Customer Reviews for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener

Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener

Now when the power goes out, your garage door opener will still work. The Chamberlain® Premium Whisper Drive® Plus with EverCharge® Standby Power System will operate the garage door opener for 40 cycles within a 24-hour period, and recharges automatically when the power comes back on. The safety and security features will continue to operate as well, ensuring your family is protected in a power failure. The opener also features smooth start and smooth stop to reduce the noise of the garage door as it opens and closes – perfect for homes with a room above the garage. Features: 3/4 HPS® DC belt drive system for the ultimate in quiet performance Belt is built like a steel-belted tire, reinforced with flexible steel cords Auto force-sensing technology constantly monitors garage door opener system and adjusts forces to temperature fluctuations, floor height, and door track movement Enclosed gear case provides continuous lubrication and protection for longer life and smoother operation Quick-install rail system provides faster and easier installation – assembles in 60 seconds Delivers 200 watts of light with adjustable light time delay HomeLink® compatible – the in-vehicle remote control system Includes two 3-button remote controls * horsepower strength with same lifting force specifications as 3/4 HP Chamberlain garage door openers Safety & Security Features: The Protector System® safety sensors with Rapid-Snap® brackets project an invisible light beam across the garage door opening and automatically reverse the door if anything interrupts the beam while the door is going down Sensing technology will stop the door from closing if contact is made with a person or object Opener lights turn on automatically when The Protector System's infrared beam is broken Security+® anti-burglary technology assures a new code is sent every time the remote control is used PosiLock® theft protection assures that once the door is closed, it says locked Manual release handle in case of power failure Warranty: Lifetime motor warranty 10-year belt warranty 1-year warranty on EverCharge® Standby Power System Universal Laser Parking Accessory Park in the right spot every time with help from the Universal Laser Parking Accessory. The laser turns on automatically and projects a beam onto your car's dashboard. Once the beam hits a pre-determined spot on your dash, you know you've pulled in far enough, and exactly where to stop. Class 2 laser is safe on the eyes, yet clearly visible Compatible with any brand of garage door opener Mini Multi-Function 3-Button Remote Control Are you always on the go? Our mini 3-button remote control is a miniature version of our multi-function 3-button remote control, and just as powerful. It can open and close 3 garage doors or gates, turn opener lights on/off, and/or turn on lights and small appliances in your home. And the best part is that it can fit almost anywhere – in your purse, your pocket, or even on your keychain. It features Security+® rolling code technology that sends a brand new code every time it is used, keeping you, your family, and your belongings safe and secure. One 5-year 3-volt battery is included. Garage Door Monitor No more getting out of bed and stumbling downstairs to check if the garage door is closed. The Chamberlain® Garage Door Monitor tells you if your garage door is open or closed from any room in your home.  That's convenient, dependable security – and peace-of-mind – for the largest door to your home. Works with any garage door When light flashes red, door is open Remote Light Control Never walk into a dark house again. Turn on – or turn off – lights and small appliances from inside the car with your remote and the Chamberlain® Remote Light Control. It plugs into any wall outlet and automatically "learns" the code(s) your garage door opener remote control transmits. Then you simply push the correct button on your remote, and the lights will turn on or off. Can be used with any lighting fixture that utilizes incandescent light bulbs, up 600 watts maximum Can be used with TVs, radios, fans, and other small appliances Ideal for operating holiday lights and decorations from inside your car or home Surge Protector A little protection now can go a long way later. The Chamberlain® Garage Door Opener Surge Protector can help protect your investment from a sudden power surge, or if lightning strikes. Safely protects the entire garage door opener system, including the AC power line, control panel, and The Protector System® safety sensors Protection light indicator indicates when the unit is working Maximum surge current is 16,000 AMPS Provides a 5-year warranty on your garage door opener from being damaged by power surges and/or nearby lightning strikes For use with Chamberlain garage door openers manufactured from 1994 to present Model: 547445
Average Customer Rating:
4.673 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 54
(out of 55 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
51 of 55(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Review 1 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 25, 2011

