Customer Reviews for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer

Print/Copy/Scan/Fax
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
(out of 26 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 of 26(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Review 1 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:February 20, 2010

Awesome value

Pros: easy setup, great quality
Cons: none so far
"This printer is a great buy for the money! Print, copy, and scan quality are amazing. I have not tried to print photos yet. Setup is really a breeze- seriously, I don't understand how people can be complaining about the setup instructions. They were absolutely detailed, flawless on Windows 7, including wireless setup."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Point, PA
Date:February 17, 2010

BEST PRINTER YET!

Pros: setup tech spport smooth operation
Cons: scanning takes getting used
Model Number: PIXMA MX860
"This multifunction printer does it all and set up very easily. My experiences with HP multifunction printers(two 8500s in the past several months) were nightm
ares. Ditto for other HPs. The few issues I had were fixed by CANON's great customer service people in Virginia within minutes. Clear, understandable English with products that are far ahead of the HP pack, which never set up right....and fell off network constantly. The Canon stays on line, operates smoothly, faxes run faster than I have ever witnessed. Very pleased with color reproduction and all aspects of the software-hardware offering.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:February 4, 2010

Great picture quality but fax doesn't work

Pros: great picture quality
Cons: very difficult and confusing to setup, fax did not work
"I read the reviews prior to purchasing and would agree the setup instructions are very difficult. I consider myself a pretty tech savvy person; however, I had to contact support to have my wireless hooked up. Another issue I had was the fax would not feed and send anything past the first page. I ended up having to return the printer. But would say the print quality for the pictures is very good."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:January 12, 2010

Canon Pixma MX 860

Pros: crisp text printing, above average photos, easy wireless connect
Cons: problems with windows7, slow communication with pc
Model Number: Pixma MX 860
"I reviewed this product before and I reported that I had no problem with Windows 7. I spoke too soon! After logging in the next day, the scanner would not work and kept getting the error message. I called Canon USA (Fast connection, courteous service) they told me that the product was not compatible with Windows7. After downloading the right driver and software, I still had problems with the scanner. I downloaded the software for the second time, all is well (so far). I guess it did not download properly the first time. I would like to hear from other windows7 users."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:January 8, 2010

Best Yet

Pros: wireless scanning & printing, network mac and vista set up, print quality, automatic document feeder (adf), paper tray capacity, memory
Cons: warm up time, size & weight
Model Number: Cannon MX860
"I purchased this printer after a nightmare with another brand 7 months ago.
I bought this printer when it first came out, so the price was higher and I was hesitant...I am a cautious buyer. It turns out to be the best printer that I've ever purchased. It was very easy to set up on my wireless network, MacBook, and PC (vista). When my son comes home, he easily has access to it on our network. The duplex printing function is awesome and wireless scanning is too! The paper tray holds a enormous amount of paper, so you don't have to worry about running back to reload. It is big and takes awhile to warm up, but it's worth the professional grade performance. Fax function is very convenient. I had no problems when I upgraded to SnowLeopard. I am so glad I found this printer.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:January 8, 2010

Great So Far!

Pros: works well and great tech support.
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: PIXMA MX680
"Have had the printer for a couple of weeks and so far I am extremely happy with the performance and very impressed with Canon tech support. I have Windows 7 and the CD that came with the printer only went up to Vista. Rather than wasting a lot of time I called Canon. I got right through to a tech who emailed me the Windows 7 set-up file and led me through the installation for a wireless configuration. (I did have to temporarily connect with a USB cable so you need to be able to at least temporarily place the printer near the CPU.) Today I tried the scanner function for the first time and received a message that the scanning software was not installed correctly. I called Canon and again reached a real human being right away who led me through the actions needed to correct the problem. This was at about 6:00 pm California time. I have not used the fax function yet but so far I am very happy with the print, copy and scanning functions."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 30, 2009

Everything worked!

