Customer Reviews for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

TV Ears Wireless Speaker System

Dr. Recommended Listening Device Utilizes Voice Clarifying Circuitry
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
(out of 98 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
25
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
12
76 of 98(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Review 1 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2011

does not work with all TVs

Pros: none
Cons: does not work as advertised
"Purchased unit from Costco, obviously. When it did not work on my Pioneer HDTV, I had to purchase from the distributor, TVEars, their "DAC" digital to analog converter (that's right, they said I had to convert the audio from digital to analog as if it were 30 years ago). No warning on the product info provided by Costco that your TV has to produce analog audio and not digital! Cost me $70 for "DAC" converter plus $10 "shipping" for USPS Priority Mail ($4.95 at your local post office) for their "DAC" converter. No work. Called EarsTV and they said to call TV manufacturer and find out how to change audio on Pioneer TV to ""PCM". Called Pioneer and they laughed. Called EarsTV again and Tech Servicer said I could buy a microphone from them to place next to the Pioneer TV speaker! What a joke! it is now costing me another $4.95 to send EarstTV back their "DAC" converter and I will return the original unit to Costco along with my complaint to Costco for providing bad product info"
Review 2 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:July 17, 2009

Terrific Help

"Got this system for the bedroom to use at night, when I take my hearing aids out.
Was disappointed at first, as I got a horrible buzzing. However, I discovered that while it felt like I had inserted the plug into the unit properly, it still wasn't pushed in all the way. Once I corrected that, it sounded great.
How good is the sound? It sounds pleasant and speech is understandable for me without boosting the volume way up. The wireless is a real plus.
I have the unit placed on the headboard behind me. While this may seem a bad spot, I quickly got used to the new direction of the sound and don't notice that it's not coming from the direction of the TV.
The red lights on the transmitter are a bit bright. Since it's on all the time, it could disturb some folks trying to sleep."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:June 22, 2009

Worth the money...

Pros: attractive compact wireless works well
Cons: none
"The wireless TV Ears works great. It's easy to setup, has a good volume, and best of all...it's wireless. I would recommend this product for those who want to watch tv without waking up others, and especially if you have a hearing problem and need the TV louder than others do.
I have a hearing deficit in both ears (mild mostly), and this works very well. I like the idea that I can have the speaker right next to me while I am watching tv, sports, movie, etc. The speaker is relatively small, and I place it right on the arm of my couch that borders the wall. The great thing about this product is, if someone else is watching a movie with you, you can have this speaker on too, or if you need it really loud, plug in a pair of headphones to the front and you can have the volume as loud as you need it without bothering those with better hearing. They still watch it like they always have!
I recommend this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:August 3, 2011

It really works

Pros: it works
Cons: needs nearby power plugs
"Bought one for Mom and Dad, who are in their 80's. They love it. No more blasting of the TV volume in the house. Dad keeps the box next to him and, at a very moderate volume, hears everything. Mom sitting nearby hears it as well. Transmitter and receiver seem to work well together. It's fairly tolerant of how much you angle the speaker box to the transmitter. With a a little phone help from me, they got it set up by themselves. They liked it so much, my wife wanted one, so we have one now. Helps pickup the actors lines in a lot of mumbly TV shows.
You have to have a power plug at the speaker/receiver (which is understandable) but if Dad's chair is in the middle of the room, you many not have one nearby."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 10, 2009

Helps with voice clarity

"Once you get it set up, it does help with voice clarity. When I first set it up, I plugged it into the analog port of my Vizio HD TV and got a lot of static. This was corrected by plugging it into my U-Verse box. It is nice to be able to plug in earphones if you don't want to disturb anyone else in the house. Do not put the unit near any other wireless devices such as a cell phone, you'll get popping noises."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Monmouth County, NJ
Date:March 12, 2011

