Customer Reviews for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®

Average Customer Rating:
4.489 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
(out of 45 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
40 of 45(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Review 1 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Date:August 6, 2009

Crazy about EpoxyMaster!

Pros: looks unbelievable, very easy to clean, no odor, works great on wood surfaces, perfect for home improvement, high quality, great packaging.
Model Number: 419745
"After seeing this new product in the Costco Connection magazine, I decided to surprise my husband for our anniversary and coat our garage where we keep our motorcycles. After speaking with the knowledgeable representatives at EpoxyMaster, I felt comfortable enough in attempting to do the job myself without any assistance. The instructions were very easy to understand and I am proud to say that the results were fantastic! My husband still doesn't believe that I did the application myself. He is convinced that I hired professionals to apply the product. I was even able to coat the wood inside our motorcycle hauler so everything would match. I especially love the high gloss finish. The garage now looks much brighter and cleaner. All of my friends and relatives that have seen our new garage floor ask me where they can purchase the EpoxyMaster product and I tell them to go get Costco memberships and order it online. Once again Costco has delivered a very high quality product."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NW NJ
Date:October 15, 2009

Fantastic Product!

Pros: ease of use, beautiful finished product
Cons: none
"If you need to epoxy coat your garage floor (or any other floor for that matter), run don't walk to get this product! The kit was very complete and the instructional DVD/manual was thorough. My wife and I easily put down this floor over a day and a half.
I had one small problem when applying that caused me to come up a bit thin near the front of my garage. But this was totally my fault; when I tried to lay down the "bead" of material around the perimeter of my garage for cutting in, I used too much. This left me scrambling to try and "pull" in more material from all directions to cover near the front before the epoxy set up. I was really frustrated at this point.
I contacted EpoxyMaster with my tale of woe, only looking for guidance with possibly painting over the thin area. Tony from EpoxyMaster responded quickly with several solutions, including mixing up a custom batch of material for a nominal fee to fix my area! This is what I went with.
I am blown away by their customer service. I highly recommend this kit and will tell all my friends who have been following my garage redo to use EpoxyMaster."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Poulsbo Wa
Date:August 24, 2009

Some great stuff

"My wife and I are very pleased with the end result and my neighbor is jealous. My old(er) oil stained and cracked garage floor looks amazing after using this product. I had a "professional" bid of $4200 and did it myself for around $500. The support team is easy to reach for questions, regardless of using e-mail or phone. Pay attention to the time requirements for getting it out of the bucket, especially if outside temperatures are warm/humid, or you end up with an expensive paper weight. Recommend working in smaller batches instead of mixing the entire contents together like the DVD and instructions direct. Less waste and less of a challenge to get it spread around. I came up short because I mixed too much at once. Koodo's to the vendor, who provided top notch customer service and really understood the bind I was in. He was able to provide a tracking number for my new shipment 5 minutes after I told him I needed another batch. This is soooo much better than water based stuff you see in the box stores. Its, thicker and more resilient to normal wear and tear."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2009

Pretty happy with the results

Pros: looks great, east to use
Cons: think and difficult to pour evenly, included roller was terrible
"I was very happy with your kit and mostly happy with the finished result. Two comments: the mixed product was thicker than it appeared on your dvd and this made it difficult to spread evenly (I went from back to front and the coating is noticeably thinner in the front) and the roller was terrible (it was falling apart towards the end, now I know to never purchase a Wooster product, the maker of the roller pad). Also the user should definitely have two poles: one for the spreader, one for the roller. This made things much easier. Suggestions I would have paid additional money for: 1. spiked shoes should have been included, golf shoes left many marks I had to re-roll over where I walked and ruined my shoes; 2. a separate batch of mix for doing the trim before mixing the main batch; 3. a pouring spout or other way of insuring a more even pour of the coating onto the floor. I'm concerned but very hopeful that the floor at the front end of the garage will last for a long time. Overall I'm happy but wish I could have a do over with my suggestions."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:October 23, 2010