Pros: works with mac os x and vista
Cons: slightly complicated setup
Model Number: MX860
"I have been shopping for a good but low cost multifunction printer. I have been reading all of the reviews and finally decided on this one because of the reviews and the fact that it worked with both Mac OS X and Vista.
I brought it home, unpacked it, plugged it in and installed the printer cartridges. Then I followed the advice of one of the other reviewers...I called tech support to have them help me set up my network.
Here's my setup: iMac via ethernet to Belkin wireless router, wireless (wifi) laptop w/Vista. The technician helped me to setup both of my computers to work wirelessly through the router to the printer.
Their tech support is in the States, so the communication was great (helpful and professional). I had to download the driver for Vista through the Canon website and then turn off my Vista firewall, but that was the only downside.
I highly recommend this printer for home use."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:El Cerrito, CA
Date:December 8, 2009

Good Printer but Setup needs work

Pros: wireless connection is solid
Cons: paper tray is small
Model Number: MX860
"It's big and it's plastic but a good printer. The setup using the disc for XP works fine but there are problems with Vista. In either case you need to get your wireless net info onto a USB drive as that setup is easiest to use to get the printer on your wireless LAN. After the printer is on your network you can use the disc. The software loads but at the very end on a Vista system you are told it can't create a port. At this point you should see the printer on your network. Go to printers and select the MX860 and right click and select properties. From there you can get to a list of ports and select add a port. One of the choices will be a Canon port. Select that and you should be in business."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:December 4, 2009

Very happy with it

Pros: wireless setup easy scan to any pc, place it anywhere!
Cons: a little big but compared to my hp5610i
Model Number: MX860
"I was very afraid of the wireless setup as I have Vista and XP computers and hearing horror stories from HP units. I was very pleased with a seamless setup on my three computers. Very easy to scan into any of them as you select where to send (or to a SD). The instructions are a little complicated but after reading them 3 times all went ok. The best was the price. I got it at the store for thirty $ less :-D But still I think it is worth its price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:November 18, 2009

Great Product

Pros: great quality
Cons: sucks up ink
Model Number: Pixma MX860
"This printer is great. I researched for a while before buying. I use this for my business and personal. The only downside is it sucks up ink. I bought the kit to refill my own ink and that is a huge help. Other than that it prints great from work orders to pictures."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redmond, WA
Date:November 12, 2009

Wow, what a product!

Pros: the wireless connectivity is a real plus!
Cons: none
Model Number: Canon PIXMA MX860
"I LOVE THIS PRINTER/FAX/COPIER/SCANNER! I have had them all, and this is the by far the best multi-purpose printer of any brand any where any how. It is simply a perfect product that is a result of Canon listening to its consumers. BRAVO!!!!!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Californa
Date:November 8, 2009

miserable set up

Model Number: Pixma MX 860
"If you are trying to set this up with a Mac, esp if you upgraded to Snow Leopard, don't even try to install it with the disc. Call the tech support number immediately. It will save you hours of frustration. In addition, the online manual won't print out. You don't need it for most things, but trying to get the scanner to work right is next to impossible without it.
On the plus side, it is a well built unit, doesn't shake the house like another brand does, and prints and copies easily.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Banks, OR
Date:November 1, 2009

Great AIO

Pros: easy to connect quite and solidly built
Model Number: Pixma MX860
"I initially purchased the HP Photosmart Premium and after 3 weeks of email with HP tech support they where not able to keep the HP printer connected wirelessly they could only tell me multiple ways to uninstall and reinstall the software. I returned the HP and bought the Canon. What a difference! the Canon was simple to connect, ran much quieter, and much more solidly built than the HP. If you are in the market for an AIO than this is defiantly the one to buy."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:October 31, 2009

