Customer Reviews for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue

Integrated Webcam Multi-in-1 Media Card Reader
Average Customer Rating:
2.867 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
8 of 15(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue
Review 1 for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Laguna, CA
Date:October 30, 2009

Great for 2nd computer

Model Number: Aspire one
"Love my Acer. I read other reviews. This should not be your home computer but a great traveling companion."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:October 30, 2009

Worst Purchase Ever!!

Pros: key board, webcam, audio
Cons: slow!
"Take Eons to process a mouseclick!! Returned it to Costco.
Great keyboard, webcam, audio etc but very slow processor."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:October 30, 2009

11.6" is better and very portable

Pros: price, screen resolution, very portable
Cons: sure it won't perform like a big laptop
"I just cannot live with a 10" netbooks' 600px vertical inventory. It is just too small to show a typical web page. So, I decided to go with at least 11.6" and then I was surprised that it is as portable as the 10".
Comparing with the rest of 10" netbooks which have only 1GB RAM to run win xp, this one is really a much better deal, especially when you consider that Costco has the best price and service in the market.
I upgraded the win vista to win 7 on my netbook by myself and it went pretty well. You can ignore the warning saying one or two programs that are not compatible and just click enter to upgrade.
If you miss your CD/DVD, you have many options. For examples, you can just download some freeware like power iso, daemon, etc. to mount iso files converted from cd somewhere else. Or you can buy a portable dvd player later if you have to have one (but you are better off to buy a laptop if that is the case)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:October 24, 2009

Good value and performance

Pros: very light at 2+ lbs, bright lcd display, good performance, reasonalble battery life with 3 cells, small power adapter but large ac power cable
Cons: the keyboard is too flexible and flexes while typi, difficult to get to setup due to no spash screen, chipset not supported by linux, too much installed junkware, no fax/modem
Model Number: Acer AO751h
"The 75ah was purchased in the Costco store configured with 1GB RAM and Windows XP. I quickly uninstalled McAfee anti-virus software as it really slows down the computer and replaced it with a different anti-virus.
Net-books are not for games, so don't even consider it"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:DTW
Date:October 16, 2009

just a netbook..

Model Number: Z520
"so dont expect too much from this thing. I paid $270 for this little guy and clean install the Windows7 RTM 1/2 day later (Vista basic was a nightmare) now it worked pretty good. took it with me to NY over the weekend. Its a great travel computer. and thats all there is to it.
Sure can do more than the iPod touch right?"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:October 15, 2009

Great inexpensive netbook

Pros: small, lightweight, inexpensive, xp
Cons: no cd/dvd drive
Model Number: A0751h-1948
"Purchased this to surf, email and use basic applications. Not a product I expected to use intensive graphic programs and no games. Battery is fine for what I need and I love the light weight!!
I have had no real problems with this netbook. Keep in mind, it did take me a few hours to get all the updates loaded and it did operate slow at first due to the initial configuration, but once completely configured, updated using Windows Updater it's a great machine. I also removed all the un-needed software and am very happy running MS Office 2003. I also got a nice external mouse wireless mouse and disabled the touch pad mouse - great for a sloppy typer like me.
I even got one for my mother who only wanted a wireless solution to check email and surf the web. She loves it and has also had no problems."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 13, 2009

Excellent Netbook

Model Number: Acer Aspire One AO751h
"This netbook has a bigger screen and larger keys than most and is, therefore, easier to use. It is slow even with the memory upgraded to 2GB and running Windows XP. That is to be expected. On the other hand, it works just fine for email, word processing and browsing, it connects readily to wireless networks, weighs almost nothing, fits into a very small space in a carry-on, and is quiet. With the video driver updated, it is even possible to watch internet video. It also comes with a lot fewer (compared to HP products) of those annoying pre-installed craplets you need to delete from day one. The build quality seems fine and I have had no real problems, including none of the freezes described by others, in the month or so I have had this netbook."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:September 24, 2009

Don't waste your time

Pros: screen quality, full size keyboard
Cons: slow
Model Number: A0751h
"Do not waste your time.
I was not expecting a speed demon since this is Atom based.
I only wanted the ability to check emails.
I don't even do the youtube stuff.
It is painfully slow - I wanted to smash it with a hammer!
I tried to make every excuse for it since the build quality is good.
I even removed all the bloatware and virus protection.
And it is not my connection.
I have an ASUS laptop and my internet connection is good with it as well as other systems.
And the "person" who complained about MS Word and the product key.
The system has a 60 day trial period for MS Office. The product key you need to enter is the one you receive when you buy the application.
The product key on the bottom of the machine is for the Windows XP operating system.
I do not recommend this product."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OR
Date:September 21, 2009

third time a charm? or glutton for pain?

