Customer Reviews for Sharp AQUOS 40" 1080P LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sharp AQUOS 40" 1080P LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1920 x 1080 4 HDMI Inputs Energy Star Rated
Average Customer Rating:
2.889 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
5 of 9(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sharp AQUOS 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Sharp AQUOS 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 3, 2009

Great TV

Pros: picture, sound, price
Cons: 6ms response time
"I am not sure what these consumers who are having issues is talking about.1-Great product for the money. Mine works fine after 14 months and 2-Costco exxtend the warranty to 2 years so take it back to Costco! or have them help you with your issues. That's why we shop at Costco! Right?"
Review 2 for Sharp AQUOS 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2009

good tv

"have this tv for 4 months . very happy!!!
had vizio before.when it went out no repair shops want to work on them they don't even have replacement parts for them !!!!"
Review 3 for Sharp AQUOS 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tacoma WA
Date:November 15, 2009

Save time and money and don't buy a Sharp TV

"We bought a Aquos for the bedroom the first year was fine...two months out of warranty we lost the picture. I called Sharp for help and after months of frustration the conclusion was that it was not repairable due to the fact the part was no longer available. Sharp then offered me a remanufactured Tv for 475.00 but with a 30 day warranty. Hmmmm No thank you. When you spend this much $$ do you want your investment to last longer then a year?"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sharp AQUOS 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2009

Don't buy SHARP

Model Number: LCC4067UN
"Nothing but problems. Sound goes out severial times an hour. I wish I didn't buy this TV. Learn from my mistake and buy something else. This TV has a low rating for a reason. Please check with Consumer's Report before buying a TV. I also bought a VIZIO from COSTCO and love the VIZIO."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sharp AQUOS 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MA
Date:August 27, 2009

Stay Away From Aquos

Model Number: Sharp Aquos
"I bought 2 sharp aquos tv's.
2 months out of warranty (without an extended warranty) , my aquos is dead and i'm stuck with the repair/replace bill.
If your still in warranty , extended it. My experience is these DO NOT LAST."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sharp AQUOS 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:August 14, 2009

Great TV

"We bought this TV to upgrade from our 20" tube TV. It has a great picture when you're viewing HD programming. The sound quality is so-so, but adequate for a small living room or a large bedroom. If you hook it up to a stereo system, it'll be a much better experience. Also, I read comments about the remote ease of use, we use a universal remote, so no issues there. Great value for the price and definitely recommend it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sharp AQUOS 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:August 10, 2009

Good Value

Pros: easy setup, good picture quality, add a cheap antenna to view over the air hdtv!
Cons: tricky remote, hard to enter favorite channels, could be more flexible with naming inputs
Model Number: LCC4067UN
"I purchased this 40" television as an upgrade from my old 19" CRT tube TV, and I don't regret it one bit.
I've used very very nice monitors before and I can tell you that the quality on this set is pretty nice. The range of ports is nice and it's pretty easy to use. The screen itself is nice and bright with good contrast. The dynamic setting can be a bit weird at times in that you actually notice it getting brighter or dimmer, but it's not overly distracting. The color red looks a little blown out at times, so it might take some adjustments to make it look right. The sound is adequate for a TV this size; the quality is good at higher volumes.
It displays regular TV content just fine, but when you hit upon an HD channel you WILL know the difference! Regular DVD's look better than normal TV channels, but hi-def channels definitely look the best. That said, I think this TV handles low-def content well. I hooked up my laptop via and HDMI connection and I couldn't be happier. I tried using the D-sub plug for PC's, but I couldn't ever get it to look right.
Some things I don't like are the remote, which has tempermental buttons, the labeling of plugs/ports, and the favorite channel system. The remote is OK, but the buttons seem to be very picky about how you push them. It's hard to describe. You can label the inputs so when you go to select them, you can pick TV, DVD, PC, etc. The only catch, is that the d-sub is the only one that can be a PC. That's the one I don't use! Lastly, there's a way to assign favorite channels to specific buttons (A,B, C, D). You have to first go to the channel you want, THEN navigate a bunch of menu options to save it. In order to go to the next, you have to exit out of the menu, actually go to your channel, and repeat. You should be able to just hold down your favorite button for 2-3secs to indicate you want to save it. Either that, or have a mode where you can easily enter in all your favorites using the numbers on the remote.
Aside from that, I think this is a nice TV set and think most people will be happy with it. One more thing, make sure to keep the receipt and paperwork to utilize Costco's awesome return policy, should you need it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sharp AQUOS 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area
Date:August 9, 2009

Not Up to Costco Standards

Cons: costco is a+ about returns.
"Two major issues:
Every human looks like they're wearing too much blue eyeshadow.
Volume is not high enough, except during some commercials. Even at full volume some dialog cannot be heard. I think the tv needs to be returned, husband disagrees.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sharp AQUOS 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Boston
Date:July 31, 2009

Good buy but...

Pros: good picture & sound
Cons: useless remote
Model Number: Sharp LC-C4067U
"The TV itself is nice. The overall pic quality is really good, and the screen is the perfect size. And it is a Sharp after all. However, the remote is pretty much useless. First and foremost it is not a universal remote, so if you have a DVD player or anything else hooked up to the TV, you'll need the remotes for each of them. The remote for this TV won't operate them. Also, it does not glow in the dark or have a back light so it's impossible to use it at night. I just had to go out and spend more money on a good universal remote."