Customer Reviews for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™

Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 30,000:1 Bravia Engine 2™
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
(out of 28 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
25 of 28(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Review 1 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2009

Expensive for its class, but worth it!

Pros: slim bezel not glossy, excellent picture quality, rich black levels, nice backlight control
Cons: expensive for its class
Model Number: 46VL160
"I was skeptical about buying this TV especially since you can find 52" ones with older technology (from last year) for even less money. At its current price, this LCD panel is by far expensive for it's class, however so far it has delivered an incredible picture quality. Blacks are genuinely BLACK, not some off grey because you needed to turn up the brightness. Speaking of which, the backlight has it's own setting which can be manipulated while maintaining a decent brightness level. It's just loaded with features and options for tweaking the picture, sound, inputs, etc. I would rank it among the "prosumer" varieties of TVs that sony makes given the amount of control you have over settings in the menus. I probably will never use all them! Price aside, you get what you pay for, including the excellent costco extended warranty. I think this TV has great value and quality. This is one great LCD panel."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ladera Ranch, CA
Date:August 30, 2009

Great TV

Pros: build quality picture quality sound design
"I was between the Panasonic 50" Plasma and this Sony, and decided on this because of a recommendation from the repair guy who was going to repair my old 36" HDTV. Without even thinking about it, he said go with the Sony. He told me that Panasonics are more expensive to repair and he sees more of them with problems.
Anyway, I got it today and set it all up. I was very disappointed to see the picture was nothing like the display in the store. I tried all picture settings, and could not get the brightness I remember seeing. I was ready to return the Sony and order the Panasonic, and then I saw someone on the Costco website mentioned to turn off the light sensor. That was great advice and now I am 100% happy with my purchase! This is a great TV once you get the picture exactly how you want it!
Highly recommended."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2009

Excellent TV - Very Happy

"Excellent TV, extremely happy with pictures and features.
Was a bit concerned before I purchased with one review I read about viewing angles but found absolutely no problem, can see from any (standard LCD) angle.
I give the same advice as someone else who commented about the light sensor, be sure to turn off, or at least be aware that it exists and adjust accordingly, makes a huge difference.
All in all, strongly recommend, great picture. For what its worth, after chatting with an in store associate for about 1/2 hour who really seemed to know his stuff, his recomendation in order of preference for the 46" they were carrying:
1) Sony
2) Vizio (yes, the newest Vizio)
3) Samsung
4) Sharp
"
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minnetonka, MN.
Date:September 21, 2009

Very Nice LCD

Pros: flexability and reliability, 2 year warranty, 90 day return policy
Cons: no direct wireless connection
Model Number: Sony KDL-46VL160
"Like others I was compairing specifications on new LCD's and Plasma tv's and their reliability. This Sony is actually built on the KDL-46Z4100 which has a very good record. After watching Plasmas and the Sony I purchased the Sony. Very good choice.
However to get the most out of the TV you will need to adjust the picture settings to the input or source used.
Below you'll find the settings that were found best for viewing the Sony KDL-46Z4100 aka KDL-46VL160 in a completely dark room via the HDMI input with a 1080p, film-based source. Your settings may very depending on source, room conditions, and personal preference. Check out the Picture settings and calibration FAQ for more information.
Settings:
Picture Mode: Cinema
Backlight: Min
Picture: 94
Brightness: 53
Color: 55
Hue: 0
Color Temperature: Warm2
Sharpness: Min
Noise Reduction: Off
MPEG Noise Reduction: Off
Advanced Settings menu:
Black Corrector: Off
Advanced C.E.: Off
Gamma: Off
Clear White: Off
Color Space: Standard
Live Color: Off [grayed out]
White Balance menu:
R-Gain: 0
G-Gain: 0
B-Gain: -1
R-Bias: -2
G-Bias: -4
B-Bias: 1
Motion Enhancer: Off
CineMotion: Auto 1
Game Mode: Off
Video/Photo Optimizer: Video
General Setup menu
Power Saver: Off
Light Senor: Off
"
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:July 1, 2009

All the right stuff

Pros: great picture plus non-reflective screen and bezel
Cons: turn off the light sensor
Model Number: KDL46VL160
"Great HDTV at a great price. Looking at the Sony website, this TV looks to be an updated version of last years' Z-series, sold in warehouses only. 120hz motion flow, 10-bit processor and Bravia-2 engine are items found in the more expensive XBR series. Unlike the current design trend, this TV has a slim, non-reflective bezel and low-reflective screen, making it the perfect choice for brightly-lit rooms with lots of windows. Turn OFF the light-sensor option - it can make the picture look poor and limit the viewing angle."
27 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:GR Michigan
Date:September 21, 2009

Outstanding Value and Picture

Pros: picture, warranty from costco
Cons: audio/sound
Model Number: KDL-46VL160
"After many months of you research I landed on the Sony KDL-46VL160. This is replacing a Toshiba HD LCD 42" model. To get the best picture make sure you have it set for "Vivid" and disable the "Light Senor" setting. I would represent the audio out-put isn't as good as the Toshiba it replaced. One advantage of purchasing this from Costco is the warranty (which is 2 years). Everywhere else I checked was 1 year. And if you make your purchased with an America Express Card this is extended to 3 years. Anywhere else this would have added hundreds of dollars to the purchase to have a manufacturers warranty for 3 years."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bronx, NY
Date:September 28, 2009

What a dream!!!

