Customer Reviews for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

TV Ears Wireless Speaker System

Dr. Recommended Listening Device Utilizes Voice Clarifying Circuitry
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
(out of 98 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
25
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
12
76 of 98(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Review 41 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WEST CHESTER,PA
Date:April 7, 2011

FANTASTIC SOUND

Cons: none
Model Number: WIRELESS SPEAKERS
"THIS PRODUCT IS FANTASTIC, AS MANY OLDER MEN LIKE ME HAVE LOST SOME HEARING. THE BACKROUND NOISE ON TV LIMITS MY ABILITY TO HEAR WHAT THE ACTORS ARE SAYING, NOW I CAN HEAR THEM NICE AND CLEAR WITHOUT TURNING UP THE VOLUME ON THE TV. MY WIFE ALSO CAN HEAR THE DIALOG MUCH BETTER."
Review 42 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Milford, CT
Date:November 29, 2009

Love It!

Model Number: 10380
"I am so happy with this product that I am buying one for my 88 year old mother. I mute the TV and can hear the sound right next to me. No need to turn it up to cover other noise. I love the fact that I don't need a head set; I can still hear someone calling me or the phone ringing."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Springfield, Oregon
Date:April 19, 2011

Perfect fit

Pros: very useful, easy to install, outshanding value
Cons: nothing comes to mind
"As a couple of 80 year olds, our hearing has declined. With the wireless speaker we can both listen or aim it at just one of us without disturbing anyone else. Sound is very good. Installation was a snap -- required splitters.
We use the wireless without wearing annoying earphones.
"
Review 44 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:April 18, 2011

Jury is still out on this one

Pros: good price
Cons: reception so far not good;, receiver big and cumbersome
Model Number: 10380
"I love my TV Ears headsets, so thought I'd try the receiver version too. So far I have a problem with the reception on this model; not nearly comparable to the headsets. But I'm going to try moving it around to see if I can get better reception. If not it will go back to the store."
Review 45 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:washington state
Date:September 23, 2009

great product

"great product for the money works just like it is suppose to. the only problem i had was hooking it up. it comes with a double plug in for the sender. it would not work for me with both plugged in.i ended up only needing to have one plug plugged in. nothing in the direction about this."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2011

Incompatible Useage

"System requires In/Out Audio connections on your TV. Wasted alot of time trying to hook up the system to my home gym TV so we could hear the TV while using our treadmill. Finally called the company and was promptly told that our 19-inch TV is incompatible. Returned the system to Costco."
Review 47 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2010

Not for us

Model Number: 103801
"This wireless box did not work for us.
We have an open great room. We could not set the box near enough for comfort without having wires aross the room. But this might work for others. We returned the item and purchased the individual TV Ears. An excellent purchase. Now we can enjoy it all, especially the movies.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:May 20, 2010

Excellent product

Cons: none
"This product is amazing. My father-in-law is very hard of hearing even with his top of the line hearing aids. We purchased a good set of headphones he can plug into this unit if my mother-in-law doesn't want to hear the TV. I just ordered a second TV Ears Speaker System for a second location in their Senior home."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:August 16, 2011

Not for Me

Model Number: 10380/393353 TV ears speaker
"Advertising does not tell you that the speaker must be in direct line of sight with the transmitter for the infrared light signal. That requires the transmitter to be in a highly visible place. Their suggestion is to put it on top of your TV.
Also prohibits you from hiding speaker thus adding clutter to TV and room.
"
Review 50 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hickory, NC
Date:August 17, 2011

It helps!

