Customer Reviews for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer

Designed for Cyclists of all Levels Up to 300 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.519 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
(out of 52 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
14
35 of 52(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Review 1 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:March 29, 2010

Decent construction BUT setup was wrong

Model Number: LifeSpan S2
"I am not returning this bike; at least not yet. Have had for approximately three weeks riding 30 minutes 3 times per week. Initial impression was great, then the noises started and the rubber bits began hitting the floor. After approximately an hour of disassembly and adjustment, all appears to be corrected. The issue was the the adjustment of the drive belt alignment out of the box was off enough that it was wearing on the tension pulley that is tucked under the drive cover from day one. Only after repeated use did the edgesof the belt begin to fray and rubber particles start to generate noise when trapped in the drivetrain. I may not have to adjust again for a long time now that the belt is accurately centered, but would highly recommend that buyers watch the break-in cycle very closely to ensure the belt was prpoerly aligned when the bike was manufactured. If you are not handy with tools and general repairs, your may not want to tackle the belt alignment process on your own."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Costa Mesa, CA
Date:July 7, 2010

Could not ask for more

Model Number: SB100 (S2)
"Great value for the price. The bike is not the same level as the bike I spin on at Lifetime but I also did not spend over a $1k for a bike that I am using at home when I can't make it to the gym.
The assembly was easy enough and tools were included. I used my own as the tools included are what you would expect with free tools. All you really need is an adjustable wrench. It took me just under 30 minutes to fully assemble.
The seat and handlebar adjustments are fine...not as "beefy" as at the club but once you have the heights set you probably won't need to adjust again unless someone else is using the bike as well.
I did add my own pedals, as I like to wear my spinning shoes. If you are not familiar with bikes ALWAYS remember that the left pedal is a reverse thread and the right pedal is a normal thread. if you do not assemble correctly it will strip the threads on the pedal and the crank arm.
With the larger flywheel, belt drive, warranty and Costco return policy I dont see how you could go wrong with this bike."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 31, 2010

Very Pleased

Pros: seat adjustments, 40lb flywheel, quality construction
Cons: pedals ( switch them out for clipless), seat is not that comfortable
Model Number: LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
"I am avid cyclist and have been using a bike mounted trainer for 20 years. I have tried spin classes and can see that the spin bike geometry will help you be a better cyclist on the real road. I couldn’t put out the cash for the top of the line models, and frankly for the money they wanted for them it just didn’t seem worth it. I compared the Lifespan S2 quality and features to spin bikes of all price tags and it had all the features I was looking for at a lower price. Most of the bikes in that price range and even the more expensive ones do not have the adjustment in the seat to move it back and forward and don’t have a 40lb flywheel. Another deciding factor was Costco’s return policy, I knew that if I wasn’t completely happy I could just send it back. Costco is one of the few companies that “just get it”. They know that quality counts and guarantee your satisfaction no matter what. I am extremely happy with my new trainer and I recommend the Lifespan S2 to anyone that is looking for a good trainer for a great price."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverside, CA
Date:March 18, 2010

So far so great!

Pros: price, quality, warranty
Cons: no water bottle just the holder
Model Number: Lifespan S2
"GREAT price, it arrived (2) days after I ordered it by UPS and I had the bike assembled in 25 minutes. All tools were included which was nice as well. Th instructions were just OK...not great but the bike only has a couple of things that needed to be assembled so it was not like the issues I had with the play set I bought last year!
It is super quiet...before buying this I tried the spin bikes at Sport Chalet and Sports Authority and the bikes that they had were both more expensive and both were a chain drive.
I purchased a gel seat cover and a few spin class videos and am greatly enjoying my workouts!
I am a "sweater" --- so I have to buy a rubber exercise mat yet as the floor has puddles from me sweating. I have the bike on my laminate hard wood floor so it is easy to clean up but I am sure if you had carpet you would not notice and could be an issue.
It is very easy to adjust the seat and handlebars both up and down as well as front and back."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Truckee, CA
Date:February 25, 2010

Great cardio workout!

Pros: ability to change the seat, front wheels makes it easy to move
Model Number: S2
"Absolutely love my bike. I bought this bike to have something in my home that would not overtake my house but that would allow me to workout from home a couple of days a week at my schedule. I have been using it 2-3 days a week now since I purchased it and ride for about 30-45 minutes per workout. On the other 2 -3 days I go to our associations fitness center and use the treadmill and or elliptical. The bike is solid, stable and very quiet and the belt drive is one of the main reasons I selected this bike. It is a great price for the components and specifications. The resistance is easy to adjust up or down. The adjustability of the seat and handlebars is easy and numbered so if you have multiple users, simply remember your number for easy adjustments.
The bike arrived by UPS and assmbly was staright forward and took me about 45 minutes to an hour.
I would recommend this bike."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:December 1, 2009

Solid, stable and quiet...

