Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set

Average Customer Rating:
3.896 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
(out of 48 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
5
34 of 48(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Review 1 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:August 6, 2010

Excellent

"My husband and i picked this cookware set out after doing much research about what the best type of cookware was. We used consumer reports, as well as my new mother-in-law. We decided to go with these and have had them for about 4 months. I absolutely love them I am always looking for excuses to cook with them!
They are so easy to clean, just wait for them to cool down then wash with warm soapy water and everything comes off so easily. It says right on the box "not recommended for dishwasher" so everyone who complained about their pans coming out of the dishwasher not looking nice should have red the box.
They heat up fast and stay hot for a while after you have finished cooking, which i really like because i can just leave the extra food in the pots and anyone who wants seconds has hot food when they go back for it.
There are some reviews down the list about the silicon not covering the handles all the way. I agree that there could be more silicon on the handles, however the outer metal piece of the handle does not seem to get hot, i haven't needed to use a potholder to pick it up as some other reviews said.
They are great to Cook something in and then throw it right in the oven to keep it warm until dinner.
There is a review down below that says stuff that gets stuck on the outside will not come off. I have not had this problem, The outsides are just as nonstick as the insides, and just as easy to clean!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:North Dallas, TX
Date:March 1, 2011

Dull Finish, food is beginning to stick

Pros: costco return policy
Cons: weak exterior finish, non-stick surface has worn out
Model Number: 483212 KS
"I was given a set of this cookware as a Christmas gift four years ago. For the first year or so, the cookware held up quite well and I was very satisfied. However, as others have mentioned in their reviews, the dishwasher essentially ruined the exterior finish on the pans. This is unfortuneate, as the box clearly stated the pans were "diswhwasher safe".
Another downside is the non-stick finish. While it's not chipping, it does not keep food from sticking any longer. I am forced to use non stick spray to combat this problem. Eggs are especially troublesome to cook.
It's worth noting that I am a an avid cook, and I am very careful with my diet. I have utilized these pans more in four years than most people will in twenty. With that said, I do recommend the set for one reason only: Costco has a stellar return policy. If you buy the pans and don't like them, or if you use them for a few years and they wear out (as is the case with my set), you can simply return to any Costco warehouse and get your money back. This is why I ONLY shop at costco for certain items. The value is there.
If you are a single person, or a young married couple with small kids, buy these pans. If you are like me, throw in the extra few hundred dollars and buy the Viking set. I will be returning mine soon, getting a full refund, and purchasing a new set of Viking cookware from guess who? Costco of course!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Carlsbad, CA
Date:May 9, 2011

Small pots tippy on gas stove

Pros: long lasting teflon., exterior anodizing is tough., handles don't get hot.
Cons: small pots are unbalanced.
Model Number: 483212 KS
"As others have noted, the small saucepan and skillet are not well balanced. They tend to tip back on their handles unless placed very carefully on your gas stove grid. Probably that tippyness is a lesser issue on a smoothtop or electric top.
I've owned these for slightly more than a year. The 10" skillet gets the most use, I've probably cooked at least 200 meals with it now. The teflon is still in excellent shape, better than I've seen with Tramontina, T-fal, Wearever or Scanpan after the equivalent amount of time. With those brands, I usually wear out the big skillet in about 18 months. Judging by it's current condition, looks like the Kirkland skillet will last 2 or 3 times longer than those other brands.
With all teflon pans I am very careful to always use plastic and wooden utensils, and I always handwash the pots. Although the instructions for these pans say oven (400F) and dishwasher safe, I've never put them in the oven nor the dishwasher.
I would prefer glass lids. Luckily I have glass lids left over from earlier cookware sets."
Review 4 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chandler,AZ
Date:April 28, 2010

Love, Love Them!!

Pros: price, quality, everything!!
Cons: nothing they're perfect!
"I've had these pans for about 5 months now and I love them. I usually shy away from black surface pans and have always had stainless steal pans, but a friend of mine had hers for a couple of years and had fantastic results. I'm so glad that I got these, because I love to cook and do it at least 3 times a day. These pans clean up very easily and cook up everything beautifully. They heat up much quicker than the stainless steel, although you do have to watch out for water boiling over, never had that with my other pans. Regardless I love them and am always trying to find new recipes just so I can use them.
Also, people have complained in the past about how they look coming out of a dishwasher, but you're not supposed to put these pans in the dishwasher, it says it on the box. Besides they clean up so quickly with a little hot soapy water you don't need a dishwasher. My husband even burned bacon in these pans and it took no time to clean them. I can't say enough how I love them and you absolutely can not beat the price.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:January 27, 2011