Pros: great size light weight, excellent screen & enough resolution to fit a page, excellent battery life - 3-4 hours on 3-cell
Cons: unstable - freezes when 'scroll' occurs, audio problem - crackling sound when using mic, unresponsive acer support
Model Number: Acer Aspire One 0751H (1GB XP and 2GB Vista)
"Bought for Wife for email and browsing machine. Tried 1GB/XP version from warehouse. Removed trial-ware, installed office, firefox, IE8; configured outlook, ... Worked great except: crashed every two days on average. Every crash was during a 'scroll' of information, whether outlook message subjects in the 'inbox' view, or web pages, or whatever. Crash was a complete 'freeze' - no cursor tracking, had to "hold power button for 4 seconds" to get unit to power off and power back on. Final straw was when it crashed four times in an hour one morning reading mail and one article on the web. Sadly had to return. Thought perhaps 1GB was too little memory and tried the 2GB/Vista unit from this site. Removed trial-ware, installed office, transfered inboxes and configured outlook, installed Win7, installed firefox... Things were looking good, working well. Tried the webcam. Really nice - does great in low light. Tried the audio. OUCH - loud crackle when using the internal mic. Tried external mic. Same deal. Totally unusable audio input. Can't use for skype or any similar usage. Can't use for ichat like applicatons (video+audio). SAD - great camera, adequate output audio, and LOUD CRACKLE on mic inputs. Preparing to return. Call us crazy, but we're going to try again hoping the audio problem is "just this one". The form factor is addictive - it's small and light and can go with you in a purse! Will update on stability of the 2GB version when we have gotten some time to try it (assuming audio works on the new one).
Regarding some other comments, some corrections seem to be in order:
The display is truly excellent. It is head and shoulders above the T-400 display I'm looking at now.
The aspire is not as fast as my T-400, but it gets great battery life on a dinky battery while the battery alone of my T-400 is heavier than this entire laptop.
The trial-ware isn't meant to be licensed by entering the 'key' for the operating system which is that number on the sticker on the laptop. Trial-ware is an offer for you to buy the product (office, or the games, ...) - try 'symphony' if that might work, it's free. The trial-ware takes patience to remove, but it's worth getting the disk space back :-)
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2009

Excellent product

Pros: keyboard picture quality vista os
Cons: none i could find
"I bought this product elsewhere since it had a 6 cell battery there. While I was hesitant about Vista, I found it to be a very fine OS, far better than Windows XP. This computer is fast--if you delete the associated bloatware that comes with it and use ReadyBoost with a USB or SD memory card attached. The keyboard and picture quality are wonderful and it seems sturdily made to me. I've had no problem watching video on it (news channels). This is at least one of the best netbooks on the market (I've had the 7" Asus 701 for nearly 2 years and have read much about them since).The update to Vista SP2 took less than an hour, just be sure to turn off your antivirus for this update."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, Alaska
Date:September 10, 2009