Pros: keeps the noise down for everyone in the house., voices are so clear.
Cons: it works too good..lol, it's a little larger than i thought it would be.
"My husband wears hearingaids, and it was still a problem for him to understand people talking on the TV. Now, he can keep the TV turned down and I can work on the computer without having to put in earplugs. Problem is...now he keeps it so low, I can't hear it...LOL It's a great product and I just told my sister to get one."
Review 51 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas
Date:April 18, 2011

Just what I was looking for

Pros: easy assembly
Model Number: 10380/393353
"TV Ears were easy to install and the sound clarity was impressive. The item was purchased for some else who is hearing impaired and she was very pleased - now she can clearly understand what is being said.
Plus the fact that it was received in four days and can be returned to any Costco make this product a good buy for me.
"
Review 52 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nesconset NY
Date:March 17, 2011

TV Ears Wireless Speaker System

Cons: i could not eliminate the static
Model Number: TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
"After reading all the positive reviews I decided to purchase the unit. It was delivered damaged. I did try it out. I had nothing but static in the background, so I returned it. To me the unit was like having another expensive speaker. I'll stay with the volume on my TV cranked up. I won't purchase again, but that is my opinion."
4 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Monmouth County, NJ
Date:March 12, 2011

Does the Job

Pros: improves clarity of sound
Cons: unit does not turn off when utilizing sleep timer, unit must be placed in line with transmitter
"I purchased this unit for my husband because his diminished hearing caused him to increase the volume on the tv to the point where I could hear it through the house. The unit was easy to install and works very well. It also allows him to hear the tv sound clearer than he did using the tv speakers. A good solution at a fair price."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:April 22, 2011

TV Ears

Pros: sharpens the audio
Cons: works on infrared rather a radio frequency, would be nice to have a tone control
Model Number: 10380
"Worked as advertised.
However it transmitts on Infra-red so the reciever/speaker needs to have a clear view of the transmitter on the TV.
I would have preferred a radio frequency unit as the room coverage is better.
The ear buds that were supposed be in the box were missing. TV EARS promptly sent those to me after I notiefied them."
Review 55 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2011

Works Great as Satellite Speaker

"This is a great little addition to our kitchen which is within sight of our TV, but too far to hear anything without blasting the speakers (and people) near the TV. It would have been nice if it were truly stereo (IR wireless transceiver is a single channel - monophonic), but hey, it is what it is, and for the price, it works great."
Review 56 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Date:April 18, 2011

it's the solution I've been looking for

Pros: it does what it's supposed to, it boosts the frequencies i need to hear speech
Cons: ir transmission is a limitation. rf better
"I only had one problem to solve.I could not get enough high-frequency to hear speech clearly in certain parts of movies. I connected this to the center channel line output of my sound system and put the speaker next to my recliner. Now, whenever Russell Crowe starts whispering his lines, I have the volume knob right at my fingertips."
Review 57 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sun City Centr, FL
Date:October 5, 2011

Poor voice definition

"Increases volume, but has no treble control.
For people w hearing problems, men's voices are muddled. Only female and higher pitched tones are readily distinguishable.
A disappointment. Had to increase TV volume to distinguish speech from males.
Not suitable for the hearing impaired. Too bad, because I wanted to get rid of head phones.
"
Review 58 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:murrieta calif
Date:January 12, 2011

awsome

Pros: works as discribed, easy to hook up-wireless!
Cons: none
"this product enables me to hear the t v program again. it filters out most of the background noise so i hear what thay say!
most important is the commercials that are at a much higher volume are reduced to the same volume as the t v show. I own one for every t v set in my house. a lot of my friends have bought this product and they love it too!!!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 59 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CitrusHeights, CA
Date:April 19, 2011

Great Product ?

Pros: great product so far
Cons: will it last?
"EZ setup. On the first day of use it had a loud hum and kept cutting out. I was going to return it. I tried it again on the nexst day and it was perfect. Great clarity. I turn the TV volume way down or off with this product. Now my wife, who has good hearing, says she can't hear the TV and wants me to turn the volume up. What a difference a day makes!"
Review 60 for TV Ears Wireless Speaker System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2011

TV EARS A DISAPPOINTMENT

"After reading the positive reviews, I was disappointed by the performance of the TV Ears product. I used it in the corner of the room opposite a Vizio Sound Bar attached to my HDTV and it just didn't improve the sound clarity whatsoever. The manual said that it can be used with a variety of speaker systems, but probably not. I had to return the product."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>