Review Expoxy Master Tasso Pappas

"Overall looks nice and it is a good value.
However, I followed their directions to the tee, with my 5 year old concrete (no oil stains etc always new cars every 12 months)
A couple areas started lifting up under my wifes Tahoe tire areas.
Called them asked about warranty told it does not apply as I did not use a sandblaster or diamond grinder.
I called around my area for 20 miles and could not find anyone to rent me one (Just outside of Minneapolis suburbs) Actually a distant suburbia area.
But I said your own installation video shows just your acid etching chemical, if that is not enough to warrant the product why do they recommend and show it.
Anyway bought a touch up kit, and used Muriatic Acid from Menards this etched the floor great.
Overall only average, because it seems weird to show/promote a technique that in your teaching instructions that you feel is not adequate."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Date:October 10, 2009

Great Product

"I decided to review this product because I have used other types of garage floor coatings in the past, and EpoxyMaster is hands down, the best. Do not even think about using a water based system to coat your floor. It will not last. I have done two garage floors with the water-based product in the past, and they have both started chipping within months. The EpoxyMaster product looks much better, and is a much thicker and more durable finish. It has lasted great so far. The high gloss sheen looks awesome. I had to place a couple of calls directly to EpoxyMaster, and both times the customer service was outstanding. Do it. You will be happy."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
Date:August 4, 2009

I'M SOLD ON EPOXYMASTER!!!

Pros: performs exactly as specified, a perfect way to transform your concrete floor, easy cleanup, no smell, very happy with my "new" shop floor.
Model Number: 419745
"I bought 5 kits to restore my 30 year old 2,400 square foot classic automobile restoration shop and I am extremely happy with the look of my new floor. After researching the various manufacturers' specs, I decided on EpoxyMaster. The kit coverage was perfect and the product performed exactly as specified. The instructions and DVD were very easy to follow. My new glossy floor looks better than the newer car dealerships that I have visited. What's even better is that I saved thousands of dollars by doing it myself instead of hiring a company to do it with a cheaper product. The kit has everything I needed to properly finish the floor. The accessories included in the kit are of very high quality and performed nicely. Any oil spills and antifreeze that leaks on the floor wipes right off with ease. I have received tons of compliments from my customers and the look of my new shop is sure to help my business. I can now see the reflections of my cars on the floor and appreciate them even more. I highly recommend this product for the do-it-yourself car nut and homeowner that want to beautify and add value to their business or home."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greenville, Sc
Date:August 6, 2010

Good floor sealing product

Pros: easy to use by the average amateur
Cons: the ingredient quantities are not really enough fo
"I benefited from other folks' remarks as I was preparing for this job. I am glad to return the favor.
I have had the experience of sealing a garage floor with a conventional garage floor paint. This time I tried with an epoxy sealer and frankly, there is no comparison. It is truly resistant to tire marks and If you take the time to prepare the surface as directed, you will like the end result.
When it comes to renovation work, I would consider myself a good apprentice, not an expert. I am not afraid to try new things, but I learn by doing and by educating myself on line ahead of time. No need to be professional for this task.
Some tips on this particular product:
1) they say there is enough in the kit for 2.5 garage spaces, but you should really figure there is enough for 2. Otherwise, you will try to spread the product too thin and it will show.
2) If you did not have a sealer on the surface before, there is no need to grind with a diamond grinder. Acid etching is fine. The preparation solution they include is in fact muriatic acid.
3) The amount of acid in the kit is not enough to treat a 2 garage space in my view. Muriatic acid is cheap and available at any harware store.
4) the instructions tell you to dilute the acid 1/4, but after I treated my the first 2 spaces of my floor a first time, I thought the surface was not rough enough. So I did it a 2nd time, this time diluting only 1/2. It was fine then. Later, I only treated the 3rd garage space once, with 1/2 diluted muriatic acid and it worked great.
5) The instructions point out that after you are done mixing the components, you have 35 minutes to spread it on the floor, and that pouring it on the concrete, actually slows down the curing process, giving you more time to spread and roll the liquid evenly. Well they are right. I tried to keep the product in the pail while I was going around the edges with the paint brush. After 15 minutes, the product was starting to turn really thick and I had a hard time spreading it. You are better off mixing a lesser quantity and pour a thin strip along the edges, use the paint brush, dip it in the puddle and paint along the edges. Then spread and roll the rest. When you mix more and come back to complete the rest on the area, the line where the patches of paint meet will not show any separation mark.
6) 35 minutes to do 2 garage spaces is not realistic if you are alone. Don't be afraid to mix smaller amounts and do smaller patches at a time. Again, lines of separation won't show.
7) Again if you are alone, the squeegy will have time to dry by the time your pour the next batch. To avoid accumulating cured epoxy on the blade, wipe it with scott towels to remove the excess liquid, while you go mix the next batch. That will keep the blade clean and woring properly.
Hope that helps
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carlsbad, CA
Date:July 30, 2009