Maybe to many bells and whistles

Pros: door is quieter than when we opened it manually
Cons: direct sunlite blinds the sensors
"First issue: the company sent the wrong unit a 1/2 Horse Power unit instead of the 3/4 HP.
Second issue: We have a west facing garage which getting full sun and in turn blinds the sensors. So in the summer between the hours of 1:30 and 6:30 PM the door would not go down.
Third issue: Customer Service, it took over thirty minutes to get a live person on the phone. Ten minutes of that was spent listening to their recorded options which were a repeat of the instruction manual and their website. Then they wanted to charge me another $27.00 for the fix. When I refused they gave it to me at no charge.
Having said all that it's a great unit and works great. I deducted a star because the manufactor should have mentioned the sun issue in the manual (we had to figure out for ourselves that the sun was causing the problem) and because getting through to customer service was time consuming."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:La Grange, CA
Date:April 13, 2011

Installation Challenge

Pros: very quiet and smooth operation., i can now open my door when the power is out.
Cons: security+ not backward compatible with older model
"This opener had excellent instructions for a "normal" installation. Unfortunately my installation was anything but normal. I have a large support beam going the width of my garage and the beam sits exactly where the new opener should go. The previous opener had a much longer rail than Chamberlain provided. I ended up having to install the end of the rail to the ceiling just inside of the recommended distance. I had to first install the opener to the ceiling then the rail to the opener. After getting everything up the door operated perfectly! Another problem is the Security+ with this opener does NOT match the Security+ of the opener on my second door opener - so I now have to carry extra openers in each of my vehicles. Security+ also does not work with the Security+ on my gate! But at least I can now get into my garage when the power is off (happens quite frequently out here). Would have gotten 5 stars if Security+ was backward compatible."
Review 3 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 11, 2010

Bad customer service, defective product

Pros: quiet
Cons: doesn't work if bright sun hit the infrared system
Model Number: 547445
"We have Garage Door Opener, and during the mid afternoon the door will not respond to either the remotes or the door closer in the garage because the safety sensors are being hit by direct sunlight. (isn't that weird, didn't happen with my previous Genie unit)
We called Customer Support. It took 45 minutes to get to a live customer support rep. He said we'll have to order the Safety Sensor Sun Shields and we'll pay to pay for it! We told him that it's product defective or malfuncion and that parts should be sent to repair at no costs. He agreed to it, put us on the phone for 30 minutes and then switched back to main customer service phone line. We wait for another 1 hour and 20 minutes and no one picked up the phone. We gave up! Too bad, the remote garage door is already installed into the garage ceiling... can't take it out. Otherwise, we would have no problem returning the device to Costco friendly customer service"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naperville, IL
Date:April 14, 2011

Great garage door opener package

Pros: quiet. three remote controls. backup battery., door monitor.
Cons: none.
"My old garage door opener was pretty much dead the past 5 months. We had to get out of the car and gave the door a lift while the opener screamed but would only lift the door for three inches.
I searched costco.com and bought this one (the only one available) after reading many positive reviews. To save $150 to have someone else install it, I decided to do it myself, like many other reviewers. The wife kept asking if it was okay. Well, it took me about 6 1/2 hours from taking down the old system to installing this system with the exception of the laser parking accessory. And now she is proud of me! I followed the instructions carefully and did not have any problem.
The only main issue I had was putting the metal tubes together. You really have to hammer them in place with a hammer. You just can not use your own power to push them in.
The operation is quiet, compared to my old one where the noise can be heard one blocks away!
Also, I really like the door monitor. Now I can sleep in peach without worrying if the door is opened or closed."
Review 5 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:February 13, 2010

good quality purchase

Pros: quality detailed manual
Cons: nothing yet
"We got the 1/2 HP model from the local Costco. I installed it last weekend. The installation instructions are very thorough. I had to spend about $15 at the local hardware for items not covered. The instructions are very clear about what items may be needed for specific circumstances. So far we are vary happy with the opener."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, Ca.
Date:April 11, 2010

