Customer Reviews for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure

With Deluxe Carry Case and Extended Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
3.931 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
(out of 29 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
23 of 29(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Review 1 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:peyton co
Date:November 1, 2011

a-plus for costco, f for product

Pros: costco on-line
Cons: broken item
"I purchased this item from costco on-line with a $54 off sale. With tax and shipping I could not beat the price. The shipping was fast and upon opening the item and turning it on, I found the sound was not working. Tried multiple batteries, headsets, troubleshooting and contacting the company only to find out the company would allow me to leave a message and would call me back during business hours. This was during EST business hours (I am mst and they are est). I returned it the next day to costco with no questions asked other than was it working (no). I feel that for the $233 price tag, a little q/a should be happening. I noticed that it was made in China but sold out of the USA, shame on this company, q/a is not hard to do and would increase sales and customer satisfaction. I think my blood pressure rose trying to get this item to work but I do believe my blood pressure dropped when I returned it for a full refund. I was very intrigued with this product but will be trying other options such as yoga."
Review 2 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2011

WASTE OF MONEY

"Used the product at least 5 days a week for 2 months. Did not lower my blood pressure. Dont waste your time or money."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:King George VA
Date:August 3, 2011

great equipment

"This equipment will lower your blood pressure if you are faithful to use it and remember to breathe deeper and slower at all times. Why take meds when you don't have to. Doctors will put you on meds without teaching you how to breathe properly. Take charge of your own life."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So Cali
Date:July 24, 2011

Excellent Tool

Pros: easy to use
Cons: could use more sounds
"The RESPeRATE was recommended to me along with two other suggestions for aiding me in reducing an increasing blood pressure reading. Of the three suggestions, the RESPeRATE appears to be helping the most by its guided meditation breathing. I use it before bed and it serves doubly as a relaxing pre-sleep experience. My blood pressure has dropped back to the normal range most of the time. Excellent."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:June 22, 2011

Very effective tool

"I purchased the Resperate Ultra Device in March and have used it faithfully since. My blood pressure has dropped from 140 to 150 over 80 to 115 to 120 over 70 on a consistent basis. As a runner who tracks progress with Nike+ and a Polar heart rate monitor, I have noticed a significant, about 10 bpm drop, in my excercising heart beat at my various checkpoints."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:March 13, 2011

Relaxing and calming

"Very nice packaging. Great carry case. I only gave it 3 stars because I haven't had it long enough to know if it will do what it says it will but have had a good time trying to figure out how to use it. It says it takes a few weeks to see results. They made getting the strap fitted properly and hearing the right notes to breathe with fairly easy.I will let you know in a month or two what I think of it's ability to lower blood pressure. Meanwhile it is very relaxing.and calming. Wonderful Costco delivery."
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2011

Excellent product so far

Pros: easy to use, relaxation effect, lowered blood pressure, mayo clinic endorsed
Cons: the price is a bit high
Model Number: Resperate Ultra
"I have only had the resperate for about 3 weeks now, so I can only review what I have experienced so far. Currently I have noticed approximately a 3-5 point drop in both systolic and dialostic pressures, but I have also increased the intensity of exercising so that may be coincidental. I really enjoy the relaxation effect it has and seems to help me fall asleep since I use it about 30 minutes before going to bed. I will update the star rating after e few more weeks of use."
Review 8 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, Ca
Date:March 2, 2011

What a find.

Pros: user friendly
Cons: somtimes breath sensor needs to be reajusted
"My wife and I did not believe this would work but my blood pressure, which was always around 140 to 150, dropped to 120 after 3 weeks of daily use. You must use it daily for it to work but what a wonderful suprise when it did. It will not only drop your blood pressure but relax you so you sleep better than ever. What a find."
Review 9 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:February 23, 2011

Great hypertension and relaxation device

Pros: relaxation state, easy to use, enjoyable
Cons: if you don't use it regularly it won't work
"This is a great idea and I am impressed with the product after a couple of weeks. It very effectively gets your breathing down to a low frequency (mine goes to 5 breaths per minute) stimulating the parasympathetic nervous system, leading to lower BP and relaxation. High blood pressure is multifactorial and this will not work for EVERYONE, just as any blood pressure medication does not work for EVERYONE. However, even if your blood pressure does not decrease, you will likely benefit from the relaxation state the machine gets you to. I recommend doing it for the month trial and then deciding if it is for you. I am an MD physician and I think this machine is a terrific treatment!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redlands, CA
Date:February 22, 2011

This device works...

Model Number: RespeRate Ultra
"I don't often write reviews, but I'm impressed with how this device does lower my blood pressure 5-10 systolic and 3-5 diastolic points. I also find it very relaxing, to the point where I often am falling asleep towards the end of the session. Would definitely recommend this device, and if it doesn't work for you, Costco has a very good return policy - so try it!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, arizona
Date:January 28, 2011

Excellent

"This device not only lowers my blood pressure but also completely destresses my life. I love it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tallahassee, FL
Date:January 22, 2011

Compact

Model Number: Ultra
"I had the older model and decided to get a new one. This one is much better. Smaller,better guidance, both wires unplug, more information. This one at Costco also comes with a case for travel or storage. I would recommend this one over older model."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Petaluma, CA
Date:October 8, 2010

Returned to store

"This device was never able to read when I'm breathing and kept telling me to tighten the belt or loosen the belt when I hadn't done anything to the belt. This thing annoyed me so much that my BP increased! I returned it and instead use Dr. Patrick Porter hypnosis to relax and lower my blood pressure."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:July 24, 2010

