Customer Reviews for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener

Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener

Now when the power goes out, your garage door opener will still work. The Chamberlain® Premium Whisper Drive® Plus with EverCharge® Standby Power System will operate the garage door opener for 40 cycles within a 24-hour period, and recharges automatically when the power comes back on. The safety and security features will continue to operate as well, ensuring your family is protected in a power failure. The opener also features smooth start and smooth stop to reduce the noise of the garage door as it opens and closes – perfect for homes with a room above the garage. Features: 3/4 HPS® DC belt drive system for the ultimate in quiet performance Belt is built like a steel-belted tire, reinforced with flexible steel cords Auto force-sensing technology constantly monitors garage door opener system and adjusts forces to temperature fluctuations, floor height, and door track movement Enclosed gear case provides continuous lubrication and protection for longer life and smoother operation Quick-install rail system provides faster and easier installation – assembles in 60 seconds Delivers 200 watts of light with adjustable light time delay HomeLink® compatible – the in-vehicle remote control system Includes two 3-button remote controls * horsepower strength with same lifting force specifications as 3/4 HP Chamberlain garage door openers Safety & Security Features: The Protector System® safety sensors with Rapid-Snap® brackets project an invisible light beam across the garage door opening and automatically reverse the door if anything interrupts the beam while the door is going down Sensing technology will stop the door from closing if contact is made with a person or object Opener lights turn on automatically when The Protector System's infrared beam is broken Security+® anti-burglary technology assures a new code is sent every time the remote control is used PosiLock® theft protection assures that once the door is closed, it says locked Manual release handle in case of power failure Warranty: Lifetime motor warranty 10-year belt warranty 1-year warranty on EverCharge® Standby Power System Universal Laser Parking Accessory Park in the right spot every time with help from the Universal Laser Parking Accessory. The laser turns on automatically and projects a beam onto your car's dashboard. Once the beam hits a pre-determined spot on your dash, you know you've pulled in far enough, and exactly where to stop. Class 2 laser is safe on the eyes, yet clearly visible Compatible with any brand of garage door opener Mini Multi-Function 3-Button Remote Control Are you always on the go? Our mini 3-button remote control is a miniature version of our multi-function 3-button remote control, and just as powerful. It can open and close 3 garage doors or gates, turn opener lights on/off, and/or turn on lights and small appliances in your home. And the best part is that it can fit almost anywhere – in your purse, your pocket, or even on your keychain. It features Security+® rolling code technology that sends a brand new code every time it is used, keeping you, your family, and your belongings safe and secure. One 5-year 3-volt battery is included. Garage Door Monitor No more getting out of bed and stumbling downstairs to check if the garage door is closed. The Chamberlain® Garage Door Monitor tells you if your garage door is open or closed from any room in your home.  That's convenient, dependable security – and peace-of-mind – for the largest door to your home. Works with any garage door When light flashes red, door is open Remote Light Control Never walk into a dark house again. Turn on – or turn off – lights and small appliances from inside the car with your remote and the Chamberlain® Remote Light Control. It plugs into any wall outlet and automatically "learns" the code(s) your garage door opener remote control transmits. Then you simply push the correct button on your remote, and the lights will turn on or off. Can be used with any lighting fixture that utilizes incandescent light bulbs, up 600 watts maximum Can be used with TVs, radios, fans, and other small appliances Ideal for operating holiday lights and decorations from inside your car or home Surge Protector A little protection now can go a long way later. The Chamberlain® Garage Door Opener Surge Protector can help protect your investment from a sudden power surge, or if lightning strikes. Safely protects the entire garage door opener system, including the AC power line, control panel, and The Protector System® safety sensors Protection light indicator indicates when the unit is working Maximum surge current is 16,000 AMPS Provides a 5-year warranty on your garage door opener from being damaged by power surges and/or nearby lightning strikes For use with Chamberlain garage door openers manufactured from 1994 to present Model: 547445
Average Customer Rating:
4.673 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 54
(out of 55 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
51 of 55(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Review 1 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit, Michigan
Date:November 12, 2012

Awesome Garage Opener!