Does the Job

Pros: improves clarity of sound
Cons: unit does not turn off when utilizing sleep timer, unit must be placed in line with transmitter
"I purchased this unit for my husband because his diminished hearing caused him to increase the volume on the tv to the point where I could hear it through the house. The unit was easy to install and works very well. It also allows him to hear the tv sound clearer than he did using the tv speakers. A good solution at a fair price."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:July 6, 2011

TV Ears Wireless Speaker System

"Had this over a week now. Works quite well. I have it connected to the amp on my TV sound system, so I can control the audio with a remote.
I have significant hearing loss in one ear and the other is not that good. Although I don't use a hearing aid yet, I wouldn't use them to listen to TV etc. and ear phones are better for that, plus the wife doesn't have to listen to the TV or at least not as loud as I would need it.
I also use the ear phones connection a lot but the speakers are pretty good.
Only issue is there is a hum when the audio system is muted or there is no audio output to the wireless system. Any obstruction to line of site between transmitter and receiver will cause static."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:washington state
Date:September 23, 2009

great product

"great product for the money works just like it is suppose to. the only problem i had was hooking it up. it comes with a double plug in for the sender. it would not work for me with both plugged in.i ended up only needing to have one plug plugged in. nothing in the direction about this."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:December 10, 2010

THE answer for the TV Volume Wars

Pros: sound clarifying technology really works, brings the sound close without needing headphones
Cons: the warranty term seems too short and concerns me, may need to buy the digital audio converter, (a minor inconvenience)
Model Number: TV Ears Wireless Speaker
"The TV Ears wireless speaker is fantastic!
We have only had it a week, so I cannot speak to its quality or longevity.
I bought it for my husband as a Christmas gift, but decided to give it to him early because he was having so much trouble hearing the dialog on our new flatscreen tv. Even after many adjustments on the TV’s equalizers, we had to turn the volume up so loudly to hear the dialog above the new digitally enhanced background music that it was deafening for everyone in the room. He has this little speaker box sitting next to his chair across the room, and it brings the sound right to him. It is facing him, so I cannot even hear that it is on and does not bother me.
Their dialog clarifying chip in it really does work, as he says it makes the words crystal clear, and he no longer needs the volume turned up, even during whispers and bad soundtracks. If you live with someone who has trouble hearing the TV and it’s blasting you out of the room, this is a life-changing product.
If you have a newer TV like ours, with only digital audio out jacks and no analog audio out jacks, you may need to purchase a little digital adapter box from TV Ears to hook it up. i wish Costco would sell these to go along with the TV's they sell. This is easy and small and sits under the little transmitter. Ours is jacked into the back of our tv with a digital optical audio cable which comes with the adapter. It is simple, came quickly and, it took about 5 minutes to hook this up.
We have no problems with interference in our set-up, and tried putting items on top of it and in front of it with no buzz.
My husband is so happy with this, and says he now realizes how tense he was every night straining to hear the television.
I never review products, but just had to submit this to recommend it to others with our same problem. Highly recommended!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Hockessin, Delaware
Date:November 2, 2010

What is the definition of wireless?

Pros: good sound quality
Cons: speaker must be in line of sight of tv transmitter
"I purchased two units. One was gift for my father. My poor father opened the box, saw all the wires and said, please send it back. I installed my unit. It worked ok. The sound quality was good. However, the unit transmits the sound using infrared signal from a box connected to your tv audio out connector to the speaker unit. The speaker must be in a line of sight of the transmitter. This limits the possible locations of the speaker."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westminster Colorado
Date:July 20, 2011

I can finally hear the TV

"I wear hearing aids but would have to crank up the volume on the tv to the point where it was uncomfortable for everyone else, now I can use the speaker to hear everything I have missed, it's great. The earbuds are comfortable and provide excellent sound, even the sender has a cradle to re-charge any extra head sets. This is a must have even if you don't have a hearing loss."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:murrieta calif
Date:January 12, 2011

awsome

Pros: works as discribed, easy to hook up-wireless!
Cons: none
"this product enables me to hear the t v program again. it filters out most of the background noise so i hear what thay say!
most important is the commercials that are at a much higher volume are reduced to the same volume as the t v show. I own one for every t v set in my house. a lot of my friends have bought this product and they love it too!!!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Milford, CT
Date:November 29, 2009

Love It!

