Customer Reviews for Schwinn® Broadway Mens Hybrid Bike Blue

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Schwinn® Broadway Mens Hybrid Bike Blue

Features Shimano Easy Fire 21-Speed Shifters, Aluminum Hybrid Frame
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
(out of 8 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 of 8(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Schwinn® Broadway Mens Hybrid Bike Blue
Review 1 for Schwinn® Broadway Mens Hybrid Bike Blue
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009

Make sure the bike fits

"If this is the only bike size that Schwinn sells of this model for Costco, then I have to say that the 18" size is too large for most people of average height. I was really looking forward to enjoying this bicycle, and went out of my way to find one in my area. I even drove to three separate Costco's in one evening just to find one. They are that popular! The problem I found after purchasing it, is that the inseam height is approx. 30". This is fine for a tall rider, but not for us shorter folks (I'm 5'9", 30 inch inseam) Be aware of this if you are ordering online."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Schwinn® Broadway Mens Hybrid Bike Blue
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Avon, OH
Date:August 26, 2009

Fun Ride

Pros: very stylish appearance, luggage rack is a huge bonus.
Cons: full adjustments needed prior to riding
Model Number: Schwinn® Broadway Mens Hybrid Bike Blue
"Very comfortable seating position. The adjustable angle on the handle bars help make for a very nice ride. The gears shift smoothly and quietly. The front fork and seat post shock absorbers are very nice for us older riders. Everything, I mean everything needed adjusting prior to the first ride which was a bit annoying. Once completed though, it was well worth the effort. I did it all myself and was very pleased with the easy instructions in the owners manual. I can't emphasize enough, just take an hour and tighten things up, adjust things like brakes and derailers. Make sure when assembled in the store they actually used tools and not just "hand tightened" everything!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Schwinn® Broadway Mens Hybrid Bike Blue
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 17, 2009

Great value; requires a little maintenance

Pros: great value for the money, comfortable, stylish design
Cons: requires maintenance after a month (minor)
"This bike is by far the best you'll find for the money for a new bike. I've owned other, more expensive bikes, and this one is just as good. You do need to take it to a bike shop after riding it for a couple weeks, but that is true of any bike. They all need time to "stretch," so be aware of this if the brake isn't properly aligned or the gears start to slip out-of-the-box. Once you break it in (as with a good pair of shoes), hopefully you'll find that this is a solid, well-constructed bike, as I have. I've been riding mine for two months now, and I am very pleased with my purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Schwinn® Broadway Mens Hybrid Bike Blue
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City
Date:May 30, 2009

Poor Quality

Pros: looks good comfortable ride
Cons: poor quality
"Had this bike for about a month before returning it due to pedals coming off. Not a good thing when you're riding! Decided to exchange it for another identical bike. One week later I returned it because of a bad bearing and gears did not shift at times. Decided not to exchange this time. Went to a bike shop and bought another brand. Would not recommend this bike. Looks good, comfortable ride, but not reliable quality, which Schwinn used to have."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Schwinn® Broadway Mens Hybrid Bike Blue
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mendota Heights, MN
Date:August 7, 2009

Good Bike-Needs Assembly

"Great bike, but you will need to take it to a bike shop to get it tuned up after you buy it. The bikes are asemebled at the store, but they don't tighten everything like you would expect. I failed to read the directions and had a loose pedal strip out the crank shaft. Costco was kind enough to exchange it, but what a waste of time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Schwinn® Broadway Mens Hybrid Bike Blue
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Montgomery, Alabama
Date:September 11, 2009

Too tall for 29" inseam

Pros: nice bike
Cons: designed for the 5'10" and taller
Model Number: Schwinn Broadway 700C
"I purchased this bike about two months. I have a 29" inseam and I have to lean the bike about 20 degrees to my left to mount it.
Once on board only my tip toes touch the ground. My first time out did not go well. When I attempted to stop , my feet couldn't find the ground and over I went.
The tall 700C tires add to this problem
I have to admit that it's been a few decades since I've ridden a bike, so "pilot error" may be a factor.
I plan on getting a standard seat stem that goes about 1 and a half inches lower and deep six the suspension stem.
I stil have fond memories of my 24" Murray with coaster brake.
O well, you can never go back!"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Schwinn® Broadway Mens Hybrid Bike Blue
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:La Mesa
Date:November 22, 2009

Beware of Costco Assmebled Bikes

"I purchased this bike from the costco store, preassembled. I imagined - how hard could it be to assemble a bike? My pedal pulled out of the crank - dethreaded the crank - within a few weeks of use. I also began noticing improperly assmbled components - loose handlebars, breaks that needed readjusting, etc. My advice to you if you're reading this - either assemble the bike yourself, or go somewhere else for your purchase. I returned the bike to the La Mesa costco in the hopes of finding one of the many that would be assembled correctly. They all had the same issues when I inspected them in the store. Every one! Stay away from costco assembled bikes."
Review 8 for Schwinn® Broadway Mens Hybrid Bike Blue
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fayetteville, TN
Date:June 23, 2009

Great bike at a modest price!

Model Number: Item # 409552
"I have owned this bike for a few weeks now and continue to be impressed. I bought it at the Huntsville (AL) Costco store when I saw it on display. It is well crafted and smooth riding. The shifters and brakes were properly adjusted when I first rode the bike -- no adjustment required. I had originally planned to change the saddle, but it is so comfortable I have decided to keep it as is. I ride mostly on rough pavement and the shock absorbing fork and seat post are a real godsend.
I would highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a modestly-priced sport bike."