Customer Reviews for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor

Includes: 1 liter juicer juice jug, 2 ½ liter pulp container, & nylon cleaning brush
Average Customer Rating:
4.043 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
(out of 46 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
37 of 46(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Review 1 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:March 21, 2011

A Good Extractor

Pros: attractive and powerful, good costco value
Cons: pulp basket and clean-up, not really a juicer
Model Number: JE900
"This is a nice extractor with the usual complaints. It is noisy and it is tedious to clean. Our neighborhood is in an old orange grove. So, orange juice is a staple of ours. If you feed oranges too fast, the pulp container is overwhelmed and pulp and juice goes everywhere. Positioning of the pulp catcher is exacting. The pulp seems moist, but it was slightly less so than our neighbors Hamilton Beach "Big Mouth" in a side-by-side comparison. Both machines grind up everything and the juice is more like a orange mousse than orange juice with pulp. The attachment of the cutter blade screen seems to be a slightly better than the "Big Mouth". Both of these desings are way better than the Jack LaLane unit. I am sure it will do better with apples and carrots. This is a rather tall unit so check your cupboard space. It is an attractive and powerful extractor. Too bad it doesn't have two speeds for hard and soft foods."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Newbury Park, CA
Date:January 9, 2010

Good But Not Perfect

Pros: powerful, efficient, easy clean-up, large waste and juice bins
Cons: noisy as a jet engine, cheap feel on the top assembly, can be messy even if assembled correctly, should be easier to align top assembly perfectly
Model Number: Breville Juice Fountain JE900
"This is my third juicer. My first one shattered apart after 10 hard years of usage. My second one, a Jack Lalanne juicer I got at Costco, lasted two weeks before the motor died in a smoky climax. I've had this juicer for about two months and it's working well so far, but it's not perfect.
Compared to the Jack model, I like this juicer's higher spout, which lets you fill tall glasses or the included pitcher with juice. With the Jack model, I had to put a low bowl or small cup under the short spout. The Breville is quite powerful, at least as powerful as the Jack model, but it is also much noisier. The receiving end is large enough to take two or three full carrots at a time, or a large quartered apple. The waste bin is large enough to accommodate the pulp of several glasses of juice, with the resulting waste containing about the same amount of moisture as the Jack unit.
One downside with the Breville is the assembly is not super easy. You have to put the top on just right or you'll shoot pulp all over your kitchen, and doing so is harder than it should be. Even when it's assembled correctly, bits of pulp and juice sometimes shoot out the side or from the receiving end. In this respect, the Jack juicer was much better (but again, my motor blew out after a short time, so sorry, Jack).
Cleanup on this device is better than on the Jack, which requires a tool to remove and replace the blade assembly. On this guy, everything easily pops off and then back on again."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:April 21, 2010

Not Perfect, But Easy To Clean

Model Number: JE900
"There are more expensive, juicers that are more efficient. But, they come at a price; they are hard to clean. Knowing myself, if it is too hard to clean, I will not continue to use it.
With the Breville, it normally takes no more than 15 minutes to cut the vegetables and/or fruit, juice, and then clean up.
Pros: Fast, easy-to-clean, powerful, and juice is of good quality
Cons: The pulp is not as dry as some of the more efficient juicers. Large pieces are sometimes rejected into the pulp container or left in the basket. Like many juicers, fibrous roots can slow the juicer and create heat. To solve these problems, it is better to use one big carrot a time or stack one-inch thick sections of beets on top of each other and stuff the remaining space with something softer like pieces from an apple or greens, if possible.
Despite any cons, I love this juicer. Each session is an exercise in creativity. I have yet to make a juice I didn't enjoy. More importantly, I use this Juicer ever day and don't get tired of using it. Clean-up is as simple as a quick rinse of parts and a bit of scrubbing of the basket with the included brush. A little liquid soap on the brush really helps."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bakersfiled, CA
Date:March 19, 2011

BEST JUICER EVER!