Model Number: 10380
"I am so happy with this product that I am buying one for my 88 year old mother. I mute the TV and can hear the sound right next to me. No need to turn it up to cover other noise. I love the fact that I don't need a head set; I can still hear someone calling me or the phone ringing."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Naples FL
Date:October 12, 2009

Great Item with Defect

Cons: far infrared transmission
Model Number: Wireless TV Speaker
"Great speaker built with quality products and has two woofers and two tweeters.
Product would be perfect if the FAR receiver would be built on front of the speaker since it requires line of sight transmission and all objections I have read above would be solved.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Federal Way, WA
Date:March 17, 2011

Best Purchase on line

Pros: yeah wireless speakers
Model Number: 413578
"This is a great product. Wish they were carried in the stores-Costco so I could just pick them up. Thanks for making this available on line or maybe later in the stores. My husband can hear the TV better."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2011

Works as advertised

"Now there is no need to keep the TV volume at deafening volume so a person having difficulty hearing can keep up with what's happening. We use one on each of two TVs."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, Nevada
Date:November 16, 2010

Works great, as advertised

Model Number: TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
"This product works great. I knew what I was ordering and it is exactly what I got, a wireless receiver that needs to be plugged to a wall. I wanted something completely wireless so I did not have to turn up the volume so much, but my son told me that such unit would require and use a great amount of batteries. So, this product was a good alternative, not too expensive and it sounds very good and very clear. I plugged it behind the couch and the wire comes out from under the couch so I can set it on the coffee tables in front or on the sides of the couch. I am very pleased with the unit and I will recommend it to anyone in need of a similar product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakland, CA
Date:May 17, 2010

Elderly mother loves this

Pros: improves sound without turning up volume, easy to install, easy to use
Cons: static when wired
Model Number: Model 10380 / 393353
"I bought this for my hearing-impaired 90+ mother for M'day. She now enjoys TV again. It is very easy for her to use.
We hooked it up on our own TV first; and when connected via the included cable, we got a lot of static. Set up wirelessly, there is no static at all, even with our two cell phones within 10 yards.
I would have given this 5 stars if it worked better when wired up.
We are now considering one for ourselves, as our TV's sound is poor and this unit costs a lot less than a sound system (which I think would be too loud for the room)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Southern Calif.
Date:September 5, 2011

OK, but (TV ears)

Pros: easy set up. may work well for some.
Cons: the box needs two input jacks for earphones
Model Number: not sure. the last one advertised
"Ordered online and arrived quicky. Easy to set up. I ordered primarily because speakers on LCD TV's aren't that great. Had difficulty following conversation, particularly with a number of foreign films, where they are speaking english, but with an accent.
With the box, sound is improved somewhat, but its not that great. There is one input jack for earphones, and that works fine. Only problem is that, if the spouse also wants to hear it thru earphones, she cant unless you buy a splitter. The sound was fine with the splitter thru one set of earphones, but not that good with the other. That could be some other tech issue which I wasn't able to solve without purchasing better earphones. But that seemed like to much of a bother, to say nothing of expense. So, I'm returning the TV ears box. I've had them for about one month.
"
Review 20 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2011

A Great Deal

Pros: great sound, quick setup, a great bargain
Cons: none so far
"I just finished installing this speaker in my living room and it sounds great. The installation couldn't be easier-it took me about 15 minutes as I had to route wires through cabinet shelves to hide them from view. The one caution I'd add is to know if your TV is digital or not. If it is digital, connecting to your TV audio out (RCA) ports will not work! You'll have to connect it to your Cable Box audio out ports instead. After that, just sit back and enjoy the show."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>