Customer Reviews for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1366 x 768 Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 60,000:1 Response Time: 6ms
Average Customer Rating:
4.49 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
(out of 49 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
46 of 49(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 16, 2009

All you need is 720p!

Pros: vibrant colors great contrast, excellent over-the-air tuner
Cons: epg hard to use
Model Number: LN32B540
"It took me a few weeks before I finally bought this Samsung and I am completely happy with the decision.
My main hangup was that it was a 720p set vs the 1080p like the new sets from Vizio. I read over and over again that for 32", 720p was all you needed, but I was skeptical.
I finally went to Costco after Thanksgiving to view the sets...the picture was more vibrant in the Samsung set vs the 1080p Vizio. It could have been the configuration, but the colors looked better, more contrast, and the picture seemed clearer on the Samsung set.
Figuring I couldn't go wrong with Costco's return policy, I took home the Samsung and plugged it into the antenna. The tuner did the autoscan, and I picked up all the major channels and numerous secondary channels in the Seattle area.
The picture is amazing for all the over-the-air broadcasts. I actually tuned the set to display a little less bright and a little less sharp vs the standard configuration. I hooked up our upconverting DVD player via the HDMI port and the picture is great, and the Wii looks fine using the component input.
My only complaint is that the EPG (electronic program guide) is not that intuitive/easy to use.
Thanks Costco!"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:January 11, 2010

5 Stars if you exclude the remote

Pros: features, picture quality, computer picture quality, picture in picture, speakers/audio, cabinet design, controller features
Cons: controller design
Model Number: SV320XVT
"I'm using this TV primarily as a computer monitor and it is very crisp when connected at 1920x1080 via VGA. PIP is wonderful and can be used with any digital input or tuner input, but not the analog inputs (component, composite). You can even switch the audio output to be either with the picture in picture or main picture. The built in speakers are loud enough where I don't need to turn it up past 1/6th the total volume.
Over-the-air tuner was able to pick up about 30 channels locally, but only about 10 were viewable (no lag or pixelation) with 4 in HD.
The only con of this TV isn't with the TV, but the remote. The buttons are tiny, and tough to navigate in the dark. The channel up/down and volume buttons illuminate when pressed, but that doesn't help with any other function. Also the button feel a bit cheap, are tough to press, and make a nice click.
Overall, the quality of the TV far outweighs the design of the controller.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CALIF
Date:June 1, 2009

Good Picture, Weak Sound.

Pros: great picture.
Cons: tinny sound.
Model Number: LN32B540
"I wanted to upgrade to a 32" LCD for my bedroom but I also wanted to use the stock sound on the TV to avoid the clutter of extra sound system components in my bedroom. I did some web research and determined that Panasonic and Samsung both had good products in this space.
In mid-May'09 I first tried the Samsung LN32B540 at Costco. Very nice TV with great picture but I found the stock TV sound to be very "tinny". I then noticed that the Panasonic version has 20 Watt speakers instead of 10 Watt. I returned the Samsung and got the Panasonic TC32LX14. The Panasonic still has good picture quality although not quite as good as the Samsung. The Panasonic TV sound appears much better to me, more bass from the stock speaker system, etc although it still is just decent sound and not amazing sound (LCD down-pointing speakers).
So all in all for my situation the Panasonic has been better for me. If a buyer was going to use external sound then I think the Samsung is better because it has more sophisticated picture technology (better picture)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, HI
Date:July 8, 2009

Awesome Picture & Price

Pros: picture quality, price, swiveling base
Model Number: LN32B540
"I just picked up this TV to replace a top-of-the-line Sony XBR of the same screen size that broke after a year and a half. Since the TV is for the bedroom, I didn't want to spend as much money this time around. Samsung and Sony make the best LCD sets according to most reviews so I decided to try the Samsung.
Set up was a breeze. The autoscan picked up all the analog and digital channels in my area. Attaching the base to the unit was easy. I'm not sure what the other reviewers are talking about but they weren't problems for me.
The picture quality was much better than I was expecting especially at this price range. I paid more than twice this much for the Sony and there really isn't much difference. The 6ms response time and 60 hz processor are fast enough. Sure, the Sony had the 120hz processor but that only makes a small difference if you're watching high quality DVD movies.
Also, the 720p resolution is enough for a screen of this size. You will be paying extra for 1080p resolution. You can't see the difference unless you're 1 to 2 feet from the screen. 1080p is a good idea for screens of 40" and up.
One thing I did notice was the deterioration of the picture quality when viewing the screen from a sharp angle. However, this is a problem with all LCD TVs and is not specific to Samsung. My Sony had this issue too although it was a little better. I usually sit in front of the TV so its not an issue.
You won't get all the bell and whistles that come with the more expensive sets such as picture-in-picture, 120-240hz processor, 1080p, etc. but for the price, this set is a great choice. It's also good to know that Costco offers a 2 year warranty. If I had bought my Sony from Costco, it would have still been under warranty."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carlsbad, CA
Date:December 7, 2009