"I have used this juicer at least twice a day, everyday for the past 2 weeks and it is wonderful! It juices everything! I have had zero problems juicing carrots, celery, tomatoes, oranges, pinapple or strawberries. What's my favorite fruit to juice with this machine, you ask? APPLES cause you can juice a whole apple (one that fits, of course) with no problem!
Some reviewers complained that their juicer pushed pulp through or that pulp splattered out of the sides - well, I have had absolutely no problems. I get nothing but juice!
It's also very easy to take apart and clean. It comes with a cleaning brush for the strainer. They recommend that you line the pulp catcher with a plastic bag to minimize the clean up. I've been using grocery bags and they work just fine. At the end of your juicing, you just toss the bag and rinse the other 5 parts. Done, done and done!
Great juicer! Great price! Highly recommended!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:April 7, 2010

Breville Juicer

Model Number: JE900
"I decided to get healthier and bought this juicer so I could eat more fruits and veggies. I live alone so don't cook much. I love this juicer. I use it everyday. I went to Costco and bought all my fruits and vegetables. How else could you eat 5 carrots, spinach, apples, etc etc all in one day. This juicer is easy to operate (I am 72) and fast to use..I LOVE IT. One of the best things I ever did for myself. Easy clean up...works like a charm."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 18, 2010

Wonder Machine

Pros: very reasonably priced powerful efficient, and it has a really cool electic cord design
Model Number: JE900
"Not sure how one could complain about this machine. For the low dollar amount you spend, you certainly get a lot of production. I'm sure that more expensive machines add a bit more in terms of 'quietness' or 'feel' but I can cope with that at this price. I have been using it consistently for the past several months and it works as well as the first time I used it. It extracts almost all of the juice and cuts through carrots with ease.
I have read most of the other reviews and wonder if the competition did not come up with some of these reviews.
I would recommend this machine to anyone....... and I have."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sierra Vista, AZ
Date:December 28, 2009

New to juicing

Model Number: JE 900
"I am new to juicing- very happy with this product- Made a mess the first time- then I realized pulp container wasn't set right. I recycle bread bags for the pulp- easy clean-up with a brush. It's no louder than a blender.
Pulp is dry- using it in soups! Double benefits! Quick shipping from Costco!
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Canton, MI
Date:December 31, 2010

Very Good Juicer

Pros: powerful enough to juice all fruits and vegetables, very easy to clean
Cons: can't get any pulp in citrus juice
Model Number: JE900
"I decided I wanted to have fresh-squeezed orange juice whenever I wanted it, rather than what;s sold at the supermarket. Having no previous experience with juicers, I bought a Breville Juice Fountain JE900 from Costco because I also wanted to try juicing other types of fruits and vegetables as well. The JE900 does an excellent job of juicing, is very easy to operate & clean, and I don't find the volume of noise it makes unacceptable.
After using it for a week or so, I've decided that a dedicated citrus juicer would likely be better for orange juice because I like pulp in my juice and you get no pulp out of this type of juicer. I plan to buy a citrus juicer as well for that reason. One thing that amazes me is how much fruit you have to use to get enough juice to fill the pitcher that comes with the JE900. Juicing is definitely not a lower cost alternative to store-bought juice, but the quality of the juice is far superior!
If you want to juice more than citrus and don't like pulp in your orange juice, the JE900 is an excellent all around choice."
Review 9 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2010

best juicer i've tried

Pros: powerful, easy cleanup, attractive
"I have used a juiceman Jr. the newest Jack LaLanne juicer, and this Breville, and it is by far the best. I love the little pitcher it comes with that sepparates the foam (hate drinking the foam) and the rounded contours of the lid are attractive and very easy to clean. the pulp is dry and its very powerful. i've never had problems juicing anything, from a whole apple, to up to 5 carrots at once. I really like the design of this juicer, much better than the Jack LaLanne one, which spits droplets of juice up to 2 feet away and requires a sepperate tool to remove the blades. I also am not sure what the top reviewer is talking about it being larger than Jack's. I found it to be much smaller, actually."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bellingham WA
Date:October 28, 2009

Best Juicer Yet

Pros: clean up is easy
Model Number: JE900
"I tried juicing before, but it was so time consuming to clean up afterwards I got rid of the machine. I saw the reviews on this product and decided to try again since it's backed by Costco. I think the machine is great! Fast processing and clean up is an absolute breeze. I have had no problems with leaking or mess. Is a bit louder than I expected."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OR
Date:February 1, 2011

First Juicer, Very Happy

"I've had this for about 10 days or so now, and have used it every day, and am very satisfied. Cleanup was my biggest concern, but it's really easy - just dump the extracted pulp, rinse everything off, and scrub the metal filter with the provided brush. Takes maybe 5 minutes.
Everything I've fed it has juiced fine. I've found that I get better extraction of leafy veggies and small berries if I mix them in with harder items and pack it tight, but it's still not 100% exaction. Most of the pulp is quite dry, but sometimes there is some pasty pulp that clearly has additional juice, particularly with softer fruits. Having never used another juicer, I can't compare, but it definitely does the trick and is easy enough to use that I should have no trouble sticking with it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Burbank
Date:November 18, 2009

Compare to jack Lalanne

"We have used the Jack juicer for the last 6 years and loved it. During our move, we lost the juicer and bought this one since it was the only one in stock at the local costco. It looks great, but it has more noise and did not produce the same amount of juice as the jack unit. The waste product is still wet indicating juice left. The clean up was easy, but that was the only good part. Still a good product if you do not compare to the jack unit."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 26, 2011

Fantastic juicer!

