Customer Reviews for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set

Espresso Finish & Solid Wood Frame 100 Colorful Piece. Convertible into Coffee Table
Average Customer Rating:
3.972 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
(out of 36 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
2
29 of 36(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Review 1 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:October 5, 2010

Looks Nice

Pros: looks nice, fits thomas trains, plenty of storage
Cons: chips & scratches easily, drawer is not on a track, tracks are not attached to the table
"This table looks nice and it much nicer looking than other train tables. Our son can use his Thomas trains with this table and tracks which is nice.
CONS:
The drawer wasn't what I expected. It's not on any tracks and can be pulled out from either side easily. I just wish it was a more sturdy drawer.
The woods chips easily. Within 1 hour of it being put together my 18 month old dropped a toy and it immediatley scratched the wood & removed the nice color. My 4 year old was upset but it comes with the territory of having a little one at home.
The tracks do not stay put on the table. I knew about this ahead of time and was well aware and decided that it wouldn't be too bad of an issue. For me, it's not too big of a deal, it make my son get creative and put it together himself but other parents may not agree.
Overall, a good purchase, arrived quick and the quality for the price is good. It looks nice in our family room and everything stores nicely underneath."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2009

Great Toy

"Bought this for our 27 month old twin grandkids. Kept them completely entertained for several hours. Enough different pieces to keep the fighting down to a minimum. Plenty of room for them to move around.
Assembly was fairly easy. The table (which looks great for a kids toy, and is solid), came with quality hardware which was a big help. My wife and I are not really good at assembling things, and it took about one hour. The actual layout assembly was a bit more difficult, and the hardware was not as good. I would strongly recommend stopping at a hardware store and buying a few extra 5/8 and 9/16 screws, as the ones supplied strip easily. Also, most track parts are not labeled, and only a diagram is provided. Make sure that the pieces fitting inside the two level bridge has the lips facing outward. Took us about two hours to assemble the layout parts. Overall, a great product for the kids.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2009

Awesome Train Table!

"We bought this two weeks ago in our local Costco. So far I am very impressed. This table was very easy to assemble. It looks really nice (much nicer than most train tables). In fact it looks more like furniture. We love that it is a combination of "roads" and train tracks. The double decker bridge is a nice addition. So far it is holding up well and the price was great!"
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:February 4, 2010

Great Train table set

Pros: heavyweight table, everything is included trains tracks cars etc, looks great in an adult room
Cons: soft tabletop can easily be dented by pounding, colored tabletop can be ripped (get plexiglass)
Model Number: 17935
"'Santa' got this set for my 2.5yo. He was very happy playing with this. My only complaint is that my 8month old likes to pull herself up and bang on the table with the cars and it has made tiny dents on the tabletop (meaning the wood is soft) and I've also noticed after wiping up liquid spills that some of the 'paper' land/water is splitting off. BUT I fixed that problem by getting a custom-cut sized plexiglass to go on top :)
A response to the person in Utah that mentioned that the pieces come apart and can't be glued/screwed onto the table. This is a train table that comes with a dual tabletop (one side for the trains the other to look like an adult coffee table) IF you glued/screwed the tracks on one side, how will you be able to flip the tabletop to the other????? That is also why they include the sliding oversized drawer, to store the train tracks when the kid is done playing with it.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2010

Best out there

"We bought this for our two and a half year old and she just LOVES it. I love that it has airplanes and helicopters and trucks and cars, not just trains. It is great quality, and compatible with Brio and Thomas trains. For all those who complain about it sliding-have you never played with a wooden train set? They all move and slide. I can't imagine a child wanting the track to stay perfectly aligned and be unable to disassemble and rearrange and build a different configuration. That complaint sounds like a grown up that needs the barriers and bridges to cross exactly over water and roads and not touch. Kids just want to have fun. This set is durable and fun for kids-adults should buy a grown up electric train set if they want that."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fenton, MI
Date:November 15, 2009

Another A+ for KidKraft!

