Customer Reviews for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set

Chrome Finish
Average Customer Rating:
2.4 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
7
6 of 20(30%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Review 1 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Visalia, CA
Date:July 4, 2009

Good Unit Bad Mounting for Me

Pros: nice flow and massage features, good looks
Cons: mounting handheld requires drilling holes, flow cannot be shut off for soaping up, pricy
"The one drawback for me is that the mount as it comes requires that you drill holes to install the holder for the handheld. I am debating as to whether I will do this. I think not.
I am using this set and like that it has the same feature (s) on both units. Pressure does seem to be a bit less on the hand held and yes the hose is short, but no shorter than any other of the two waterpik units I have installed. It does state in the directions that even though it has a flow regulator, in places with flow restrictions, the unit will have that flow restriction feature as required by law and that you may not notice any change when you reduce flow. I wish that Costco would offer a unit like this that you could turn the water off while soaping up. Other than that, go for it. It does have one unique feature, the hose is made of a silver vinyl material, smooth and rather classy. I don't know if this makes the whole thing worth $99 though. Personal preference I guess. The shower heads are nicer, for me, than Waterpik.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arazona
Date:October 4, 2009

Best shower you will ever have

"When I installed this shower head and attachment there was a light spray of water coming out so I decided to remove the flow restricters and it is amazing. The shower and the handheld piece both give you a lot of water and it makes your shower feel great - a real spa expierence!"
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2010

OK but won't keep it

Model Number: 04202005
"It is probably an ok unit but after mounting we found a couple of issues and will return it.
#1 handshower mount is pretty loose and it'd be easy to imagine it falling out of it's clip.
#2 the hose is not very flexible and therefore imparts a lot of it's own ideas re where the handshower should be at rest. And it seemed to stray pretty far from the wall as it hung there, seemed to be potential for inadvertent bumps, leading to #1 above.
#3 the unit came with no instructions at all. Just a box with the parts tossed in, each part wrapped in plastic.
Note, costco had another unit listed here as monsoon, maybe a previous edition of that model by hansgrohe. The current unit does not require you to drill holes in the wall to mount (something an earlier reviewer mentions as a minus)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Jose
Date:May 26, 2010

Overkill

"This product looks very attractive. Two of the modes of operation are good, but the dribble or drissle is useless for my needs. There is no shut off -- just the dribble.
The Hansgrohe model sold in the store (warehouse) has the showerhehead with a flexible hose, but not a fixed showerhead. It works satisfactorily and at $30 less is a better buy.
The instructions in the box were for a different model, so it was a bit confusing at first."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tustin, CA
Date:May 21, 2010

Don't Buy It!

Model Number: Item #417021
"I have owned several Hans Grohe products over the last 20 years. Until now, all were of high quality and generally trouble free (though generally expensive). Costco should discontinue selling this item for several reasons. The instructions that come with the product are incorrect, as noted by several other reviewers...they refer to a model utilizing a wall mount, which I would have preferred. To Costco's credit, they do have the correct instructions online as a .pdf. Please note that this model requires the hand held head to be stored up on the diverter valve. Since my shower stall has a low ceiling and the pipe from the wall is near the ceiling, the hand held head cannot be inserted into the holder without hitting my ceiling. Also, shorter people would have trouble reaching the hand held head in my shower configuration...check to be sure you have room for the proper installation and will be able to reach the wand!
As delivered, the box appeared as if it had been previously opened by someone else and randomly repacked (not well). The hand held hose was damaged (permanently dented in) due to bad packing. The unit is NOT typical Hans Grohe high quality...almost all plastic...even the diverter valve assembly is plastic (not metal)...which is why they tell you NOt to use a wrench to install it. Also, the main shower head requires a 7mm open end wrench. However, unless you have what is known as "thin wall" (not as thick) wrenches you will not be able to use a standard wrench to tighten the head to the diverter valve assembly...bad design on Hans Grohe's part. They did not allow enough space between the shower head swivel ball and the machined flats for a standard wrench to fit! You can try a standard 3/4" wrench, but be careful tightening the head as it may slip off due to being oversize versus the 7mm designed flats.
The product description talks about "6 spray" design, implying 6 different spray choices, but there are only 3. Also the flow control device is basically overridden by Hans Grohe and does not work...they say due to the maximum 2.5 gpm flow restrictions (see instructions). Last, even if you remove the plastic filter screen to try and increase flow rates, the flow from the heads is very anemic, even if you have high water pressure in your home like I do (> 60 psi).
I highly recommend you NOT buy this product!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:June 22, 2009

Failed my Expectations

Model Number: 04202005
"Really disappointed in this product.
The hose is way to short.. For bathing children and pets, the hose only reaches near the bottom of the tub straight down.
And the other problem was trying to hold on to the hand held part, Very large and slippery once wet. I am returning our unit.
"
7 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:DC
Date:May 17, 2010

