Customer Reviews for Windows® 7 Professional Upgrade

Windows® 7 Professional Upgrade

Work Anywhere Easier Windows 7 Professional makes working anywhere easier and more secure. It simplifies connecting to networks and giving presentations. It helps you safeguard your hard work and important information. And it’s compatible with more business programs. If you work with your PC, Windows 7 Professional will help make working easier. Work anywhere easier Windows will automatically use the printer you prefer for whatever network you’re on   Making presentations is simpler with special one-click settings for presentations   HomeGroup connects PCs with Windows 7 together on a network, so you can easily share files and printers among them.   Finding and connecting to wireless networks is easier   Windows 7 is designed to make laptops sleep and resume from sleep faster   Work More Securely Keep your work automatically backed-up to external hard drives or DVDs in case your laptop is lost, stolen, or damaged.   Restore previous versions of files that have been inadvertently changed or deleted.   File encryption helps keep confidential information private on PCs that are shared by multiple people   Don’t forget… Microsoft Office is not part of Windows In order to get the most out of your new PC, don’t forget to purchase a Microsoft Office suite Windows® 7 Upgrade System Requirements 1GHz or faster 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor   1GB RAM (32-bit) / 2GB RAM (64-bit)   16GB available disk space (32-bit) / 20 GB (64-bit)   DirectX® 9 graphics device with WDDM 1.0 or higher driver Additional Requirements to use Certain Features: Internet Access (fees may apply)   Depending on resolution video playback may require additional memory and advanced graphics hardware   For some Windows® Media Center functionality a TV tuner and additional hardware may be required   Windows Touch and Windows Tablet require specific hardware   HomeGroup requires a network and PCs with Windows 7   DVD/CD authoring requires a compatible optical drive   Music and sound require audio output   Windows XP Mode requires:   Additional 1GB of RAM   Additional 15GB of available disk space   Processor capable of hardware virtualization, with Intel-VT or AMD-V turned on   *Product functionality and graphics may vary based on your system configuration. Some features may require advanced or additional hardware. Model: Win7 Win 7 Windows 7
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 of 9(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Windows® 7 Professional Upgrade
Review 1 for Windows® 7 Professional Upgrade
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2011

Could not upgrade Dell Inspiron 1720 Windows Vista

Model Number: Windows 7 Professional upgrade for Vista
"This is not really a review of Windows 7 Pro because I was unable to install it on my Dell Inspiron 1720 (running Windows Vista). It told me the BIOS needed to be upgraded before I installed the software, which is a royal pain. I'm not sure if it's Dell or Microsoft I'm annoyed with that will either force me to get a new laptop or more hardware just to upgrade to this new OS. Anyway...just a heads up to any of you that have Dell Inspiron 1720 (which I also happened to buy at Costco.)"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Windows® 7 Professional Upgrade
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Date:November 7, 2009

Works great after fair effort

Pros: big improvement over vista
Cons: custom install is tedious
Model Number: Windows 7 Professional Upgrade
"Only after hours of effort did this product work as touted by others. The big caveat is absence of upgrade installer for moving from Vista Home Premium to Windows 7 Professional. That's correct... no upgrade. One must back up all data and settings to an external disk, do a clean install, then reinstall all apps by hand from original media or downloaded installers. Any previous software updates are lost. Windows Easy Transer helps some, but it is not perfect. Also, the new installation failed to boot normally until a repair operation was performed. Worth the effort in the end. Check for easy upgrade options before buying."
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Windows® 7 Professional Upgrade
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rochester, MI
Date:July 11, 2009

Best Microsoft OS in years!

"Windows 7 is solid. I've been using it on my 4 year old system for several months and I was immediately impressed with how much faster it was than Vista. Everything works great and I love some of the new features like the built-in backup product."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Windows® 7 Professional Upgrade
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, Ca.
Date:July 10, 2009

If you like Vista, You'll LOve this

"I am a computer professional working in the Silicon Valley area. When my company asked for "volunteers" to test Windows 7, I was a might sceptical. I have Vista running at home and I have had no issues I have heard over the years. But it is lousy in a work environment.
I have ran windows 7 Beta and RC1 32 bit and found it to be what Vista should have been. Zero problems, just not too sporty.
Then I got the Windows 7 RC1 64 bit. Put on your seat belt!!! With no configuration changes to my workstation, I thought I had added a second quad core, and 4gig of memory!!!
Resource utilization is fantastic, and only had to tweak one application, (get the 64 bit version), to work. If you have a 64bit processor, get the 64bit. If not, go with 32, but go and get it..."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Windows® 7 Professional Upgrade
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern Utah
Date:July 8, 2009

This stuff is Great!

Pros: this will be a big thing in the industry!
Cons: i wish we could get the final program earlier.
Model Number: Microsoft 7 - vista version
"I test all o/s for my friends and customers before I will recommend then. Yes the driver might not be on the cd or download you got but Microsoft has many drivers in their library. If it worked with Vista then it will work with Microsoft 7. They have a program that will go out and find the drivers that are newer than your current drivers and install them for you. I think this will be a great addition to Microsoft. if the non informed and narrow minded don't pick it apart. I used vista for two years and was very satisfied with it till I got my hands on M-7. This is FAST!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Windows® 7 Professional Upgrade
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:July 2, 2009

What Vista should have been.

"If you say nothing works with it, then you're obviously doing something wrong. I've got 3 machines running it and everything you mentioned runs perfectly on all of them."
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Windows® 7 Professional Upgrade
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:HOuston
Date:July 2, 2009

4 1/2 stars

Cons: currently limited software but that will change.
"I've been running the Windows 7-RC (Release Candidate) for 2 months on a new PC build. Everything has been great. I have dual tuner Hauppauge installed that allows me to watch and record separate TV channels. After upgrading from XP, I was pleasantly surprised with the Windows Media Center (It lists all the local stations and allows you to directly select your channel or record once or the whole series). If all your computers are running Windows 7 you can make your home a wireless network and print from a single printer even if it is not WiFi. I drop a half a point because it should give you the option of opening a new window in IE from the task bar when you already have a window open, (you can still click to open a new tab in an active window so it is not that big a deal). Overall though, this program is much better than the dreaded Vista and I'll be upgrading my wife's laptop to Windows 7 upon release."
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Windows® 7 Professional Upgrade
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:June 29, 2009

So far so good

Pros: shuts down fast, old software works (cert. for vista), automatically recognises printer, great interface and design
Cons: over symplified to the point its confusing, start up a bit slow, isp security software not available yet
Model Number: HP
"I have been running Windows 7 Beta and now recently Windows 7 release client. The installation has been easy and painless. I use to run vista on PC i purchased from Costco and it was slow and painful. I even upgraded the memory and it was still slow. I immeditaly noticed a difference when going to Windows 7. It was a lot faster.
Since I am running Windows 7 pre client release I am sure that there are debugging features turned on which casues the OS to run slower than production."
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Windows® 7 Professional Upgrade
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Laguna Niguel, CA
Date:June 27, 2009

Not yet, maybe not for long long time

"Beta one looks nice starts and shuts down nice, too bad NOTHING works with it. Especially anything Google, gmail, youtube, Ameritrade streamer, so many things I can't begin. Tired it for a week, gave up, too much pain. Can't even imagine all the drivers you will not be able to get for long time if ever."
9 of 67 people found this review helpful.