Pros: price, quality, ease of assembly
Model Number: S2 Spin bike
"I absolutely love my bike! I bought it after cancelling my membership at Bally's and have it right in front of the TV in our spare room and watch the Spinerval series of DVD's I bought to keep me motivated...
It was VERY easy to assemble and all the tools were included, which was nice...it took me about 25 minutes to assemble.
The bike is very solid and has levelers on all corners...I did also buy the mat which should help prevent the dents in my carpet and catch the sweat!
Like the others who reviewed this item I am familiar with how the bikes should feel and the belt on my bike was loose as mentioned in the other reviews...as with other spinning bikes that have a belt drive system they have a mechanism that allows you to tighten the belt, which took me all of 20 seconds to tighten and the bike is tuned and feels great. I am surprised that the others who reviewed and stated that they ride spin bikes did not know this...either way, I love my bike and it is a GREAT value for the price. I would strongly recommend this bike to anyone looking to bring spinning into your home."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:chandler, az
Date:January 3, 2011

Solidly built bike

Pros: solid, nice seat, assembly
Cons: provided tools
Model Number: lifespan s2
"Christmas present for my wife and I so that we could spin at home. The bike arrived in 3 days by UPS. I assembled in advance to "put under the tree" and found that the assembly was easy but the tools provided were ONLY good to help in putting the pedals on the bike...I had to use my own socket set for the rest otherwise it would have taken a while and I probably would have stripped the screws as the tolerances were not quite right.
I read in other posts about cross threading the pedal...I am not sure how this happened as my bike had a sticker thru the arm that called out how to assemble. The adjustment knobs for the seat and the handlebar are easy to use.
The seat was not bad...we both used the bike for a 30 minute spin on Christmas night after all had settled down. I was really surprised how little difference there was in the stability of this bike and the Lemond spinner we have at our club.
This really is a nice spin option if you want quality but don't want to break your bank to have a spin bike at home."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clearwater, FL
Date:December 18, 2009

Very pleased

Pros: quiet, warranty
Model Number: S2
"We decided to go with this spin bike over a traditional upright bikes, quite honestly because my wife is a fan of the Biggest Loser and the use of spin bikes in the "last chance workouts"...
In regards to the bike it does not have electronics found on the upright bikes we looked at but for us that was OK...we use the bike4-5 days per week between the two of us for 20-30 minutes per use and we have it in front of the TV and just go at our own pace. I have no reference to base my experience with other spin bikes as I nor my wife have never been health club members or participated in classes. Here are my observations as a "newbie". First and foremost for us it helped us get more active and providesan opportunity to get a good sweat. Delivery took 6 business days from placement of order which we found reasonable and we did receive a call to schedule delivery as it was brought by a trucking company versus UPS or FedEx. the assembly instructions were easy to follow and tools were included, however there is nothing special with the tools and you may want to use your own. I have since purchased after the fact, a mat to put under the bike as the bike has very large levelers in the front and back which left indents in the carpet, plus now that we have the mat under (it is black) you can see the wet sweat spots on the mat so it is safe to say that in addition to protecting the carpet it will also keep the carpet more sanitary."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Carlsbad, CA
Date:December 30, 2010

Couldn't take the squealing

Pros: easy set up
Cons: felt pad squeals loudly
"I went for this purchase after seeing some of the questionable reviews on Costco.com. The bike came in three days, which was great. When I opened the box it seemed like everything was packing taped in, like it had been repackaged. The front of the frame had a deep grind like scratch on it, but I put it together anyway since it was an Xmas gift. Xmas morning was a noisy adventure. The felt pad didn't hit the flywheel correctly and the controller knob looked like it was out of alignment with no way to correct it. The bike rode smooth and quiet with either no resistance or lots of resistance, but the majority of the time for spinning you are at a moderate resistance, which produced a high pitched squeal that was unbearable. I gave it a solid 15 minute ride, tried a couple of things to adjust it, but nothing worked. I also looked online for tips/tricks to fix such a problem and found nothing....so....back to Costco it went. Now we're still shopping.....and sad. It looked like a great buy on paper."
Review 10 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Decatur, GA
Date:February 26, 2010

Perfect for my needs...

