Customer Reviews for Belkin N+ Wireless Router

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Belkin N+ Wireless Router

USB Storage Port Draft 802.11n 2.0 Gigabit Ethernet Ports
Average Customer Rating:
2.625 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
(out of 88 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
43
35 of 88(40%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Review 41 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Springfiled, MA
Date:June 30, 2009

Good value.

"Please see my review of this product, which I mistakenly placed on the listing for the Belkin N wireless router. It should have been placed here. The two products are very similar. The biggest difference is that the Ethernet ports on the N+ are 10/100/1000 while the ports on the N are limited to 10/100."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:March 18, 2010

Total Disappointment

"I have set up other brands of routers in the past without issue. However, this model provided nothing but problems. I contacted customer support, spoke with three different representatives over the course of 3 hours and never got the item working properly. I was finally told that it was a problem with the modem, not the router. I just bought a Linksys and had my network up in 15 minutes. I would definitely avoid the Belkin. It's going back to the store"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Eastern Washington State
Date:March 30, 2010

It's going back.

Pros: works right out of the box without setting it up., intuitive software interface, guest zone
Cons: small coverage, network drive feature flakey, doesn't like a partitioned network drive
"I guess I should've paid a little more attention to the reviews here. This router seems to not like an external HD that is partitioned. So, I reverted the drive back to its original state, power-cycled it, and the router sees it again. Now that I'm copying files over to it, I'm noticing that the connection light on the router isn't solid all the time. To confirm, the file transfers have been interrupted many times since I started. Furthermore, I am unable to perform a system backup to the drive, for the same reason. Too bad because the drive actually seems like it wants to work.
Another thing. This router has very poor coverage. I had my previous "Pre-N" Belkin router in the basement in the utility room behind a closed door. It covered the whole house. This router, I had to bring to the main floor because it wasn't even covering that far, let alone to the bedroom on the third floor. I would have just kept the old router even though I was having to reset it every few days due to fading throughput but I wanted my 2Tb drive connected to the network so both laptops could share it. At least it had good coverage.
This piece of junk is going to cause me to go to netgear I think. Belkin's product quality has not improved in the four years since I bought the router I returned."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Outdoor photo guy on the Olympic Peninsula
Date:May 14, 2010

OK for simple stuff. Otherwise avoid.

Pros: fine for simple connections
Cons: not good for complicated connections.
"Our microwave was interfering with our S LinkSys modem which has been functioning fine except for this issue for eight years. So I got this modem because N modems are supposed to work on a different frequency from the Microwave. Was not a problem hooking up the computers and my TIVO. But when it came to trying to connect my Apple Airport and my printer and hard drive, I just could not get them to work. After hours of effort, I gave up and returned the modem to COSTCO. I specifically purchased from COSTCO because of the good return policy."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2011

Terrible Product. Costco, please replace!

Pros: wired performance is not bad
Cons: wireless performance is all bad, menus are a mess features are buried, lousy manufacturer ongoing support..., ...no firmware updates in over a year
"I bought this about a year ago, and have regretted it since the start of month three. I have a mix of Apple and Windows machines in my house, and they all have intermittent problems connecting via wireless, although never at the same time. A reboot of the router is at least a weekly occurrence. From what I've been reading of these other reviews, I may be one of the lucky ones, as some folks seem to have to reboot on a daily basis. Belkin could have done us a favor and put a reset switch on the front panel.
I can't believe Costco is still carrying this product. They're usually pretty good about rotating their products (especially the ones that people seem to like), but this one has been their sole offering for at least a year. Please find another manufacturer. I now find myself questioning CNet's rating system, since this came highly recommended from them as well.
I'd give this product a zero star rating, if i could, but it does work when you're using a wired connection, so there's that."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:February 14, 2011

Shouldn't be sold

Pros: can't think of any
Cons: uh you can't connect?
"I've returned two Windows Phone 7 mobile phones thinking they had connection issues for wi-fi. Then I started having problems with my wife's iPod and now my laptop. Traded out routers and the problems stopped. What a waste of money."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 12, 2009

Good Router and simple to setup

Model Number: Belkin N+ Router
"I was able to set it up in under 10 minutes. The setup wizard was simple and easy to follow. The signal strength is better than my previous router and also better range. The main reason to buy this was the USB port to connect shared external drive and not tried it yet."
Review 48 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver
Date:October 6, 2009

Worked Perfectly

Pros: 15 minute set up
Model Number: N+
"I had it up and running in less than 15 minutes. I had a little trouble with my Dell laptop, but that was due to the Dell control point software, not the router. Connection speeds are excellent, even with three computers connected. Price was great"
Review 49 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Truckee, CA
Date:November 8, 2009

Not with this Belkin+

Pros: easy to set up
Cons: not a great signal at a short range.
Model Number: Belkin N+ Wireless Router
"This was the only wireless router in our Costco so I thought it might be worth trying. It was easy to set up - 5 stars there. It just doesn't have the same level of signal as my old -OLD Linksys. I have more bars but info just doesn't come through as fast - and, videos like U-Tube don't make it without breaking up. I am taking this one back and I will get either a Linksys again or try Netgear."
Review 50 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern Cali, CA
Date:November 9, 2009

