros: fancy indicator lights
Cons: wiz install keeps detecting ppoe while its cable!, cumbersome to configure, useless logs
Model Number: F5D8235-4
"I do this for living, so it should be a no brainer right? Wrong...., I have a complex setup, still I never had to return a device back due to lack of complience.
This Belkin router is premtive, it sees the Motrola Cable Modem, give me a status link, but it cant NAT the address that the Motorola Modem is handing it. So in effect it doesnt work. 2 hours into this, with no success, andother 2 hours to put everything back they way it was before.
Its going back to the store, I guess I will stick with Linksys/Cisco and save the time."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>