Customer Reviews for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set

Espresso Finish & Solid Wood Frame 100 Colorful Piece. Convertible into Coffee Table
Average Customer Rating:
3.972 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
(out of 36 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
2
29 of 36(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Review 1 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:LA
Date:September 12, 2011

Should've read more reviews...

Pros: sturdy solid construction
Cons: drawer a mess, tracks move - not practical for small children
"This is a nice, sturdy train table that is a great value for the product. That being said, if you have a 3 year old, expect to reassemble the tracks and bridges daily since the items do not screw or adhere to the table's surface. I know this is supposed to double as a coffee table, but it's not practical for small children b/c the tracks slide everywhere, making it tough for small fingers to play with it. Also, the drawer that people write about on here is a disaster on our unit. It doesn't slide in entirely; it only slides out on one side, and the table already looks worn (it's been out three days). For some reason the drawer looked worn right out of the box. Ultimately we're keeping the unit, and my husband is going to get handy to figure out how to affix everything to the table to make it more practical."
Review 2 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pleasanton, CA
Date:July 4, 2011

Awesome Train Table!!!

Pros: looks great, extra storage, fun
"We bought this table two years ago for our two boys (3 yo & 1 yo at the time). They've played with it daily and it still looks great today! The table is attractive enough that we also us it as a coffee table in the living room. I'm surprised that it has held up as well as it has over the years. We did add a thin protective plexiglass plastic piece to protect the table top and I would recommend that to anyone who purchases the product to ensure longer life. It was a great purchase and the boys love it, no regrets!!!"
Review 3 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:June 10, 2011

Great Purchase - No Need to Search Further!

Pros: quality accessories value
Cons: none
"We wanted to buy our son a train table for his second birthday. I had done extensive research - online, talking to friends, looking in the stores and decided on this table because of the reasonable price, great features and the convertible feature (into a coffee table). I am very satisfied with my purchase and would highly recommend it for the following reasons:
1. The assembly was very easy. My husband and I did the assembly together, which I'm guessing helped to save some time, but it only took us about 2 hours - table, track set up, accessories, everything - and the directions were very easy to follow - no extra tools required.
2. It was a great value. We got all of the tracks and trains that we will need for a very reasonable price compared to other options. I especially liked that the set included a bulldozer, helicopter, airplane, houses, cars, and people to play with. In all honesty, my son enjoys playing with the other pieces just as much as he enjoys the train.
3. Good quality. Ok - does the drawer shift when you try to open? Yes. Is this the end of the world? No. Sometimes you just need to shift it a bit to be able to open it. That's my only negative comment. The tracks all fit together well. The train rides on them just fine. The Thomas engine and tender that we have travels just as well. The conversion to the coffee table was a great selling point, but now that I think of it, it's unlikely we will get much use of it, because all he wants to play with is the train. The storage drawers are huge - you can fit so much. We filled them with all of the toys that used to be in the spot where the train table now sits. I read some complaints about the finish chipping off of the wood. We had no problems with this. In addition, the table just looks nice - the thought of the bright blue Thomas table was a bit overwhelming and the thought of an unfinished wood table was quite underwhelming. I don't feel bad keeping this up all the time because it looks so nice.
4. The ordering and delivery was perfectly smooth and the delivery was fast.
This is a great purchase, will last a long time and we are very satisfied. We highly recommend this train table.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:June 6, 2011

kids love it

"I bought this for my childcare. The kids love it!!
I read the reviews & honestly was a little hesitant. I have been searching for a train table for a while now & I believe this one is the best I have come around too. Besides the Thomas one, which I wasn't about to pay that much for. I think the price is good for this train set.
I have had this train set about a month now & the kids play with it 5 days out of the week. We all know that kids can play rough & I believe I made a great choice with this train set! I'm very happy with it! The wood is nice & dark. It turns into a table when the kids are done playing with the train. You can put all the pieces back into the drawers (which I believe hold up very nicely) that have wheels.
Reason why I gave it 4 stars is when was I was putting it together (which was very simple to assemble) the wood split but I fixed it & haven't had any problems with it sense. Over all great product! My kids are happy!!
"
Review 5 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:near Sacramento
Date:March 29, 2011

eh....

