Customer Reviews for Belkin N+ Wireless Router

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Belkin N+ Wireless Router

USB Storage Port Draft 802.11n 2.0 Gigabit Ethernet Ports
Average Customer Rating:
2.625 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
(out of 88 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
43
35 of 88(40%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Review 41 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cailif
Date:August 15, 2009

not able to connect to Brother MFC-6490CW Printer

Model Number: Belkin N+ Wireless Router
"Router installation was easy except Brother MFC-6490CW Printer was not able to succesfully communicate with router. Hard drive connected to USB worked fine across the network, infact USB hard drive was the only reason I wanted this Belkin router. Now back to the probelem, printer saw belkin router and other computers may be one or two times. After that never was able to communicate with printer, neither were laptops able to communicate with printer. Internet access and hard drive access was there all the time. Called tech support they told me to change wireless channel to 11, worked with the printer for few minutes. Called back tech support, they could not do anything else. Got two other router DLINK and Netgear, was setup in less than 5 minutes. No probelms with printer or internet access."
Review 42 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fairfield California
Date:July 30, 2009

Has only a 20 ft range! And its SLOW!

Model Number: Belkin N+ Wireless Router
"It's slow, it crashes, its range gets shaky at a whole 20ft. I can connect to the internet but only slowly even using a lan cable its slow. Forget about hooking up to that usb hard drive thats a lie. I had a belkin G for years now zero problems. I wanted faster and more range. Got very slow with no range. A little ugly but if it worked as well as the cnet review who would care. Its going back to costco in the morning hopefully just a bad one."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Westford, MA
Date:July 13, 2009

Not compatible with Comcast modems

"This router is incompatible with the Comcast/Cisco Docsis 3.0 cable modem. The only way to get it to connect to the modem is by power cycling the modem, rebooting or power cycling the router does nothing.
The router lacks DNS forwarding, a standard feature on all other routers that I've used.
The DHCP reservation system is cruder than on other routers. It lacks the ability to edit the IP address of a reservation. The only way to reserve a specific IP address is to type or paste the MAC address into a new reservation and then to put in the IP address before committing the reservation. The automatic reservation button can only reserve the address that was assigned by the DHCP server."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:So. Calif
Date:June 29, 2010

Not really worth it

Pros: costco return policy
Cons: drops often
Model Number: Belkin N+
"Pretty alone does not cut it. It's specs look impressive, but it drops a lot more in one day than my previous Netgear does in a month. The wireless speed and signal strength was no better than any of my three other older routers.
This thing is going back!
How come the Costco buyers don't go back to the bigger, better names, like Linksys, Netgear, or DLink?"
Review 45 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:March 21, 2010

USB for network storage a gizmo only feature

Pros: ok wireless, nice lights
Cons: relatively short range, usb for storage does not work
Model Number: Belkin N+
"Over all works well for Wireless Just don't even try to use the storage feature. I could not copy more than two files. Using Win7 backup on it's practically a joke, the router crashes after 10 minutes of data transfer. useless!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2010

not really good

"N plus technology is much faster and has better range than G but this router from Belkin would not work with my voIP phone. i was on the phone with Belkin tech support multiple times and they could not get it working and finally blamed it on the phone. but guess what? the phone worked fine on my netgear super G router. the only change was the Belkin router. so now i am switching to a Linksys (Cisco consumer grade) wi fi router and we will see. since Cisco is in the voIP business, the Linksys SHOULD work fine."
Review 47 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Skokie, IL
Date:December 14, 2009

Unstable wireless signal

Pros: easy to install, fast ~130mbps
Cons: unstable wireless signal
"I bought it regardless bad review since I am good at networking setup. Actually, it is very easy to install for me. Installation is straightforward. You can follow the instruction. That's it. I mainly bought this for wireless N. However, it lost wireless signal sporadically and very unstable. I do not recommend this one. Try others."
Review 48 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:November 17, 2009

Wirless N?

Pros: simple installation
Cons: wireless performance lacking, bad technical support
Model Number: Belkin N+
"I bought the Belkin N+ to replace the Dlink router that went bad. The install process went without a problem, in fact it was pretty simple but I noticed the lack of speed in the wireless. It was running at 5mbs up to 50 but keeps dropping down to 5. My Dlink gave me a constant 130mbs. I spent an hour with their customer service only to have them tell me to keep my wireless setting a b and g. I couldn't believe my ears. So they want me to buy an N router to run on G. Needless to say Belkin technical support was of no help. I guess I will be taking this back and ordering one of the dlink routers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Miss.
Date:May 6, 2011

Questionable

"Initially would work properly for 5 minutes and cut off and not return to function until the next time you turned it on."
Review 50 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Grover Beach, CA.
Date:July 28, 2010

Software is a disaster!