WOW - Amazing Results

Model Number: EpoxyMaster - flooring
"I researched epoxy flooring for 2 months before I decided on this product, including having PROs come over and provide estimates and display samples. Follow the direction provided in the Kit carefully - take time to clean and prepare the concrete. Make sure you do not let the mixed contents sit in the bucket - they will harden - the directions are clear on this.
The floor looks AMAZING - excellent coverage, beautiful look and perfect results. Could not be happier! Much better than the epoxy floors in some of the model homes I have recently seen!
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2009

Great DIY Kit

"Just installed the kit on my Garage floor and it looks amazing. I would however use the method mentioned in the DVD, and that is, pouring the product on the whole floor and using the spiked shows to walk around with, gives you allot more time to move the product around. You can buy aerator shoe's for about $10 to $15."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Olympic Peninsula, WA
Date:October 7, 2010

Try Something Else!

Cons: an expensive mess
"I ordered two of these kits and had a professional flooring company install them due to the complexity of the application process. The garage floor was cleaned and then etched with acid, rinsed, dried, etc. per the directions. The new flooring was allowed to dry for two weeks before driving on it. It looked great! Shortly after putting my cars back in the garage, areas of the new flooring began to come/peel off. I contacted the company and they said that they would only warrant the flooring if the concrete was power etched prior to application, even though the acid etch was describeed as an acceptable process. So now I have a 3 car garage with two areas of bare concrete and no warranty claim. I ordered the "touch-up" kit. It arrived with no directions. Save your money, time and aggrevation. By the time I bouhgt the kits and paid professional installers, it was $1,000. Now I have a mess."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mountain View, Ca
Date:January 18, 2011

Prep, Prep, Prep

Pros: looks like a showroom floor., even a fair job looks great!
Cons: no practice possible get it right the first time., gray color shows dirt needed more fleck.
"No previous coating, no grease, concrete must be somewhat rough to the fingers. If your garage floor is hopeless, use a diamond grinder one afternoon. If I had it to do over again, I would not have spent hours and hours crawling over the floor scrubbing, degreasing and chemically etching. My 25-year old pad was in poor shape and I could have made it perfect for the coating much more easily. Additionally, spend time filling in cracks and spalls so your coating material will go further.
The instructional video shows someone doing a whole garage in one go; almost impossible unless there are two of you. I did it in three stages: Edges, left side, right side. You have only 35 minutes to spread and roll the very heavy material and I barely made it doing only one 22'X11' section at a time. Just mix proportional amounts: a little for the edges, then half of remaining buckets for each section.
A tip: use some lamps low to the ground to give you good directional lighting and squeegee hard and thoroughly. Don't panic, it will spread out more than it seems at first. I found pouring an even bead almost impossible.
Order more fleck to hide imperfections. Many colors are available from various companies. This also makes the finished floor less slippery. The included grit is too much for me: made the floor difficult to mop; used only on steps.
Finally, resist temptation and stay off that floor until it is completely hard. It may feel hard and yet will take impressions even after 24 hours (I applied on a 58f day). I should have waited 36 hours. I did wait 2.5 days to drive a car onto the surface and had no problem.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 16, 2010

