Customer Reviews for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™

Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 30,000:1 Bravia Engine 2™
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
(out of 28 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
25 of 28(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Review 1 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:December 8, 2009

It's an Awesome LCDTV but ...

Pros: great vivid picture, great sound, easy to setup
Cons: viewing angle picture washout at 140/145 degree
Model Number: KDL-46VL160
"I just bought the LCDTV about 2 weeks ago. it was very easy to set up and it works great straight out of the box. I had to trun of the light sensors, with the sensor turned off it gives u a brighter picture during the night time as well.. otherwise with sensors it tend to dim the pictures at night time.
Only Problem I noticed is the Viewing Angle , the pictures start to washout after 140/145 degree.which is a bummer.. I will test this further otherwise if this to obvious.. I may take this back to costco"
Review 2 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:December 5, 2009

AMAZING TV!!

Pros: style, picture quality, lots of ports, sits up well on stand, easy to set up and use
Model Number: VL160
"We cannot get over how AMAZING the picture on this tv is. We had the 46 S5100 hooked up on the same HD connection before this and the picture difference is night and day. I didn't even have to change any of the settings. I also like how the edges aren't as thick as other TVs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH area
Date:December 5, 2009

Wow! What a picture!

Pros: picture and sound quality.
Cons: tricky to get used to the menus and remote.
Model Number: KDL-46VL160
"If you are debating whether or not to buy this TV set (been there, done that) let me assure you....yes, you should. The picture and sound quality are phenomenal. We paid for delivery and it arrived in perfect shape. Bought with a free Bravia Home Theater system thrown in, and together it is a WOW!"
Review 4 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2009
Pros: thin frame, picture quality, four hdmi inputs
Cons: have to go through menu to put sleep timer on
"Fantastic TV,
This is my fourth flat panel and by far the coolest. My Samsung and Sharps just dont have the coolness factor of this set. It is on par picture quality wise with my Samsung which was one of the top rated lcds a couple years ago. But the thin frame just takes the viewing experience to another level. Think about it , the new led lcds are much thinner, looking at them from the side but you dont watch a tv from the side , so looking from the front the thin frame really gives it a totally flat floating feeling.
Try it, believe me you will like this set and if not well its Costco. So no problem!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:November 17, 2009

Great TV Overall

Pros: color-clarity-size
Model Number: KDL-46VL160
"We first thought the color of this TV was not as vibrant as the other Sony TV's we own. It was washed out looking. We were just about to return it, when we came to this site and read someone's review mentioning the same problem. They suggested to turn OFF the light sensor.
Great picture now, great color!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Honolulu Hawaii
Date:November 15, 2009

Sony Bravia 46"

Pros: good picture and many features
Cons: none to speak of
Model Number: Sony Bravia KDL-46VL160
"Purchased this model for a master bedroom with the simplicity wall mount. This TV is a nice set for the price. Very good picture quality and features. I have a high end Pro-Series Sony Plasma and the LCD picture is as good in quality. The colors do fade out viewing the screen at an off horizontal angle however, with the adjustment of the wall mount this is not an issue. Fine screen adjustments may be required from the factory settings to suite your personal preferences however the factory defaults are fine out of the box."
Review 7 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto, CA
Date:November 12, 2009

Jaw Dropping Picture!

Pros: scary realistic picture, perfect image
Cons: stand is not pre-attached
Model Number: KDL-46VL160
"I need to start by stating I have tried 4 Vizio TVs. I owned the 42" for 2 yrs, and wanted to upgrade.
I had no problems with the Vizio of any kind, so I thought I would stick with the brand.
In October 2009 I bought the Vizio 47" XVT 240HZ. This tv had an amazing picture, for 7 days then the black turned red. This set is being discontinued (it seems) its hard to find probably becuase 240hz is really a marketing scam. This Vizio still had noticeable blur on action scenes.
So, I returned it to Costco and bought the Vizio 55" 120hz. This TV was HUGE and the picture was not very good at all compared to the 47" Vizio. I mean it was noticeable inferior.
So I set out to find another Vizio 47" XVT 240hz. Finally found the last one at Costso...Unfortunately the image quality on this 2nd one wasn't anywhere near the first one that went bad.
So, I finally decided Vizio quality simply wasnt meeting my expectations.
I bought this Sony KDL-46VL160 -- there's no turning back!
The color, the clarity, the image contrast is so far superior to Vizio, I cant believe it. In the Costco store its impossible to tell the difference between the sets, and I am always distracted by the smell of yummy pizza anyway!
But seriously, I paid the SAME for the Sony as the Vizio, and the Sony's far superior picture is worth all the hassle of returning the previous TVs (and believe me its a hassle!).
The only issue I have found with the Sony is with picture-in-picture. The only option is to use it with your computer (which looks amazing on my MacBook) and view a "tv channel" in the smaller window which is crazy! I am using HD/HDMI cable, so as a workaround, I connected a coax cable from the cable box to the Sony, so its not too bad.
SAVE yourself the back and forth returning other TV brands, Sony is worth it -- hands down!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:KC, MO
Date:October 26, 2009

