Customer Reviews for Meade TravelView Zoom Spotting Scope

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Meade TravelView Zoom Spotting Scope

20-60 x 60mm Zoom Spotting Scope
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 of 11(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Meade TravelView Zoom Spotting Scope
Review 1 for Meade TravelView Zoom Spotting Scope
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:August 14, 2009

Nice Binocular for the Price

"Pro: Lightweight and good grip material. Smooth focus and good location for fine focus. Price is good for the functionality and features. A reliable and handy compass build into the binocular cover.
Con: The Zoom on the eyepiece is not a good location, and it is too tight when you are trying to zoom in on the subject, you will lose your focus due to the amount of pressure required to turn the zoom button. The tripod that comes with the binocular is too small and not sturdy enough. Luckily I had a large Camcorder tripod that I used and it is much firmer.
Overall, I enjoyed using this and was able to view at night and daytime."
31 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Meade TravelView Zoom Spotting Scope
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:May 4, 2010

An Affordable Toy

Pros: economical price
Cons: poor optical image quality
"This is not a serious optical equipment. For the price, it is good for general use, such as viewing the target at the shooting range. Its optical quality is not good enough for a serious birder.
There is too much of color abberation and the resolution is poor, and image is rather blurry. I would rate this as an inexprensive toy, not a proper optical equipment.
The zoom control is not precise, and the already fair image quality deteriorates rapidly, as magnification is increased.
Prepare to pay in hundreds, if you are looking for a proper equipment for applications demanding high quality image. This scope is good for limited uses, given the price range."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Meade TravelView Zoom Spotting Scope
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2010

great price, if you want a nicely packaged toy

Pros: looks nice good price. good storage box
Cons: poor optics, unstable tripod
"The scope comes professionally enclosed in a padded metal storage box (with handle and shoulder starp). But the optical quality is poor, and the tripod stability is completely insufficient for the scope."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Meade TravelView Zoom Spotting Scope
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arvada Colorado
Date:January 15, 2010

Spotting Scope

Model Number: Meade 20x - 60x 60mm Spotting Scope
"This scope is first rate! I use it for spotting during rifle matches and it is a great buy!"
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Meade TravelView Zoom Spotting Scope
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:california foothills
Date:June 12, 2011

spotting scope

Pros: reasonably priced, very portable
Cons: sighting is difficult for me, not enough distance coverage for me
"my first experience with a spoting scope. does not do all that I want it to do. probably needed a telescope for the distance i'm trying to view. tripod is a little wobbly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Meade TravelView Zoom Spotting Scope
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Port Angeles. WA
Date:May 26, 2010

great buy

"Been looking for a good scope at a reasonable price for a while. It's the best scope for the money I've found."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Meade TravelView Zoom Spotting Scope
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eureka, CA
Date:November 14, 2011

Good entry level spotting scope

Pros: cheap, comes with case
Cons: weak bipod and mount
"Pros: The price is low. It does the job fine for spotting at the gun range, which is what I bought it for. It was simple for me to figure out how to use as my first spotting scope. Everything included is lightweight. Scope displays the image at the magnification I need it at 100 yards and bipod functions as advertised for my application. The case (soft and hard case) make it a real bargain. They seem to be made as nice as they need to be for my application at the gun range.
Cons: The image has an amber haze throughout. The bipod seems cheaply made with plastic mount and cheap-feeling operation of aluminum bipod legs.
I wouldnt trust this out in the field but I believe it will deliver many quality views sitting stationary at the range.
"
Review 8 for Meade TravelView Zoom Spotting Scope
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Ramon, CA
Date:September 2, 2011

Good optic, bad accessories

Pros: scope is good
Cons: accessories is bad
"The product looks good when arrived & it comes with the hard case bag and tripod.
The scope is good but the bag and tripod are bad. The bag covered was popping up when you hold the handle and the tripod quality was not good.
I will return this product but if you want the scope only without the bag & tripod that will works."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Meade TravelView Zoom Spotting Scope
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SC
Date:August 25, 2011

good value

Pros: value carrying case. pouches.
"Entry-level product which allows you to determine your frequency of use and enjoyment level without investing in extremely expensive optics. The price and quality are excellent for this purpose or for the person who has a more casual interest and uses it only once in a while."
Review 10 for Meade TravelView Zoom Spotting Scope
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bainbridge Island, WA
Date:May 4, 2010

Great deal.

"The scope is everything it is promoted to be -- light, easy focus, compact, easy set up, super carrying case, good quality. The only drawback is the tripod, which is really only suitable for table-top service. I would recommend this product anytime."
Review 11 for Meade TravelView Zoom Spotting Scope
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:May 8, 2010

Good buy!

Pros: good first scope.
Model Number: Meade TravelView Zoom Spotting Scope
"Our first spotting scope. Light weight but seems fine for birdwatching. Because tripod is light makes it easier to carry when hiking."