Customer Reviews for Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle

Resolution: 1366 x 768 Contrast Ratio: 2500:1 Brightness: 450 cd/m2
Average Customer Rating:
1.929 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
9
3 of 14(21%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Review 1 for Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2009

The picture is UPSIDE DOWN!!!

"I bought 40" bundle 2 month ago from Costco website. Both worked great. After 2months, one of them is starting behaving oddly. Now the picture is UPSIDE DOWN!!! It's bizarre. I am returning them today, and will go with some other name brand."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2009

It lasted 6 weeks

"A good price, but after 6 weeks of occasional use, it refused to respond. It wouldn't even shut off. Using the direct TV controls were of no help.
Save your money. Thank goodness I bought it from Costco. It's going back tomorrow"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:May 23, 2009

Unempressed with Sceptre

Model Number: 47" Septre
"Purchased at 47". When it arrived it had pixel problems - a small green spot near the top of the screen. It was irritating enough that the TV had to be returned.
I would spend more and get another brand."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:san fran
Date:June 19, 2009

look for another brand

Pros: price and picture...before all the hassles
Cons: the review speaks for itself. their warranty dept!
Model Number: X42GV-komodo
"cliff notes version...bought a 42" and 32" at different times. 42" started having problems at 1.5 yrs...still under warranty tho. thank u costco!! sent it back to sceptre for repair and they told me they were having problems getting replacement screen since model was discontinued (needed new one). kept it 4 weeks, replaced it with a screen with dead pixels (at least rma person was honest). i told them to keep it, that i would not accept delivery. costco came to rescue and took care of the situation. i now own a SHARP from Costco!!! thank you again Costco!!! (lots more to story but you get the experience)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2009

Good picture while it lasts

"Personally i've had bad luck with spectre televisions. I like the picture they produce and the settings are generally easy to use, though the remote's are usually large and cumbersome.
However, the problem with the sceptre brand is that it never seems to last. On my first sceptre TV the speakers stopped working right around the two and a half year mark and on the second the picture died after just a year.
I haven't brought a sceptre TV since the costco return policy changed but this is just a warning, do some research to see if the quality has improved before you buy a spectre TV."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2009

Total Bummer!

"There's a reason they are now selling in a two pack. The first one we ordered broke after 2 days. And the second one they sent to replace it broke in two weeks!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wasilla, AK
Date:August 15, 2009

So far so good!

Pros: good picture, easy to set up, price was right!
Cons: a bit heavy, plug ins hard to access when mounted on stand
"I purchased the 46" Scepter LCD in January. I got in when I was living in Oregon, kept the box because I was moving to Alaska six months later. When I moved packed it back in box, stuck it in truck, and it survived the ALCAN HWY! I have been very satisfied with the purchase. HD channels come in great, BluRay movies come in great, everything great! Sorry about all the bed luck with them. I would buy another based on my purchase, only hesitation would be based on the problems everyone else is having. I actually tried to get another one but can not find a 46" Scepter on Costco.com."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:August 10, 2009

Stay clear of Sceptre

Model Number: 37" Sceptre
"I bought the Sceptre 37” two pack, one for upstairs and one for downstairs. I used HDMI to U-Verse on both. The color and picture had to be manually adjusted. I had some power on issues at times with both. I had them for about two weeks and once again I was having trouble powering up the one downstairs. Then, when it did power on, the picture was upside down. I took both back to Costco. Isn’t Costco great? I ordered 2 more Proscan TV’s from Costco. I Hooked them up turned them on, no need for adjustments and no problems. I will stay clear of Sceptre from now on."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:August 24, 2009

wouldn't buy another Sceptre tv

Pros: worked well for 3 yrs.
Cons: not the most reliable tv i've ever owned
Model Number: X37SV
"I bought the unit 3yrs ago online from costco.com. To be fair, up 'til now I have had few complaints. I now have basic cable connected to the DTV ATSC tuner and I now only intermittently get a signal with that input. TV works reliably with the TV TUNER input, but analog only and no HD. I tried to phone Sceptre for advice and support but no answer. Did finally contact someone by going to their web-site and using live chat. I was told that the problem was not cost effective to repair given the cost of similar TVs now."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY
Date:July 31, 2009

My Sceptre has been great

"Seems to be a lot of bad reviews for the Sceptre brand right now. For what it's worth bought the 42" Sceptre 2.5 yrs ago and couldn't be happier. The picture and sound have been flawless. I wouldn't hesitate to buy another. Too bad others haven't had the same results. I honestly like it more than my Sharp LCD TV."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2009

Big mistake

Cons: color and composite connection problems.
Model Number: Sceptre 37inch.
"Bought the 2 pack 3 months ago and set one TV up at the beach house. Had problems with composite connections and color not working right even with HDMI connection. Returned product to Costco and returned unopened 2nd TV to Costco. Bought a Samsung and it is terrific."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:August 17, 2009

Horrible TV

Pros: none
Cons: bad picture, horrible sound, short life, inaccurate colors, bad black levels
"Bought this TV for minimal use in the basement. After 3 months the picture started to go bad. After 4 months the picture is was literally upside down. After 5 months the picture is completely dead. Even when the TV was working the picture was horrible. There turns out to be a reason why Costco stores don't have this model on display. I would avoid this brand like the plague unless you want a bad tv, with a bad picture that doesn't last very long. All of the bad reviews speak volumes about this TV."
Review 13 for Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:August 11, 2009

Very Satisfied So Far

Pros: great price
"Bought the 42" Sceptre TV 6 months ago and works great thus far. I suppose if you place a Sceptre next to a Sony or Toshiba, you might be able to tell a difference in picture quality but by itself, the Sceptre is more than acceptable for the price."
Review 14 for Sceptre 37" LCD HDTV 2 Pack Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2009

wear and tear

Pros: none
Cons: bad warranty
"I have 4 sceptre lcd 2 of them are getting DEAD pixels in 6 mos. Sceptre told me its not coverd under there warranty due to prolonged use WEAR and TEAR on LCD TV DONT buy this set and costco should stop carring this Brand"