"We purchased a car garage last year at Costco by KidKraft... our boys have enjoyed it... when I saw this train table I knew our guys would love it - and they do! It went together easy and is very pretty... I'm leaving it in the living room... the train table top can flip over to make a coffee table... WOW!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:June 6, 2011

kids love it

"I bought this for my childcare. The kids love it!!
I read the reviews & honestly was a little hesitant. I have been searching for a train table for a while now & I believe this one is the best I have come around too. Besides the Thomas one, which I wasn't about to pay that much for. I think the price is good for this train set.
I have had this train set about a month now & the kids play with it 5 days out of the week. We all know that kids can play rough & I believe I made a great choice with this train set! I'm very happy with it! The wood is nice & dark. It turns into a table when the kids are done playing with the train. You can put all the pieces back into the drawers (which I believe hold up very nicely) that have wheels.
Reason why I gave it 4 stars is when was I was putting it together (which was very simple to assemble) the wood split but I fixed it & haven't had any problems with it sense. Over all great product! My kids are happy!!
"
Review 8 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:September 22, 2010

Just okay

Pros: finish, tracks can be used with thomas
Cons: no ledge, drawer design, too lightweight
Model Number: 421924
"I purchased this table for my son's 2nd birthday. He has a bright blue Thomas the Tank engine table that is great but was an eyesore in our familyroom. I moved that one up to his room and purchased this one, quite honestly, only because of the finish. (it is a deep espresso, almost black with no red in it) I figured it wasn't the best quality because of the price, but there are places that they could have designed it better without adding to the price. First, there is no ledge so the trains roll right off the sides. Second, the drawer does not have a "backing" on it so it can be opened on either side of the table. So closing it is simply pushing the drawer out the other side. (kids need to be able to walk all around the table, so you can't shove this up against a wall...besides, the table is too lightweight and is easily pushed around even by a 2 year old)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2009

Best Train Table Out There

"We purchased a very similar model to this one a few years ago at costco, and we still love this train table. It has been very, very sturdy...and we have 2 active little boys. The storage underneath is awesome, it holds most of their toys.. And it is good looking too....we even had it in our living room for quite some time."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:near Sacramento
Date:March 29, 2011

eh....

"We bought this table and train set for our 3 year old son as a Christmas present. We had high hopes, thinking high quality usually comes from KidKraft items. I am less than impressed.
First, the top is a semi-flimsy flippable board with a graphic on one side and a green "blank" on other side. It is essentially paper cardboard and it showed signs of use within minutes. We saw the disaster coming and had our local glass shop custom fit a plexiglass overlay which added another roughly $40 to the price (but is well worth doing!).
The bigger problem is the drawers. One of them is virtually unusable no matter how much glue or stabilizing screws my husband puts in. The other one is okay but definitely won't hold up to heavy use. The drawers got so bad that we bought a couple of low height storage bins to put all of the tracks and accessories in, as the drawers simply aren't capable or strong enough to hold even what comes with this set! That was another $15, adding about $55 to the cost of this to make it usable for even awhile.
The accessories are adorable, in the picture and in real life. But they definitely aren't going to hold up long-term as they too are paper graphics pasted onto wood. I guess if it was painted wood, there goes the cost! So it's a trade-off.
We are unhappy enough that we've debated bringing it back; we no longer have the box and we'd feel bad about bringing it back 3 months later, used. So we often use it to fold laundry on or for toy storage on top. Sad!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ca
Date:December 8, 2009

Awesome Awesome Awesome

"I got this table for our 2 year old..he totally loves it. Super easy to assemble. The train pieces are great for him to handle. The only thing that was annoying was the instructions -on way to set up the rail ways, but perfection when done. Also would have liked more train pieces. other than well worth the money. BTW when getting other trains to go to the table I caution you to pay attention to the sizes...fitting the tracks and going under the structures:))"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Broomfield, CO
Date:November 20, 2009

Great train table!

"I would have given this 5 stars but the one we originally purchased had to be exchanged because several of the main pieces had large scratches and dents on them that it looked like the factory tried to cover up.
Once we got a table that was not damaged, it has been great. Sturdy train table that can double a coffee table. Easy to assemble and lots of hours of fun already had!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2009

A Great Purchase

Pros: compatible with wooden thomas train sets, large play surface
Cons: quality of track and trains/cars
Model Number: 17935
"We purchased this train table for our three year old son. My husband put the table together really easily. The main table construction uses an interlocking bracket system which requires no fasteners, but it still seems really sturdy. The directions are a little difficult to understand, but overall it was pretty easy to put together.
The track and train cars are compatible with the wooden Thomas train sets. We modified the track set-up from the picture on the box so that we could include some of the special buildings that our son previously had.
The drawer below is really big, and fits all of the track and trains that the set comes with, plus lots more. The table also looks really nice, and is suitable for the family room."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 28, 2009

Very Disappointed!