Quality product, smooth and quiet

Pros: very quiet, battery back up
Model Number: Wisper Drive 547445
"This unit replaced a Chamberlain ½ hp chain drive we purchased over 20 years ago. It worked flawlessly until the nylon gears recently expired. Recent reviews of Chamberlain indicated they still made quality products. I installed in approx. three hours. Attachment points to the header, door and ceiling, and low voltage wire were utilized from the prior opener.
This opener had many improvements from the old Chamberlain.
1.Much quieter, smoother and cleaner-- A belt drive replaces the old chain drive. No grease or lube to add to chain and rail. The only real sounds are the hum of the motor and the door rollers riding in the tracks. It's nearly inaudible in the house. Plenty of power to lift a wood sectional door that is properly balanced.
2.Battery back up-- In case of power failure, a small battery capable of operating the opener for a couple of days is contained within the housing and is replaceable. An indicator led indicates charging status.
3.Safety reversing sensors-- Easy to install and align.
4.Exterior wireless keypad-- Easy to program and to change code (as are the remote controls).
5.Smart control panel-- Replaces the simple one function button normally located in the garage. It is back lit and has the ability to control the opener lights, open and close the door, lock out the remotes, and displays time, temp, and battery or power status after outage.
6.Surge protector-- Protects against voltage spikes.
7.Fob mini remote – Attaches right to your keyring. Since we never leave our remotes in the vehicles, this simplifies matters.
I can't comment on the other item included with this opener because I don't plan to use them at this time. However, I was missing a significant part. I called Chamberlain customer service. The wait was 30 minutes, but the representative was knowledgeable and helpful. The part was delivered to my door 4 days later.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY
Date:February 14, 2010

Great, Quiet Garage Door Opener

Pros: incredibly quiet, easy to install, comes with all the accessories
Cons: none so far
"Purchased this item a few weeks ago and was able to install it on my own. It is incredibly quiet. All you can hear is the rollers on the garage door as it opens and closes. It comes with every imaginable accessory which is nice rather than having to pay for them separately. It's so quiet, I wish my second garage door opener would wear out so that i could replace it with one of these!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern VA
Date:July 9, 2010

Great product

Pros: great value with added accessories, quiet, ease of installation
Cons: none i can think of
Model Number: WD962KLD
"Replaced an 11 y/o belt drive with this opener. Installation was straight forward, directions fairly well written. Took about 2-3 hours to install. Old unit was very noisy by comparison, this unit is extremely quiet. A quiet hum of the DC motor and the roller noise is all i hear when activated.
Have yet to install laser unit and surge protector as I'm ordering a second laser unit and plan to install these all three at the same time. Would love to have seen a second laser unit included or offered for sale by Costco.
Did a bit of shopping around prior to purchase. All the included accessories make this a very good value based on individual prices for those items elsewhere. I might not have purchased those accessories if i had to buy the opener from another source, but as they are included - bonus !!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago Western Suburbs, IL
Date:April 19, 2011

Impressive Garage Door System

Pros: "whisper quiet" door, laser assist parking, open door monitor, remote light switch, backup battery
Cons: pricey but worth it, installation takes a few hours
"I didn't want to buy this system at first because of the price. But then several rain showers, a screaming baby, and a non-responsive garage door later, I gave in, paid the extra bucks, and bought this system. I don't regret it at all.
My husband installed it in about 2 hours with the help of his father. It has so many nifty aspects to it. First of all, it is unbelievably quiet. Even my dogs can't hear the garage door opening. Second it keeps track of temperature in the garage, and you can set it up so you can remotely turn on your house lights before entering your house. Third, it has a monitor you can take with you to let you know if you accidentally left the garage door open. Fifth, it has a battery coverage so that if your electricity goes out, you can still use the garage door a finite number of times. Sixth, it comes with a little parking assist gadget for those of us parking-challenged folks who sometimes park into the wall. LOL. Finally the system comes with the standards - two remotes, wireless keypad, etc. The best part is that this garage door works and does so seamlessly and beautifully. The switch by the door is also nice - it's backlit, gives the garage temp, and looks modern.
Thumbs up! My father in law says that Chamberlain also manufactures Craftsman garage door openers. Based on my research, Chamberlain is one of the best garage door opener manufacturers in the US."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Federal Way, WA
Date:July 25, 2011

Best and quitest Garage Door opener ever!!