Excellent Picture quality

Pros: picture quality, price
Cons: contrast ratio behind current models
Model Number: Sony Bravia KDL-46VL160
"This TV had better viewing angle and contrast (when viewing) than my SAMSUNG LCD (which has a contrast ratio of 50,000K:1). The 120HZ motion produces less artifacts than my SAMSUNG.
DLNA, x.v.color & Ethernet connectivity are real Plus.
After some fine tuning it produces great sound. Backlit remote control is good.
My PC looks great in this TV (have a HD card in my computer & connected via D-Sub)
For the price it is a great TV."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:October 26, 2009

As Good as 52" XBR4 From 1.5 Years Ago

Pros: compact, 3 rear hdmi ports
Cons: average sound
"I mounted this TV on a large Simplicity fully-articulated wall mount (available at some Costco stores) and was able to mount it by myself because it weighs less than 50 pounds. Because of the thin bezel (1", except for 3" on the bottom), I am able to easily swing it out from the wall at a 45 degree angle in a limited space. Setup was quick and easy and I have not had any viewing angle problems, even with the ambient light sensor on. The picture seems to match the XBR4 that I bought 1.5 years ago, at 1/3 the price! Colors are beautiful with all settings on "standard", and the Motionflow works great on football games. Bravo Sony!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mission Viejo, CA
Date:October 4, 2009

Best option for tight space

Pros: big sharp picture. programmable remote., stylish cabinet. inputs galore.
Cons: needs more program codes for remote.
Model Number: KDL-46VL16
"I have a large entertainment center I wanted to keep, but the space for the TV was only 43" wide. That narrowed my choices to either 42" screens, or 46" screens with narrow bezels, and I really preferred getting the larger size. Unfortunately, 46" screens with thin bezels are only manufactured by Toshiba, Mitsubishi and Sony. Both Toshiba and Mitsubishi have had reliability problems with these screens, so I started looking at the Sonys, which generally come at a price premium. Costco's sale leveled the playing field, especially with the extra year of warranty thrown in for free.
As for the TV, the feature set is generous. This thing comes with every possible port, including ethernet, VGA and 4 HDMI ports. The picture is fantastic, but you MUST turn off the light sensor, or it will appear washed out. The picture looks positively massive, taking up almost every last inch of the space available in my entertainment center. The matte-finished frame is so narrow, the picture almost appears to float in the air. In addition, there is no glare, a real plus in a family room that has lots of french windows.
One nice plus is that a custom picture setting can be programmed for each input, including an extra game setting for XBox 360s and PS3s. Next-gen gaming will blow you away on this set. Also, the free built-in program guide is a bit gimmicky, but handy, and the price is right.
The only downside so far is that Sony doesn't provide a program code that allows my JVC receiver to be controlled by the included programmable remote.
Otherwise, this is an amazing deal."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:October 3, 2009

Disappointed in viewing angle

Pros: easy to set up, excellent price, 4 hdmi including 3 in rear
Cons: very limited viewing angle
Model Number: Sony KDL-46VL160
"This is a very nice set. Great picture quality. Very easy to set up. Very nice back-lit remote control. All of the positives are overridden by the very narrow horizontal viewing angle. If you sit directly in front of this unit, the picture blows you away. But if you move just a few degrees to the side you will notice an immediate drop off in picture quality....the depth of colors change and they start looking washed out. I'm considering taking this back and buying the 50" Panasonic Plasma."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2009

cable - hdtv?

"I just bought this tv. when i plug the cable (dish, hdtv) into the cable/antennae, the picture is getting cropped. e.g., the food network gets chopped at the "food" symbol and beyond. I have the same dish connected to another HDTV channel using component and it's working fine. pls help"
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:October 1, 2009

Prefer the Samsung

Cons: price is higher than the samsung.
"Personal Preference. But the sound is built in on the Samsung. And it rocks!"
0 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arvada, CO
Date:October 1, 2009

SENSATIONAL TV

Pros: easy set-up, superb clarity
"This is now my 3rd BRAVIA from SONY and the BRAVIA LCD's are sharper, clearer and brighter than any other. I have a 32, 40 and now the 46 which just seems so lifelike! Buy this TV you'll not be disappointed!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hemet, CA
Date:September 29, 2009

Almost Perfect

Model Number: KDL-46VL160
"This is my third Sony LCD and I'm not dissapointed. Initially, I was concerned that the picture appeared faded, milky looking. I reset picture settings in the menu, but no change. Sony advised that I reset factory settings as there were no software updates pending. With the TV on, while holding in the up arrow on the remote, I pressed and released the power on the side on TV. After the TV came back on, I released the up arrow on the remote and completed the setup. The TV is now perfect! Great picture."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bronx, NY
Date:September 28, 2009

What a dream!!!