HAPPY WITH MY PURCHASE

Pros: good value for the money, quiet printing, easy setup, sleek profile, excellent customer service in the usa!!!, fast printing, good wireless features
Cons: wireless setup a little challenging but doable
Model Number: Canon MX860
"Great printer! It's quick and quiet! I was able to setup and print in about 20 minutes.
However, I was unable to setup the wireless connection by myself using my Vista Operating System. So, I called the Canon Technical Support team. They were able to walk me through the setup and connect wirelessly over the phone.
More important, Canon Technical Support is in the USA (Virginia) NOT OFFSHORE! The support folks were very pleasant and easy to understand. The printer features are great. I love being able to print and scan wirelessly . . . I haven’t tried the wireless fax feature yet.
This is my first Canon; I have always purchased HP printers but, I am sold on Canon!!! . . . THIS IS A MUST BUY MULTI-FUNCTION PRINTER!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland
Date:October 30, 2009

Outstanding

Pros: scanner works great in both b&w and color, copier works great also in b&w and color
Cons: uses ink a little too fast.
Model Number: MX860
"This machine is everything I was hoping for and more. Easy to set-up and equally easy to use. When you compare the quality and the price to other machines, particularly the HP line, this blows them away. Having done a little research, the HP machines are memory hogs and the software is difficult and slow to use. The MX 860 is neither. Hard to find a wireless AIO at a great price that includes a fax."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:October 19, 2009

Kills HP

Pros: all around easy
Cons: one con instructions a little incomplete.
Model Number: PIXMA MX860
"This printer KILLS HP! I was a HP fan forever. Finally I have gotten fed up with what is now becoming junk. I will never buy HP again. This printer is smooth, quiet, easy to use, great quality, everything is so much better than I am used to with HP. It doesn't jerk around during printing like HP. It Is just an all around better printer. I have expressed my views to HP as well. I have spent over $12,000 in the last 2 1/2 years on HP because I tried to stay loyal. NO MORE!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nevada
Date:October 17, 2009

Great All In One

Model Number: MX860
"After having two HP AIO's go out prematurely, I started doing some research. I've always liked HP products, and we currently have three HP computers on our home network, but the quality doesn't seem to be there on their AIO's. The Canon "feels" like a quality product, not flimsey like the HP. The prints are good, setup is easy, and scans are noticably faster than the HP. Time will tell as to reliability Other than that, I'd give it a five."
Review 18 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:October 3, 2009

Unable to even set up

Model Number: Canon PIXMA MX860
"I looked at the Costco reviews and thought I would make a switch from HP. I decided that it would make good sense to pay my computer person to do the set up. He came and even with tech support from Canon he could not get this set up as a wireless system. That was one of the main reasons for my purchase. The Canon tech was trying to transfer him to "higher level" when call was dropped and no call returned to us. Thank you Costco for your return policy."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:August 25, 2009

Great Printer, for Simplex Printing

Pros: quality
Cons: duplex ink consumption
Model Number: MX860
"Canon makes great printers and this is one fine printer. The only beef I have, which is significant, is it sucks down the ink (i.e. low ink yield). Canon Customer Support says the color wells are used to print black in duplex mode - REALLY!?!?! So think twice if you plan to use the Duplex feature."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Big time consulting firm employee
Date:August 14, 2009

Sleek and Slick

"Ah.... it is SO good to get something from Canon versus that other printer manufacturer whose name begins with an H that robs consumers on ink cartridges. While I could have gotten theirs for less, I saved the money with the first purchase of ink.
Costco pricing is great -- less than all of the several places i compared.
I had this delivered, and it arrived very quickly and in great condition.
Installation guide was easy to follow and the disk actually worked as advertised.
One omission from the install manual that was inserted in graphic form (with no reference to where it fits into the process) is a cradle for the ink cartridges. I was able to figure it out, despite not being a geek or good with pictures/manuals.
I've installed it wireless on my home network (two computers) and even though it is not in "great range," it works like a champ!!!
Print, copy, and fax have all worked intuitively. LOVE duplex printing without reloading the paper. miraculous.
It's quiet!!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>