Pros: picture, reliability, excellent warranty coverage w/ 2yr+amex=3yrs
Model Number: Sony Bravia KDL-46VL160 46”
"Bought this TV plus Sony BDV-T11 (Blu-ray Home Theater). Now, I can put a DVD in, and it turns on TV and starts playing onscreen! No menu surfing. Very nice! Easy out-of-the-box setup. As other reviewers mentioned...Turn off light sensor!!! Sony should disable this feature. It really does make the picture quality look really bad. Thanks to previous reviewers for mentioning this. You save me hours of grief.
My main concern was reliability. I heard about most reliable being the three "S":
-Sony
-Samsung
-Sharp
I saw too many posts mentioning Sharp power supply failures. Same for some Panasonic plasmas from last 2-3 years. Also heard some complaints about some of the Samsung models. Much less with this Sony model. So, I decided to buy it. I hope this post helps. God bless you and good luck!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando
Date:June 17, 2009

Unbelievable Picture

Model Number: Sony Bravia KDL-46VL160
"This 120 Hz LCD from Sony has an AWESOME picture! High contrast, brilliant colors, and virtually no motion blur or pixelation. The backlit remote is fantastic, with large easy to read buttons. Setup is breeze and watching 1080p Blu-ray, DirecTV, or OTA or broadcast looks 3D it is so realistic and lifelike. With Costco extending the warranty to 2 years this is a fantastic buy."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bethesda, MD
Date:June 26, 2009

Awesome TV

Pros: sony equipment integration, great sharpness, amazing contrast
Model Number: Sony Bravia KDL-46VL160 46”
"I had previous version Bravia flatscreen and a VIZIO, I was happy but this one is AMAZING, great clarity amazing definition and all the features like TV guide is really cool.
I went back and got 2 more of them and replaced all my flatscreens.
This one is clasified as VL series but it compares to the Z series which has all the features of this one."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:June 7, 2009

Sadly disappointed in this Sony TV!

Pros: very slim for a 46" tv; only 42 1/2" wide, very nice remote that works with sony blu-ray, easy to use on screen menu.
Cons: no sharpness setting unless set on custom., picture is not clear and is poor on blu-ray, very expensive
Model Number: KDL-46VL160
"This TV has an EXTREMELY narrow horizontal viewing angle! Even walking across the mere 42 inches that the TV is wide washes out the picture as you move to the side. Anyone watching from any angle in the room except directly in front of the TV is looking at a faded, milky looking picture. The viewing angle is better vertically though, so if you like to sit on the floor to watch, it should be fine. The overall picture is disappointing on Blu-ray discs as well. Our basic 37" 60 Hz Vizio has a very wide viewing angle and a much clearer, sharper picture that almost looks 3D. Even though it was much more expensive, we chose the Sony for it's very narrow profile, and because of the mixed reviews of the 47" Vizio. After trying it or a month to see if we could get used to it, we will be returning it for the Vizio. If that TV is at all like our other Vizio, we won't be disappointed!"
7 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kissimmee, Fl.
Date:September 15, 2009

MORE THAN SATISFIED

Model Number: KDL46VL160
"Great picture, even better than expected. I would reccomend this TV to anyone considering the purchase of a new HD TV."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mission Viejo, CA
Date:October 4, 2009

Best option for tight space

Pros: big sharp picture. programmable remote., stylish cabinet. inputs galore.
Cons: needs more program codes for remote.
Model Number: KDL-46VL16
"I have a large entertainment center I wanted to keep, but the space for the TV was only 43" wide. That narrowed my choices to either 42" screens, or 46" screens with narrow bezels, and I really preferred getting the larger size. Unfortunately, 46" screens with thin bezels are only manufactured by Toshiba, Mitsubishi and Sony. Both Toshiba and Mitsubishi have had reliability problems with these screens, so I started looking at the Sonys, which generally come at a price premium. Costco's sale leveled the playing field, especially with the extra year of warranty thrown in for free.
As for the TV, the feature set is generous. This thing comes with every possible port, including ethernet, VGA and 4 HDMI ports. The picture is fantastic, but you MUST turn off the light sensor, or it will appear washed out. The picture looks positively massive, taking up almost every last inch of the space available in my entertainment center. The matte-finished frame is so narrow, the picture almost appears to float in the air. In addition, there is no glare, a real plus in a family room that has lots of french windows.
One nice plus is that a custom picture setting can be programmed for each input, including an extra game setting for XBox 360s and PS3s. Next-gen gaming will blow you away on this set. Also, the free built-in program guide is a bit gimmicky, but handy, and the price is right.
The only downside so far is that Sony doesn't provide a program code that allows my JVC receiver to be controlled by the included programmable remote.
Otherwise, this is an amazing deal."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:September 21, 2009

