Customer Reviews for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer

Designed for Cyclists of all Levels Up to 300 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.519 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
(out of 52 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
14
35 of 52(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Review 1 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Simpsonville, SC
Date:September 1, 2011

very pleased

Model Number: Lifespan S2
"very good bike...not to the level of what I use at the gym but for 3 to 4 days per week for additional work it is fine.
Assembly was easy and straight forward and took 45 minutes till I had the bike built and all of the packaging in the dumpster.
The bike is quiet...just make sure that you lube wheel and pad or you will get a squeak...I squirt some PAM on the wheel so that the brake pad provides the restistance but not the noises.
Seat and pedals are good for the price...they are standard so you can add on your own which is nice.
Frame is stable and bike is sturdy. Very please so far and would recommend this for someone looking to add to personal gym but would not recommend for a club setting."
Review 2 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Peoria, AZ
Date:August 31, 2011

Great Deal from Costco

Pros: easy adjustments, quiet, ups shipped
Model Number: Lifespan s2
"We got this deal on a Costco.com special and absolutely love the bike. Both my husband and I are using the bike regularly. The bike arrived UPS which was nice as we did not have to be home for delivery. We assembled the bike in 45 minutes with no issues and the tools were included which was nice. The bike is very quiet much more so than our last Schwinn spin bike which had a chain system instead of the belt system. The bike is easy to adjust from when my husband and I use it as he is 8" taller than me but the handlebars and seat are numbered so it is easy to make the quick adjustments. The seat is considerably more comfortable than our last bike as well. The bike is easy to move around and worth every penny. GREAT deal and would recommend to anyone looking to spin at home."
Review 3 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 10, 2011

Nothing but trouble with this bike!

Model Number: Lifespan S2, SB100
"I have had this bike for a year and have had nothing but trouble with it. The manufacture of this bike keeps sending out new parts under warrenty and the service man has come out 5 times. The break system doesn't work. It doens't catch and keeps slipping when you peddle. It's not safe to peddle standing up like I do. You could easily fall. Thank goodness for Costcos great return policy. I took back this bike without any problems."
Review 4 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Yonkers, NY
Date:July 27, 2011

very good buy

Pros: wheels to move, quiet, nice adjustments
Model Number: lifespan s2 indoor bike
"Arrived UPS which was nice, as I did not have to wait around for delivery. I am not very skilled with tools but the assembly was easy and it was nice having the tools included. Assembly took me about 45 minutes all said and done and was an easy enough one person job.
The bike is very quiet. I previously owned a cheaper Stamina spin bike with a chain instead of the belt and this is much quieter. The adjustments offer a nice range and easy to make.
I like the wheels in the front as I have been moving the bike out onto the deck after it cools off and have been exercising outside. The seat is ok, not super comfy but have read that not many are.
Overall a very good buy."
Review 5 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:April 26, 2011

Poor quality

Pros: good design
Cons: poor quality
"I experienced nothing but quality problems. The first bike had a defective braking system. Someone was sent out to repair and he decided to pry parts into place causing further damage along with tracking grease on the carpet.
The company did send me a new bike. The new bike worked for 2 weeks until it began to shred the belt. The company agreed to have it repaired. The repair person came out and determined that the frame was not in alignment and that the bike could not be serviced. The company disagreed and sent me instructions on how to adjust the limiter screws manually.
This bike has been a part time job. I'm convinced they have serious quality problems. Returned to Costco."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2011

not sturdy

"After about 3 months of use the welds on the seat post (where the curved shape meets the slide) began to weaken and gaps could be seen between the weld and the post. I was able to move the seat with my hands where the metal was fatigued. I was concerned it would snap with further use so I returned it (Costco thankfully) and I will now upgrade to what I should have gotten the first time around."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Englewood, CO
Date:January 7, 2011

Great for the money

Pros: solid frame, portable wheels, seat and h-bar adjustments, belt drive, solid flywheel, warranty
Model Number: lifespan s2
"I have been in the market for sometime now to have a spinner at home when I can't make my class at Lifetime. After extensive searches online and test riding numerous bikes I bought the S2 and am very pleased with the bike. I was able to try out several bikes locally that I reviewed online and after test riding this bike it was a no brainer. I tried the Proform 290 but what you see in person but not online is how small the frame construction is and also the flywheel has a cover / insert to make it look like it is solid but it is not...I gave the S2 at a local fitness store a good test ride and saw first hand the difference in the level of quality of this versus the other sub $500 bikes. Are there better bikes out there...most definitely, but you would have to spend close to $1,000. The seat is adequate and the adjustment knobs are easy to use with a nice range of adjustments. I did change the pedals out to Shimano SPD's. The belt drive is very nice and considerably more quiet than many of the bikes that I tried that had chain drives and you do not have to keep oiling the chain. Adjusting the resistance is smooth and the flywheel has a nice feel. For my money and after much online and in store research you will have a hard time buying a better bike for the money."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2011