good for a few years

Pros: heat conductivity strength weight(heavy)
Cons: non-stick surface only lasts about 4 years
"I purchased a hard anodized aluminum set about 5 years ago. They looked and felt like they would last forever. I like the thickness of the material, and how it dissipates the heat. You can even turn off the stove burner and it still cooks for a little while. The non-stick part of two of my pans/pots has become almost non-existent. I only hand wash them, but the inside still is not non-stick, and they seem to have a little rust showing through. I have started treating those two as though they are iron skillets. I have to put vegetable oil in them, and heat them up for awhile. I don't use soap to clean them anymore(don't want the oil to be removed). At first, these were great, but now, they are work. I won't be buying these again, unless I plan on replacing them within 5 years."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bremerton, WA
Date:January 24, 2011

Great for a couple of years...

Cons: lost non-stick coating
"I have had this cookware set for 3 years. Well, not this exact set, but definitely the Kirkland Signature Hard Anodized Aluminum Set, mine was 15 pieces as well & the only difference I can see are the handles. To date, I have had to throw out 2 of the pans due to their losing there non-stick coating. The pots are starting to also. Once it goes, there is not enough oil, cooking spray or grease that will allow you to cook in them again. I have ALWAYS hand washed my set. Hoped this would be last set I would have to buy for a while, but alas, I am looking for another set. Would not buy this set again. I am a walking, talking billboard for Costco, always telling friends family where I get my great finds... I won't be bragging about this one at all. Not up to par for Costco."
Review 7 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Glendale, AZ
Date:February 14, 2011

Poor Quality!

"I've been terribly disappointed in these pots and pans and should have brought them back to the store shortly after I purchased them. From the time of purchase some of the lids did not fit snugly on the pots, so cooking things like rice was impossible because too much steam escaped. I have used utensils specially made for non-stick cookware but the non-stick coating is peeling off most of the pots after two years. I can no longer use this set of pots and they aren't even good enough to be donated to charity. I had my first set of pots and pans for over 30 years and replaced them because I wanted a set that was more modern looking. What a mistake!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2011

Great Value

"We purchased our set four years ago and have been very pleased. We use the pots and pans everyday. Great variety of sizes and the nonstick surface really works. I wouldn't change a thing about them. Of course, for best performance and appearance you always use the right utensils and let the pans cool before cleaning, and don't put them in the dishwasher, at least not very often (we never do...) They are SO EASY TO CLEAN, it's ridiculous - just warm soapy water with a sponge, rinse and they are done. I've had much more expensive sets that were no where near this quality. I've made myself very popular giving these as wedding gifts."
Review 9 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:PHX, AZ
Date:September 9, 2010

Dishwasher unsafe=bad for a guy

"These started out great, they cook real well, hold up well to my abuse and are absolutely nonstick.
My issue is, I am a guy, I do not hand wash ANYTHING. <----Read that again.
After a while the outside got a chalky film from the dishwasher, then started leaving an aluminum oxide film on the rest of my dishes. I had to CLR all my dishes and my dishwasher.
If you are willing to hand wash them they are fine. If you live in the 21st century and own a dishwasher get something else.
Honestly, why anyone would make anything that isnt dishwasher safe is beyond me. Its like making a swimsuit you cant get wet.
"
2 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2010

Love them!

Pros: easy to clean, cooks evenly
Cons: outsides show use over time
"I've been using my set for about 3 years now and I LOVE them.
-They are SUPER easy to clean
-They cook evenly
-I love that I can cook something on the stovetop and then take the whole pan and throw it right into the oven.
-Sure, the outsides look a little dingy now compared to when I first got them, but I really don't care (I've only hand-washed them).
-The handle size is perfectly fine to me (I don't even get the review that the handles are too small - makes no sense!)
-The set has a pan size for everything - I haven't found myself wishing I had another piece since I got these!
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:September 28, 2010

Excellent choice

Pros: very easy to clean
"I thought a lot before buying these, and even had a severe bout of post purchase dissonance, thinking of buying the steel set because these are not reported to be dishwasher safe.
Well guess what? In a month's time I have come to love these pots and pans. They are so easy to wash off, there is no trouble at all. It hardly takes a minute.
If you spill oil down the sides, it may leave marks as it burns slowly. That's easy to remove using some Softscrub.
Don't put these in the dishwasher, from all reports they get spoiled, but don't hold back from buying for that reason."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Silverton, Oregon
Date:February 21, 2011

