Customer Reviews for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery

Live View DIGIC 4 Processor ISO up to 3200
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
(out of 24 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
23 of 24(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Review 1 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:flemington, NJ
Date:November 17, 2010

great camera

Pros: great shots in any situation, fast, light
Cons: no live view in auto setting
Model Number: canon EOS T1i
"bought and tried canon s 90 then canon g 12 both were good but left something to be desired
the T1i is on heck of a camera , even with automatic setting you can take great ( I mean really great ) shots ,very fast and great customizable setting and shooting modes
it it not bulky at all, but forget about the p & s pocketability.
the only down side I could thing off , there is not live view in auto mode which bothers my wife
but put it simply you will fall in love with this camera and forget about your point and shoot camera.
"
Review 2 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:October 31, 2010

Fantastic Camera

Model Number: T1i
"I use this camera for action photos of my grandchildren using the continuous sports mode. Photos are crisp and wonderful color. Add a telephoto lens and you are set."
Review 3 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2010

The reviews are right: it's a great camera

Pros: very flexible shooting modes, sharp images (especially video!), fast cycle time, good ergonomics, lightweight (for an slr), easy to handle
Cons: can't combine shooting modes, e.g. "portrait" and "no flash"
Model Number: Rebel T1i
"If you demand more than a point-and-shoot can give you, you won't go wrong with this camera. It's a great all-around camera."
Review 4 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:October 20, 2010

First DSLR-Well worth it!

"I have been researching DSLRs for quite some time. My decision was between the Nikon and the Canon t1i. I choose the Canon, pretty much because of the lens package AND after calling several camera shops, most recommended Canon. I have been very satisfied with my purchase. I love having the zoom lens that came with the kit. Because I am inexperienced with DSLRs, I'm still learning about all the features."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2010

Amazing and Fun!

"This camera is amazing! I absolutely love it. There are so many fun features, yet it is easy to pick up and use without being forced to read the entire manual! I can't put it down!
Note to user that said you can't change flash settings: Use the CA mode and you can absolutely change the settings. There is a lot of info the manual (a lot of reading, yes, but well worth it!)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fontana, CA
Date:September 22, 2010

Great pictures right out of the box!

Pros: easy to use, picture quality, color to life, hd video, hdmi output, preset for most situations, multiple exposure for hdr pictures, live view during creative modes, after market gadgets
Cons: servo sound during video recording, no live view for preset modes
Model Number: Canon T1i
"We took this camera out of the box and started taking pictures like a pro without even looking at the manual! Just press the shutter button half way to get in focus and press it all the way to take the picture! It’s that easy! The presets take care of most situations. This is our first DSLR camera and we are very satisfied with the results. The pictures taken on our point and shoot look like a Polaroid compared to this one! My wife typically does not take good pictures or like taking pictures until she started using this camera and now she loves taking pictures. You can even hook it up to your TV’s HDMI and view your pictures on your TVs big screen!
The 15.1 megapixel should take care of most of your printing need. You only need about 5mp to get an 8x10 and I doubt most of us will be printing huge posters.
We have a new born and the speed of the camera has helped capture some great once in a lifetime shots. The colors look more real to life and pictures are crisp and clear. I like the portrait pictures where the subject looks in focus and the background is blurry. Its able to take pictures with very little light. You will surprise yourself with the pictures you take and notice the difference a DSLR makes.
There is a bit of adjusting when you have to look through the view finder to take pictures (unless you use the customs/creative modes and you can do live view or view on the screen). You also have to manually zoom in and out. However, it takes a few pictures to get use to it the viewfinder and manually zooming. The camera does the focusing for you when you press the shutter button half way (so that is a relief).
I like the 18mm lens because it helps in taking wider angle pictures (took one of the back of my home and was able to fit in without having to back up till the house looks very small and far away).
I like that there are a lot of after market products for the Canons and the lens are interchangeable. Since this is a popular sold brand, you can get a lot of inexpensive add-ons from generic manufacturers. This camera has opened me up to new world of photography. There are so many gadgets and is a great pass time.
You are able to take multiple exposure pictures with this camera (HDR) to use a program to merge them later on to make amazing looking pictures. I don’t have the software yet but looking forward to trying to put some of these together.
The HD video looks great on the big screen but you can hear the servo of the auto-focus. However, I would do video editing and add music to it to help tune it out. I would recommend this camera to my friends and family and our course you. I thought about buying this for a while and now I am wondering why I waited so long."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 12, 2010

Buyer Beware!