Instructions are not for this model

Model Number: 0420 2005
"The instructions are for the model where the handheld is on a separate bracket on the wall. The fitting where you could put the handheld on the main stem is upside down which is why people say that the handheld is wobbly as it is tight the other way. There is no way this will work so it is going back. I think that costco needs to check on this before selling in the future. We were apprehensive as some photos show this model with handheld on the wall although the costco ad shows it how we wanted it but the fittings are wrong."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Dimas, Ca
Date:July 2, 2009

shower set

Model Number: Don't know/ gave away as gift.
"I bought this for my son and his family. They all loved it. This item changed the way they shower. They would take frequent showers just so they can experience this shower. The smaller children use the lower shower head. It's made life so much more simple.They really enjoy it. I asked him how did it hold for quality. He said it was great, with no leaks. Can't beat that!!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Naples, Florida
Date:May 12, 2010

Not satisfied

Model Number: Hansgrohe Monsoon shower set #416021
"The instructions for this shower head do not match the product in the box.
The hand held part sort of hangs from the diverter and is wobbly. I own other Grohe products and they are top quality, but this is disappointing. I am returning it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:May 17, 2010

Excellent Unit!

Pros: price, quality
Cons: wrong instructions included
Model Number: Monsoon
"Excellent shower unit - you can actually have both heads going at the same time giving quite a torrent! Wonderful quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Manhattan, NY
Date:May 25, 2010

agree with those rating it fair to poor

Model Number: Monsoon shower set
"No need to re-write what others have already stated. FAIR at best."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2010

confusing

"What I got was what is currently pictured on the costco website but I was confused by previous reviewers and also the directions that came with it. Gave me the idea that I could separate the handheld shower holder and mount it separately from the fixed part, which is what I wanted. But you can't do that with this so I returned it. There must have been a different model of this, Costco needs to differentiate the reviews & instructions for the other model."
Review 13 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Downey, CA
Date:May 31, 2010

Should have heeded reviews

Model Number: Hansgrohe Monsoon
"Read reviews but decided to go ahead and order to determine for myself. Very good looking, but true, hand held is too loose in holder and falls forward. Also hand held does not have shutoff, which is good if you need to lay hand held down to soap up. Going to return, but wish didn't have to. Appearance is good and combined shower head and handheld is great. Easy to switch between,shower and handheld"
Review 14 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 27, 2010

Nice, Soothing Shower

Pros: ability to use both or only one: shower/handheld, silver finish blends with most style finishes, handheld allows for easy cleanup of shower area, shower hose stays out of the way
Cons: water shut off when finished is not immediate, water pressure flow is somewhat reduced
"A stylish blend of form and function. The option to use only the showerhead or the handheld increases the water diameter without increasing the water usage. Installation is basic with only four pieces and some plumbers' tape; a wrench is useful as well.
Using both showerhead and handheld simultaneously makes a soothing shower.
"
Review 15 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:May 26, 2010

Poor Quality

Pros: hardware seems ok
Cons: cheap hose, poor instructions
Model Number: Not sure
"As some have already noted this item is not Hansgrdohe quality. The hardware is probably OK, but the instructions did not match the items in the box and sprayer hose is just plain junk. It is stiff and unmanageable even after hot water heats the plastic. I would have kept the unit if not for the hose."
Review 16 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:May 18, 2010

OK @ Best

Pros: decent price point
Cons: instructions wrong
"Instructions don't match product, support is via dealer, who is rude to you when you call to find missing parts (because instructions don't match product). Product appeared to not be "new" as in packaging wasn't right.
It is installed and works correctly, just not as described and not exactly right!"
Review 17 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:May 4, 2010

Not for bathing young children and cleaning

Pros: double shower head
Cons: too short hose
"5 ft long hose is not good for bathing kids and pets. Not good for using it to clean the shower either. I like the double heads feature but I wish there was a 6 ft long instead. I use it in the spare bathroom's bathtub, not worth the money..."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Saratoga, CA
Date:May 21, 2010

not what was advertised

Pros: good price
Cons: not what was advertised, diverter is plastic and will fail soon, boxes had been opened
"I ordered 2. Both boxes were opened and the various component had been pulled out of their pouches. Some were covered with black grease !
Works OK, although the flow is limited even after removing the restrictors.
"
Review 19 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Gainesville, Va
Date:May 20, 2010

worst product purchased at Costco

Model Number: HANSGROHE MONSOON SHOWER HEAD
"Design and function of this showerhead is very poor. Directions don't match product. Water flow to handheld hose is very poor. I definitely will return."
Review 20 for Hansgrohe Monsoon Shower Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2010
"Worst thing I ever bought from Costco! Took it back immediately. Made of cheap plastic and does not ot havehe indicated hand held sprayer."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.