Pros: easy to assemble, easy to move
Model Number: S2SB100
"this bike is very quiet, which I was really hoping for...we put the bike in the spare room which is next to babies room and during the rare naps I can go in, put the ipod on and ride for 20-30 minutes and not disturb them. I have never taken any spin classes so I really can't compare this product to any others.
I wanted something quiet that would give me a good sweat...not take up much too much room when the grandparents visit and be easily stored away...this fit the bill for me."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Monroeville, PA
Date:December 14, 2009

Very good bike

Model Number: S2
"Now that lax season is over and coaching has ended for the season I purchased this bike for myself as an early Christmas present to stay in better shape thru the winter. The packaging was smaller than my husbands TV puchase so it was easy to put it downstairs in the den. My husband had it assembled in 20 minutes.
The seat is as comfortable as a bike seat can be...the bike is very smooth and quiet. the adjustments on the seat and handlebars are nice and easy to adjust.
My only complaint and to this point is a minor one is that the water bottle that comes with the bike is very chincy...but I am using my own so crisis averted.
Other than that I am greatly enjoying the bike and woudl recommend to anyone looking for a good cardio exercise and looking for something that will not overwhelm the room. Also, I woudl recommend buying some spin class videos, they have helped me!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:King of Prussia, PA
Date:March 26, 2010

Good bike, great deal

Pros: easy to assemble, great value
Model Number: SB200 - S2
"I received the bike by UPS (6) days after ordering including the weekend. The assembly was easy and staright forward. As others mentioned I too upgraded the pedals to my SPD's, but if you are new to spinning what is standard on the bike is good.
I have been an avid spinner for 10+ years and purchased this to have an option at home when I can't get to a class...this year in particular was tough with the weather we had. So I am very familiar with spinning and what to expect. I have only had put a handlful of workouts on the bike but I like what I see so far. It is stable and the locking mechanisms for the seat post and handlebar are basic but do the job.
I did find a prior review interesting. They are either a review plant and simply trying to promote their brands or if it is there opinion, but I know for a fact that the bikes that we use at our health club are the LeMond spinning bikes and they are belt drive and they cost 4x's my bike.
Overall, I researched a home bike for many months and this was by far the best value that I could find. I would highly recommend this bike."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:September 9, 2010

Great Price, Arrived Quickly

"My wife and I enjoy spin classes so we got rid of our recumbant bike and home, and purchsed this bike.
The bike was delivered very quickly, and the setup was pretty quick, and easy. As others mentioned, it didnt come with a water bottle, but not a big deal, we have plenty of our own already.
The bike is sturdy and rides nice and smooth. It is quiet and with our own clip in pedals added to the bike, it is just like spinning at the gym.
We would definately recommend this bike, it is a solid purchase for the price and so far is holding up nicely. We are both spinning on it at least 4 days a week."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ten Sleep, WY
Date:November 10, 2009

Disappointed

Pros: cheap
Cons: not sturdy, low quality
Model Number: LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
"I thought this would be a good, lower cost alternative to an actual Spinning brand bike. This is definitely a type of product that you get what you pay for. I only used the product for a week before it started malfunctioning. It was not a smooth motion when someone peddled. It felt like the belt skipped, or jumped on the down-stroke. The rubber belt between the peddles and wheel started falling apart. There was a pile of rubber chunks building up on the floor within a few days of use. I will be returning this product to Costco at the earliest chance."
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Englewood, CO
Date:January 7, 2011

Great for the money

Pros: solid frame, portable wheels, seat and h-bar adjustments, belt drive, solid flywheel, warranty
Model Number: lifespan s2
"I have been in the market for sometime now to have a spinner at home when I can't make my class at Lifetime. After extensive searches online and test riding numerous bikes I bought the S2 and am very pleased with the bike. I was able to try out several bikes locally that I reviewed online and after test riding this bike it was a no brainer. I tried the Proform 290 but what you see in person but not online is how small the frame construction is and also the flywheel has a cover / insert to make it look like it is solid but it is not...I gave the S2 at a local fitness store a good test ride and saw first hand the difference in the level of quality of this versus the other sub $500 bikes. Are there better bikes out there...most definitely, but you would have to spend close to $1,000. The seat is adequate and the adjustment knobs are easy to use with a nice range of adjustments. I did change the pedals out to Shimano SPD's. The belt drive is very nice and considerably more quiet than many of the bikes that I tried that had chain drives and you do not have to keep oiling the chain. Adjusting the resistance is smooth and the flywheel has a nice feel. For my money and after much online and in store research you will have a hard time buying a better bike for the money."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chevy Chase, MD
Date:November 27, 2009