Product performs great so far

Pros: applies as directed / great finish
Cons: slippery when wet, misleading availablity of prep machines
"I had read the reviews and learned from others. I did a 2 car garage by myself. Mixed only 1/2 at a time, worked fast and very hot weather [the only 90+ day we had this August] I had a painted floor that was in great shape but could not find anything to take the paint off with. I live in Seattle and checked with several rental yards and never did locate a machine to do this with. I think the video showing this process is a little misleading since there was not one available in my area [all of Seattle] so I TSP'd the exsisting floor paint and ground down the areas that were lifted do to the tires. 3 TSP applications and a quick grind on a few areas, let it dry overnite and applied the next morning. Did not park the car on it for 4 days. It's been 3 months and still looks the same. A little slippery sometimes [I did not use the grit]. So far so good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MA & CT
Date:September 1, 2010

Very pleased overall with 1 critique

Pros: fantastic look, appears to be very durable, quick dry time
Cons: be careful not to over-roll
"Purchased 2 kits with a buddy in order to do our garages together. Read all tips from reviewers and followed kit instructions meticulously. Once we finished, the surface was amazing. However, we both ended up with bubbles appearing about 10 minutes after we finished. So, we rolled the bubbles out but they appeared again shortly afterwards. Unfortunately, they ended up drying in place. The floor is certainly not ruined but the bubbles caused little "craters" in the floor once popped. In speaking to EpoxyMaster about potential reasons for it, the best explanation was that we "over rolled" the epoxy. Apparently, air can get into the paint as a result of excessive rolling. Now, when you have to cover 480 square feet in 35 minutes, over rolling can happen (yes, both of us were working simultaneously, one squeegee, one rolling). My tip to you: When spreading the paint with the squeegee, roll as little as possible, only enough to cover - no more. This tip should be included in the instructions from EpoxyMaster. We may sand down this coat and get another kit to put down a second top coat. Other than this application issue, the product itself is terrific."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Date:October 5, 2010

Superb finish

"I highly recommend you take the time to read the previous reviews. It could save you some real grief and money. I installed this myself on the floor of our new home garage. These are tips I borrowed from others but worth noting. 1) I went to Goodwill & found some used shoes with cleats to be able to walk on the product without leaving giant footprints (caution-cleats on concrete are slippery!) 2) I mixed 3 batches: the 1st in a small pint container to paint the edges quickly (I masked off the edge and especially near the doors 1st, then split our 2-car garage into 2 separate batches. 3) Take it easy on sprinkling the 1st half of the floor with the color flecks or you won't get sufficient coverage on the 2nd, then you can still go back and sprinkle a few back on the 1st half if time allows. Use the grit or you'll be sorry when the floor gets wet & you discover it's slipperier than ice4) I installed 2 months ago, it still looks absolutely gorgeous! My friends comment on the fantastic gloss finish and they can't believe I did it myself, plus this was a $3,500 option to have our builder do it. This turned out a jillion times better than brand X I bought at a Home Improvement store for our last home 5 years ago. One last caution: if you get this on something like a door knob or the driveway & it dries....it ain't comin' off."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:May 6, 2010

Outstanding Product but Follow Tips in the Reviews

Pros: two part epoxy solids!!!, great customer service
Cons: none if you follow the tips
Model Number: Item # 419745
"Purchased two of the kits back in July of 2009 and finally got around to installing them on my 3 car garage. Did the job in two sessions a week apart so 1/2 of the garage was useable each time. Have to say that the results far exceed what I had expected!!!
Fortunately I have to thank the folks who have previously added their reviews of this product. Those reviews included many helpful tips for the do-it -ourself person. List of the best tips that we followed are:
1- Prepare, Prepare, Prepare - Get the surface of the concrete spotlessly clean and prepped (etched)
2- Partial Mix - You are rushing too hard to do a complete mix in the 30 minutes you have before the product sets up. Do at leat two partial mixes and you will make life so much easier for yourself!! Just grab some extra disposable buckets from the hardware store.
3 - More is Better- We did the job with three people. One was cutting, one spreading, and one rolling. If you mix a small cutting batch and do the cutting first, you could easily do this with two people. If you are alone, just do more smaller batches; not a problem.
4- Extra Rollers - Kit provides a good roller, but like any roller it can only do so much. If you allocate one roller to about 200 square feet you will get a mirror finish on the entire area.
Kit indicates that it covers 480 square feet. My garage is exactly 880 square feet and I had no problem covering 440 square feet with each of the two kits. Did have some questions and the folks at epoxymaster were very helpful in responding to those questions.
Bottom line is that I now have a garage with a terrific looking epoxy floor installed for 1/5 the price quoted by the professionals two years ago to do the same job!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:El Paso, TX
Date:May 6, 2010

