Customer Reviews for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer

Print/Copy/Scan/Fax
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
(out of 26 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 of 26(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Review 1 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eastern Washington State
Date:July 16, 2009

Nice Printer

Pros: quality of documents.
Model Number: MX860
"Was easy to install, I followed the directions in the start-up guide. We have always used HP printers so was a little nervous about switching brands. Copy, fax and scan all are easy to use. Fax quality is a huge improvement over our panasonic fax machine. It's quiet and copies and faxes quite fast. Love the moniter screen, well lit and easy to see, way better than the one on the HP. I like the fact that you load the paper tray with standard paper and if you need to do envelopes or pictures you don't have to unload your paper ithe photo paper or envelope just goes in the back paper slot. Costco had the best price. A smart choice."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 30, 2009

Everything worked!

Pros: works with mac os x and vista
Cons: slightly complicated setup
Model Number: MX860
"I have been shopping for a good but low cost multifunction printer. I have been reading all of the reviews and finally decided on this one because of the reviews and the fact that it worked with both Mac OS X and Vista.
I brought it home, unpacked it, plugged it in and installed the printer cartridges. Then I followed the advice of one of the other reviewers...I called tech support to have them help me set up my network.
Here's my setup: iMac via ethernet to Belkin wireless router, wireless (wifi) laptop w/Vista. The technician helped me to setup both of my computers to work wirelessly through the router to the printer.
Their tech support is in the States, so the communication was great (helpful and professional). I had to download the driver for Vista through the Canon website and then turn off my Vista firewall, but that was the only downside.
I highly recommend this printer for home use."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa Calif. Old development engineer
Date:June 16, 2009

The perfect printer

Pros: reliable printing, well built, easy network setup and access
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Canon MX 860
"After returning an HP AIO printer, thank you costco for taking it back after 5 months of frustration, I bought the Canon MX 860 AIO printer.
You could just tell it is better built, taking it out of the box.
After following the set up procedures, I had 3 computers printing using my home network. I connected it with an ethernet cable to my airport express wireless network. Wired Lan connection.
The whole process took about 1 1/2 hours.
I really like the output quality and the second paper verticle tray use for photo paper. Nice driver, intelligent paper selection.
The phone line operation is great as the unit has an internal fax switch that allows you to share telephone and faxing on one line.
This is the best All In One printer"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:August 10, 2009

A great AIO

Pros: great output., does everything
Cons: hard to set up and network.
Model Number: Canon Pixma MX860
"I bought this AIO to replace an aging HP Photosmart printer. My wife wanted to scan her old photo album pictures into our computer, and crop them and reprint them for new photo albums. So I checked this printer out at all of the review sites (CNET, PC Magazine, etc), and it got good (if not great) reviews. So I drove to the local Costco and bought one. Before I installed it, I ran a little test of my own, and printed an 8X10 test photo on my old printer. Then, after installing the Canon, I tried printing the same photo. Boy, was I disappointed. Poor colors, lousy flesh tones...I was a about ready to box it up and take it back. Then I tried using Kirkland photo paper. The colors were true, vibrant and almost leapt off the page. So, this is a great AIO (I'm still getting the hang of the fax and other features), but the wife and I are very happy with the quality of the output of this machine."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Banks, OR
Date:November 1, 2009

Great AIO

Pros: easy to connect quite and solidly built
Model Number: Pixma MX860
"I initially purchased the HP Photosmart Premium and after 3 weeks of email with HP tech support they where not able to keep the HP printer connected wirelessly they could only tell me multiple ways to uninstall and reinstall the software. I returned the HP and bought the Canon. What a difference! the Canon was simple to connect, ran much quieter, and much more solidly built than the HP. If you are in the market for an AIO than this is defiantly the one to buy."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Big time consulting firm employee
Date:August 14, 2009

Sleek and Slick

"Ah.... it is SO good to get something from Canon versus that other printer manufacturer whose name begins with an H that robs consumers on ink cartridges. While I could have gotten theirs for less, I saved the money with the first purchase of ink.
Costco pricing is great -- less than all of the several places i compared.
I had this delivered, and it arrived very quickly and in great condition.
Installation guide was easy to follow and the disk actually worked as advertised.
One omission from the install manual that was inserted in graphic form (with no reference to where it fits into the process) is a cradle for the ink cartridges. I was able to figure it out, despite not being a geek or good with pictures/manuals.
I've installed it wireless on my home network (two computers) and even though it is not in "great range," it works like a champ!!!
Print, copy, and fax have all worked intuitively. LOVE duplex printing without reloading the paper. miraculous.
It's quiet!!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Californa
Date:November 8, 2009

miserable set up

Model Number: Pixma MX 860
"If you are trying to set this up with a Mac, esp if you upgraded to Snow Leopard, don't even try to install it with the disc. Call the tech support number immediately. It will save you hours of frustration. In addition, the online manual won't print out. You don't need it for most things, but trying to get the scanner to work right is next to impossible without it.
On the plus side, it is a well built unit, doesn't shake the house like another brand does, and prints and copies easily.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:October 31, 2009