Pros: picture, reliability, excellent warranty coverage w/ 2yr+amex=3yrs
Model Number: Sony Bravia KDL-46VL160 46”
"Bought this TV plus Sony BDV-T11 (Blu-ray Home Theater). Now, I can put a DVD in, and it turns on TV and starts playing onscreen! No menu surfing. Very nice! Easy out-of-the-box setup. As other reviewers mentioned...Turn off light sensor!!! Sony should disable this feature. It really does make the picture quality look really bad. Thanks to previous reviewers for mentioning this. You save me hours of grief.
My main concern was reliability. I heard about most reliable being the three "S":
-Sony
-Samsung
-Sharp
I saw too many posts mentioning Sharp power supply failures. Same for some Panasonic plasmas from last 2-3 years. Also heard some complaints about some of the Samsung models. Much less with this Sony model. So, I decided to buy it. I hope this post helps. God bless you and good luck!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:September 21, 2009

Sound leveler issue

Model Number: KDL-46VL 160
"Worked beautifully without adjustments right out of the box. Super easy setup. Easy to use Remote.
As mentioned by other reviewers, screen and bevel's matt surfaces are wonderful for room's with glaring lighting. Almost no detracting reflections.
TV Guide EPG is wonderful. However, does not have feature of lighting a cell to have the TV turn on at the beginning of a desired program. But this set has other less convenient timing features to accomplish the same thing.
Sound leveler technology will not work if you send the TV's sound to your own receiver/amp. As an apartment dweller I desparately needed sound leveled commercials to avoid bothering my neighbors. Very disappointed!
Base does not swivel or tilt."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minnetonka, MN.
Date:September 21, 2009

Very Nice LCD

Pros: flexability and reliability, 2 year warranty, 90 day return policy
Cons: no direct wireless connection
Model Number: Sony KDL-46VL160
"Like others I was compairing specifications on new LCD's and Plasma tv's and their reliability. This Sony is actually built on the KDL-46Z4100 which has a very good record. After watching Plasmas and the Sony I purchased the Sony. Very good choice.
However to get the most out of the TV you will need to adjust the picture settings to the input or source used.
Below you'll find the settings that were found best for viewing the Sony KDL-46Z4100 aka KDL-46VL160 in a completely dark room via the HDMI input with a 1080p, film-based source. Your settings may very depending on source, room conditions, and personal preference. Check out the Picture settings and calibration FAQ for more information.
Settings:
Picture Mode: Cinema
Backlight: Min
Picture: 94
Brightness: 53
Color: 55
Hue: 0
Color Temperature: Warm2
Sharpness: Min
Noise Reduction: Off
MPEG Noise Reduction: Off
Advanced Settings menu:
Black Corrector: Off
Advanced C.E.: Off
Gamma: Off
Clear White: Off
Color Space: Standard
Live Color: Off [grayed out]
White Balance menu:
R-Gain: 0
G-Gain: 0
B-Gain: -1
R-Bias: -2
G-Bias: -4
B-Bias: 1
Motion Enhancer: Off
CineMotion: Auto 1
Game Mode: Off
Video/Photo Optimizer: Video
General Setup menu
Power Saver: Off
Light Senor: Off
"
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:GR Michigan
Date:September 21, 2009

Outstanding Value and Picture

Pros: picture, warranty from costco
Cons: audio/sound
Model Number: KDL-46VL160
"After many months of you research I landed on the Sony KDL-46VL160. This is replacing a Toshiba HD LCD 42" model. To get the best picture make sure you have it set for "Vivid" and disable the "Light Senor" setting. I would represent the audio out-put isn't as good as the Toshiba it replaced. One advantage of purchasing this from Costco is the warranty (which is 2 years). Everywhere else I checked was 1 year. And if you make your purchased with an America Express Card this is extended to 3 years. Anywhere else this would have added hundreds of dollars to the purchase to have a manufacturers warranty for 3 years."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Bravia 46" 1080P LCD HDTV Motionflow™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kissimmee, Fl.
Date:September 15, 2009

MORE THAN SATISFIED

Model Number: KDL46VL160
"Great picture, even better than expected. I would reccomend this TV to anyone considering the purchase of a new HD TV."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>