Not impressed

Pros: covers 2 car garage, solid feel
Cons: scratches easily, requires two people, drys faster than similar product
"Prepped garage floor with etching compound went to big box store to purchase more compound because garage was dirty and all the reviews highlight the importance of a clean porous floor. I would recommend purchasing spiked shoes and/or have an additional person to ensure even quick coverage. The product mixed well, however the glossy surface displays all imperfections on the floor, scratches easily, and dries fast. I waited 72 hours before putting anything light/heavy on the floor and still noticed the scratches. Similar to swirl marks on a car's clearcoat. Additionally, I drove both cars into the garage and both displayed hot tire marks. I do not believe I installed the product wrong and believe I should have purchased a similar product at the big box store for half the price and less shine."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mountain View, CA
Date:May 5, 2010

Really Nice Product

Pros: directions very clear and easy to follow
Model Number: Used light gray color.
"Well, I am a DIY guy, so I thought I'd give this product a try. The result was a very nice finished product. One problem however was that apparently I left some spots (about 150 or so) on my garage floor that had been exposed to either oil or solvent (I couldn't see them) and I apparently didn't get them removed with the product etching solution. As a result the beautiful finished product had about that many splotches on it. So I phoned Epoxymaster's very capable service people (on late Sunday afternoon when I had just finished placing the epoxy). They told me not to worry about the splotches where the epoxy didn't stick because there was a few things I could do. I ended up using a small concrete hand grinder to buff the splotches and then cleaned them with a little denatured alcohol. Then I mixed up another batch of epoxy (using the little bit of residual left in the two buckets (resin and hardner). I quickly dabbed the splotches with this new epoxy mixture and the next day they were completely gone (covered with the new epoxy coating). It really does look great. As a matter of fact some of the laborers who helped me with the work are going to market a business doing a minor remodel on single family home garages using Epoxymaster as their flooring material."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Buffalo, NY
Date:January 13, 2011

Excellent Product and Customer Service!

Pros: industrial quality, easy application., easy cleanup., amazing strength, great instructions
Cons: none
Model Number: 419745
"I applied the EpoxyMaster product this past summer to my garage and I also purchased a Mini Kit to coat my snowmobile trailer. I had a couple of my friends speak very highly of this product and the results I have experienced are beyond belief. The included DVD and instructions were awesome and easy to follow. The kit even contains a non-slip additive to sprinkle over the coating in areas that get constantly wet. The included decorative fleck also makes the garage floor truly stand out in my neighborhood. The floor is very easy to clean no matter how messy it gets with simple dish soap and water. After 8 months of constant abuse with my trucks, my floor and trailer still look as great as the day I applied the coating. The company has great customer service. They were even available on a holiday weekend to answer my questions. I highly recommend this product!"
Review 20 for Do-it-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit By EpoxyMaster®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 18, 2010

A Contractor's Dream Come True!

Pros: great results, industrial strength, long lasting, high gloss finish.
Model Number: 419745
"After reading a few comments about this product, I felt compelled to write about my personal experience with this quality coating. I have been a building contractor for the past 27 years and am very familiar with epoxy coatings. My first application with the EpoxyMaster product was last August when I applied the coating to my personal garage and basement workshop floors. The results truly amazed me. I had never seen such a strong and glossy finish with any of the previous coatings that I had used in the past two decades. In the course of the past year I have continued to use the EpoxyMaster floor coating kits on numerous other flooring applications, which has included not only custom residences, but also two airport hangars, a hospital, a truck dealership, and a parking structure. I am very pleased to say that I have experienced consistently great results with each application. When the product is applied according to the very detailed instructions, the results will make you proud. Each kit is made fresh to order and has great customer service to back it. I highly recommend this product for the do-it-yourselfer that wants an industrial epoxy that is far superior to water and solvent-based coatings and is easy to apply. You will save a ton of money by applying the product yourself instead of hiring "professionals" and will be extremely happy with the results."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>