Customer Reviews for Belkin N+ Wireless Router

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Belkin N+ Wireless Router

USB Storage Port Draft 802.11n 2.0 Gigabit Ethernet Ports
Average Customer Rating:
2.625 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
(out of 88 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
43
35 of 88(40%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Review 41 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:February 14, 2011

Shouldn't be sold

Pros: can't think of any
Cons: uh you can't connect?
"I've returned two Windows Phone 7 mobile phones thinking they had connection issues for wi-fi. Then I started having problems with my wife's iPod and now my laptop. Traded out routers and the problems stopped. What a waste of money."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 24, 2011

Wasting time --cannot connect

Model Number: Belkin N+ Wireless Router
"Why should I enter my router company? It did not recognize and I cannot continue installation.
There are much better product.
Do not waste time and energy on this product.
"
Review 43 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rochester, Michigan
Date:March 19, 2011

Lacks Parental Control and other features

Model Number: Belkin Play N600 HD - F7D8301
"Purchased this and set it up pretty easy. Speeds were good and all. However it totally lacks ability to set up proper parental controls a must have feature for me with kids in the home. This router will not let you set up parental controls:
1. Limit access based on time of day to certain websites (eg Facebook when kids are supposed to do homework) and
2. Deny access to certain websites 24 x 7
you can either restrict access by time or deny full access cannot do a combination.
What a joke. They totally overlooked the most basic function.
Secondly this router will not allow you to assign static IP addresses to any of your devices. Tech support said you need to do it at the device. Again what a joke. So when the IP addresses get renewed or refreshed I will the devices with the static IP addresses may loose connectivity.
Did not try the NAS storage via the usb port.
So if parental controls and assigning static IP addresses are something you need this is not the router for you.
So I am going to return this router. Thank goodness I bought it at Costco.
"
Review 44 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Skokie, IL
Date:December 14, 2009

Unstable wireless signal

Pros: easy to install, fast ~130mbps
Cons: unstable wireless signal
"I bought it regardless bad review since I am good at networking setup. Actually, it is very easy to install for me. Installation is straightforward. You can follow the instruction. That's it. I mainly bought this for wireless N. However, it lost wireless signal sporadically and very unstable. I do not recommend this one. Try others."
Review 45 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:November 17, 2009

Wirless N?

Pros: simple installation
Cons: wireless performance lacking, bad technical support
Model Number: Belkin N+
"I bought the Belkin N+ to replace the Dlink router that went bad. The install process went without a problem, in fact it was pretty simple but I noticed the lack of speed in the wireless. It was running at 5mbs up to 50 but keeps dropping down to 5. My Dlink gave me a constant 130mbs. I spent an hour with their customer service only to have them tell me to keep my wireless setting a b and g. I couldn't believe my ears. So they want me to buy an N router to run on G. Needless to say Belkin technical support was of no help. I guess I will be taking this back and ordering one of the dlink routers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2010

not really good

"N plus technology is much faster and has better range than G but this router from Belkin would not work with my voIP phone. i was on the phone with Belkin tech support multiple times and they could not get it working and finally blamed it on the phone. but guess what? the phone worked fine on my netgear super G router. the only change was the Belkin router. so now i am switching to a Linksys (Cisco consumer grade) wi fi router and we will see. since Cisco is in the voIP business, the Linksys SHOULD work fine."
Review 47 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:So. Calif
Date:June 29, 2010

Not really worth it

Pros: costco return policy
Cons: drops often
Model Number: Belkin N+
"Pretty alone does not cut it. It's specs look impressive, but it drops a lot more in one day than my previous Netgear does in a month. The wireless speed and signal strength was no better than any of my three other older routers.
This thing is going back!
How come the Costco buyers don't go back to the bigger, better names, like Linksys, Netgear, or DLink?"
Review 48 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:March 21, 2010

USB for network storage a gizmo only feature

Pros: ok wireless, nice lights
Cons: relatively short range, usb for storage does not work
Model Number: Belkin N+
"Over all works well for Wireless Just don't even try to use the storage feature. I could not copy more than two files. Using Win7 backup on it's practically a joke, the router crashes after 10 minutes of data transfer. useless!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Springfiled, MA
Date:June 30, 2009

Good value.

"Please see my review of this product, which I mistakenly placed on the listing for the Belkin N wireless router. It should have been placed here. The two products are very similar. The biggest difference is that the Ethernet ports on the N+ are 10/100/1000 while the ports on the N are limited to 10/100."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Truckee, CA
Date:November 8, 2009

Not with this Belkin+

Pros: easy to set up
Cons: not a great signal at a short range.
Model Number: Belkin N+ Wireless Router
"This was the only wireless router in our Costco so I thought it might be worth trying. It was easy to set up - 5 stars there. It just doesn't have the same level of signal as my old -OLD Linksys. I have more bars but info just doesn't come through as fast - and, videos like U-Tube don't make it without breaking up. I am taking this one back and I will get either a Linksys again or try Netgear."
Review 51 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009

could not make disk to share

Pros: fast setup: connected to internet - no issues
Cons: usb disk sharing does not work well
Model Number: Belkin N+ Wireless Router
"Microsoft backup center for Vista Premium does not work with network drives. The USB connected disk was not visible to wireless laptops. Did not notice any speed improvement over G network."
Review 52 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Miss.
Date:May 6, 2011

Questionable

"Initially would work properly for 5 minutes and cut off and not return to function until the next time you turned it on."
Review 53 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Grover Beach, CA.
Date:July 28, 2010

Software is a disaster!