Pros: quiet, durable, good price
Cons: none
"This Garage opener is the best, it has so many different specifications. I personally love it. I can't even hear the door open or close."
Review 2 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Aldie, VA
Date:October 18, 2012

Excellent product

Pros: quiet and powerful, also like the laser parking assist, also like the time and temperature display
Cons: too many unnessary accessories.
Model Number: 437572
"I am very pleased with the purchase of this product. It is super quiet and looks very sleek. Price was right for the product. I would say it is an overkill with more accessories. Would definitely recommend this product to anyone interested in purchasing a garage door opener."
Review 3 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:September 13, 2012

Quiet & Robust

Pros: value and quiet
Cons: none so far
Model Number: 437572
"We were pleased with the value of this garage door opener and all the accessories that come with it. We had it installed yesterday and are very pleased with how quiet it is. Our last system was a chain drive so this is like night and day. We especially like the parking sensor since we have a long minivan and it is usually hard to park it right, now its not a problem. We priced similar systems and features with local installers and they were closer to $200.00 more for the same items."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chula Vista, CA
Date:August 9, 2012

Chamberlain Garage Opener

Model Number: 547445
"Ordered and got here within days.Easy to install, just follow the instructions. I am using all the "extras" including the Laser Parking Light, that I installed close to the floor. The light shoots up to the ceiling; I adjusted it so that I can get my truck close to the wall. Very quiet. Satisfied with this purchase."
Review 5 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Trumbull, CT
Date:April 12, 2012

Great product and excellent value!

Model Number: Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener & Accessory Package with EverCharge® Standby Power System
"Purchased and received in about 5 days. Opened the package and noticed that everything was well organized, clearly labeled and packed together; all accessories with the associated power supply, mounting hardware, installation instructions etc.
My task was harder since I did not have a garage door opener in place, so no wires run, not even electrical. Therefore I needed to run electrical next to the mounting spot, as well as run the safety sensors and wall control wires.
In terms of materials I used, everything that came in the package was satisfactory, but had to buy the following extras:
- bell wire for the wall control (the lenght provided was not enough for my application)
- plastic cable management for the wall control wire (self stick, looks very nice on the wall)
- 2 extra bolts for the safety sensors mounting hardware - I felt like the "grip" system provided would not sustain well an accidental kick and would break the beam allignment. By adding the 1/4" bolts, the hardware is now "solid" and it would take a lot more to move it. Just as a reminder, the sensors are somewhat out of sight and maybe not the first thing to consider when troubleshooting an issue. So, take your time to find the right locations and mount them well.
- sturdier staples for the safety sensor wire run
- extra perforated angled iron to mount the unit; ended up using 2x2' (thicker) pieces for the ceiling support, mounted parallel with the garage door, about 12" apart. Also, bought a couple more of the "thinner" angled iron (similar to the ones provided), so they could bend a little bit when bolting between the ceiling piece and the unit. Did that and the opener is now supported in 4 points and absolutely unmovable! No extra noise or wobling! As for the installation itself, the instructions recommend installing the opener in a downward angle, but I chose to make it horizontal.
- used 2x100W CFL bulbs. Word of advice: the body of the CFL bulbs is thicker than of an incandescent equivalent, and chances are that even if screwed in very well, their position would not allow for the bottom part to touch the socket contact. If the light does not come on, unplug the unit and use a screwdriver to lift the bottom bulb socket contact a few millimeters. That would be enough for a good connection. Remember to unplug the unit before doing that!!!!
Not to finish in a bummer note, but I wish the following were different:
- instead of the device that shows you when the door is opened, have the timer that automatically closes the door for you in case you forget (already deployed through a similar model sold by HD)
- presence sensor opens the light automatically, regardless if it is day or night. Anoying to get in the garage at 10:00AM from the house and have the lights come on every time. Ended up disabling the presence sensor (easy to do through a button on the wall control panel) and only enable if I get in the garage at night. I would consider this a design flaw.
Otherwise, I took my time, read and followed the instructions to the T and had a successful istallation. Unit works great and besides the above observations, I am happy with the money I spent!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Allentown, PA
Date:February 19, 2012