Model Number: 1720714505
"So far, my experience with this camera is lousy. 1st of all, you cannot manually choose to have the flash on. So, if you are indoors or in the shade and you take a photo of a person and the background is bright, the flash will not go off because of the brightness, so the person will be somewhat dark in the photo. No way to override that. (I can certainly override that in my other cameras). Guess what the DVD Guide says about that photo situation? They tell you not to take a photo in that situation! How ridiculous is that?
2nd, Speaking of the DVD guide, DO NOT WATCH IT! It is called: EOS Rebel T1i Guide with Rick Sammon. This guy gives terrible advice. One of the first things this guy instructs you to do is to set the picture quality to "RAW". He says this is a "must"! But guess what he forgets to tell you? When photos are taken in "RAW", you cannot view them on your computer or email them or get prints of them. All you can do is view them in your camera (on the little screen). What good is that? And why doesn't this guy let you know that ahead of time? I took a load of photos at a birthday party with the camera in RAW quality, but now can't share them with anyone. I just have to delete them from my SD card and pretend I never took any photos at the party....bummer.
Not impressed with this camera yet.
"
5 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Royal Oak, MI
Date:September 8, 2010

2 Days In..and LOVING it !!

Pros: ease of use
Cons: none..so far
"I am a Novice Photographer at best. When researching my choices, it was between the Canon Rebel and the Nikon 5000. Both cameras seemed ideal. I went with the Canon becasue of reviews based on Costco's site. First of all you can't beat Costco. I know that people that shop Costco and take the time review products can't be wrong. I've only had this camera 2 days and already I feel like a Pro ( LOL ) . Even though I'm a beginning photographer, this camera has already inspired me to become a professional one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland Shore
Date:August 11, 2010

Excellent Camera

"I had been researching DSLRs for some time, and finally decided on this model. My husband gave it to me for Christmas 09, and I love it. It is very simple to use and there are a number of various settings to make your photos unique."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:July 22, 2010

Great digital camera

Pros: ease of use and photo quality.
Cons: none yet.
Model Number: Canon EOS Rebel T1i
"I did a lot of research and ended up with the Canon EOS Rebel for my wife' birthday gift. Great photos and easy to use for her but with enough options for me to play with. The stabilized lens takes the blur out of those longer hand held shots. My only regret was not getting another lens for greater zoom distance. Love the camera and highly recommend this one to anyone."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:July 22, 2010

Great Buy

Pros: picture quality
"I bought the camera as a graduation present for my son. He is very happy with it. This is his first camera above the point and shoot level and we have found that it's easy to use and has a much better picture quality. Love the video and sports feature for fast action. Costco has the best price from our research."
Review 12 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Puyallup, WA
Date:July 3, 2010

great camera, just buy it

Pros: excellent picture quality and great features
Cons: hd video limited to less than 30 mins
Model Number: Canon EOS Rebel T1i
"I love this camera. I had it for almost a year and it's been awesome. Daytime pictures are extremely nice with just the automatic settings and finally get some great nightime shots as well (tired of the blurry night shots especially when you zoom in). It also records HD video.
For the the price, features and the excellent picture quality- it makes this camera a great buy.
Quick recommendations:
1. always format memory card on the camera and not the computer. avoid busy processing screen before taking another shot.
2. get battery pack grip. this allows you to use two batteries and provide a better overall grip.
3. buy extra batteries. the batteries are great. Charge 2-4 and you should be set for the whole weekend taking shots. They really last.
4. be very careful on your camera lens. a couple bumps can messed up the autofocus feature.
5. use a tripod at night shots, get very high success rates.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:June 25, 2010