"I had a lift master which reached it's end of life after so many years of hard work. It was a chain drive and was pretty loud, but this Chamberlain is so quiet that the name whisper is really apt! And also it's powerful enough for the heaviest door. I have a large and a heavy door, which really needs 3/4 hp power. And it has tons of accessories, which is well worth the price. You can never find this anywhere other than Costo for this price!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2010

Extremely Quiet Operation

"This is a huge upgrade from my previous opener. It took about 5 hours to install all the options that came with this product. I have had range issues with remote operation, and I contacted the tech support via email and they idenfied that the CFL bulbs I have been using is causing interference with the opener. So, replaced the CFL's with regular bulbs and the range issues are now gone. I can operate from about 400 feet away from the door."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay area
Date:October 16, 2011

A lot of bells and whistles

"I have used this product for two weeks now. The basic function works very well. The opener is very quiet. I can open the door before I arrive at my driveway.
It comes with a lot of extra things. I find the laser park assist and the remote garage door status monitor useful. However, the remote garage door status monitor, which is a separate unit you keep in house to indicate whether you have left the door open, should have sound to warn you in addition to flashing red LED. Last night it took my family an hour to finally notice the flashing red LED.
I could not program the rolling code feature with my 2005 Toyota Sienna's homelink built-in remote control despite repeated attempts. So I have to use the remote that comes with this unit.
I have yet to take advantage of the plug-in light control and the keyless entry that comes with this product.
Overall, this is a solid product."
Review 13 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:April 22, 2011

Yes, the opener really is that good!

Pros: excellent opener
Cons: some accessories are less than ideal
"I installed two openers about three months ago. The openers are great and work reliably.
My doors are 8' high so I had to order extensions ($50+ each) which were delivered promptly. Installation and adjustment were straight forward.
That said, there are a few problems with the accessories. The operating button on the wall controllers sometimes sticks in the IN position. When this happens, you have to pull the button out slightly and push it back in.
The surge control unit says it cannot be installed within X ft. of the circuit breaker or fuse panel. If your panel is in or near your garage, the surge controller apparently won't work.
The laser parking assist washes out in bright light.
The garage door monitor frequently shows that it is out of range. Perhaps the supplied monitor batteries are weak.
Even with all this complaining, I still give the opener five stars."
Review 14 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Niceville, FL
Date:August 12, 2011

Easy Switchout

Pros: easy assembly works as promised
Cons: font size in owner's (instruction) manual is small
Model Number: 547445
"I purchased this opener after some research verified the Costco package included accessories that I would want to purchase to replace an existing Chamberlain opener that would no longer reliably open. Careful review of other product rating reviews informed me that an extension was required and I picked one up at a local building supply.
I assembled the opener in the house to minimize the time in the garage (too hot in August) and carefully reviewed the manual for both the existing opener and the new one. All of the existing sensors, wiring and brackets were usable as is, so the project was limited to replacing the opener itself, the wall bracket and the wall control panel. Total job took about 1/2 hour to unpack the parts and review the owner's manual, an hour for assembly of the opener and an hour for the installation. Programming the openers took another 30 minutes, although the HomeLink opener in the car was a little stubborn, which took up most of the programming time.
Very pleased with the opener. Opens reliably and is very quiet. No more sitting in the driveway, pushing the button on the remote and waving it around.
"
Review 15 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cerritos, CA
Date:November 9, 2011

Quietest garage door opener ever

Pros: very quiet some good additional accessories
Cons: interior door open monitor optional device contro
"Ordered received very timely and in great condition as ordered, all parts included. Printed instructions online which were much easier to read than instruction booklet provided. Instructions very straight foward and relatively easy to follow. Only difficulties encountered were: 1. Setting the opening and closing limits – need to read instructions carefully and 2. Setting remote control on BMW home link – problem is not Chamberlain's but BMW’s, used BMW forum to solve programming. Like the surge protector, laser parking additional accessory and a third mini remote control for the additional price charged. I have not installed the door interior monitor and the remote controlled device accessory as I don't find it necessary for my situation. Overall very satisfied w/ the price, quality of the opener and accessories included and value."
Review 16 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Trumbull, CT
Date:April 12, 2012

Great product and excellent value!