Pros: very fast compared to a g router doubles speed., windows can configure it don't need the software.
Cons: junk software don't install it you are warned., junk applications included worthless garbage.
Model Number: Belkin N+
"Although you will experience improved speed from this router, the biggest mistake is loading the Belkin software disk into your computer.
Use Windows configuration instead, it's built into your existing operating system. Use the configuration already supplied with your wireless hardware.
DO NOT install the Belkin software, it will load junk programs into your computer such as: "Daily DJ", "Print and share center." You DO NOT want this garbage in your system, and by loading the software disk, you have no option but to install it.
And God help you if you have installed it, because it won't un-install unless you shut down the processes manually first, using Windows Task Manager controls.
Also, Belkin makes no mention that you will need to shut off your antivirus, add exceptions to your firewall, update the firmware, etc....before it will function.
I can see why people either loved this or hated it. I wound not expect much more than internet usage, all the other applications that come with it are goofy, and belong in the trash.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009

could not make disk to share

Pros: fast setup: connected to internet - no issues
Cons: usb disk sharing does not work well
Model Number: Belkin N+ Wireless Router
"Microsoft backup center for Vista Premium does not work with network drives. The USB connected disk was not visible to wireless laptops. Did not notice any speed improvement over G network."
Review 52 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Truckee, CA
Date:November 8, 2009

Not with this Belkin+

Pros: easy to set up
Cons: not a great signal at a short range.
Model Number: Belkin N+ Wireless Router
"This was the only wireless router in our Costco so I thought it might be worth trying. It was easy to set up - 5 stars there. It just doesn't have the same level of signal as my old -OLD Linksys. I have more bars but info just doesn't come through as fast - and, videos like U-Tube don't make it without breaking up. I am taking this one back and I will get either a Linksys again or try Netgear."
Review 53 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Springfiled, MA
Date:June 30, 2009

Good value.

"Please see my review of this product, which I mistakenly placed on the listing for the Belkin N wireless router. It should have been placed here. The two products are very similar. The biggest difference is that the Ethernet ports on the N+ are 10/100/1000 while the ports on the N are limited to 10/100."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:May 9, 2011

Great buy

Pros: easy set-up
Cons: no usb printer sharing
"Good router. I only wish that the USB supported a printer."
Review 55 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Columbus, MS
Date:May 3, 2011

Good value

"Great product once you get it installed. The install cd did not work with my windows 7 HP computer. I had to spend 2 hours with tech support before I could get it to work."
Review 56 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:April 20, 2011

Belkin N+ router - not bad

"Seems to work pretty well. Setup is not so easy as you would think. I had to call Belkin Support - you guessed it - India - to be walked through setting it up. he wouldn't let me use passwords that struck me as more secure than my phone number. he was in too much of a hurry to let me name my network anything other than Belkin_N+_.
it seems to work well enough that I would reccommend it
"
Review 57 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2010

Only ~3 MB/s via USB 2.0 network storage?

Cons: add a con, only ~3 mb/s via usb 2.0 network storage?
Model Number: Belkin N+ Wireless Router
"I was only able to get around ~3.0 MB/s using the router's USB 2.0 network storage port connected to a 1TB Western Digital external Drive. Both the PC and External Drive support USB 2.0 and have been tested seperate of the router at speeds exceeding 40MB/s; Tech support wasn't able to assist me in improving the speed. Anyone else experiencing the same problem or have better success?"
Review 58 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Barstow, CA
Date:June 12, 2010

Good Router

Pros: good router with useful extras, difficulties setting up.
Cons: almost returned until tech support found solution
Model Number: F7D4302 v1.
"Router model F7D4302 v1. This router is rather difficult to set up. The main difficulty was the ISP supplied DSL modem also acting as a router. The Support Technicians worked with me several hours until the solution was found. The router is much faster than the 54GS I was using. The network printer, hard drive, etc. work well. Tech Support answered several questions when I called. Good router once you get it set up."
Review 59 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 22, 2010

Good but hard to set up

"I had problems with it until I did firmware upgrade. Now works fine but it still slow transferring files to the hard dive atached. Also does not like my Comcast modem very well."
Review 60 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:April 22, 2010

Solid so far.

Pros: very fast internet access, simple to setup
Cons: no connection indicator for each wired connection
Model Number: Belkin N+ Wireless Router
"It was simple to setup and worked out of the box. It flies compared to the router I was replacing (which is why I made the purchase in the first place).
I have not tried the network drive yet and don't copy much between computers. I primarily want fast internet access for two laptops and three desktops.
One thing I did not like is that it comes out of the box set as an unsecured wireless network. My laptop instantly connected without issue, but if you don't know to turn on security you are wide open.
I also would have liked a connection indicator for each of the four wired connection. Every router I have had in the past has had this and it is very useful for troubleshooting."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>