Great photo quality

Pros: great true colors., great interior shots
Cons: haven't had it long enough to see any
Model Number: Canon Rebel T1i 3.4
"I just got this today. I am a realtor so I need a camera that takes good interior shots. I have been trying this out all day. The colors are very true. I love this camera. It doesn't have a super wide angle lens, but it does a decent job of capturing the over all room. It also does great in low light. I had a nikon d40 before this one. I can't believe the difference. Great camera for realtors."
Review 14 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2010

In love w/my new camera!

Model Number: Rebel T1i
"I have had my T1i for about 2 months now and I am loving it! I thought briefly about buying the model down from it, however I am so thankful I spent the extra money for this model. The pictures are so clear, the LCD screen is wonderful. My previous camera was a Canon Powershot (also a great camera). The Rebel T1i menus are laid out very similarly to the Powershot which has made the move an easy transition."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Medford, OR
Date:May 11, 2010

great camera

Model Number: Canon T1i
"Very happy with this camera. Great feel and easy to use, video feature is a plus. First SLR camera and am very happy with purchase. A lot of camera for the price."
Review 16 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MD
Date:May 8, 2010

Finally, a digital SLR of quality

Pros: full eos system compatibility, up to 3200 iso is a big plus, video is good, fast start up and shutter release, fast focusing but affected by lenses, can get aftermarket accessories cheap
Cons: live view/video focus is weird, typical rebel controls, incompatible with old speedlites, need to keep adding accessories, ok lenses in a kit
Model Number: T1i
"I still have 3 film Canon A/EOS SLRs with a total of 7 lenses. I have two digital pro-sumer point-shoots and been waiting for a good digital Canon SLR. Affordable price range for 36 x 24mm sensor is still years away. I think I can live with T1i for now. Included lenses are not quite PRO, of course, but you build your system gradually. I am reusing my old EF zooms as well, and Canon 50mm 1.8 works marvelously in low light!!! Video is a plus, too."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lewiston, Idaho
Date:April 30, 2010

Retirement gift for self!!

Pros: great quality easy to use very versatile., easy for a novice photographer to use.
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: Canon Rebel EOS T1i
"I have only had the camera for a couple of weeks. I had heard a lot of good things about it and read the review in Consumer Reports about it. I was also interested in the Nicon D5000 as well. The report convinced me to go with the Canon after reading about the quality of the pictures. I also own a Canon EOS Rebel 35 mm and the lenses for that will fit the new Rebel Digital. So far I am very happy with it. I have taken about 50 pictures so far and none are "throw aways"."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ
Date:April 28, 2010

Love the camera!

"This is my first SLR camera. I love the pictures it takes. I also like how user friendly it is for a first timer. My only regret is that I didn't but it sooner!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:October 25, 2009

Very Happy

Pros: auto mode is effortless
Cons: can't think of any
Model Number: T1i
"I purchase the camera kit with two lenses at a store here in Houston. The Costco.com site does not show this combination on the web site. I am very happy with the purchase. I have taken a few pictures and they are flawless. I researched the web for for about a week and this was the best deal. I was conflicted between Canon and Nikon 5000. Canon has a slight edge."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Canon EOS Rebel T1i 3.4 Frames Per Second HD Video 1920x1080 Rechargeable Battery
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, Colorado
Date:October 14, 2009

High Quality at a Reasonable Price

Pros: excellent price/feature relationship
Model Number: T1i
"Extremely sharp images
Auto setting takes the guess work out of taking pictures.
Easy to use
Image Stabilization a real advantage
Video feature puts this camera at the top
Best price available at Costco
Be sure to purchase a Class 6 SD card if you plan to shoot video
"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>