Customer Reviews for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Contrast: 2000:1 Brightness: 550 cd/m2
Average Customer Rating:
3.806 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
(out of 98 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
21
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
13
70 of 98(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:December 27, 2009

Great Buy!!

Pros: everything!!
"I bought this when you could get 2 for $799.00. I was a bit concerned because of the reviews that had discussed the sound quality without a sound system on board. The set was easy to set up and the sound and picture are great! I am extremely pleased with this purchase and would definately recommend!!"
Review 2 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:N.Y.
Date:December 22, 2009

Excellent buy

Model Number: Proscan 40'' LCD HDTV
"I brought this TV for the basement to use with XBox 360.What a great picture ,no buzzing sound at all that others have complained of.Great price and with Costco,s warranty I could not be happier.Thanx Costco"
Review 3 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:December 10, 2009

Iffy

Pros: price
Cons: quality
"Great price..but, not to sure if worth it. Just got it yesterday, sometimes it looks great, sometimes it looks bad(picture that is) Not sure if I'm going to keep it. Looks like the color is not registered together. I guess you get what you pay for."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:December 4, 2009

Disappointing

Pros: good price, a good number of various inputs
Cons: bad picture quality in hd, sound not great but ok
Model Number: 40LD45QC
"I don't know what happened, but I just got this TV yesterday and the picture is not nearly as good as it used to be on the models they were shipping back in June. I feel like we may have to return it to a store. This model number is different, but it's still a 40 inch Proscan LCD, this exact model. I just ordered it last week. It arrived promptly, but what's the point. The picture is so bad, I had to check several times to make sure it is HD, but it is. The picture on the model they were sending back in June was so great, I could not stop admiring it. I am watching HD through Comcast. I really feel that the picture on my analog 5 year old TV is much better than on this one."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hazlet, NJ
Date:November 30, 2009

No-Name Not For Long

Pros: love the "vivid" picture setting
Cons: none
"Was watching HDTV (I thought) on a 27" Advent square screen in my medium sized living room. Decided it was time for a family upgrade and purchased this set. Ordered on the Sunday before Turkey Day and was hooking up on Weds. in time for Thanksgiving football. I cannot say enough about the quality of the picture that clearly ranks with the name brands (i use the HDMI cables). With Costco's doubling of the manufacturer warranty at no cost and 90 day return policy to any warehouse store, and a price of $499.99...are you kidding me??? Do not pass this up."
Review 6 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:November 27, 2009

Bad choice. Stay away from it or return it.

Pros: 2 years warranty
Cons: proscan customer service, concierge service can't help, parts are not available
"I have owned this tv for 6 months. It ony worked properly for 91 days. 3 months later and still waiting to get tv back from repair service. I have called Concierge services on a daily basis and they can't help. Proscan will not answer to voice mails. The only helpful people are from the repair shop, but they are waiting for parts from Proscan."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nevada
Date:November 25, 2009

Worth every penny

"Great TV for the price. Yes, there is a small hum, but we only notice it occasionally. We use it in the master and it does not affect sleep at all. I bought in June have had no problem Watching Blue Ray movies is amazing. I prefer this one to our 60 inch HD projection tv which is only 1080i. Out of the box and working within 5 minutes and with three HDMI inputs - attaching everything is a breeze."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ashburn, VA
Date:November 17, 2009

Great for the money

Pros: settings are easy to control and setup
Cons: no adjustment on the mounting pedestal for viewing
"Read many reviews before I purchased the TV and one of the biggest complaints was the sound and a mysterious hum. The only problem I found with the sound was the control seems to get the volume up quickly and at high levels I did notice some distortion. Having said that overall I think the TV is an excellent buy the picture is terrific. There are quite a few options to control the picture quality but the clarity and color straight out of the box were great. If you're really concerned about sound add a Soundbar with the money you save on the TV"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicagoland
Date:November 17, 2009

Great for the price!

Pros: easy set up
Cons: none yet....unless you count ups's screwups!
"Granted it took UPS 3 tries to get one to us without them breaking it in the process!! But once they did that, this TV is just great. Awesome picture. Easy set up. Ours is connected to a surround sound system so no complaints about the sound."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tulare, CA
Date:November 16, 2009

great tv for gaming

"i ordered this t.v. on friday got it on monday but if i would of odered it on thursday i would of gotten it on friday but so far i love this t.v. ho humming noise for me yet but its really great all i need is an hd reciever for dishnetwork because the qaulity looks like trash without a hd reciever"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:November 16, 2009