Great TV, Really great price!

Pros: great picture good sound super price!
Cons: none
Model Number: LN32B540
"I bought this tv for the bedroom, replacing a 27" Sony Trinitron which I bought over 15 years ago. The Sony was still working great, but wanted an HDTV in the bedroom. I have a 55" Samsung rear projection HDTV in the living room which I've had for about 10 years, it still works and looks great.
This new Samsung has a great picture, brilliant colors and deep blacks. It is hooked up to ATT U-Verse which brings in great HDTV reception and a very good navigator. The sound is good, no complaints. The stand was very easy to install and very sturdy, no complaints. I've had the TV about a week with absolutely no complaints and I bought it with a "Black Friday" price. (win, win)
I was a little concerned that 720p would not have as sharp a picture, but it is brilliant. Very happy indeed!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington DC
Date:January 30, 2010

Excellent product!

Pros: amazing picture easy set up
Cons: none
Model Number: #953232
"I blew my savings 'round NewYear on this TV 'cause my resolution is to spend as much time as possible in bed watching DVDs. Got it on line after reading reviews and it arrived in 3 days! Base set up was easy even for me (totally technically unapt) using a skinny screwdriver. Loved it, but than greed kicked in: if picture's so great on this 32", how amazing it'd be to have a bigger set...So I ordered 46" on line (arrived today, it's unbelievabe) and, sadly, I'll pack this set and return in store thanks to Costco's generous return policy. Seriously, this 32" Samsung is fantastic, buy it with confidence unless you HAVE TO see every individual eyelash on an ant."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:May 24, 2009

Worth the extra money

Pros: setup is simple
Cons: none
"I had purchased the 32" Panasonic 2 weeks previously and returned it because of the overall quality. We own a 55" Samsung in our downstairs and wanted wanted to upgrade the bedroom TV. The Panasonic was good, but not great. It did not upscale on the HDTV channels and the Samsung does this automatically, Well worth the money for a 720 P set"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:January 3, 2010

Perfect Bedroom Upgrade

Pros: picture and sound
Cons: nada
Model Number: LN32B540
"When it comes to electronics I like to make sure I make a wise choice...afterall it's my money.
Best decision made!!! I've used the same 32" JVC TV set for the past 13 years and have never had a problem...to this day it works perfect. After I've been told it's time to update to an HDTV and much research/comparison to other brands, Samasung was by far the best choice.
720p on this 32" is a perfect match. Unless you are looking for a much larger tv screen then don't waste extra $$ on a 1080p.
No problem programming the tv. I just hooked up the cable and the rest was a piece of cake."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:October 9, 2009

I <3 Samsung Televisions

Pros: colors are beautiful, at 32" 1080p doesn't make a difference, great price for this model, 3 hdmi, samsung quality with costco warranty, makes cool noises when turned on and off, energy star, great contrast ratio, easy to switch between sources
Cons: only 60hz so some images have motion blur
Model Number: LN32B540
"Great 32" tv set. The base was a little confusing to assemble, but after that, everything was a breeze. My PS3 looks amazing on this screen. The tv can change its resolution to 1920x1080, but it's a 720P television so I don't know how it does that. The speakers are a little weak, but still get the job done. It's a great tv for movies, video games, and Sunday football."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Camas, WA
Date:November 23, 2009

Very pleased with new TV

Model Number: 540
"This is our first HD TV and it lives up to its reputation. Great color, excellant sharpness. Setup was pretty straightforward, however - I'm a senior citizen and had to call on my son to help with the final connection and setup. After almost a month, we are delighted with our selection of the Samsung."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glendale, AZ
Date:June 10, 2009

