Customer Reviews for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV

Free Shipping Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 60,000:1
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 47
(out of 49 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
46 of 49(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Date:May 20, 2009

Excellent 40in LCD

Pros: costco adds a year to the manufacturers warranty., incredible features and value for the price.
Cons: not available in my local costco store.
Model Number: LN40B540
"I've been shopping for a Samsung LCD for about 6 months. This IS the best value that I have uncovered. This set is nothing short of amazing! The TOC bezel really adds some pizzaz to this set as well.
I was shooting for the 120hz model but after hours of watching them in the store I really couldn't tell much difference between the 60hz and the 120hz. I had others claim the same thing. Very little motion or blurring occurs with this model. Also, others indicate that the 120hz models can have an odd 3D look and give you motion sickness.
It arrived on the date as Costco stated it would. Too easy to set up and extremely light weight. The UPS driver and I laughed at the lightness of the box while carrying it in the house.
Anyhow, I am using almost all 4 HDMI inputs to connect my blu-ray player, stereo and other components to this TV.
Very easy to program and tons of options for tweaking the picture and sound. The manual is very well written and I've yet to find any unwelcome surprises.
Seriously, if you are thinking about getting one of the best bargains out there...do not pass up this deal! I've done my homework and am thrilled to the max with this purchase!"
38 of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2009

Love This Flat Screen TV

"This Samsung is an exceptional buy for a 40 inch LCD TV. We also have a Sharp 52", but purchased this Samsung for our bedroom. The 40 inch is a perfect size, not too big and not too small. It replaces a 26 inch LCD which never seemed to be the right size for us.
Unlike the experiences outlined in a couple of the reviews, we have not experienced a problem with the picture quality, color or brightness. I like having the comfort level of being able to return this TV within 90 days, if I experience any problems, which I feel is an exceptional Costco benefit, along with the two year in home warranty. Generally, if something goes wrong with electronics, it happens within a year. In my experience, I usually experience a problem just after the one year warrantly expires, so I'm comforted by having a full two year warranty.
This TV was extremely easy to set up. I would highly recommend this model."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:December 11, 2009

Great TV and PC Monitor

Pros: great picture quality, easy to use
Cons: weak internal speakers
Model Number: LN40B540
"Everything electronic has its good and bad points. The positives far outweigh the negatives on this set. It's quick to set up, the tuner is sensitive and fast to change channels, and the interface through the remote is not bad. The picture is very good. Pixel interpolation and color rendering are superior. Backlighting is even. Syncs well to a computer and switches modes quickly even while the computer is booting. Native resolution of 1920x1080 looks great. Did have to change the sync frequencies in xorg.conf under Linux. The only real negative about this TV is the internal amplifier has low gain so the speakers are a little weak. This is great if you have an external amp but it would be nice if there had been a internal/external fader adjustment so you could get a little more volume from the internal speakers."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:May 8, 2009

Great TV for the buck.

Pros: deep blacks, good contrast ratio, price
Cons: 60 hz
Model Number: LN40B540
"I needed a TV for the living room and after much research settled on a Samsung. The previous model LN40A540 received excellent reviews so I thought I would give this TV a try. This TV has a crisp picture. The black levels are great for an LCD and the 60,0000:1 contrast ration is very nice. This TV has a 6ms response time and is 60Hz. While it is not a 120hz TV there is very little motion blur. You could probably find a little better picture in a higher priced Samsung or Sony TV but for the price this TV cannot be beat."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort. Laud. Fl. area
Date:July 3, 2009

Little Known Extra's

Pros: excellent featurescontrols colorand sound
Cons: i wish this set had 2 antenna inputs .
Model Number: LN40B540
"This model (LN40B540) , actually has 4 HDMI inputs. Also , if you register it at Samsung .com , you get 3 more months of warranty for free ! I have hooked this set up to a "rabbit-ears" antenna ( just to see the results.....I do have Cable... and the reception is super ! on both types of antenna . Anybody experiencing a problem with this set has either NOT read the user's guide or should have bought a radio instead. This set is an EXCELLENT value and is a top performer ,easy to follow set-up and operation is user-friendly. anything easier would have to be voice-controlled. I 'm totally satisfied with my purchase,and look forward to much enjoyment , Teroma"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern Cal
Date:January 14, 2010

