Customer Reviews for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe

Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe

Meets or exceeds the California Department of Justice requirements for an approved firearm safety device under CA Penal Code section 12087, et seq This newest Sentry®Safe large capacity, Executive & Firearms Safe combines ETL verified fire protection, multiple security features and a unique & attractive easy-access interior design, to provide exceptional value, performance and flexibility. Sentry®Safe conducted extensive research and designed this safe with the features that consumers told us they valued most. Compare this safe to others and you will see the attention to fit & finish details. You’ll appreciate how well the door fits and operates, as well as the ease of getting guns and valuables in and out of the newly designed 4 way interior. Features:   36 long-gun storage capacity   ETL Verified fire protection to 1,400 degrees F. for 30 minutes – interior temperature remains below 350 degrees F.   Electronic LED lock with by-pass key   4-way adjustable interior for maximum storage flexibility   Color: Black matte with polished brass & chrome hardware   Durable powder coat finish   3-spoke easy-grip star handle   Exterior Dimensions: 59” H x 38.0” W x 26.8” D   34.8 cu/ft body(exterior dimension) - safe's larger size accommodates up to 36 long-guns & more valuables  510 lbs.   Interior Features:   Adjustable 4-way interior allows you to re-arrange shelving options to fit different storage applications   New “easy-access” interior has a tapered center upright support that creates more room at the bottom – you can move and exchange guns more easily.   Carpeted interior, shelves and gun rack protects guns and valuables   Adjustable tracks allow shelves to be raised, lowered, or removed   Holds up to 36 long guns   Pre drilled for bolting to floor   Interior Dimensions: 57” H x 35.6” W x 19.3” D   22.6 cu/ft interior storage capacity   Security Features:   Meets California Department of Justice standards for firearm safety   Solid steel pry resistant door   5 steel live-locking bolts and 3 steel dead bolts secure the locked door even if hinges are tampered with   Hardened steel plate behind lock protects from drill attack   Electronic LED lock with by-pass key   False combination lock-out delay timer temporarily locks out intruders   Bolt-down hardware is included   Fire Protection:    ETL (Edison Testing Laboratories) tested and verified to meet manufacturer’s stringent fire protection specifications to protect documents and weapons with wood or composite parts   Tested up to 1400 degrees F for 30 minutes, interior temperature remains below 350 degrees F – paper chars at 450 degrees   External hinge design prevents a ‘heat path” to the interior providing added fire protection Model: GM3659E / 409512
Average Customer Rating:
3.895 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
(out of 19 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
14 of 19(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Review 1 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, KS
Date:November 16, 2009

Best Fire Safe In This Price Range

Pros: this is a sturdy and economical fire safe, looks great in any room, multiple interior configurations
Cons: bulky and takes up space
Model Number: Sentry®Safe 34.8 CUFT Executive Firearm Fire Safe
"I joined Costco specifically to purchase this safe. After a year of comparing safes (in major hunting/retail stores and endless hours of online research), I was lucky enough to stumble upon Costco's ad. Other safes advertised online required another $200-$300 for shipping alone. This type of safe would easily go for $1200-$1600 at other sites. Shipping took less time than anticipated, and the driver used his dolly to roll the pallet into my garage. I uncrated and installed the safe by myself, but I'm a large guy and would not recommend doing this by yourself!!! I do recommend having a dolly capable of lifting the safe, a deep socket set for removing the 2 bolts that secure the safe to the pallet, a pair of anchors from the local hardware store if attaching to a concrete slab, and a hammer drill for drilling pilot holes for the anchor bolts...and 2-3 of your best friends to help you move this safe! Remember to choose a location close to an electrical outlet if you plan on installing a GoldenRod (dehumidifier) or interior lighting. I have owned my safe for about 1 year and have no regrets. My only concern is about the long term durability of the electronic key-pad. I have not had any issues but would have chosen a combination lock if it were available. Overall, I couldn't be happier with my purchase! It is a great feeling to know that my belongings are in a safer place!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 6, 2009

Worth the grunt!!!

Pros: very clean and works well
Cons: would like to see a plugin installed.
Model Number: Sentry®Safe 34.8 CUFT Executive Firearm Fire Safe
"Let me say that when the safe arived it was heavy and on two pallets. It was bolted to the pallet, and with a 9/16 socket it was off in a minute. We had 5 people to move it but this was simply to many people. We found by removing the door it made the safe very manegible and a whole lot lighter. Two of us were able to hand-truck it up some satirs and into place. We then were able to handtruck the door up the stairs and lift it into place without much sweat. I found it wasn't as heavy gauge steel as I would like in a safe, but you wont find a safe this cheap for the size and quality. I would like to have seen it have a plug in receptical for power, but for the money we can make do."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Adel, IA
Date:December 30, 2010

Looks great, good value for the Money!