Sound leveler issue

Model Number: KDL-46VL 160
"Worked beautifully without adjustments right out of the box. Super easy setup. Easy to use Remote.
As mentioned by other reviewers, screen and bevel's matt surfaces are wonderful for room's with glaring lighting. Almost no detracting reflections.
TV Guide EPG is wonderful. However, does not have feature of lighting a cell to have the TV turn on at the beginning of a desired program. But this set has other less convenient timing features to accomplish the same thing.
Sound leveler technology will not work if you send the TV's sound to your own receiver/amp. As an apartment dweller I desparately needed sound leveled commercials to avoid bothering my neighbors. Very disappointed!
Base does not swivel or tilt."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:October 26, 2009

As Good as 52" XBR4 From 1.5 Years Ago

Pros: compact, 3 rear hdmi ports
Cons: average sound
"I mounted this TV on a large Simplicity fully-articulated wall mount (available at some Costco stores) and was able to mount it by myself because it weighs less than 50 pounds. Because of the thin bezel (1", except for 3" on the bottom), I am able to easily swing it out from the wall at a 45 degree angle in a limited space. Setup was quick and easy and I have not had any viewing angle problems, even with the ambient light sensor on. The picture seems to match the XBR4 that I bought 1.5 years ago, at 1/3 the price! Colors are beautiful with all settings on "standard", and the Motionflow works great on football games. Bravo Sony!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hemet, CA
Date:September 29, 2009

Almost Perfect

Model Number: KDL-46VL160
"This is my third Sony LCD and I'm not dissapointed. Initially, I was concerned that the picture appeared faded, milky looking. I reset picture settings in the menu, but no change. Sony advised that I reset factory settings as there were no software updates pending. With the TV on, while holding in the up arrow on the remote, I pressed and released the power on the side on TV. After the TV came back on, I released the up arrow on the remote and completed the setup. The TV is now perfect! Great picture."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:KC, MO
Date:October 26, 2009

Excellent Picture quality

Pros: picture quality, price
Cons: contrast ratio behind current models
Model Number: Sony Bravia KDL-46VL160
"This TV had better viewing angle and contrast (when viewing) than my SAMSUNG LCD (which has a contrast ratio of 50,000K:1). The 120HZ motion produces less artifacts than my SAMSUNG.
DLNA, x.v.color & Ethernet connectivity are real Plus.
After some fine tuning it produces great sound. Backlit remote control is good.
My PC looks great in this TV (have a HD card in my computer & connected via D-Sub)
For the price it is a great TV."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fresno, Ca
Date:June 24, 2009

Great TV

Model Number: KDL46VL160
"This is our first LCD TV. We searched and researched several models and brands. We originally wanted a samsung but when we saw this TV in the store we changed our mind. Sony made a great TV in this one, with plenty of different audio and video connections to hook up all of our electronics to it - Wii, Home Theater, Satellite, DVD etc. What a picture too."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2009
Pros: thin frame, picture quality, four hdmi inputs
Cons: have to go through menu to put sleep timer on
"Fantastic TV,
This is my fourth flat panel and by far the coolest. My Samsung and Sharps just dont have the coolness factor of this set. It is on par picture quality wise with my Samsung which was one of the top rated lcds a couple years ago. But the thin frame just takes the viewing experience to another level. Think about it , the new led lcds are much thinner, looking at them from the side but you dont watch a tv from the side , so looking from the front the thin frame really gives it a totally flat floating feeling.
Try it, believe me you will like this set and if not well its Costco. So no problem!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:November 17, 2009

Great TV Overall

Pros: color-clarity-size
Model Number: KDL-46VL160
"We first thought the color of this TV was not as vibrant as the other Sony TV's we own. It was washed out looking. We were just about to return it, when we came to this site and read someone's review mentioning the same problem. They suggested to turn OFF the light sensor.
Great picture now, great color!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:December 5, 2009

AMAZING TV!!

Pros: style, picture quality, lots of ports, sits up well on stand, easy to set up and use
Model Number: VL160
"We cannot get over how AMAZING the picture on this tv is. We had the 46 S5100 hooked up on the same HD connection before this and the picture difference is night and day. I didn't even have to change any of the settings. I also like how the edges aren't as thick as other TVs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>