Frequent disconnection, high latency in WoW

Cons: disconnect for no reason, unable to play online game, terrible tech support
"The setup was easy. However my PCs frequently drop connections to the router for no reason. Also when I play World of Warcraft I got extremly high latency and lagging so bad that the game could not be played at all. I called Belkin tech support and they kicked the problem around and blamed my PCs and Blizzard (world of warcraft maker) for the problem, despite I clearly told them those problems only occur after I switched to the Belkin router."
Review 51 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Skokie, IL
Date:December 14, 2009

Unstable wireless signal

Pros: easy to install, fast ~130mbps
Cons: unstable wireless signal
"I bought it regardless bad review since I am good at networking setup. Actually, it is very easy to install for me. Installation is straightforward. You can follow the instruction. That's it. I mainly bought this for wireless N. However, it lost wireless signal sporadically and very unstable. I do not recommend this one. Try others."
Review 52 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2010

Very good router

Pros: worked right off the bat!!
"The router connected to the internet right out of the box by just plugging it in. I use an AT&T internet modem and it was no problem at all. The wireless set up took a little while b/c I was trying different encryptions but it is really basic if you follow the manual for wireless setup. In all it probably took a half an hour after messing around with different settings. Single strength isn't the best from about 50ft away through multiple walls but it's fine for my purposes (I only have a wireless G card which is probably hindering performance).
I was skeptical based on some of the review but would definitely recommend it !!"
Review 53 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:September 15, 2009

Works great

Pros: easy to set up, good range, good price
Cons: none
Model Number: Belkin N+ Wireless Router
"I had reservations about buying this router based on the reviews, but I figured I'd give it a try because of Costco's excellent return policy. I'm glad I did -- I haven't encountered any of the problems noted by other reviewers. This router works great, easy to set up (took 10 minutes at most) and haven't gotten dropped once. And the additional ethernet ports on this are a real plus as well."
Review 54 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cailif
Date:August 15, 2009

not able to connect to Brother MFC-6490CW Printer

Model Number: Belkin N+ Wireless Router
"Router installation was easy except Brother MFC-6490CW Printer was not able to succesfully communicate with router. Hard drive connected to USB worked fine across the network, infact USB hard drive was the only reason I wanted this Belkin router. Now back to the probelem, printer saw belkin router and other computers may be one or two times. After that never was able to communicate with printer, neither were laptops able to communicate with printer. Internet access and hard drive access was there all the time. Called tech support they told me to change wireless channel to 11, worked with the printer for few minutes. Called back tech support, they could not do anything else. Got two other router DLINK and Netgear, was setup in less than 5 minutes. No probelms with printer or internet access."
Review 55 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:IND
Date:February 15, 2010

works great

Pros: can do alot more with this router at 1 time
Cons: didnt tell you to hard rest you modem
"Works great just had to reset my modem to get it to work orange light keep coming on till i did a hard rest(unplug from wall)stream netflix on 2 tvs also have laptop on and playing a game on my 360 no lag.also you have to hit(push and hold) button on front to get your wireless printer to work or it wont pick it up. Have not used the usb share yet"
Review 56 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Barstow, CA
Date:June 12, 2010

Good Router

Pros: good router with useful extras, difficulties setting up.
Cons: almost returned until tech support found solution
Model Number: F7D4302 v1.
"Router model F7D4302 v1. This router is rather difficult to set up. The main difficulty was the ISP supplied DSL modem also acting as a router. The Support Technicians worked with me several hours until the solution was found. The router is much faster than the 54GS I was using. The network printer, hard drive, etc. work well. Tech Support answered several questions when I called. Good router once you get it set up."
Review 57 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:December 15, 2009

Very Satisfied

Pros: price/performance and set up
Cons: it came with wireless disabled
Model Number: F5D8235-4
"I had read some bad reviews on this product, but the price/return policy made me give it a try. I connected it to my computer, there was a glitch (every network has them), I called Belkin technical support, there was no wait, it was a simple fix, he helped me set up my other computer and IT WORKS GREAT! I've struggled setting up every home network I've attempted, this was by far the easiest."
Review 58 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009

could not make disk to share

Pros: fast setup: connected to internet - no issues
Cons: usb disk sharing does not work well
Model Number: Belkin N+ Wireless Router
"Microsoft backup center for Vista Premium does not work with network drives. The USB connected disk was not visible to wireless laptops. Did not notice any speed improvement over G network."
Review 59 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palatine, IL
Date:February 14, 2010

Great Buy

"All you need to know that it is SUPER EASY to SET UP with your wi-fi conection."
Review 60 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2010

not really good

"N plus technology is much faster and has better range than G but this router from Belkin would not work with my voIP phone. i was on the phone with Belkin tech support multiple times and they could not get it working and finally blamed it on the phone. but guess what? the phone worked fine on my netgear super G router. the only change was the Belkin router. so now i am switching to a Linksys (Cisco consumer grade) wi fi router and we will see. since Cisco is in the voIP business, the Linksys SHOULD work fine."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>