Pros: quality, design, exterior looks
Cons: shelves could be better quality, more solid wall ext. so it won't tip when door is, open
Model Number: Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire 510 lbs., 34.8 Cubic Ft.
""I gave this safe as a gift to my Husband for Christmas. At over 500 pounds, you will need 2 -3 strong guys to move it. This safe is nice enough to have a spot in our great room. It is well built and we did bolt it to the floor because the open door will tilt the unit. The shelving is similar to more expensive models, but we'll be making oak shelves to replace those that came with the unit. There are numerous ways to set the interior up. My husband was so thrilled with his gift and he's already shopping for more guns. We also will use this safe for other valuables. As for the keypad, with Costco backing up the purchase, I am confident if there was anything that broke, I could get the piece replaced." I would recommend shopping around to see what this type of safe offers. I shopped at several sporting stores and more expensive models were built very similar."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca.
Date:June 25, 2009

Very good item

Cons: it did not come with internal lock safe option.
Model Number: 409512
"This safe is secure, and well built. It has lots of room and shelving can be arranged in several different configurations."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:July 5, 2009

Not great

"The problems began when trying to get the safe off of the pallet - the bolts were pulled into the wood - I had to lie on the floor and slowly chip away enough of the wood to expose the bolt so I could get vise-grips on the bolt to hold it.
The next problem was inside the safe itself - there appear to be 2 layers of heat-resistant board on the bottom. The holes weren't lined up, so I had to carve away at the material to get to the nut. By the way - forget what the instructions say about a wrench or pliers - you'll need a deep socket to get to the nut.
The next problem and disappointment came when bolting the safe to the floor. Instead of bolting through a structural member, you bolt through the exterior (bottom) skin which has no rigidity whatsoever. Bolt it per the instructions and you can still tip it up to pry it loose if you want to. I ended up using oversize 4" washers on the floor of the safe to make it stable. So much for a smooth floor surface.
(If you have enough manpower to tilt the safe on edge, you could secure washers under the safe to make up for the gap and aid in gaining some rigidity. I didn't have enough manpower to do this. Even so, you'll need to oversize the washers on the inside to gain rigidity.)
What should have been 15 minutes turned into a couple of hours and a couple of trips to the hardware store.
I would return it but I have no desire to get it out of where it is and go through the same hassles all over again to get a 500-pound hunk of metal to the same place.
It's just not worth the hassle...
Learn from my experiences. Check out the mounting on other similar products to see if they are any better - if they are similar, then maybe this is a deal."
18 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:MN
Date:May 13, 2010

Good price...but ...

Pros: big safe/ good fire rating
Cons: very cheap electronic lock, shelving kit could be better quality
"This is a good safe if you're looking for a big gun safe that offers fire protection and security/storage for other valuables. A few things stick out that I was disappointed with though. The electronic lock is very cheap looking/feeling. I thought it would break when I was installing the batteries, I'm very concerned that this will not last very long as it's cheap plastic that "snaps' together. Other safes I've looked at since have much better UL listed locks. The shelf kit is very cheap looking and only after you have guns leaning against them to keep them pushed tight against the safes wall, do they feel sturdy. Bottom line a decent safe at a good price. In hindsight I wish I would have spent a little more money and bought one that had a few more bells and whistles and had better quality finish items, the lock and shelving primarily."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:December 3, 2009

Good deal for the dollar!

Pros: holds a lot!, very thick walls for security and fire protection.
Cons: very heavy to move into place.
Model Number: GM3659E
"It will easily hold 32 rifles and 4 long shotguns and several pistols with the top shelf installed, even more if you buy a rack for the door and don't mind leaning the rifles without a holder. I did not have a problem unbolting the safe from the pallet, but @ 510 pounds I used two friends and a Appliance Hand Truck to move it into place. I researched different safes for over a year and you just can not beat this price for the protection you are getting."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:eastern slope of Bue Ridge, Va.
Date:January 17, 2010

fine with me

"I didn't have any problem with the shelves, yeah, cheap particle board but they can be positioned a variety of ways. I chose to position them for both functionality and strength. Inside felt covering is as nice as any. Yes, there are holes in the bottom for bolting to the floor (optional IMHO), and it is a little top heavy when empty, but mine isn't bolted and sits fine on carpet (using shims). Keeping quantities of lead and brass on the bottom takes care of any tilting concerns. Mine is kept in living room and looks nice. Not impressed with plastic keypad and have concerns as to how long it'll last, but no issues after first month of ownership. I like the size and the price and not sure if spending another 500-1200 would make my stuff any safer. Do not entertain any notions of moving this by yourself, but I picked mine up in my pickup from trucking depot since delivery by 18-wheeler is impossible where I live."
Review 9 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northfield, VT
Date:December 10, 2009

my husband loves it!