"We bought this table and train set for our 3 year old son as a Christmas present. We had high hopes, thinking high quality usually comes from KidKraft items. I am less than impressed.
First, the top is a semi-flimsy flippable board with a graphic on one side and a green "blank" on other side. It is essentially paper cardboard and it showed signs of use within minutes. We saw the disaster coming and had our local glass shop custom fit a plexiglass overlay which added another roughly $40 to the price (but is well worth doing!).
The bigger problem is the drawers. One of them is virtually unusable no matter how much glue or stabilizing screws my husband puts in. The other one is okay but definitely won't hold up to heavy use. The drawers got so bad that we bought a couple of low height storage bins to put all of the tracks and accessories in, as the drawers simply aren't capable or strong enough to hold even what comes with this set! That was another $15, adding about $55 to the cost of this to make it usable for even awhile.
The accessories are adorable, in the picture and in real life. But they definitely aren't going to hold up long-term as they too are paper graphics pasted onto wood. I guess if it was painted wood, there goes the cost! So it's a trade-off.
We are unhappy enough that we've debated bringing it back; we no longer have the box and we'd feel bad about bringing it back 3 months later, used. So we often use it to fold laundry on or for toy storage on top. Sad!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:MN
Date:March 22, 2011

I would pass

"The table is very poorly made. Chips so easily, the drawer is very flimsy and it took forever to assemble. I had to get some brown marker to cover up the scuff marks that were already on the table after receiving it."
Review 7 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:October 5, 2010

Looks Nice

Pros: looks nice, fits thomas trains, plenty of storage
Cons: chips & scratches easily, drawer is not on a track, tracks are not attached to the table
"This table looks nice and it much nicer looking than other train tables. Our son can use his Thomas trains with this table and tracks which is nice.
CONS:
The drawer wasn't what I expected. It's not on any tracks and can be pulled out from either side easily. I just wish it was a more sturdy drawer.
The woods chips easily. Within 1 hour of it being put together my 18 month old dropped a toy and it immediatley scratched the wood & removed the nice color. My 4 year old was upset but it comes with the territory of having a little one at home.
The tracks do not stay put on the table. I knew about this ahead of time and was well aware and decided that it wouldn't be too bad of an issue. For me, it's not too big of a deal, it make my son get creative and put it together himself but other parents may not agree.
Overall, a good purchase, arrived quick and the quality for the price is good. It looks nice in our family room and everything stores nicely underneath."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:September 22, 2010

Just okay

Pros: finish, tracks can be used with thomas
Cons: no ledge, drawer design, too lightweight
Model Number: 421924
"I purchased this table for my son's 2nd birthday. He has a bright blue Thomas the Tank engine table that is great but was an eyesore in our familyroom. I moved that one up to his room and purchased this one, quite honestly, only because of the finish. (it is a deep espresso, almost black with no red in it) I figured it wasn't the best quality because of the price, but there are places that they could have designed it better without adding to the price. First, there is no ledge so the trains roll right off the sides. Second, the drawer does not have a "backing" on it so it can be opened on either side of the table. So closing it is simply pushing the drawer out the other side. (kids need to be able to walk all around the table, so you can't shove this up against a wall...besides, the table is too lightweight and is easily pushed around even by a 2 year old)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Henderson, NV
Date:April 28, 2010

Nice Enough

"I purchased this for my Son's 2nd birthday. I built the table and put the tracks together myself (6 months pregnant) in about 3 hours. He woke up the following morning and tore down the entire track in less than an hour, but had a lot of fun doing it. I figured I jumped the gun on purchasing this, however when his friends come over, they really enjoy playing with it, even when the tracks are not put together. The bottom drawer is great for putting all those small pieces, however it is not attached to the table so the kids can easily pull it out and run it around the room."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:April 21, 2010

