Customer Reviews for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV

Free Shipping Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 60,000:1
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 47
(out of 49 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
46 of 49(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:February 17, 2010

Great Product and Price

"I have waited for some time to purchase a flat screen and LCD. I've read numerous reviews on several sites. I was initially sold on the Sharp Aquos. I saw this model on sale and after reading the reviews decided to take the plunge. I was so pleased with my decision. I have had it for two weeks now. It was super easy to hook up to cable and DVD. The picture is insane! The first time I saw the Blue Planet on this screen I did not move for three hours! Even my dog was glued to the picture with me. This week we watched the Olympics. OMG, the picture is clear, sharp, bright and wowing! As a non techie I also feel the sound is great. I am considering purchasing the same set for the guest room."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:January 25, 2010

Samsung puts Sharp Aquos to Shame!

Pros: beautiful picture quality, uses side bars on non-hd channels
Cons: now want to replace all my other tvs
Model Number: LN 40B540
"Originally bought the 40" Sharp Aquos online sight unseen. We hated the picture quality so returned it to Costco immediately (see my other review). Maybe buying TVs online is hard to do based on a name/reputation only. So we searched all the models on display and picked this Samsung. Right out of the box the picture quality is amazing and we are so pleased. The TV doesn't seem as bulky either. Appreciate that on non-HD channels the TV detects and uses side bars without stretching and distorting. Costco is absolutely the best place to purchase TVs with their excellent return policy and 2 year warranty."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:January 19, 2010

Excellent TV

"In the store I thought this model and a comparable Sony were the best looking units. So I bought them both. When I got home it was apparent the Samsung looked so much better than the Sony. I returned the Sony and picked up a 2nd Samsung for our bonus room :-)
I initially thought that I wanted the 120Hz version of this TV, but watching the same scenes on the Sony (which has 120Hz) gives an almost pan-and-scan shifting effect which I find disturbing. So I think the 60Hz just feels more natural."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern Cal
Date:January 14, 2010

Great Buy and Great Product

Pros: everything
Cons: not sure how to save settings
Model Number: Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
"I had a hard time figuring out what to look for in flat panel TVs. Costco is great due to their 90-day return policy and 2nd year additional warranty. The most help though that I found was the review section here on the Costco website and reading peoples thoughts on the TVs. Any doubt about this TV was put at ease when the vast majority of the some 30+ reviews were all raving about this TV. Needless to say you can add my review to the list. Setup was a snap, picture is awe-inspiring and the TV as a whole is everything I could have asked for. Thank you to all who reviewed it, and to any others who are new to these HD tv's...Get this one! You will be glad you did!
P.S. Always check out the Costco website before heading to the actual store. This TV was $50 less on the site and the store does not price match. Its no big deal, Shipping was free and it only took 3 days to get to me on top of that!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Neah Bay, WA
Date:January 11, 2010

Great buy

Pros: easy setup, great picture, quality product
Cons: nothing
"I returned a 50' LG that quit working after 65 days, got a refund and went home from the warehouse with a new TV. You can't beat that kind of service. Easy setup and plenty of inputs and outputs make it handy to hook up home theater, DVD or Blue Ray players, etc. I like the picture better than the other set and don't miss the size difference at all. I spoke with a number of folks concerning the reliability of Samsung products and got nothing by praises for their products. I have dish network and the hookup was trouble free. I got home at noon and was watching football at 1pm."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2010

Excellent product from Samsung

Pros: good picture quality
Cons: low sound
"I bought this TV for New Year, easy setup, great picture quality, stunning picture while watching HD channels. I compared this set with SONY bravia S series 40" TV which is 150 $ cheaper than this but it has dark picture.
very much satisfied."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ny
Date:January 6, 2010

Samsung 40" LCD Excellent choice

Model Number: Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
"Excellent screen resolution. Very easy to set up and use. I like the little musical touch when you turn it on. Using it in HD is stunning. I've usually not been a big fan of Samsung products, but this one is a winner.
Excellent design and engineering. Looking forward to many years of great movie viewing.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2009

Couch Computer

"If you are looking for a simple but impressive home entertainment solution then this is it. I have it hooked up to my new Mini Mac ($599) and a wireless keyboard with integrated mouse. My family can literally sit on the couch and surf the net with amazing speed and perfect picture clarity. Of course you can use it for your television needs as well but what a great system to access the internet. We have recently ordered a wireless headset that we plan on using for our Rosetta Stone software. Great Product and Picture!
P.S. It has been about 11 years since I owned a Mac but, I now realize how foolish I was to have every bought a PC."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:December 15, 2009

Great Design

Pros: good size for small room
Cons: bigger is better
Model Number: LN40B540P8F
"I love the looks of this TV. It was really easy to set up. My dish network remote even works with this TV :-) The picture is a little fuzzy but in HD programing it is clear. Also in order to get the picture size to look normal you need to zoom in and cut off the edges or zoom out and have blank spaces on each side."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2009