Great Buy and Great Product

Pros: everything
Cons: not sure how to save settings
Model Number: Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
"I had a hard time figuring out what to look for in flat panel TVs. Costco is great due to their 90-day return policy and 2nd year additional warranty. The most help though that I found was the review section here on the Costco website and reading peoples thoughts on the TVs. Any doubt about this TV was put at ease when the vast majority of the some 30+ reviews were all raving about this TV. Needless to say you can add my review to the list. Setup was a snap, picture is awe-inspiring and the TV as a whole is everything I could have asked for. Thank you to all who reviewed it, and to any others who are new to these HD tv's...Get this one! You will be glad you did!
P.S. Always check out the Costco website before heading to the actual store. This TV was $50 less on the site and the store does not price match. Its no big deal, Shipping was free and it only took 3 days to get to me on top of that!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Westfield, MA
Date:July 25, 2009

A lot of BANG for a small amount of $$$

Pros: price quality and warranty
Model Number: LN40B540P8F
"We compared side by side Sony Bravia 40" to Samsung 40" Touch of Color in COSTCO Showroom. The screen quality looked the same on both units. We owned a Sony Bravia before. When we saw this Samsung on display, we didn't hesitate to purchase it. It was also more than a few hundred dollars cheaper than the Sony Bravia unit. It also has 4 HDMI connections and a virtual surround system. Set-up was also very easy. We purchased this Samsung because we could'nt justify spending a lot more money and getting the exact same quality in a Sony. Buy at COSTCO to get the warranty extended to 2 years."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reston, VA
Date:August 1, 2009

Really Beats Competition

Model Number: LN40B540
"This site does not allow mentiioning the store where I paid $200 more for the LN40B550 which is almost identical except it has a 70,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio. I had this TV for 3 weeks before I realized that Costco had the LN40B540 for almost $200 less plus a 2-yr (rather than 1 yr) warranty. I love the Costco TV and can't tell the difference in the picture (the Costco has a 60,000:1 ratio). Several people have said this TV has the best picture they have ever seen.
The set-up is so easy and my Verizon FIOS remote worked everything without even programming. The 40" size seems so versatile, not too big not too small.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:September 21, 2009

terrific LCD for the money

Model Number: LN40B540
"I bought this LCD for my Dad's birthday and it was such a great LCTV that I bought another for my brother for his wedding. The picture is extremely clear compared to my 1080p. It's amazing how well Samsung has become"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:January 19, 2010

Excellent TV

"In the store I thought this model and a comparable Sony were the best looking units. So I bought them both. When I got home it was apparent the Samsung looked so much better than the Sony. I returned the Sony and picked up a 2nd Samsung for our bonus room :-)
I initially thought that I wanted the 120Hz version of this TV, but watching the same scenes on the Sony (which has 120Hz) gives an almost pan-and-scan shifting effect which I find disturbing. So I think the 60Hz just feels more natural."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:August 4, 2009

Great TV

Pros: fantastic picture!, great value
Cons: none
"I purchased this TV because of the name brand--Samsung. This company is now the leader of LCD TV's and it is plain to see that the color, black levels, style and price is way better than Sony. The picture is so close to being 3D, and appearance is vey modern (I have the set in my bedroom--perfect size for a large room). One thing that is missing though is the remote control should have a "backlight" feature like others that Samsung manufacturers. I would highly recommend this set to others."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MINNETONKA, MN
Date:August 27, 2009

LOOKED AT ALOT THIS IS THE BEST

Pros: picture bright and clear sound good swivel stand
Cons: no cons
Model Number: 40 in SAMSUNG 1080 HD
"My 2nd Samsung and its outstanding, i started out looking to save money by buying a cheaper TV, after looking at many and researching them for the difference in dollars there was no contest. The Samsung is hands down one of the best values today in wide screen TVs that are HD. picture perfect, sounds great and no Problems. BUY IT YOU WILL LIKE IT!!!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silver Spring, Maryland
Date:August 4, 2009