Expected More

"Decent table, but I would have expected better quality parts for the track. Would have liked the pieces to fit together better and stay on the table more. Maybe a sticky bottom or some clasps to the table would help. It took quite a bit of time to put it together, and it falls apart when not used gingerly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2010

Track has engineering issues

"Issue with track falling apart due to bad engineering. There are piece glued to the bottom of some parts to keep the track together, but these pieces are missing in several key areas which cause the track to fall apart when the train or anything is run over them. This can be fixed with a little wood and some glue, but still should be addressed in the manufactures design."
Review 12 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilsonville, OR
Date:March 21, 2010

A constant source of imagination

Pros: perfect gathering center for toddlers
Cons: toddler perch
"We ordered this set online and it arrived exactly one week later. Putting the table together was a snap even with a 15mo old and 2.5yo "helping". Putting the train together took a bit longer as some of the bridges were unassembled...still easy tho.
There was one missing part from the big bridge, so I visited the Kidkraft website and instantly ordered the missing parts which showed up 5-6 days later. Still, you don't need all the pieces. All parts from our TTT fit perfectly...to be honest, my kids are more interested in the bridges, tressles, cars and mountain from the new set.
A couple reviewers noted that the tabletop an become scratched/dented. It does get these slight grooves where cars get run back and forth, but hey, better the table than my furniture. I ended up rolling some clear contact paper on the top "just in case" and it's been working beautifully for a couple weeks now.
The trundle drawer and finish are what sold us on this set vs some of the others. The trundle holds tons of track and trains while we can flip over the tabletop and have a "sorta" grown up looking table when not in use. My only complaint is that the two kids have found that it makes a great perch from which to watch tv.
I could rate this 4 stars because of the missing part, but I was so impressed with the ease of ordering the replacement from the Kidkraft website that I don't hold it against them."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:March 8, 2010

Love the Table

"We bought this just for the table. He has a different brand in his room and kept bringing things down to play with as well. I love that I can store the trains and flip the table over so it doesn't look like toys r us in our living room. Surprised by all the reviews about track coming apart being a complaint since that's my boys favorite thing to do is build the track himself. perhaps the 2.5 yr olds weren't quite old enough for it? Make just a oval from the tracks and they have just as much fun! Our son has more fun just driving his trains around the table sometimes :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:February 4, 2010

Great Train table set

Pros: heavyweight table, everything is included trains tracks cars etc, looks great in an adult room
Cons: soft tabletop can easily be dented by pounding, colored tabletop can be ripped (get plexiglass)
Model Number: 17935
"'Santa' got this set for my 2.5yo. He was very happy playing with this. My only complaint is that my 8month old likes to pull herself up and bang on the table with the cars and it has made tiny dents on the tabletop (meaning the wood is soft) and I've also noticed after wiping up liquid spills that some of the 'paper' land/water is splitting off. BUT I fixed that problem by getting a custom-cut sized plexiglass to go on top :)
A response to the person in Utah that mentioned that the pieces come apart and can't be glued/screwed onto the table. This is a train table that comes with a dual tabletop (one side for the trains the other to look like an adult coffee table) IF you glued/screwed the tracks on one side, how will you be able to flip the tabletop to the other????? That is also why they include the sliding oversized drawer, to store the train tracks when the kid is done playing with it.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carmichael, CA
Date:January 20, 2010

Wonderful Train Set

""Santa" brought this to our home for Christmas for our 4 year old and 1 1/2 year old....it is great!! My husband put it together and he said it was easy...the height is just right for kids. They both play with it all the time and when we are done, we just disassemble and put everything in the pull out drawers!
I do wish the drawers were on rails, instead of just sitting on the floor...we use this as our coffee table in the living room right now and it would be nice to be able to move it by myself, which I'm unable to do because it is so heavy. But, really, that is my only complaint!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:January 12, 2010