This is Australian version of the Chamberlain

Pros: works as advertised until it doesn't
Cons: can't get the same replacement parts in the us, no disclaimer that the unit is australian
Model Number: WD926KLD
"Purchased two units 18 months ago for new house. One of the motion sensing control panels is dead, the second is flickering. Search to find replacements revealed I need the Australian Merlin c198 wall controller, not available in the US. The Chamberlain product is the 935CB, which does not have the time, temperature, or light control features and is bright blue vs the black/gray c198."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:February 3, 2012

Nice System

Pros: nice price, lots of extras
"Very quiet. Lots of extras. The one I really like is the motion detector that turns the light on every time I enter the garage from the house.
I paid a local garage door company a small fee to install it."
Review 8 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:November 30, 2011

Best Garage door opener ever!

"Love it, super quiet, lots of extra items with it, it is just amazing!"
Review 9 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:November 29, 2011

Replaced my 20 year old opener.

Model Number: Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
"Amazing difference. Quiet, effecient and I should have done it long ago. Great accessory package. Love everything about it."
Review 10 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cerritos, CA
Date:November 9, 2011

Quietest garage door opener ever

Pros: very quiet some good additional accessories
Cons: interior door open monitor optional device contro
"Ordered received very timely and in great condition as ordered, all parts included. Printed instructions online which were much easier to read than instruction booklet provided. Instructions very straight foward and relatively easy to follow. Only difficulties encountered were: 1. Setting the opening and closing limits – need to read instructions carefully and 2. Setting remote control on BMW home link – problem is not Chamberlain's but BMW’s, used BMW forum to solve programming. Like the surge protector, laser parking additional accessory and a third mini remote control for the additional price charged. I have not installed the door interior monitor and the remote controlled device accessory as I don't find it necessary for my situation. Overall very satisfied w/ the price, quality of the opener and accessories included and value."
Review 11 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2011
Pros: quiet
Cons: remote reception, directions
"I am ready to take this thing down and return it to Costco. I can't get the remotes to work unless I am very close to the closed garage door. No hints in the documentation. I went online and found their hints to resolve this (basically unhook most connections with no help to see if how wires are routed is the reason, and I went through and repregrammed all remotes. With the garage door open, I get the same range. Now if I go out the people door on the other side of the garage, I get about 20 feet range. This is for all three remotes and one vehicle with homelink."
Review 12 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montgomery Village, MD
Date:November 3, 2011

Easy to install and excelent value

Pros: great value up to $200 less than other reatailers, easy installation
Cons: some instruction need to be more explicit
"I was able to put together and install the door opener with no help. The workmanship is very good and all the parts fit very well.
The remotes all worked once recognized by the opener.
The operation is very quiet, the programming for opening, closing and force used was seamless and worked the first time.
"
Review 13 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:October 22, 2011

Still the best

Pros: battery standby
Cons: manual has been reduced in size
"This is the second Chamberlin I have installed, one for my parents and now this one for myself. The battery backup is what makes this unit a stand apart, quiet operation is a plus. You can't go wrong with this opener.
One beef is that they, Chamberlin, have shrunk the manual making it difficult to read. As luck would have it, I had an earlier full size manual that gave the detail you need. Also, you cannot add a dry contact switch to the system. I wound up modifying a remote so I could interface my security and access system to control the door. Chamberlin should offer an interface for those of us who have multiple activation devices. Have not gotten arround to adding the laser device, but the remote door position sensor in a great add.
"
Review 14 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay area
Date:October 16, 2011