Great deal for the dollars

Pros: great price, stable smooth ride
Cons: no fender to keep sweat off the fly wheel, "u" part of the handle is a bit small
Model Number: LifeSpan S2 indoor cycle trainer
"I'm been in a lot of spin classes on both good and bad bikes. I decided to save some money on gym memberships this winter and spin at home. This is a good solid spin bike. It's missing a few features of the really high end bikes- but It feels solid and stable on the mat I bought with it. Easy to put together. If you fail to tighten the adjustment knobs it will feel wobbly - but if you just make sure all the adjustments are tighten- the bike feels very solid. I'm happy with my purchase."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Worcester, MA
Date:December 2, 2009

Good bike and even better price

Pros: price, warranty
Model Number: S2
"I got the bike about a week after purchasing. I found the instructions and assembly easy to follow and build. Cut out handles on the box made it easy for me any my wife to move the bike downstairs into our den.
We are using the bike 4-5 days per week for 30 minute workouts and we are very pleased with the bike. It is very quiet, and very easy to adjust the handlebars and seat as I am about 5" taller than my wife...the adjustments are numbered so just remember your setting each time you adjust.
The pedals are "ok"...you get what you pay for, so I did put a pair of clipless pedals on the bike. The seat to can be changed out for your own seat as it is mounted on a standard seat stem. I did not see this when we bought it and it is not a big deal but is nice...the bike comes with a water bottle cage that mounts to the front right fork."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio
Date:March 18, 2010

Excellent Spin Cycle

Pros: good quality construction/sturdy, easy assembly, quick shipping
Cons: will need to add your own clip in pedals
"Just received the LifeSpan S2 indoor Cycle Trainer and wanted to write a review to recommend both the cycle and Costco online ordering process. The cycle arrived about 5 days after I ordered it online. The cycle came in one large box (about 105 lbs) that had been fairly beat up but the contents were in excellent condition. As others have noted, assembly was easy and the main part of the cycle was pre-assembled for me. From a quality perspective the cycle appears comparable to the spin cycles I have used at my gym - heavy duty construction. For the price, I think it is an excellent value. You will have to spring for the clip in pedals, but I knew that going in. All in all, I highly recommend this product and felt confident buying it from Costco knowing that if it wasn't right, I could simply take it back to my local store."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Modesto, CA
Date:October 5, 2010

Great start to the day!

Pros: quiet, easy to move, solid, warranty
Model Number: Lifespan S2
"With school starting back up I was looking for a piece of equpment that I could use in the early morning without waking the kids and jump start my energy for the day with the kiddos. I boiled it down to a cross trainer and a spin bike. I chose the spin bike for the following reasons: pretty comfortable in riding a bike, smaller footprint in our living room, no power needed so I can move it around without having to worry about outlets, quieter for those early morning workouts. I would say that I am in fairly good shape and purchased the bike more to get my heart rate up and increase my energy versus trying to lose weight or train for a race. Assembly was very easy and took about 35 minutes to completely build. It shipped by UPS and arrived three days after I ordered. I ride the bike 20 minutes each school morning while I watch the early morning news...we are now almost 1.5 months into the school year and I have yet to wake one of my kids up while working out. I really enjoy the bike and after searching over the summer for the best product / value I found it."
Review 20 for LifeSpan S2 Indoor Cycle Trainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frisco, TX
Date:June 4, 2010

Awesome!

Pros: quiet, very solid
Cons: no water bottle included
Model Number: LifeSpan S2
"I bought (2) units for me and my wife to spin together before heading to work in the AM. The bikes were easy to assemble, pretty straight forward instructions and the tools were included which was nice. I was a little nervous at first spending a thousand dollars on bikes without trying first, but figured I could always return to my Costco if I was not satisfied, but that has been anything but the case.
The bikes are very quiet and smooth. The handlebars and seat are very easy to adjust. The one feature that we really like is the wheels on the front...we have actually wheeled the bikes onto our terrace and did our workouts in the outdoors!
This has been a great addition to our home and has nothing to do with the product review but it has been fun for us to start the day a little more healthy and time together.
I would recommend this to anyone. We are very pleased!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>