Customer Reviews for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

TV Ears Wireless Speaker System

Dr. Recommended Listening Device Utilizes Voice Clarifying Circuitry
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
(out of 98 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
25
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
12
76 of 98(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Review 1 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sun City Centr, FL
Date:October 5, 2011

Poor voice definition

"Increases volume, but has no treble control.
For people w hearing problems, men's voices are muddled. Only female and higher pitched tones are readily distinguishable.
A disappointment. Had to increase TV volume to distinguish speech from males.
Not suitable for the hearing impaired. Too bad, because I wanted to get rid of head phones.
"
Review 2 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2011

does not work with all TVs

Pros: none
Cons: does not work as advertised
"Purchased unit from Costco, obviously. When it did not work on my Pioneer HDTV, I had to purchase from the distributor, TVEars, their "DAC" digital to analog converter (that's right, they said I had to convert the audio from digital to analog as if it were 30 years ago). No warning on the product info provided by Costco that your TV has to produce analog audio and not digital! Cost me $70 for "DAC" converter plus $10 "shipping" for USPS Priority Mail ($4.95 at your local post office) for their "DAC" converter. No work. Called EarsTV and they said to call TV manufacturer and find out how to change audio on Pioneer TV to ""PCM". Called Pioneer and they laughed. Called EarsTV again and Tech Servicer said I could buy a microphone from them to place next to the Pioneer TV speaker! What a joke! it is now costing me another $4.95 to send EarstTV back their "DAC" converter and I will return the original unit to Costco along with my complaint to Costco for providing bad product info"
Review 3 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Southern Calif.
Date:September 5, 2011

OK, but (TV ears)

Pros: easy set up. may work well for some.
Cons: the box needs two input jacks for earphones
Model Number: not sure. the last one advertised
"Ordered online and arrived quicky. Easy to set up. I ordered primarily because speakers on LCD TV's aren't that great. Had difficulty following conversation, particularly with a number of foreign films, where they are speaking english, but with an accent.
With the box, sound is improved somewhat, but its not that great. There is one input jack for earphones, and that works fine. Only problem is that, if the spouse also wants to hear it thru earphones, she cant unless you buy a splitter. The sound was fine with the splitter thru one set of earphones, but not that good with the other. That could be some other tech issue which I wasn't able to solve without purchasing better earphones. But that seemed like to much of a bother, to say nothing of expense. So, I'm returning the TV ears box. I've had them for about one month.
"
Review 4 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:La Mesa CA
Date:August 24, 2011

TV Ears Wireless Speaker System

"not perfect but better sound for older people
Able to place near person and avoid annoying others in tha same area
"
Review 5 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio
Date:August 24, 2011

Wireless TV speaker

"I bought this for my mother who was having a hard time understanding the TV. It sits on a little stool near her chair and has excellent clarity, easy volume control and is compact. I will probably get one for myself soon."
Review 6 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, CA
Date:August 23, 2011

Great Product

Pros: clear sound, low volume level needed
Cons: need to find the right connection, get use to origen of sound
"It works great. one time I visited my mother and she had the TV very lound and didn't realized it; then I order TV ears, but our tv didn't have exactly the audio conections and it was producing that hamming sound that other reviews descrive, so I connected to the earphone connector input and it sounds great, there is no suond from the tv speakers with this connection, but it's not needed because the tv ears sound is very clear and now my mom use it all the time at a desent level and could listen to music with her mp3 player through the auxiliary audio input. We are very happy with it and recomended to others with need of clear audio from their tv set. She sat it on a lazy susan base and could turn it at any desired direction."
Review 7 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Torrance, CA
Date:August 22, 2011

Turn Down the Volume

Pros: easy to set up, good sound quality for dialogue
Cons: not very decorative, rf interferes with my sony wireless headphones
"My wife used to blast me out of the living room when she turned the TV up so she could hear the words. With this speaker next to the sofa she can hear all of the dialogue at a very low volume. Now the TV is turned down and we're enjoying our shows."
Review 8 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brentwood,TN
Date:August 21, 2011

Very poor reception and sound

Pros: none
Cons: bad sound
"The electronic hum was greater than the sound and I followed all the directions. Not a very good product. Returning for credit, very dissappointed. Not as advertised."
Review 9 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Plymouth, Mi
Date:August 21, 2011

Wish I had bought the product sooner.

