Customer Reviews for Sharp Aquos 46" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sharp Aquos 46" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Brightness 450cd/m2 Response Time: 4ms
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
(out of 8 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sharp Aquos 46" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Sharp Aquos 46" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Vernia, Texas
Date:August 17, 2009

Great HD picture & easy set up

Pros: picture price & warranty
Cons: none
Model Number: LC-C4677UN
"I initially bought a 47" Vizio and was very disappointed with the picture (grainy). After some on-line homework I decided to give the 46" Sharp Aquos a try. This unit was so good that I purchased a second one yesterday. These tv's work well right out of the box. Great price, unbeatable Costco warranty, and easy set up."
Review 2 for Sharp Aquos 46" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:August 17, 2009

Great Buy

"First, I have to admit that I'm NOT an expert in tv / video. I've never owned a HD tv or a screen bigger than 27-inches. I've enjoyed the 52-inch HD at my neighbor's house, but never owned it.
I did the usual research on screen size, refresh rate, response time, brand name, features, etc. and thought this was a pretty good value (under $1100). Picked it up at the store last thursday and was enjoying non-HD tv on it that evening. Easy to set up and understand. Recently got the HD cable box and it's a big upgrade from non-HD. Picture is great, audio is "fine" (I won't go for surround sound as I can live with the tv speakers). I didn't have to do a lot of color adjusting, either, just a little fine tuning.
Based on what I've seen price-wise and quality-wise, I believe I got a great value. Plus, I have 90 days to return it and double the manufacturers warranty.
"
Review 3 for Sharp Aquos 46" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:July 23, 2009

Great buy, well worth the price

Pros: attractive bezel, great picture adjustment options, variable audio out, clear vibrant picture
Cons: cheap remote
"Great picture, even better price. Nice variable audio out for even basic 2.1 external speakers. Intelligent auto labeling for inputs (labeled my DVD player, PS3 and Xbox automatically).
Unfortunately, this TV comes with the cheapest looking/feeling remote I've ever seen."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sharp Aquos 46" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mesa Az.
Date:July 21, 2009

2nd lcd in 3 yrs

Pros: excellent colorvivid picture
Model Number: LC4677UN sold only at costco
"We first loved this set, great Picture but it is going back tomorrow, the top of the picture now has lines and there are sound issues. Not sure what to try next,but will definately make sure we have extended warrenty,first 40 in Toshiba bit the dust this yr too,line in screen,unrepairable."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sharp Aquos 46" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sparks, NV
Date:July 8, 2009

Best picture i've seen

Pros: amazing picture, amazing price
Cons: sound not so hot, possible mounting issue
Model Number: [Model LC-C4677UN]
"When you look at the TV's at Costco, you take a step back, look at all the TV's and determine which has the best picture. Hands down was this Sharp, as well as the 52" sharp, followed by the 46" Sony Bravia. Everything else seemed a bit "darker" to me while the Sharp picture stood out big time!
Got the thing set up quickly, the 46" weighs significantly less than my 3 year old Samsung plasma! Took me awhile to figure out the picture settings. But once I toyed around with it, it now looks like the picture I saw at the store. I am using the regular Dynamic setting because it changes depending on the resolution that each channel brodcasts. I had to activate some HD settings in my satellite hd box in order to get the broadcasted resolutions to show up correctly. The satellite guy left me on 480p!
The sound is not so hot. Thats one thing you dont really think of when you are in the store. It needs some bass to it. I've got the bass cranked all the way up and it still sounds higher toned than my Samsung.
My old mounting bracket wouldnt work with this tv. I dont remember if the bracket came with different size screws and washers or not but the screws I used on my Samsung were bigger then the ones required for the sharp. I'll need to buy a new bracket anyways, but was hoping to leave the old one where it is to use on the new tv. Hopefully I dont need to buy the official Sharp mounting bracket which costs twice as much as the universal at costco. So the jury is still out on that.
All I need now is a blu-ray surround system and I'm set."
Review 6 for Sharp Aquos 46" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:July 6, 2009

Buy it!

Pros: motion pictures and vivid color
Cons: sound
Model Number: LC46E77U
"I was so shocked by the picture quality.
120 Hz is so easy on eyes and great to watch sport. Setup is super easy. HD channels cannot look any better. I thought the analog channels (? why do I still get analog channels from cox cable after June 12, 09?) wouldn't look too good on it, but it has a few choices to allow you to ajust the way you look at the TV. (side bar, stretch, s strecth, zoom), so the analog pictures still look good to me. One thing I noticed that my old sony 32" LCD (1080i) is louder than this one. I guess this TV meant to be hooked up with sound system. I haven't done this, so I have no right to comment about it at this moment.
"
Review 7 for Sharp Aquos 46" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:June 26, 2009

Good TV for the price

Pros: 120 hz refresh, lighter weight, 5 hdmi, custom name each input source
Cons: stand could be better
Model Number: LCC4677UN
"This is a nice TV for the price. Bought this when I replaced a Vizio that was having problems within 10 days of purchase. Easy to set up with nice menus. Switch through the AV modes - Dynamic (variable) worked best for me. 5 HDMI inputs are ample. Sound could be better but surround sound solves that problem. TV swivels about 10 degrees each side. Stand could have been sturdier. But other than that, the TV is a good one. Is lighter than most TVs its size. Would have liked a USB for pictures. Would recommend this TV to others."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sharp Aquos 46" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:June 24, 2009

Great LCD TV

Pros: anti-glare screen, lots of inputs, optical picture control (brightness), lots of menu options, supports ntsc and pal video, crystal clear picture
Cons: none so far
Model Number: LC-C4677UN
"I was looking for a 42-46" LCD TV with a crystal clear picture and this Sharp Aquos 46" 1080p 120hz has it all.
I have it set up with HD cable, DVR, PlayStation 3, DVD Player, DVD Recorder, and VCR. So there are plenty of connections to hook everything up, and I still have 3 available HDMI inputs!
One of my big requirements was that it be viewable in a room with bright sunlight, and the anti-glare screen copes well with sunlight coming in to the room.
The PS3 Blu-ray picture looks great in 1080p, and the HD cable looks great in 1080i and 720p. Additionally, SD cable content, DVDs and even VHS look good on this TV.
There is an Optical Picture Control feature that automatically senses the ambient room brightness and adjusts the TV brightness accordingly. So the picture dims slightly in a dark room which is easier on the eyes.
There are lots of menu options, AV modes (standard, movie,...), and View modes (stretch, zoom,...) to please folks who like to calibrate the picture, but this TV also works great right out of the box for folks who like to keep it simple.
One final note about a hidden feature - this TV can display PAL (European) format video found on some imported DVDs, as long as your DVD player plays it, and the picture looks great."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.