ADDITIONAL INSTALL

Pros: good idea
Cons: falls apart
"I BOUGHT THIS FOR OUR 2.5 YEAR OLD SON. HE WOULD KNOCK DOWN THE TRACTS WHILE PLAYING. THERFORE I GO SOME VELCRO TAPE & USED IT TO SECURE THE TRACTS TO EACH OTHER & THE TABLE. THE UNIT IS HOLDING UP MUCH BETTER."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2010

Best out there

"We bought this for our two and a half year old and she just LOVES it. I love that it has airplanes and helicopters and trucks and cars, not just trains. It is great quality, and compatible with Brio and Thomas trains. For all those who complain about it sliding-have you never played with a wooden train set? They all move and slide. I can't imagine a child wanting the track to stay perfectly aligned and be unable to disassemble and rearrange and build a different configuration. That complaint sounds like a grown up that needs the barriers and bridges to cross exactly over water and roads and not touch. Kids just want to have fun. This set is durable and fun for kids-adults should buy a grown up electric train set if they want that."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:January 11, 2010

No easy way to permanently secure

Pros: cute
Cons: cant permanently assemble
Model Number: 17935
"I saw this on display in costo and it looked as if there were fasteners that you could screw the track down with. Bought it and tried to set it up for Christmas only to find that it does not screw down, nor do many of the pieces have a large enough surface in which to glue this down either. Plus the base comes in two seperate pieces so you could never secure the track with out solving this problem as well.
SO IF YOU WANT A TRAIN TRACK THAT CAN NEVER BE GLUED OR SECURED PERMANENTLY THIS IS THE TRACK FOR YOU. If having it come apart and move all of the time bugs you you are going to have to become very creative to get this secured. That means screwing wood on the opposite side of the decorative board to make it into ONE non movable board ( of course you will not be able to use this other side in the future as a coffe table or what not) Now to secure the track. The parts that are flat against the ground can be glued and screwd down. All of the other parts will have to have the bases secured which means you will need to cut little blocks of wood that fit perfectly under the legs of the red bridges and the grey legs that elevate the track off the ground. You will then need to screw those blocks of wood into the base, then set the bridges and grey legs on them and secure them to the blocks of wood by screwing screws in through the side.
Lets just say it has been several weeks since christmas and my son finnally is allowed to play with his train track. Had I known this would be such a pain I would not have gotten it.! I am surprised all of the other reviewers want a train track that comes apart????
FYI the colored board is not painted. It is somekind of glorified colored cardboard with a clear coat over it. So I imagine within a few months of play all of the cute green grass will have been scrapped off by the trains, cars ect...
"
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redding, CA
Date:January 10, 2010

Great train table

"We ordered this for Christmas and Costco provided the great service they always provide - extra fast shipping.
The train table is very nice and provides a lot of entertainment for our two boys almost 4 and almost 2 years old.
"
Review 20 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:East Brunswick, NJ
Date:January 9, 2010

Poor quality control

Pros: nice when assembled with non-damaged parts.
Cons: poor quality control
"I bought the train table in November at the warehouse and planned to set it up Christmas Eve for my 3 year old. When I opened the box Christmas Eve, one of the 2 table ends was broken ... an entire side edge had broken off exposing wood and a bit of nail. Maybe this happened during the shipping process?
That night, I set up the table anyway so that my kid would have a gift from Santa Christmas morning but put a chair in front of the broken exposed area to prevent any injuries.
Also that night, I placed an order on Costco.com for the same table in order to swap pieces. The next busness day I called KidKraft and asked them to ship me a replacement part as well.
They both arrived the same day about a week later BUT the part from KidKraft (shipped by FEDEX) also arrived broken. Good thing I had the Coscto order to fall back on right? but when I opened this box (shipped by UPS), again one of these 2 parts arrived broken. It was a good thing the other one was fine. I eventually swapped parts and returned the shipment back to the warehouse.
I rated this 3 stars because when fully assembled it's a nice tran table and my kid loves it. Other than that, poor quality control on behalf of KidKraft!
"
1 2 next>>