Great relaxer

Pros: soothing and relaxing
Cons: none
"After hearing about this product from my sister, I bought it for relaxation and prevention. Everyone in my family has high blood pressure except me and I don't ever want to have it. I love this device and take it with me when I travel. Each session is so soothing and relaxing."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2010

Worth it for relaxation alone

"The relaxing effect of the 15-minute exercise really does carry over to the rest of the day. In itself that's a health benefit for someone high-strung like me.
My unmedicated BP was high, but not kill-you-right-away high, so I took myself off the diuretics after using Resperate for a few weeks. Measurements with a good Omron monitor are now showing BP in normal range."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toms River, New Jersey
Date:April 29, 2010

Resperate is the best thing I ever bought!

"I have been using Resperate for over two years and I love it. My blood pressure was getting high and my doctor started "the talk" about starting on medication. Since I have always been a "health nut" and not taking any medicine at all, I wanted to find a way to lower my blood pressure more naturally. Also, I had heard tales of woe from some of my friends and neighbors about the "side-effects" of their medicine and I didn't want to go through all of that.
I use the Resperate twice a day and when I go on vacation, it goes with me in my carry-on. I would never be with out it!
I am so grateful to the brilliant people for discovering such a wonderful way to keep my pressure down. I wish that some day I will have the opporltunity to tell them in person. I feel that they should be awarded a Nobel Prize for Natural Medicine. I now have such peace of mind knowing that I am being proactive in helping my blood pressure stay normal.
I am a senior citizen, still working and taking NO medications and I plan on keeping it that way!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:April 23, 2010

Cheap material

Cons: non support of the product, can be done without the device
Model Number: Ultra
"Have found that it does lower my blood pressure a little bit, but even after two or three months of use, it does not extend significantly beyond the 15 minute breathing session.
After three or four months of usage the headphones quit working. What happened is that the wire/line that plugs into the device from the phones evidently broke or separated because it would work at times and not at other times before it quit completely. The use of any other set of headphones does not work as well because they do not activate the time remaining clock and some of the sounds in the device that the original does. When my headphones quit working I contacted Resperate directly (I bought this device on-line from Costco) via email, and they have never even bothered to respond. With this type of support for a cheap headphone connection I can’t give it anything but a one star rating and I have to give it a star to even get my review published.
One can receive identical benefits by doing a Google of “slow breathing hypertension.” Don’t waste your money on this product.
"
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:March 18, 2010

Excellent

Model Number: Resparate Ultra; not sure of model number
"This is an excellent product. I had severe side effects to my meds and stopped them and started using this device. It has lowered my blood pressure significantly. I would recommend it to everyone with high blood pressure. It is natural and there are no side effects. Thank you very much for inventing such a device!"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:February 19, 2010

Lowered my BP from 140's/90's to 120's/80's

Pros: compact easy to use effective, lowered my blood pressure without medication
Cons: limited background music selection, a lot of cords and wires to stow after every use
"I received this unit on a Tuesday. I read the entire instructions (the manual and the quick start guide) while doing my first session on Tuesday night. I used it twice a day, and checked my morning blood pressure every morning. In three days, my blood pressure which had been consistently in the 140's/90's had dropped to 120's/80's. My diastolic blood pressure (the lower number) is continuing to go down slowly (ideally to the 70's) -- but I am not sure whether this slower decline may also be related to riding a stationary bike 30 minutes a day and having salt-free meals.
I did clinical hypertension research, and I can say that results similar to mine would be considered significant.
I reviewed the published data on RESPeRATE (you too can do a search on PUBMED) and the fact is that the device was approved based on being effective. So we just know that effortless breathing less than 10 breaths a minute WORKS, but we don't know exactly WHY it works.
There are a lot of different causes of hypertension (high blood pressure). One cause can be chronic stress. Chronic stress can increase blood pressure by increasing production of cortisol, which increases retention of salt by the kidneys. Chronic stress may also lead people to do what is called "inhibitory breathing" in which they take small breaths and hold them. This breathing pattern may increase blood flow to the brain, but causes further retention of salt by the kidneys.
I did notice that after using the machine, I experienced a diuretic effect, which may be an example of the "salt retention" theory.
Users who don't experience similar results might want to read the manuals again (or for the first time) -- it is not a question of how low you can get your respiratory rate, it is FAR more important that you practice "effortless [comfortable] breathing" with this device. Those of you who are focused on getting the lowest respiratory rate are probably starving for breath, and subtly increasing your anxiety and blood pressure. It's the journey, not the destination (which is a lesson in itself)."
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for RESPeRATE® Ultra Device to Lower Blood Pressure
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Weston, Florida
Date:February 7, 2010

Bad News and Good News

Pros: easy and pleasant
Cons: may not be a quick-fix in itself
Model Number: RR-150
"I've been using the Resperate machine on and off for years -- mainly on. I'm a moderate hypertensive on three meds and had hoped that I could ratchet down a bit. The bad news is that just adding Resperate daily to my meds didn't seem to do much.
The good news is that when I went on a DASH diet and daily treadmill sessions as well as 20 mins day on Resperate I DID achieve a notable pressure drop.
The better news is that I find my daily Resperate sessions extremely pleasant and relaxing. Easy yoga! My suspicion is that it works best as an addition to a diet+exercise regime."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>