Pros: see review comment
Cons: box is larger than i would like
Model Number: TV Ears
"The set up was easy and the sound is very clear. Actually better than I expected."
Review 10 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:wayne, new jersey
Date:August 20, 2011

t v ears

Pros: seteup was simple
Cons: difficulty in reaching customer service
"i have never written a review before but i purchased one for my 87 year old mother-in-law last week, (hard of hearing) and she absolutely loves it. the TV volume has been turned down to a 2, but tv ears sits next to her chair about 15 feet away from the tv, and she can adjust the volume accordingly. i returned to the website to purchase another one for her bedroom. the audio is clearer , especially on the older movies which she watches constantly. now i don't have to listen to her tv from upstairs as well"
Review 11 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2011
"Very good product, made well. It is easy to install. Very good addition to anyones tv that is hard of hearing."
Review 12 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakland County, Michigan
Date:August 19, 2011

Works Well

Pros: now don't need the volume up so high as before., works as advertised.
"We were especially having a problem when music is played over the dialog--this fixed it.
Easy to install. Comes with extra cables and so forth that I did not need.
It has occassional static that I assume is a stray cell phone or other signal.
Because I connected one cable to my cable box and the other to my DVD player, it stays on for sound after I have turned off the TV...and until I turn it off at the Ears receiver (not a problem, just a surprise the first time)."
Review 13 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hunt County, Texas
Date:August 18, 2011

LOVE it

Pros: great in my bad-accoustics room, delivery was superfast
Cons: must have direct path from transmitter to speaker
Model Number: TV Ears Wireless Speaker
"I have the headset - easy to use, easy everything. I have terrible accoustics in my living room. So, when I saw the speaker I thought I'd try it to bring sound across the room where people are sitting. I love it so much, I will buy another. It works facing the tv or opposite direction. I can be 30' away at my kitchen sink and hear the news without blasting out the whole room/house.
It's awesome!
"
Review 14 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hickory, NC
Date:August 17, 2011

It helps!

Pros: keeps the noise down for everyone in the house., voices are so clear.
Cons: it works too good..lol, it's a little larger than i thought it would be.
"My husband wears hearingaids, and it was still a problem for him to understand people talking on the TV. Now, he can keep the TV turned down and I can work on the computer without having to put in earplugs. Problem is...now he keeps it so low, I can't hear it...LOL It's a great product and I just told my sister to get one."
Review 15 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2011

TV Ears

Pros: does what it said
Cons: very sensitive to objects surrounding-gives static
"I am happy with the purchase. Make sure you clear objects between the receiver and the speaker. Leave the speaker at lease one inch away from the wall."
Review 16 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:August 16, 2011

Not for Me

Model Number: 10380/393353 TV ears speaker
"Advertising does not tell you that the speaker must be in direct line of sight with the transmitter for the infrared light signal. That requires the transmitter to be in a highly visible place. Their suggestion is to put it on top of your TV.
Also prohibits you from hiding speaker thus adding clutter to TV and room.
"
Review 17 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Reston, VA
Date:August 14, 2011

Does not work - bad echo

Pros: easy installation
Cons: generates a bad echo
"I had high hopes for this product. I have a hearing impairment, and even with hearing aids, I have difficulty understanding the dialog on TV shows. This appeared to be just what I needed. Upon hooking it up, I found that to not be the case. I have a surround sound system, and the TV Ears system generates an annoying out of phase echo. If I turn off the surround sound, then it is OK. But that is unsatisfactory."
Review 18 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fresno, Cal
Date:August 3, 2011

good investment and reasonable.

"We wife and I are happy, she can cook
and watch and hear the tv with the
exhaust fan running. I dont have to
leave the kitchen because of the high
volume on the tv.
"
Review 19 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:August 3, 2011

It really works

Pros: it works
Cons: needs nearby power plugs
"Bought one for Mom and Dad, who are in their 80's. They love it. No more blasting of the TV volume in the house. Dad keeps the box next to him and, at a very moderate volume, hears everything. Mom sitting nearby hears it as well. Transmitter and receiver seem to work well together. It's fairly tolerant of how much you angle the speaker box to the transmitter. With a a little phone help from me, they got it set up by themselves. They liked it so much, my wife wanted one, so we have one now. Helps pickup the actors lines in a lot of mumbly TV shows.
You have to have a power plug at the speaker/receiver (which is understandable) but if Dad's chair is in the middle of the room, you many not have one nearby."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange, CA
Date:July 26, 2011

Great for TV audio!

Pros: can clearly understand tv dialogue, individual can set own volume
Cons: can't think of any cons
"This is the 2nd TV Ears I have bought. Now I have one upstairs and one downstairs. They are great for hearing the tv audio wherever you are sitting. You can hear it near you and don't have to turn up the volume on the tv. Just turn up the volume on the TV Ears. It does not disturb others around you. It's wonderful for apartments buildings or attached condos! The sound does not disturb neighbors."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>