Customer Reviews for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer

Print/Scan/Copy/Fax
Average Customer Rating:
3.941 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
(out of 17 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
13 of 17(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Review 1 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Delray Beach, FL
Date:August 1, 2012

Okay so far

Pros: when functioning properly prints nicely and quick
Cons: installation took too long, errors reading the paper tray
"Purchased to use on a small network, in small business. Set-up on network was difficult, took 4 hours missing right drivers even though it came with drivers cds. Less than 2 weeks and getting error message that paper try is empty when in fact it is full. Giving it a little more time to see if it needs to go back.
Network is only 3 computers, so sad it dosn't seem to be performing better. Use is about 1,000 pages a month."
Review 2 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:July 23, 2012
Model Number: MFC-8890DW
"Scanned very well, prints very well
Can scan entire booklet to photoshop image
Seems like a great MFC printer.
"
Review 3 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 20, 2012

brother mfc 8890dw

"I couldn't get it to work wirelessly and neither could my it guy at $1509 per hour but the wired network works fine."
Review 4 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northridge, CA
Date:February 9, 2012

Excellent buy for home office!

Pros: has many settings for scanning various documents
Cons: envelope print feeds out to back
Model Number: Brother MFC-8890DW
"My husband and I use this printer every day for our home business. It scans easily including two sided documents as well as two sided faxing. I love the wireless connection and it enables my two college kids to use this printer when they are home during winter/spring/summer break without too much hassle. This printer is compatible with Windows and Mac computers and has been invaluable!"
Review 5 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Nevada
Date:February 9, 2012

Good but limited printer

Model Number: MFC8890DW
"I own three Brother printers for my small business. I found them much more reliable that the HP printers I used to have. I bought this Brother when my last HP developed problems. The problem I had with this Brother was with the severe wrinkling of envelopes and overheating of the printer after printing 10 envelopes. I looked in the owner's manual and saw what the problem was. This Brother is designed to only print envelopes that must be moistened to seal, like the old postage stamps that had to be licked or needed a wet sponge. It is not designed to print self-sealing envelopes. I send out 500-1000 envelopes each month in my business and cannot waste money to pay people to moisten each envelope to seal it. I use self stick envelopes that are sold at Costco which saves time and reduces mess. For this reason I returned the printer to Costco and cannot recommend it to people using the more up-to-date self-sealing envelopes."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:January 3, 2012

Good Printer

Pros: easy to install
Cons: printing on letters
Model Number: Brothers MFC-8890DW
"So far this has been a good printer and was easy to install and get going. It replaced my HP which died. Only negative so far is that it wrinkles envelopes when printing directly on them. I am pleased with the purchase."
Review 7 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Daytona Beach, FL
Date:November 3, 2011

Good Machine

Model Number: MFC-8890DW
"I picked this 4-way machine mostly because of the high review ratings. I've only had it a couple of weeks and it's been working great. I'll give it about 6 months then give it another review."
Review 8 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:October 23, 2011

Do not buy for Mac

Pros: printing, scanning
Cons: wireless networking, brother support
Model Number: MFC-8890DW
"The equipments works great with windows but does not work with a Mac. The brother service is absolutely horrible. Expect very long hold times and after deleting the printer and installing the printer twice was told someone will call next week. Get a HP or Canon."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:September 21, 2011

Unbeatable

Pros: reliability, fast multiple sheets, workhorse, did i say reliable?
Cons: none
Model Number: MFC-8890DW
"This printer is in a league of its own: Ultra reliable, excellent quality, fast copies, and a heavy duty workhorse...for the price, there is no equal... 'nuf said."
Review 10 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, Texas
Date:May 10, 2011

Great All-in-One

Model Number: MFC-8890DW
"Pros: Fast print and scan. Wireless, after a tedious setup, works great. iPad2 application was flawless allowing scan into and print out of iPad.
Cos: Set up. But all these machines are tedious to set up. Don't know why they can't make a simple software interface to set up fax and network settings.
Overall: Great small business machine at a great price."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:May 9, 2011

Great All in One

Model Number: MFC-8890DW
"We've had this for about 1 month now and this multifunction printer is fantastic. Our old Samsung unit had many problems with its auto document feeder. This Brother unit has a great feeder, makes fast copies, and is very user friendly. We have not installed any software and use it primarily as a copier & fax."
Review 12 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:March 3, 2011

castle

Model Number: mFC-8890DW
"I am a Business owner, after having tried and owned all brands of all in one machine I would recommend this product without a doubt .
thank you
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:December 6, 2010

Great purchase

"I use this printer for my business and I love it!
I does everything I need and more, I am still discovering new things it can do after a month!
"
Review 14 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Renton, WA
Date:June 10, 2010

Reliable, versatile printer

Pros: reliability, low cost of toners
Cons: may not work with certain router settings
"I have used Brother MFC-8460N and MFC-8660DN for years with much satisfaction. I have decided to add MFC-8890DW. These printers are very reliable and versatile for everyday office uses. No fuss and just works year after year (unlike my HP printers which constantly break and fusse about before and after every print job). Included scanning management tool, Control Center, is intuitive and efficient. Built-in double sided scanning feature saves me time and avoids confusion and hassle in scanning dbl sided materials. Consumable cost is much lower compared to many other leading brand printers such as Lexmark.
The only problem I had with these Brother MFC printers including 8890DW is that they do not work on the network if Advanced DNS Service (Optional, under internet settings) is turned on in the router setting (my router is D-Link DIR-655). If you are having problem printing after installing this printer on your network (but prints fine if connected directly via USB port) such as extremely slow printer response or no response at all, I recommend checking you router settings. If you see Advanced DNS Service, you would want to turn it off."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Spokane
Date:February 25, 2010

Jammer

"We have had 2 of these machines and both jammed and creased the paper. Not a good machine for office use. You might not mind a creased page or two if you don't use it that often."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:December 17, 2009

Best bang for the buck

Pros: economical, easy to operate
Cons: takes a little time to setup
Model Number: Brother MFC-8890DW
"Purchased it over a year ago and works without a hitch. Great product."
Review 17 for Brother MFC-8890DW Black and White Duplex Wireless All-in-One Laser Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:May 31, 2009

MFC-8890W performance

Pros: scanning multiple pages with the click of a button
Cons: scanner cuts of up to 5mm off the top of document
Model Number: MFC-8890DW
"I bought this Multi Function Device a couple of weeks ago. I mainly bought it so I can digitize paper documents into pdf files for storage. I use the printer of the device but that wasn't the critical function I bought it for. The device prints fine from what I can tell. I definitely like the ability to throw multiple pages into the Automatic Document Feeder and have them all scanned and saved as a pdf file with the click of one button. The software interface is simple and easy to use. It's actually a little too simple. I would like to see an advanced user mode where one can set some of the more advanced scanning functions.
The device has one major draw back. I called Brother to confirm that this is not actually a problem with my unit but alas based on their response it appears to be how the device functions. The scanner cuts 3-5 mm off the top of a scanned page. I didn't realize how many documents that affects until I scanned a bundle of miscellaneous documents. Most of them ended up with missing information at the top of the page. This is the reason why I cannot recommend this device and will probably end up returning it thanks to Costco's friendly return policy.
The other issue I've had is when scanning pages to a pdf at 600x600 dpi and the trying to print those pages to another pdf usin adobe acrobat all I get is an error log reporting there is problem with the scanned file. Brother points to Adobe as the culprit and Adobe points to Brother. This is not a show stopper but is annoying."
21 of 22 people found this review helpful.