"I have had this juicer for a month now and it works great. There is no pulp or fibers in the juice b/c the extractor works excellent. The juice comes out perfect. It is easy to use, easy to clean, and does not take up too much counter space. I highly recommend this juicer! I use it every morning and would definitely buy it again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:KS
Date:October 9, 2009

Good Product

Pros: very fast
Cons: color differs from what is shown here
Model Number: JE900
"Very fast juicer. Make sure to keep your stuff ready before starting your juicing project. It is a little bit loud. Actual color of the juicer motor housing is greyish blue and not chrome-like white as shown in the image here."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2009

good juicer

"This juicer is much better than the Jack LaLanne juicer. I tried both."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Springs, CA
Date:April 20, 2011

No complaints

"I've had another juicer before and THAT one was loud. Not this Breville though. It purrs like a kitten more than anything.
And the only mess it makes is if you don't cover the input with your hand as your putting items in for juicing. In that case it can come back up and splatter. But again, all you need to do is simply cover up as you release your apples, etc... into the machine for juicing. No big deal.
And I love the anti-frothing ability. Clear juice is what I'm left with...unless of course I choose to add the froth later on. Just love this thing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tacoma WA
Date:July 8, 2010

Great Inexpensive Juicer

"I read people were complaining about this juicer not doing carrots or apples; I have had no problems at all. If there is a bit of unused apple I put it in a bag for the next morning (only happens one time out of ten). I cut large apples in half, and juice beets, ginger, mangoes, & pineapple with no problems. I love how easy and quick it is to clean, My friend says it's as good as her Jack LaLanne juicer. I drink the juice strained by the pitcher and then take the foamy stuff and use it in smoothies. I love it"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:October 7, 2009

Good Juicer

Pros: easy to clean
Cons: not good with soft fruits
Model Number: JE900
"Juicer leaves no mess. Very good with apples and carrots. With strawberries and softer items - most of the item pieces end up without being pulped into the garbage/pulp container. I think the juicer needs large items to get most juice.
It does display whole apple but you need to buy smaller apples as the larger ones will not go through the feed tube. You will end up cutting them and the smaller pieces end up completely in the pulp container.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:December 16, 2010

WOW!! Impressive for the price

Pros: fast powerful very very dry pulp...even tomatoes, costco guarantee, low price approx $100, easy clean up and blade removal
Cons: larger size (professional grade), louder than most due to its stronger motor
"We all know that if you spend more you'll get more. This juicer is way underpriced. I got it at Costco for just over $100 total. It juices extremely fast and the pulp is super dry. I've only had it for a week but with the costo guarantee I feel safe if something goes wrong. It is a "professional" juicer they say but to keep the cost low most of the parts are plastic with the exception of the motor casing. That means that sound insulation is not a good. It is a loud juier (sounds like my vacuum cleaner) but it is powerful at the same time. I was deciding between the jack lalane juicer or this one. Jack's has a motor that max's at 3600RPM. This juicer goes to 12000RPM!!! That's more that 4 times the speed. No wonder its louder. You can put whole fruits even really hard ones and it crushes them without a hiccup. I'd try a brick but that might void the warranty :). Anyways, the only other thing to consider is that this "professional" juicer and strong motor comes with a downside. It's big... at least twice the size of jack's. That means it can handle more and do more much faster but keep in mind if you have limited storage or counter space. Since it comes apart I can store it easier. Also clean up is a synch. No special tool to remove the blade. It has a magnetic lock that easily pops off when the motor is off. Why don't other juicers think of this!!! My mom's juicer makes with fight with it to get the blade off. Jack's needs a special tool to get the blade off. I've not tried the Jack LaLane juicer so I can't comment on its quality but I will say that I don't regret getting this jet engine juicer. Hope this helps you make up your mind"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Breville Juice Fountain® Classic Professional Juice Extractor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, CA
Date:February 23, 2010

No complains after 4 months of use!

Model Number: Breville Juice Fountain JE900
"I have been using this juicer every morning for about 4 months and I have put in the machine pretty much every vegetable and fruit possible without any troubles, the only thing is you have to make sure the top part sits correctly before snapping the holder into place, other than that it has been working for 120 days straight."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>