I should had listened to the bad reviews

Cons: cheap, broke
Model Number: 439450
"The flywheel broke yesterday after our probably 10th time on it. I weigh 225 lbs and it says it can do 300 lbs. It can't even do 225... I am returning it. It's not Costco-worthy."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Naperville, IL
Date:January 4, 2011

very good purchase

Pros: very smooth, ships ups
Cons: seat
Model Number: Lifespan S2
"I have been using the bike since the first week in December. It shipped by UPS which was nice since I am at school during the days and did not need to be at home. Assembly was easy enough and took me about an hour all said and done. I have been using the bike 3-5 days per week for approximately 25-45 minutes per workout. The bike is really smooth and very solid. The adjustments are easy to make and I am the only one using it so after you have it set correctly you are fine...if you have someone else using the bike it does have #'s on the posts to remember. The seat is not the most comfortable. For the money I spent this was a very good purchase."
Review 10 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:chandler, az
Date:January 3, 2011

Solidly built bike

Pros: solid, nice seat, assembly
Cons: provided tools
Model Number: lifespan s2
"Christmas present for my wife and I so that we could spin at home. The bike arrived in 3 days by UPS. I assembled in advance to "put under the tree" and found that the assembly was easy but the tools provided were ONLY good to help in putting the pedals on the bike...I had to use my own socket set for the rest otherwise it would have taken a while and I probably would have stripped the screws as the tolerances were not quite right.
I read in other posts about cross threading the pedal...I am not sure how this happened as my bike had a sticker thru the arm that called out how to assemble. The adjustment knobs for the seat and the handlebar are easy to use.
The seat was not bad...we both used the bike for a 30 minute spin on Christmas night after all had settled down. I was really surprised how little difference there was in the stability of this bike and the Lemond spinner we have at our club.
This really is a nice spin option if you want quality but don't want to break your bank to have a spin bike at home."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Carlsbad, CA
Date:December 30, 2010

Couldn't take the squealing

Pros: easy set up
Cons: felt pad squeals loudly
"I went for this purchase after seeing some of the questionable reviews on Costco.com. The bike came in three days, which was great. When I opened the box it seemed like everything was packing taped in, like it had been repackaged. The front of the frame had a deep grind like scratch on it, but I put it together anyway since it was an Xmas gift. Xmas morning was a noisy adventure. The felt pad didn't hit the flywheel correctly and the controller knob looked like it was out of alignment with no way to correct it. The bike rode smooth and quiet with either no resistance or lots of resistance, but the majority of the time for spinning you are at a moderate resistance, which produced a high pitched squeal that was unbearable. I gave it a solid 15 minute ride, tried a couple of things to adjust it, but nothing worked. I also looked online for tips/tricks to fix such a problem and found nothing....so....back to Costco it went. Now we're still shopping.....and sad. It looked like a great buy on paper."
Review 12 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:December 3, 2010

Very questionable quality

"Let me first say, I love costco. I ordered this bike and it came literally on the 3rd business day. After two rides there was black rubber bits all over the ground. After calling Lifespan they instructed me to adjust the belt as it was rubbing on the frame. The adjustment was already maxed out and it appears the pedal assembly was welded crooked not allowing for belt clearance no matter how I adjusted it. I then ordered a second bike and the seat and handle bars both did not rest flush on the mounts. I was able to use parts from the first bike to make the second work. Once together the second bike made a lot of noise when pedaling. Upon further inspection the belt kept slipping back and forth from one groove to the next on the flywheel. After adjusting the pully it appears to be working now. I am keeping my fingers crossed..."
Review 13 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Round Rock, TX
Date:November 2, 2010

Excellent bike

Model Number: s2
"I have been using the bike since May and it has been great to beat the Texas heat and now with the it getting darker earlier I can spin at home. It really is nice not having to head to the gym and fight for a bike. I am not by any means saying that this bike is the same as what is at the clubs but for the price and for a single user versus the beating a club will put on a single bike each day there is no comparison. The first thing I did do is swap out the pedals for my spd's...seat is ok not great and the handlebar and seat have plenty of adjustments. The assembly is very easy and the wheels on the front make it easy to move if you need to. For the price I don't know if there is a better deal for the components, flywheel and warranty. You can't go wrong and if you do...you always can return it to good ol' Costco."
Review 14 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:huntsville, al
Date:October 18, 2010