Pros: very fast compared to a g router doubles speed., windows can configure it don't need the software.
Cons: junk software don't install it you are warned., junk applications included worthless garbage.
Model Number: Belkin N+
"Although you will experience improved speed from this router, the biggest mistake is loading the Belkin software disk into your computer.
Use Windows configuration instead, it's built into your existing operating system. Use the configuration already supplied with your wireless hardware.
DO NOT install the Belkin software, it will load junk programs into your computer such as: "Daily DJ", "Print and share center." You DO NOT want this garbage in your system, and by loading the software disk, you have no option but to install it.
And God help you if you have installed it, because it won't un-install unless you shut down the processes manually first, using Windows Task Manager controls.
Also, Belkin makes no mention that you will need to shut off your antivirus, add exceptions to your firewall, update the firmware, etc....before it will function.
I can see why people either loved this or hated it. I wound not expect much more than internet usage, all the other applications that come with it are goofy, and belong in the trash.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 12, 2009

Good Router and simple to setup

Model Number: Belkin N+ Router
"I was able to set it up in under 10 minutes. The setup wizard was simple and easy to follow. The signal strength is better than my previous router and also better range. The main reason to buy this was the USB port to connect shared external drive and not tried it yet."
Review 55 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2010

Very good router

Pros: worked right off the bat!!
"The router connected to the internet right out of the box by just plugging it in. I use an AT&T internet modem and it was no problem at all. The wireless set up took a little while b/c I was trying different encryptions but it is really basic if you follow the manual for wireless setup. In all it probably took a half an hour after messing around with different settings. Single strength isn't the best from about 50ft away through multiple walls but it's fine for my purposes (I only have a wireless G card which is probably hindering performance).
I was skeptical based on some of the review but would definitely recommend it !!"
Review 56 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:February 12, 2010

Great Performer, once configured properly

Pros: best throughput of any router at this price point.
Cons: tech support couldn't get it to work. techie, forums held the answers
Model Number: Belkin n+
"I have had this router setup for 4 months. Went through some tough times getting it to stay connected to internet(Comcast). I've read 30+ reviews of this router, most are either 5star or 1star. That is a pretty accurate assessment. I spent too much time with tech support(no help, they didn't have a clue) and researching tech forums(found my answers here) than a person should. In the end it paid off!
Here is how I got the most out of mine. First, I went to Belkin's web site and updated the firmware. This is a must!
Set wireless security to WPA2 & AES encryption. Set the Bandwidth to Dual(20/40Mhz). These two settings brought my connection speed from 54Mbps to 300Mbps!
Placement of the router itself...Makes a big difference. Higher up and unobstructed is best. Even rotating it a 1/4 turn or raising it 6" can improve your signal. Try it a few different ways. I am getting 4 or 5 bars and full speed throughout a 4000+sqft home and as far away as 100' from the router, through many walls.
So in the end, it took a bit of work to get it setup, but once you do it is worth it!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Barstow, CA
Date:June 12, 2010

Good Router

Pros: good router with useful extras, difficulties setting up.
Cons: almost returned until tech support found solution
Model Number: F7D4302 v1.
"Router model F7D4302 v1. This router is rather difficult to set up. The main difficulty was the ISP supplied DSL modem also acting as a router. The Support Technicians worked with me several hours until the solution was found. The router is much faster than the 54GS I was using. The network printer, hard drive, etc. work well. Tech Support answered several questions when I called. Good router once you get it set up."
Review 58 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 10, 2009

Works great!!

Cons: installation wizard wont work if you have comcast
"I purchased this at my local Costco warehouse, and then noticed all the bad reviews online. However, despite all the negative reviews, I didn't have any problems with this router. I DID however, have to call technical support, because my internet service is through Comcast, and apparently the "installation wizard" cannot detect the Comcast modem/service, so the router needs to be installed manually. The tech support guy was very helpful, and walked me right thru the installation with no trouble. Took about 30 minutes to install, including talking to tech support. It was no problem at all. Once it was installed, my wireless internet connection worked perfectly!"
Review 59 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SLC, UT
Date:December 13, 2009

Second time was a charm

Pros: nice looking, easy setup when it works
Cons: drops connection if you bought a wrong unit, very hard to setup if you pick the wrong one
Model Number: N+
"It's time to replace my 6-year NetGear G router and it so happened this one was on sale and being an N router just what I need. So, I picked one up and had a heck of time setting it up. First, I couldn't talk to it or install couldn't finish and had to reset a couple of times and using a different laptop (both were mac's). Finally got it up and running after close to 2 hours, it was pretty fast for sure. Then it started dropping connections every so often. It will stay connected for anywhere from half hour to hour and half. So, I decided to return it and give it another try. This time the setup only took about 10 minutes, one pass without a glitch. The router had been up running all night without a single disconnect. I would say it's a good router when you pick the right one."
Review 60 for Belkin N+ Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 22, 2010

Good but hard to set up

"I had problems with it until I did firmware upgrade. Now works fine but it still slow transferring files to the hard dive atached. Also does not like my Comcast modem very well."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>