unsatisfactory experience

Model Number: Acer Aspire One 11.6” (AO751h)
"After about an hour of familiarizing myself with this nice looking machine, my first impression is that the Acer Aspire One 11.6” (AO751h) doesn’t work very well. Here are my reasons for stating this:
1. This computer’s is SLOW.
2. The computer’s screen is hard to see at many angles, including the angles at which the machine is designed to be used. In order to get a crisp view, I have to tip the screen all the way back to its stops and then tilt the entire machine back even further. This means that the computer is not sitting flat, and that the keyboard is sitting at an angle that makes it impossible to use easily.
3. When I started MS Word, the program asked me to supply the “Product Key” number. Finding it on the bottom of the computer, I typed it in at least ten times, double-checking myself and having someone else double-check me. Yet the product wouldn’t register … somehow the agreement between MS and Acer for the use of the aging XP OS is flawed—at least as far as this computer is concerned. I bypassed the product registration process.
4. I tried to load the software package for the Acer-brand “plug and play” external CD/DVD reader-writer I purchased at the same time as the computer. First, it’s not built very well. The sliding door doesn’t close without adjusting it by hand each time. Second, the software wouldn’t load. After a long time … nothing happened. I tried several times, until finally the operation ceased working entirely. I realize the software is not really necessary for simple operation of the hardware (at least in theory), but it should at least load when instructed to do so.
5. Then I tried to run two different DVDs (which work well on other machines) with the external DVD/CD hardware … Neither would play. The machine kept showing an error message.
6. Using a different computer, I went online to try to learn a bit more about this netbook and do a little trouble-shooting. The Acer website is poorly designed and circular in its operation. It took a lot of clicking and moving around before I accidentally stumbled upon anything helpful and slightly informative. Most of what I found was marketing language, which unfortunately is not really useful in trouble-shooting. The Acer Store wouldn’t let me search for any accessories for this computer, because no netbooks are listed in the restrictive list-based search tools!
Then on a very reputable site I found a short write-up on this particular computer. I learned that the processor manufacturer has purposely slowed its processor down, so that this small light and inexpensive machine won’t compete with notebook computers of about the same size and weight, but which sport much heftier price tags. This was somewhat discomforting, but no less discomforting than learning that Acer is involved in lawsuits regarding the infringement of technological patents.
7. The touch-pad is much too sensitive for me and the mouse flies all over the screen. This is a problem I have with all touch-pads …
In fact, I am now typing these comments on another computer, since the Acer machine really doesn’t work the way I expected. It’s clear I won’t be able to use it as I need to use it.
All in all, this has been an unsatisfactory experience. I will return this machine and avoid purchasing another Acer product."
4 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2009

should be XP only

"I purchased a version of this netbook in the store . It has less then ram but works well. The big differences is that it came installed with XP. There is no reason why Acer would should have allowed to have their product ruined with an installation of Vista. The netbook is still a little slow when trying to watch youtube and surf at the same time but for the price and minimal size its not reasonable to expect no performance drawbacks. Nice keyboard and screen size is perfect"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2009

Acer Netbooks

Model Number: ACER AO-175
"This is a single processor computer and Microsoft softwares can not work on it. MS softwares are MIPS hungry. They get even worse and worse every year. You can not run MS Vista on this type of computers. It is only good with emails if there are not big attachments otherwise it freezes very easily and reading emails are possible with iPhones and Blackberrys.
I think Intel just made these processors to open up new market. I purchased this Netbook and returned it in a week. Such a waste of time!"
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:September 8, 2009

Worst computer purchase in 19 years

Pros: nice screen, full size keyboard
Cons: unstable, terrible customer support, slow
Model Number: Ao751h
"Let's start with the good: lightweight, full-size keyboard, nice screen.
None of the good things, though, matter when the computer is so unstable as to be unusable. There were several lockups and freezes in the first week of owning, but the worst was when we plugged an external project into the computer. It crashed hard, wiping out all of the files that we had created (photos, videos, word documents, etc.).
While this was bad, the interactions with tech support were even worse. It took several email exchanges over the span of a week for Acer to admit that the computer was under their 1-year warranty, even though it hadn't even been released for 8 months. Also, they suggested that since the computer was operating normally, there were no problems. I subsequently spent an hour on the phone with Acer technical support, dealing with several technicians and managers, and all played the same party line that there was nothing wrong with the computer.
If you need a stable, reliable computer, this is not for you.
Thank goodness for Costco's excellent return policy."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Acer Aspire One 11.6" Netbook Intel Atom Z520 1.33GHz 3-Cell Battery Sapphire Blue
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Montgomery, AL
Date:August 5, 2009

SLOW!!!!!!

Pros: 250gb hd 2gb ram camera
Cons: slow slow slow
"The netbook is everything I wanted: tiny, light weight, camera, 2gb ram, full-sized keyboard, and 250gb HD. The only problem is that it is painfully slow! I put about 40gb of data on it out of the available 250gb and it freezes, stops responding, and is very slow in doing anything, including the internet. I know it is a netbook with an Intel atom processor so I don't expect Dual-core speed, but this is just ridiculous. I will be taking it back"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.