Nice TV

Pros: picture, inputs, setup
Cons: sound
Model Number: Samsung 32" 32B540
"First time LCD purchase. It was easy setup and handling. Beautiful picture and sound is fair. I spent alittle more because of the reviews on other products and felt this would be a safe bet. I will buy another larger samsung for my living room when the time comes and purchase a sound system for it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:November 15, 2009

Great picture

Model Number: LN32B540
"Purchased 32" as an upgrade to a 26" Samsung I've had for several years. Love the fact that the speakers are no longer on the sides. 32" box only 2" wider & 1" higher then 26" box with a gain of 5" width in screen.
Typcial Samsung crystal clear picture.
Follow directions when attaching the stand.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL Suburbs
Date:December 15, 2009

Great TV for a bedroom or smaller room

"I have ATT UVerse and what a great picture. The TV was incredibly easy to set up and the picture is amazing. For this size TV 720 is perfect."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, Tx
Date:December 4, 2009

Very good value

Model Number: LN32B540]
"Good TV for a small apartment or bedroom.
Rich colors. Excellent blacks. Whites and yellows could be better, but no complaints at this price and size.
Speakers are OK for a TV, but do not expect good bass from the small speakers.
If you mainly see movies, a good pair of external speakers with a Yamaha home theater receiver will dramatically improve your TV experience!
Get the best speakers you can afford!
If your computer has a HDMI socket and a dual core processor, movies from Hulu come out quite well on the TV.
Overall, I'm very pleased with the TV."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 26, 2009

Not a keeper

"I really wanted to love this TV, but there must be a problem with the tuner. It doesn't receive all the digital channels on Charter Cable. I even tried a high quality booster amplifier and it didn't do anything to help. Sharp and Philips TVs don't seem to have this problem.
(BTW: I'm a broadcast engineer, and I can truthfully say I hooked it up correctly and scanned the channels several times.) :-("
10 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida, Tampa.
Date:November 28, 2009

Bargain quality LCD unit.

Pros: deep rich colors., nice sound for a small tv
Cons: shiny bezal can sometimes be distracting.
Model Number: LN32B540
"Purchased this unit for the bedroom. The image quality is very good. Not sure why some members found it hard to assemble the base, it was very easy indeed. Perhaps they did not receive the instructions?
This is my second HD unit purchased from Costco, other one was a 50" Panasonic plasma. Really pleased with the additional 2nd year warranty, gives me great peace of mind as does their 90 day satisfaction policy.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:rialto,ca.
Date:December 12, 2009

murphy (see his review)

"the base will only go together if you use the correct screws----there are two pkg one pkg has three screws used in the base - then pkg 2 has four screws to be used to attach the tv to the base bracket - the screwsw have slightly different threads ---- no need to drill anything if you use the correct screws - samsung makes the best tv in the 32" cat - 720 is all you need -"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orem, UT
Date:July 13, 2009

Excellent TV for the price

Model Number: LN32B540
"The picture quality has been excellent. This is the second Samsung I have bought and it has matched our first purchase. This is a perfect TV for the bedroom and I have not had the sound issues that other reveiwers noted. I guess I don't expect much from a 10 watt speaker, but it works great in a smaller room. Set up was easy and I did not experience any problems."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lenexa, KS
Date:January 1, 2010

Simply great

Pros: quality picture and sound
Cons: none
Model Number: LN32B540
"1080P would have been a bonus but the 720P is sufficient for a bedroom. Picture and sound are both great. Mine is hooked up straight to the cable coax. It receives 160 channels. The digital all look very good and the 15 or so HD look great. I think the Samsung is worth the few extra dollars."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Free Shipping Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2010

Great TV, but ...

Pros: great picture, easy set-up
Cons: too many bad pixels
Model Number: Samsung Series 5/540 32" LCD TV
"Just a fabulous picture, swivel stand, nice remote ... really about the best 32" 720p LCD TV. But, too many defective pixels for me particularly from a top-tier LCD panel maker. About a half-dozen bad pixels of which three are most noticeable. Zero tolerance for bad pixels in 2010."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>