A lot of bells and whistles

"I have used this product for two weeks now. The basic function works very well. The opener is very quiet. I can open the door before I arrive at my driveway.
It comes with a lot of extra things. I find the laser park assist and the remote garage door status monitor useful. However, the remote garage door status monitor, which is a separate unit you keep in house to indicate whether you have left the door open, should have sound to warn you in addition to flashing red LED. Last night it took my family an hour to finally notice the flashing red LED.
I could not program the rolling code feature with my 2005 Toyota Sienna's homelink built-in remote control despite repeated attempts. So I have to use the remote that comes with this unit.
I have yet to take advantage of the plug-in light control and the keyless entry that comes with this product.
Overall, this is a solid product."
Review 15 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Niceville, FL
Date:August 12, 2011

Easy Switchout

Pros: easy assembly works as promised
Cons: font size in owner's (instruction) manual is small
Model Number: 547445
"I purchased this opener after some research verified the Costco package included accessories that I would want to purchase to replace an existing Chamberlain opener that would no longer reliably open. Careful review of other product rating reviews informed me that an extension was required and I picked one up at a local building supply.
I assembled the opener in the house to minimize the time in the garage (too hot in August) and carefully reviewed the manual for both the existing opener and the new one. All of the existing sensors, wiring and brackets were usable as is, so the project was limited to replacing the opener itself, the wall bracket and the wall control panel. Total job took about 1/2 hour to unpack the parts and review the owner's manual, an hour for assembly of the opener and an hour for the installation. Programming the openers took another 30 minutes, although the HomeLink opener in the car was a little stubborn, which took up most of the programming time.
Very pleased with the opener. Opens reliably and is very quiet. No more sitting in the driveway, pushing the button on the remote and waving it around.
"
Review 16 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Federal Way, WA
Date:July 25, 2011

Best and quitest Garage Door opener ever!!

"I had a lift master which reached it's end of life after so many years of hard work. It was a chain drive and was pretty loud, but this Chamberlain is so quiet that the name whisper is really apt! And also it's powerful enough for the heaviest door. I have a large and a heavy door, which really needs 3/4 hp power. And it has tons of accessories, which is well worth the price. You can never find this anywhere other than Costo for this price!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 25, 2011

Maybe to many bells and whistles

Pros: door is quieter than when we opened it manually
Cons: direct sunlite blinds the sensors
"First issue: the company sent the wrong unit a 1/2 Horse Power unit instead of the 3/4 HP.
Second issue: We have a west facing garage which getting full sun and in turn blinds the sensors. So in the summer between the hours of 1:30 and 6:30 PM the door would not go down.
Third issue: Customer Service, it took over thirty minutes to get a live person on the phone. Ten minutes of that was spent listening to their recorded options which were a repeat of the instruction manual and their website. Then they wanted to charge me another $27.00 for the fix. When I refused they gave it to me at no charge.
Having said all that it's a great unit and works great. I deducted a star because the manufactor should have mentioned the sun issue in the manual (we had to figure out for ourselves that the sun was causing the problem) and because getting through to customer service was time consuming."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:July 21, 2011

works great

"this opener has a lot of options, it takes a bit to install but boy is it worth it. It's very quiet when running it is very smooth too. I like it!"
Review 19 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit Mi
Date:July 12, 2011

Great Opener

Model Number: 547445
"Easy 2 Hr install, replacing a 10 yr old Craftsman opener. Everything fit perfectly. Works like a charm."
Review 20 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dallas, Tx
Date:June 29, 2011

Really Bad Customer Service

Pros: lots of great features. very quiet.
Cons: customer service
Model Number: Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
"I have read where many people have said this product is better than Genie. That may or may not be true. However, if you have to call customer service, you will long for the good old "Genie" days! My problem was that the door would open and sometimes close on it's own! When I told the "tech" at Chamberlain that I felt this was a real safety issue, he gave it the old "no big deal". Lots of nice features on this unit, but customer service is making me have buyers remorse."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>