Very Satisfied Owner

Pros: great picture., great value., very simple to setup., samsung tech support is great.
Cons: none.
Model Number: LN40B540
"This is my 3rd LCD flat screen and was purchased and installed on an articulated wall mount in the kitchen. Since this set was just for casual viewing I felt the 60HZ would be sufficient but amazingly we don't see any difference from the 120HZ refresh rates of our other LCDs. Also, this is my 2nd LN40B540. The first would not read setup commands from the remote. The LCD would prompt "Locked" and not accept any further signals. Samsung Tech Support was very, very helpful but they finally (over a several hour period) offered a free home repair/service which I declined. Of course Costco accepted the return with no problem. My current 2nd Samsung set is perfect and we're delighted with the LN40B540, Samung Tech Support, and of course the good folks at Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2009

Couch Computer

"If you are looking for a simple but impressive home entertainment solution then this is it. I have it hooked up to my new Mini Mac ($599) and a wireless keyboard with integrated mouse. My family can literally sit on the couch and surf the net with amazing speed and perfect picture clarity. Of course you can use it for your television needs as well but what a great system to access the internet. We have recently ordered a wireless headset that we plan on using for our Rosetta Stone software. Great Product and Picture!
P.S. It has been about 11 years since I owned a Mac but, I now realize how foolish I was to have every bought a PC."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2009

Incredible TV - Even better price

"I just purchased this TV over the weekend. The set up was extremely easy and the picture quality is even better than I could have imagined. I have to say it is 100% better than my previous LCD (Magnavox). Watching Sunday football in HD was incredible and so life like, it looked like you could put your hand through the TV and touch the field."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:February 17, 2010

Great Product and Price

"I have waited for some time to purchase a flat screen and LCD. I've read numerous reviews on several sites. I was initially sold on the Sharp Aquos. I saw this model on sale and after reading the reviews decided to take the plunge. I was so pleased with my decision. I have had it for two weeks now. It was super easy to hook up to cable and DVD. The picture is insane! The first time I saw the Blue Planet on this screen I did not move for three hours! Even my dog was glued to the picture with me. This week we watched the Olympics. OMG, the picture is clear, sharp, bright and wowing! As a non techie I also feel the sound is great. I am considering purchasing the same set for the guest room."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ny
Date:January 6, 2010

Samsung 40" LCD Excellent choice

Model Number: Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
"Excellent screen resolution. Very easy to set up and use. I like the little musical touch when you turn it on. Using it in HD is stunning. I've usually not been a big fan of Samsung products, but this one is a winner.
Excellent design and engineering. Looking forward to many years of great movie viewing.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:July 30, 2009

Great Value/Great TV

"There are so many great things to say about this set. It's light, has a digital tuner, and is beautiful to look at (even when it is off.)
The picture is crisp, the sound is excellent, and set up is a snap.
I highly recommend this set."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tahoe City, CA
Date:December 1, 2009

Simply excellent

Pros: fabulous picture quality, easy setup
Cons: none
Model Number: LN40B610
"This set replaced a 20+ year-old crt tv, and oh what a difference! The picture is so much clearer and well-defined, the colors simply sparkle. Seems to work well in pretty much all light conditions, although I haven't tried it yet when we have full sun in the room (not much of a daytime tv watcher). We're on a cable system (just regular cable, no HD or digital), and an added, unexpected bonus is the fact that the set still picks up a number of digital channels which are even crisper than the analog channels, have no distortion whatsoever and are even more of a joy to watch. Couldn't be happier with the purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung 40" Touch of Color™ 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:May 10, 2009

Excellent Picture

Model Number: LN40B540
"Great picture, good sound, excellent buy for the money. I appreciate Costco's return and warranty policy. It was quick to setup and it's great to see all of the extra Comcast channels."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>