Pros: very good for the money
Cons: it's big - getting it in the house takes work
"I got this for my husband's birthday because it's one of those things he's always wanted but would never buy for himself.
I also wanted to get those ugly small gun cabinets he's been buying on the cheap out of my basement!
Now we're both happy - all his guns are in one safe place and there's plenty of room left for some of my important things too!
We own two smaller Sentry safes that we're very happy with so I ignored 2 bad reviews - I'm glad I did.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:idaho
Date:August 9, 2009

very unsatisfied

"The details say you will be happy with the fit and finish. That is a joke! The sentry is a stick on piece of plastic. The shelves are very cheap. After two weeks with only 3 handguns on it, the top shelf is warping and looks like it is going to break in the middle. The electronic lock is so cheap looking and feeling I am sure I just wasted all my money cause it will probably break after the 1 year warranty. I am going to call customer service tomorrow."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Madison, Wisconsin
Date:December 10, 2009

Excellent Value!!!

Model Number: GM3659E
"I recently bought this safe for my boyfriend for his birthday. This safe is definately worth the price. My boyfriend is a big hunter with many guns and rifles. The safe easily will fit 30 plus guns and rifles. We were able to adjust the interior shelving to fit our needs which was very handy and helpful. He likes how the lock is LED but if the battery fails he can access it with a key. The safe is very sturdy and durable. We both feel safe that if there was a fire our belongings would not be damaged. I continually buy Sentry safes and this one just reaffirms my liking for them. This safe is a must for any hunter or outdoorsman."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:phoenix AZ
Date:September 10, 2009
Model Number: GM3659E
"Pros: Its BIG! and it locks.
Cons: The racks inside dont fit very well so shelves wobble, or sit funny. I had to add some wood supports to the main shelf so things wouldnt fall down. This safe comes with a factory combination that can not be changed. You can add a new combination but you can not ever get rid of the factory combo, so be careful who sees that combo. Also the lock has a little play in it. The wheel has to be 100% closed or it will not open when you put in your combo, the lock accepts the code it just doesnt open.
I got this safe on sale, If it would have been full price I would have got something else."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, Arizona
Date:August 27, 2009

Great deal for the price

Model Number: Sentry®Safe 34.8 CUFT Executive Firearm Fire Safe
"I ordered the safe and expected to get it in 4-6 weeks, It arrived the next week. The driver unloaded it from the truck and was able to get it into the front door. That afternoon I placed it in the hobby room and bolted it to the floor. later that evening installed the interior shelves. Everything went smooth, you need 1 or 2 friends to assist in moving it. Decent instructions and mounting hardware."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2009

Watch the description

"Note that the description of 34.8 cubic feet is not the volume inside the safe but the space it takes up, interior volume is only 22.67 cubic feet according to the dimensions given (23 cubic feet according to the sentry website)"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southampton, New York
Date:August 15, 2010

Great Deal

"I have not owned a gun safe before, but after my dad passed away, I inherited a bunch of things I needed to keep safe. It weighs a ton, stores a HUGE amount of items, along with your rifles, and it was a great deal. Good value for money. I would highly recommend, and I would buy it again. I am not critical as others here with the keypad comments and shelve problems. It does exactly the job I hoped it would. Lets hope all stays well."
Review 16 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kremmling, CO
Date:December 31, 2009

One of my best buys

Pros: plenty of storage room
Model Number: Sentry GM3659E
"I have several large gun safes of varying cost and features. This one doesn't have the more expensive UL locks of my other makes but it is built well and the lock is easy to program and use. I'm happy with the level of security it gives me for the excellent price - most of all the interior does hol 36 guns as advertised!"
Review 17 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingman, AZ
Date:December 14, 2009

great buy & fast delivery

Pros: easy to use
Cons: you need a furniture dolly to get it in the house
Model Number: GM3659E
"I love this safe. BIG. just what i was looking for without spending an arm and a leg.
The site said delivery in 2-4 weeks and I got it in 8 days
"
Review 18 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Snoqualmie, WA
Date:March 11, 2010

Great value for the price

Pros: easy to get to guns in the rear, digital pad is easy to program and use
Cons: i would have liked a color choice
Model Number: GM3659E
"Big, lots of space and solid.
I don't think spending hundreds more would have gotten me any more real security or functionality.
I'm very happy.
"
Review 19 for Sentry®Safe Executive Firearm Fire Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Concord, NC
Date:December 14, 2009

I really like it

Pros: very heavy
Cons: you really need a dolly
Model Number: GM3659E
"My hunting buddy got one and I helped him move it in. I liked it so I got one to and he had to help me."