HAPPY WITH MY PURCHASE

Pros: good value for the money, quiet printing, easy setup, sleek profile, excellent customer service in the usa!!!, fast printing, good wireless features
Cons: wireless setup a little challenging but doable
Model Number: Canon MX860
"Great printer! It's quick and quiet! I was able to setup and print in about 20 minutes.
However, I was unable to setup the wireless connection by myself using my Vista Operating System. So, I called the Canon Technical Support team. They were able to walk me through the setup and connect wirelessly over the phone.
More important, Canon Technical Support is in the USA (Virginia) NOT OFFSHORE! The support folks were very pleasant and easy to understand. The printer features are great. I love being able to print and scan wirelessly . . . I haven’t tried the wireless fax feature yet.
This is my first Canon; I have always purchased HP printers but, I am sold on Canon!!! . . . THIS IS A MUST BUY MULTI-FUNCTION PRINTER!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland
Date:October 30, 2009

Outstanding

Pros: scanner works great in both b&w and color, copier works great also in b&w and color
Cons: uses ink a little too fast.
Model Number: MX860
"This machine is everything I was hoping for and more. Easy to set-up and equally easy to use. When you compare the quality and the price to other machines, particularly the HP line, this blows them away. Having done a little research, the HP machines are memory hogs and the software is difficult and slow to use. The MX 860 is neither. Hard to find a wireless AIO at a great price that includes a fax."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:October 19, 2009

Kills HP

Pros: all around easy
Cons: one con instructions a little incomplete.
Model Number: PIXMA MX860
"This printer KILLS HP! I was a HP fan forever. Finally I have gotten fed up with what is now becoming junk. I will never buy HP again. This printer is smooth, quiet, easy to use, great quality, everything is so much better than I am used to with HP. It doesn't jerk around during printing like HP. It Is just an all around better printer. I have expressed my views to HP as well. I have spent over $12,000 in the last 2 1/2 years on HP because I tried to stay loyal. NO MORE!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:May 31, 2009

Great All-In-One

Pros: photo quality, document feeder, scanning software, scan to any computer on wireless network, scan to usb memory
Model Number: MX860
"I purchased this printer to replace an existing wireless printer that I had bought 3 years ago. It was not an all-in-one. Setup was easy and produces 'excellent' photos. In order to setup the wireless functionality you have a couple of options. You can use a usb memory stick or you can plug in a usb cable to your computer and set it up once. The best part about this printer is that if you install the software on any computer in your wireless network, you can scan directly to any of your computers. The computer name displays in the on-screen display. No cables required. Box to working took 30 minutes. The product is packed very securely and most of the time was spent unpacking and removing tape. (Putting in the ink tanks and print head was easy) This printer is exceptional in both quality and noise. The settings are very intuitive. The ink is a little more expensive, but worth it when you print a photo. This is my first Canon printer and I am SOLD."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:El Cerrito, CA
Date:December 8, 2009

Good Printer but Setup needs work

Pros: wireless connection is solid
Cons: paper tray is small
Model Number: MX860
"It's big and it's plastic but a good printer. The setup using the disc for XP works fine but there are problems with Vista. In either case you need to get your wireless net info onto a USB drive as that setup is easiest to use to get the printer on your wireless LAN. After the printer is on your network you can use the disc. The software loads but at the very end on a Vista system you are told it can't create a port. At this point you should see the printer on your network. Go to printers and select the MX860 and right click and select properties. From there you can get to a list of ports and select add a port. One of the choices will be a Canon port. Select that and you should be in business."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:November 18, 2009

Great Product

Pros: great quality
Cons: sucks up ink
Model Number: Pixma MX860
"This printer is great. I researched for a while before buying. I use this for my business and personal. The only downside is it sucks up ink. I bought the kit to refill my own ink and that is a huge help. Other than that it prints great from work orders to pictures."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:January 8, 2010

Best Yet

Pros: wireless scanning & printing, network mac and vista set up, print quality, automatic document feeder (adf), paper tray capacity, memory
Cons: warm up time, size & weight
Model Number: Cannon MX860
"I purchased this printer after a nightmare with another brand 7 months ago.
I bought this printer when it first came out, so the price was higher and I was hesitant...I am a cautious buyer. It turns out to be the best printer that I've ever purchased. It was very easy to set up on my wireless network, MacBook, and PC (vista). When my son comes home, he easily has access to it on our network. The duplex printing function is awesome and wireless scanning is too! The paper tray holds a enormous amount of paper, so you don't have to worry about running back to reload. It is big and takes awhile to warm up, but it's worth the professional grade performance. Fax function is very convenient. I had no problems when I upgraded to SnowLeopard. I am so glad I found this printer.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:January 8, 2010

Great So Far!