Cons: tracks come apart very easily, slides all over the table, tracks not numbered so a nuisance to put together
"I was so excited to give this to our kids for Christmas. They always make for the train tables in the toy stores and seem to be completely absorbed by them. So, it was with great disappointment that my husband and I discovered that this train table was a dud! Firstly, the track pieces should be numbered to make putting it together easier. Secondly they do not stay together - keep falling apart and there are no enough supports to stop this happening. Thirdly, once together, the whole thing slides all over the table. If you bought is for a multi-purpose i.e. to be able to play with the train set and then put pieces away and flip it over so that it looks more like furniture if you have it in the living room....that just doesn't work out so well! Only solution I can see is to permanently tape the track pieces together so they don't come apart and to glue or velcro it down so it doesn't slide around. Kind of defeats the multi-purpose selling point but at least your kids will get some use out of it.
Terribly disappointing. Wish I'd bought the Step 2 product instead - never been disappointed with their products.
"
Review 15 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:December 14, 2009

Nice set with one problem

Pros: well constructed table and trundle;, not difficult to assemble;, train/car/plane parts seem sturdy, costco's price was excellent and delivery was fast
Cons: parts slide around on table top when in use
"We bought this for our 2.5 year old grandson who likes it very much.
Assembly of the table and trundle was easy. The train set instructions could have been a little clearer - maybe if the diagram was larger it would have been easier to follow.
The one issue we had is that the assembled tracks, trestles and bridges slide around on the table top. This became frustrating for our grandson. We emailed KidKraft customer service but didn't receive a reply. Haven't seen this mentioned in any of the reviews but it must be an issue for the users. We temporarily "solved" the problem by applying Velcro to the undersides of the major pieces. Does anyone have a better solution?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilsonville, OR
Date:March 21, 2010

A constant source of imagination

Pros: perfect gathering center for toddlers
Cons: toddler perch
"We ordered this set online and it arrived exactly one week later. Putting the table together was a snap even with a 15mo old and 2.5yo "helping". Putting the train together took a bit longer as some of the bridges were unassembled...still easy tho.
There was one missing part from the big bridge, so I visited the Kidkraft website and instantly ordered the missing parts which showed up 5-6 days later. Still, you don't need all the pieces. All parts from our TTT fit perfectly...to be honest, my kids are more interested in the bridges, tressles, cars and mountain from the new set.
A couple reviewers noted that the tabletop an become scratched/dented. It does get these slight grooves where cars get run back and forth, but hey, better the table than my furniture. I ended up rolling some clear contact paper on the top "just in case" and it's been working beautifully for a couple weeks now.
The trundle drawer and finish are what sold us on this set vs some of the others. The trundle holds tons of track and trains while we can flip over the tabletop and have a "sorta" grown up looking table when not in use. My only complaint is that the two kids have found that it makes a great perch from which to watch tv.
I could rate this 4 stars because of the missing part, but I was so impressed with the ease of ordering the replacement from the Kidkraft website that I don't hold it against them."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carmichael, CA
Date:January 20, 2010

Wonderful Train Set

""Santa" brought this to our home for Christmas for our 4 year old and 1 1/2 year old....it is great!! My husband put it together and he said it was easy...the height is just right for kids. They both play with it all the time and when we are done, we just disassemble and put everything in the pull out drawers!
I do wish the drawers were on rails, instead of just sitting on the floor...we use this as our coffee table in the living room right now and it would be nice to be able to move it by myself, which I'm unable to do because it is so heavy. But, really, that is my only complaint!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Henderson, NV
Date:April 28, 2010

Nice Enough

"I purchased this for my Son's 2nd birthday. I built the table and put the tracks together myself (6 months pregnant) in about 3 hours. He woke up the following morning and tore down the entire track in less than an hour, but had a lot of fun doing it. I figured I jumped the gun on purchasing this, however when his friends come over, they really enjoy playing with it, even when the tracks are not put together. The bottom drawer is great for putting all those small pieces, however it is not attached to the table so the kids can easily pull it out and run it around the room."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:March 8, 2010

Love the Table

"We bought this just for the table. He has a different brand in his room and kept bringing things down to play with as well. I love that I can store the trains and flip the table over so it doesn't look like toys r us in our living room. Surprised by all the reviews about track coming apart being a complaint since that's my boys favorite thing to do is build the track himself. perhaps the 2.5 yr olds weren't quite old enough for it? Make just a oval from the tracks and they have just as much fun! Our son has more fun just driving his trains around the table sometimes :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for KidKraft® Metropolis Train & Table Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:December 13, 2009

Good Quality and Awesome Features

Pros: good quality, good to play with cars also
Cons: drawer design
"Absolutely love this table. Its the only table we could find that had a good combination of track and area for our little guy to drive his cars also. Easy to assemble and very good quality. My only VERY MINOR complaint, is that the drawer isn't actually attached to the table and will eventually scratch the black finish because of the way its designed. The table sits on the 4 legs, and the drawer sits on the wheels, so the table isn't on the wheels at all and the drawer isn't attached to the table at all."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>