Model Number: Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener & Accessory Package with EverCharge® Standby Power System
"Purchased and received in about 5 days. Opened the package and noticed that everything was well organized, clearly labeled and packed together; all accessories with the associated power supply, mounting hardware, installation instructions etc.
My task was harder since I did not have a garage door opener in place, so no wires run, not even electrical. Therefore I needed to run electrical next to the mounting spot, as well as run the safety sensors and wall control wires.
In terms of materials I used, everything that came in the package was satisfactory, but had to buy the following extras:
- bell wire for the wall control (the lenght provided was not enough for my application)
- plastic cable management for the wall control wire (self stick, looks very nice on the wall)
- 2 extra bolts for the safety sensors mounting hardware - I felt like the "grip" system provided would not sustain well an accidental kick and would break the beam allignment. By adding the 1/4" bolts, the hardware is now "solid" and it would take a lot more to move it. Just as a reminder, the sensors are somewhat out of sight and maybe not the first thing to consider when troubleshooting an issue. So, take your time to find the right locations and mount them well.
- sturdier staples for the safety sensor wire run
- extra perforated angled iron to mount the unit; ended up using 2x2' (thicker) pieces for the ceiling support, mounted parallel with the garage door, about 12" apart. Also, bought a couple more of the "thinner" angled iron (similar to the ones provided), so they could bend a little bit when bolting between the ceiling piece and the unit. Did that and the opener is now supported in 4 points and absolutely unmovable! No extra noise or wobling! As for the installation itself, the instructions recommend installing the opener in a downward angle, but I chose to make it horizontal.
- used 2x100W CFL bulbs. Word of advice: the body of the CFL bulbs is thicker than of an incandescent equivalent, and chances are that even if screwed in very well, their position would not allow for the bottom part to touch the socket contact. If the light does not come on, unplug the unit and use a screwdriver to lift the bottom bulb socket contact a few millimeters. That would be enough for a good connection. Remember to unplug the unit before doing that!!!!
Not to finish in a bummer note, but I wish the following were different:
- instead of the device that shows you when the door is opened, have the timer that automatically closes the door for you in case you forget (already deployed through a similar model sold by HD)
- presence sensor opens the light automatically, regardless if it is day or night. Anoying to get in the garage at 10:00AM from the house and have the lights come on every time. Ended up disabling the presence sensor (easy to do through a button on the wall control panel) and only enable if I get in the garage at night. I would consider this a design flaw.
Otherwise, I took my time, read and followed the instructions to the T and had a successful istallation. Unit works great and besides the above observations, I am happy with the money I spent!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:September 13, 2012

Quiet & Robust

Pros: value and quiet
Cons: none so far
Model Number: 437572
"We were pleased with the value of this garage door opener and all the accessories that come with it. We had it installed yesterday and are very pleased with how quiet it is. Our last system was a chain drive so this is like night and day. We especially like the parking sensor since we have a long minivan and it is usually hard to park it right, now its not a problem. We priced similar systems and features with local installers and they were closer to $200.00 more for the same items."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, New Mexico
Date:April 14, 2011

The best Garage Door Opener Ever!

"I bought this Garage Door Opener 1 month ago. What I can tell you? I'm impressed. It's fully loaded with great accessories. Here's what I love about it:
- Very Quiet (main reason why I replaced old one)
- Great instructions and very easy to install.
- Love laser Parking accessory (no more tennis ball)
I would recommend this Garage Door Opener to everyone. It's pricey but it worth every penny.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:L.A. Ca
Date:April 13, 2011

Great Door Opener

Model Number: 547445
"This opener came with everything and then some! Indoor lighting control, 3 remotes, wireless keyless entry unit, laser parking assist, door monitor to let me know from inside that the door is still up, and most importantly a battery backup. They claim it's quiet and it is. I used to be able to tell when the door had opened because the loud noise had stopped. Now I have to look to be sure.
The owners manual is a little hard to use as it does not have separate instruction sections based on door type. I find that having to make sure that I am reading the correct section made the install a little harder. Overall though, the instructions are clear enough to properly install this unit.
I can hardly wait for a power failure to try out the battery operation!
"
Review 20 for Chamberlain's Ultimate Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:October 22, 2011

Still the best

Pros: battery standby
Cons: manual has been reduced in size
"This is the second Chamberlin I have installed, one for my parents and now this one for myself. The battery backup is what makes this unit a stand apart, quiet operation is a plus. You can't go wrong with this opener.
One beef is that they, Chamberlin, have shrunk the manual making it difficult to read. As luck would have it, I had an earlier full size manual that gave the detail you need. Also, you cannot add a dry contact switch to the system. I wound up modifying a remote so I could interface my security and access system to control the door. Chamberlin should offer an interface for those of us who have multiple activation devices. Have not gotten arround to adding the laser device, but the remote door position sensor in a great add.
"
1 2 3 next>>