Fantastic picture

Pros: picture, easy set up, easy functions
Cons: none
Model Number: Samsung 40" LCD
"I took home the Sony Bravia 40' and after a few days I took it back. Hated the grays and could never get the picture so I came home with this set and love it. Fantasic picture. Samsung places speakers under and towards the rear of this set but please people, get a surround systems to really enjoy this set."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:December 11, 2009

Great TV and PC Monitor

Pros: great picture quality, easy to use
Cons: weak internal speakers
Model Number: LN40B540
"Everything electronic has its good and bad points. The positives far outweigh the negatives on this set. It's quick to set up, the tuner is sensitive and fast to change channels, and the interface through the remote is not bad. The picture is very good. Pixel interpolation and color rendering are superior. Backlighting is even. Syncs well to a computer and switches modes quickly even while the computer is booting. Native resolution of 1920x1080 looks great. Did have to change the sync frequencies in xorg.conf under Linux. The only real negative about this TV is the internal amplifier has low gain so the speakers are a little weak. This is great if you have an external amp but it would be nice if there had been a internal/external fader adjustment so you could get a little more volume from the internal speakers."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Princeton,NJ
Date:December 10, 2009

Worth the Price

Model Number: LN40B540
"i) Ready to install and use
ii) No complaints with contrast ratio
iii) No complaints with response time
a very good buy."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tahoe City, CA
Date:December 1, 2009

Simply excellent

Pros: fabulous picture quality, easy setup
Cons: none
Model Number: LN40B610
"This set replaced a 20+ year-old crt tv, and oh what a difference! The picture is so much clearer and well-defined, the colors simply sparkle. Seems to work well in pretty much all light conditions, although I haven't tried it yet when we have full sun in the room (not much of a daytime tv watcher). We're on a cable system (just regular cable, no HD or digital), and an added, unexpected bonus is the fact that the set still picks up a number of digital channels which are even crisper than the analog channels, have no distortion whatsoever and are even more of a joy to watch. Couldn't be happier with the purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2009

Incredible TV - Even better price

"I just purchased this TV over the weekend. The set up was extremely easy and the picture quality is even better than I could have imagined. I have to say it is 100% better than my previous LCD (Magnavox). Watching Sunday football in HD was incredible and so life like, it looked like you could put your hand through the TV and touch the field."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:September 21, 2009

terrific LCD for the money

Model Number: LN40B540
"I bought this LCD for my Dad's birthday and it was such a great LCTV that I bought another for my brother for his wedding. The picture is extremely clear compared to my 1080p. It's amazing how well Samsung has become"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MINNETONKA, MN
Date:August 27, 2009

LOOKED AT ALOT THIS IS THE BEST

Pros: picture bright and clear sound good swivel stand
Cons: no cons
Model Number: 40 in SAMSUNG 1080 HD
"My 2nd Samsung and its outstanding, i started out looking to save money by buying a cheaper TV, after looking at many and researching them for the difference in dollars there was no contest. The Samsung is hands down one of the best values today in wide screen TVs that are HD. picture perfect, sounds great and no Problems. BUY IT YOU WILL LIKE IT!!!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Avalon, Catalina Island
Date:August 25, 2009

Love this t.v.!

Model Number: series 5, 540
"Bought this 2 wks. ago for my vacation home. Entire family votes this #1 for ease of installation, appearance, quality of picture, sound. With the great price, you can't beat this one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:August 4, 2009

Great TV

Pros: fantastic picture!, great value
Cons: none
"I purchased this TV because of the name brand--Samsung. This company is now the leader of LCD TV's and it is plain to see that the color, black levels, style and price is way better than Sony. The picture is so close to being 3D, and appearance is vey modern (I have the set in my bedroom--perfect size for a large room). One thing that is missing though is the remote control should have a "backlight" feature like others that Samsung manufacturers. I would highly recommend this set to others."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silver Spring, Maryland
Date:August 4, 2009

Very Satisfied Owner

Pros: great picture., great value., very simple to setup., samsung tech support is great.
Cons: none.
Model Number: LN40B540
"This is my 3rd LCD flat screen and was purchased and installed on an articulated wall mount in the kitchen. Since this set was just for casual viewing I felt the 60HZ would be sufficient but amazingly we don't see any difference from the 120HZ refresh rates of our other LCDs. Also, this is my 2nd LN40B540. The first would not read setup commands from the remote. The LCD would prompt "Locked" and not accept any further signals. Samsung Tech Support was very, very helpful but they finally (over a several hour period) offered a free home repair/service which I declined. Of course Costco accepted the return with no problem. My current 2nd Samsung set is perfect and we're delighted with the LN40B540, Samung Tech Support, and of course the good folks at Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bountiful, UT
Date:August 1, 2009

Awesome picture

Pros: great deal, great size, picture, sounds great, swivel base big + if not mounting to the wall
Cons: none
Model Number: LN40B540P8XZA
"This is a great TV especially for the price, can't be beat, my husband and I looked at serveral other 'big' brand televisions before we decided to go with this one and I think we made the best choice possible.. Great pic, sound and size."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>