So Far So Good

Pros: great nonstick qualities
Cons: glass lids would be better, some pans tip when set empty on the burner.
"I agonized about purchasing these pans because they were so inexpensive and I am so particular about my cookware. However, the pans felt good and the Costco employee told me if I didn't like them I could bring them back. I have had hard anodized pans before and the the nonstick quality was nowhere as good as these. So far I am liking them. Food browns well. I do wish the pans had glass lids, but the glass lids from another set fit most of the pans. The handles seem to overbalance the frying and sauce pan causing it to tilt when the pan is sitting empty on burner."
Review 13 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2010

Of course you never put them in the dishwasher!!!

"I've read all the negative reviews and they're all because they put them in the dishwasher or used oven cleaner on them. This is the ultimate no-no with aluminum cookware. You absolutely do NOT do these things. Nowhere do the instructions say it's ok to put these in the dishwasher. This is absolutely untrue. Dishwasher detergent contains some of the same chemicals as oven cleaner and these chemicals are extremely caustic to aluminum. Any oven cleaner can will say DON'T USE IT ON ALUMINUM. People just don't read instructions."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hesperia, CA
Date:September 12, 2010

Love these pans!

"I have had many types of pans before and these are by far the best for the price. The non stick is great, you don't have to use much butter or oil which makes for a lower calorie meal. I have had stainless steel and they do not have as good of a non stick as these pans. I agree that they do get dirty on the outside, but most pans do if you use them daily. All you have to do is just scrub a little with ajax or soft scrub and it comes right off. I love this set so much that I am gunna buy a set for our trailer."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2011

Everything I hoped it woule be

"I am the mom to a very distracting 10 month old. I completely forgot about the carrots I was steaming on the stove top until I smelled the burning pan. by the time I got to it all the water and carrot syrup had burnt on to the bottom of the pan. I thought for sure the pan was completely ruined, but with a little bit of dish soap and scrubbing it came off beautifully. I couldn't believe there was no permanent damage, it looks the same as it did when I pulled it out of the box. I highly recommend this product."
Review 16 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene, OR
Date:October 24, 2010

fantastic purchase

Pros: easy to clean, cooks evenly on lower heat
"Actually purchased this set 11yr ago for my birthday. I have used it daily, cooking for my family and to entertain. It cooks evenly, very easy to clean, have never put it in the dishwasher, but did not need to. I see that they have made improvements on the lid handles so that they stay cool. I have used all of the pans. Now after over 11 years, the pans are showing signs of wear, some have lost there non-stick. I have researched pans and have decided to replace them with a new set. You can't beat the value."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:September 29, 2010

Great set of pots and pans!

Pros: great quality
Cons: no pot large enough to make soup stock
"I have really enjoyed this set of pots and pans. There are many small pans, which are great for making a hard-boiled egg or other small portions and a few large pans. I would have given the cookware set five stars if it would have included a very large pot in which I could make soup stock.
The quality of the product is excellent and the non-stick surface works so well that I don't have to use Pam or other non-stick products. I highly recommend the product for the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:February 17, 2011

Burn marks

"So disappointed in these pans. I got them as a X-mas gift. When you use them on an electric burner it leaves burn marks on the bottom and even the sides at times which you can not remove. So I have been using these less than 60 days and they look 10 years old at least. I even purchased some SOS pads thinking I could scrub the marks off of the bottom to no avail. I am on my way to COSTCO to return these. Dont waste your money unless you dont mind the marks on the bottom."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2010

Some problems

"I've had these for about a year. I always use plastic spatulas, etc. The skillet is already shot...the non-stick surface has flaked in several places. Other pieces are getting very hard to clean. The largest saute pan was never flat and therefore never gets good contact on our glass/electric stovetop. In fact, it rotates dangerously when you stir the food if you don't hold it steady with your other hand.
I love nonstick but this has been a disappointment."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kirkland Signature™ 15-piece Hard Anodized Aluminum Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alpharetta, GA
Date:January 21, 2011

Excellent quality and price!

Pros: rivals the name brands at a fraction of the cost!
Cons: might be too heavy for arthritic hands
"These pots and pans are amazing! The quality is similar to pans costing 3 times as much. Unless you are stuck on "name brands", there is no reason to look beyond this set for your purchase.
They are heavier than what I expected, so if you have arthitis in your hands you might want to hold them in the store before purchasing. Also they are non-stick so for browning ground meat, you might want to have a frypan handy that does not have non-stick coating."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>