Much bang for your buck

Pros: good size, great price, impressive hd image, great for dvd, great selection of inputs and outputs
Cons: handles sd poorly, disappointing aspect ratios
"First, this is not a high end TV. But for what I paid, I've been VERY happy.
Mine is in my family room and gets anywhere from six to 10 hours of use each day from various members of my family. We sit fairly close and take full advantage of the 1080p.
Yes, there is a high pitched sound when it is turned off so I don't put it where you sleep. It also lost picture in combination with a REALLY loud static sound. I think it overheated this summer. I unplugged the set and then plugged it back in and it resumed normal operation. It hasn't done it again since the weather cooled off.
Again, for the money, the picture quality in HD, color, contrast and refresh rate have all been impressive. Mine came with no dead pixels or faulty connections. If you don't yet have an HD TV, you will be amazed by the difference over your current set.
The SD quality through my cable company is not that good but I don't know if that's because of the source or the TV, but HD is awesome. I suspect it is the source because SD from my DVD through an s-video cable is far better than I would have expected it to be.
The DVD picture quality is so good I'm putting off buying a Blu-ray player for my family room. My kids' computer animated movies are especially phenomenal. My wife and I sometimes choose to watch movies on this TV instead of in our theater. (Despite the theater having 110" projected image and a house rocking surround system.)
Please don't ding this TV for the sound quality. It is compairable to the sound quality of any TV. If you actually care about it, then you probably have a sound system already. Mine is a 15 year old stereo receiver with 8 year old speakers and I have no complaints at all. Choose a sound system that suits your application. TVs do VIDEO; sound systems do AUDIO. If this is your home theater monitor, get a good 5.1 or better system. You'll be happy you did.
After many months of hard use, I've been satisfied with the quality of my set. I know that some people have gotten defective ones but mine has had no problems that shutting it off and turning it back on didn't solve. Even then, those occasions are very rare.
I am a bit disappointed in the aspect ratio selections. Watching a 16:9 SD cable show through HDMI under normal ratio leaves black both on top and the sides. It doesn't automatically correct. Manually switching to other aspect ratios either alter the ratio of the image by stretching it, or simply zoom in and lose a bit off the top and bottom in order to fill in the sides. I choose to just watch the smaller image since I sit so close and the TV is nice and large. The smaller image also has better quality (although this is likely an illusion based on visual acuity.)
Again, HD and DVD sources are truely awesome. If it had better aspect ratio choices I would have given it 5 stars based on the value.
Would I buy it again? Yes"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2009

Phenomenal TV!! Phenomenal price!

"The cable gut was amazed at how beautiful and clear the picture was. He said at his last call they had a new $1500 tv and the picture was nowhere as clear. Great price and beautiful tv. I have refused to get a flat screen but could not pass up this price. I am so glad I jumped on it."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wilmington NC
Date:November 15, 2009

Good Buy

Pros: great buy for the price
Cons: slight distortion occasionally in the sound.
Model Number: Proscan 40" HDTV1080p
"Bought this HDTV three months ago. I has worked real fine. Easy setup. Initially there was a humming sound but it turned out to be the DVR. No hum, no problems."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:houston tx.
Date:November 14, 2009

good product

Cons: codes for universal remotes att specific
Model Number: 40 and 37 inch hd screens
"there is a high pitch hum when turned off. with ATT-uverse, PROSCAN has yet to provide remote universal codes compatable with ATT"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sterling, VA
Date:November 13, 2009

Great deal, great picture

Pros: stunning picture
"I bought this TV 5 months ago. It worked out the box with no adjustments. Great HD picture. Yes, it had the high pitched buzzing noise when off many have complained about.
A few weeks after purchase, I called Costco Concierge (which comes with the TV). They shipped the part to me and scheduled technician to replace it. Took maybe 30 minutes total. Wala! No more buzzing noise. I have had absolutely no problems with the TV.
For the price, you can't go wrong. It is a frugal use of money in this economy. Now if only the screen were larger!"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bloomingdale, Il.
Date:November 11, 2009

Very nice television

"The T.V. is awesome great picture, everything. Bought for the bedroom the only problem is when unit is shut off it makes a high pitch hymning sound. If anyone knows how to get rid of that noise please advise."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 7, 2009

Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV

"We bought this unit 3 months ago & so far we are quite happy. GREAT picture & good sound. Friendly setup is another reason. I might add that sound quality is not THE best but all together is a good bang for the buck."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Puyallup, WA
Date:November 7, 2009

So impressed

Pros: easy set up and great picture
Cons: low response rate but its barely noticeable
"Easily compares to TV's twice this price. Got mine several months ago and its made watching HD just amazing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2009

Great TV Great Price

"Proscan might be an off brand but the quality is great. You get the same quality TV as the main brands for far less money. I love it, very easy to set up and the picture quality is great. I have had it for about 3 months so only time will tell but so far so good."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Proscan 40" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Benicia, California
Date:October 31, 2009

Love it!

"Have had mine 6 months now, love it. Picture and style are great! Got mine on sale wthis coupon online, delivered, very happy! Thanks costco"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>