Pros: works well and great tech support.
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: PIXMA MX680
"Have had the printer for a couple of weeks and so far I am extremely happy with the performance and very impressed with Canon tech support. I have Windows 7 and the CD that came with the printer only went up to Vista. Rather than wasting a lot of time I called Canon. I got right through to a tech who emailed me the Windows 7 set-up file and led me through the installation for a wireless configuration. (I did have to temporarily connect with a USB cable so you need to be able to at least temporarily place the printer near the CPU.) Today I tried the scanner function for the first time and received a message that the scanning software was not installed correctly. I called Canon and again reached a real human being right away who led me through the actions needed to correct the problem. This was at about 6:00 pm California time. I have not used the fax function yet but so far I am very happy with the print, copy and scanning functions."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Point, PA
Date:February 17, 2010

BEST PRINTER YET!

Pros: setup tech spport smooth operation
Cons: scanning takes getting used
Model Number: PIXMA MX860
"This multifunction printer does it all and set up very easily. My experiences with HP multifunction printers(two 8500s in the past several months) were nightm
ares. Ditto for other HPs. The few issues I had were fixed by CANON's great customer service people in Virginia within minutes. Clear, understandable English with products that are far ahead of the HP pack, which never set up right....and fell off network constantly. The Canon stays on line, operates smoothly, faxes run faster than I have ever witnessed. Very pleased with color reproduction and all aspects of the software-hardware offering.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, Calif.
Date:May 30, 2009

Great Replacement

Pros: great features for the price.
Cons: would like to have a quick feed switch on the, control panel
Model Number: Canon Pixma MX 860
"Purchased from Costco and have found it to be a great buy with all the features and options needed for a serious hobbyist or small home business. This replaces my Canon Pixma 780. The set up is a little more involved then other printers I've owned but that is to expected given the addional features. Canon Tech support was also very helpful."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:February 20, 2010

Awesome value

Pros: easy setup, great quality
Cons: none so far
"This printer is a great buy for the money! Print, copy, and scan quality are amazing. I have not tried to print photos yet. Setup is really a breeze- seriously, I don't understand how people can be complaining about the setup instructions. They were absolutely detailed, flawless on Windows 7, including wireless setup."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:December 4, 2009

Very happy with it

Pros: wireless setup easy scan to any pc, place it anywhere!
Cons: a little big but compared to my hp5610i
Model Number: MX860
"I was very afraid of the wireless setup as I have Vista and XP computers and hearing horror stories from HP units. I was very pleased with a seamless setup on my three computers. Very easy to scan into any of them as you select where to send (or to a SD). The instructions are a little complicated but after reading them 3 times all went ok. The best was the price. I got it at the store for thirty $ less :-D But still I think it is worth its price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Canon PIXMA™ MX860 Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Union, NJ
Date:June 16, 2009

Good Overall MFP

Pros: great value
Cons: large
Model Number: MX860
"I purchased this largely based on reviews of other owners on other sites. I was looking for a VISTA compatible unit (darn that Microsoft). Many had expressed concern about complicated setup but I did not find that to be the case. With the caution from others I spent entirely too much time reading the not so clear instructions but in hindsight I would say that if you have a little familiarity with computers, you should be able to set this up in less than 2 hours. Took me 1 hr, 20 minutes for wireless connection. I think Canon could do a better job with instructions. The Spanish language instructions were integrated so you had to skip over them to continue reading in English. I much prefer separate sections for each language. Also, there were many typos in the instructions - unacceptable for a multinational company. Also, quality of paper in instruction manual was like a newspaper and font was small and hard to read. There were two addenda instructions/ cautions. It is a large heavy unit but did a nice job. I have VISTA and the provided CD pretty much walked you through the process, after you have installed the cartridges. I would advise new users to follow written instructions for getting cartridges installed, insert the CD and then follow the onscreen instructions. Also, price was better at Costco's by $40 so that was a BIG savings for a low priced item. My router is in basement and connectivity was marginal - not their problem but it may affect speed so I may have to move it around so the large size will be an issue - definitely not portable. The printer tray did not hold a lot and seemed flimsy but time will tell. I am happy with the unit and the 5 cartridges should save $$ in the long run over having to replace an entire color cartridge. I don't think there's a better unit for the $$."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>