Good deal

Model Number: lifespan s2 spin bike
"This is a really good bike for the price. It is not the same caliber of bike that you will find at Lifetime or Bally's or your local gym but it will be half the price. I wanted a drive belt instead of a chain system so that is what initally took my search to this bike. I did not want the hassle of having to oil the chain and after reading from others the chain is alot noisier than the belt.
Seat is OK...but I woudl recommend getting a gel seat if you are not familiar or used to sitting on a bike seat like this for 20+ minutes at a time.
Shipped by UPS and the box was in not so good shape when it arrived but I accepted and assembled the bike and had no cosmetic or mechanical issues.
All in all this is a very good deal and would recommend."
Review 15 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:October 15, 2010

great value

Pros: smooth, quiet
Model Number: Lifespan s2
"I have been using this regularly since I bought this last March and am very pleased with the performance. The drive system is super smooth and quiet. The resistance knob is easy to use when climbing hills. The flywheel is larger than any spin bike that I have researched even close to the price point which is very important for a smooth ride. Great bike and even better price you really can't go wrong and if you do have issues you always have Costco to return it."
Review 16 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Englewood, co
Date:October 11, 2010

Love bike but pedals a problem

Model Number: RO9a002096
"Ive had this bike since march. I love having it in my home to catch a quick workout if I'm short on time. However the right pedal came loose as the Bolt wasn't screwed on tight enough. My boyfriend has tightened it twice and it's better but the tension is a bit inconsistent when I stand up to pedal. I do a lot of interval training to music so I would probably be considered an aggressive user. Not sure what to do now as I don't know how to fix it any further."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:October 8, 2010

BROKEN: 15 minutes after assembly

"I ordered this bike on Costco.com. It arrived within 2 days. Took about half an hour to assemble, and it worked great for about 15 minutes. Then, suddenly, I heard this loud clanking from within the wheel, and it was vibrating. WHAT A PIECE OF JUNK! DO NOT BUY THIS. PAY THE EXTRA MONEY AND GET SOMETHING THAT WORKS AND DOESN'T WASTE YOUR TIME."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Modesto, CA
Date:October 5, 2010

Great start to the day!

Pros: quiet, easy to move, solid, warranty
Model Number: Lifespan S2
"With school starting back up I was looking for a piece of equpment that I could use in the early morning without waking the kids and jump start my energy for the day with the kiddos. I boiled it down to a cross trainer and a spin bike. I chose the spin bike for the following reasons: pretty comfortable in riding a bike, smaller footprint in our living room, no power needed so I can move it around without having to worry about outlets, quieter for those early morning workouts. I would say that I am in fairly good shape and purchased the bike more to get my heart rate up and increase my energy versus trying to lose weight or train for a race. Assembly was very easy and took about 35 minutes to completely build. It shipped by UPS and arrived three days after I ordered. I ride the bike 20 minutes each school morning while I watch the early morning news...we are now almost 1.5 months into the school year and I have yet to wake one of my kids up while working out. I really enjoy the bike and after searching over the summer for the best product / value I found it."
Review 19 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:September 9, 2010

Great Price, Arrived Quickly

"My wife and I enjoy spin classes so we got rid of our recumbant bike and home, and purchsed this bike.
The bike was delivered very quickly, and the setup was pretty quick, and easy. As others mentioned, it didnt come with a water bottle, but not a big deal, we have plenty of our own already.
The bike is sturdy and rides nice and smooth. It is quiet and with our own clip in pedals added to the bike, it is just like spinning at the gym.
We would definately recommend this bike, it is a solid purchase for the price and so far is holding up nicely. We are both spinning on it at least 4 days a week."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2010

Showed up quick

"I like the bike, quality is good and it works well.
Assembly was a challenge as there was no instruction booklet or owner's manual. In fact, the only thing that came with it was the packing slip! Odd, but I'm fairly mechanically inclined, so I looked at the pic on the outside of the box and got-r-dun. I got the handle bars on backwards, but I'm 5'2" (short arms) and it actually works better for my back to sit more upright while peddling.
When I put the seat on, it reminded me of my 'real' bicycle seat - the same setup.
I like the way the seat and handle bars are easily adjustable, and the resistance knob is easy to reach. For now I'm using very little resistance due to an injured knee.
The only trouble I've had using it is one time when I quit peddling I forgot that it doesn't free-wheel and my injured knee got a lot of extra force and unexpected pressure. I'll remember to use the emergency stop, or lift that foot off the peddle while it winds down.
My only other problem is how do I get the owner's manual? All the phone options for Costco apply to shipping, returns, or other options that have nothing to do with a problem with your order.
What happened to my owner's manual?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>