Customer Reviews for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light

Clinically Proven, Boosts Mood and Energy
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
(out of 28 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
3
21 of 28(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Review 1 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:December 3, 2009

Worth the Money

"I first learned about this technology as a psychology major in college. It is hands down the best at home remedy for the winter blues. The light is somewhat of a replacement for the sun during the winter months, in which (in most temperate areas) your body experiences a sharp decrease in exposure. Your body requires a certain amount of sunlight exposure to produce Vitamin D and important neurotransmitters, such as serotonin. This light helps by allowing your body to function properly when you are unable to get enough natural sunlight.
I also noticed that it makes my sleep schedule more regular (possibly a side effect of having a healthy level of serotonin?). It's far easier to get up early when its still dark out, when I use the light.
Overall, it is definitely worth it if you're looking for a remedy for winter blues, have a decrease in energy in winter, or your sleeping patterns are disrupted by the short days of winter (my biggest problem). I went a week without it on vacation, and definitely noticed a big difference!
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:October 23, 2009

Strangely enough, it really does work

Model Number: briteLITE 6
"The short winter days always made me sleepy and slow. I bought one of these last December figuring if it didn't help, I'd just return it.
I set it up on my desk and have it on for 45 minutes while I read my morning email and drink my first cup of coffee. I could tell the difference after a few days. Although I was truly skeptical, I'm now a believer. It really does work! (Might sound hokey, but it's true.)
Read the directions and use it for the amount of time recommended and at the time of day it's recommended based on your sleep schedule.
And you won't find anyone selling this for anywhere near the Costco price (but you already knew that)."
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 9, 2009

Winter Blues Banished

Pros: lightweight and easy to move.
"I use this light every morning during our gray winter days for about an hour. Lifts my mood and gives out the light my body is craving. The light itself fits nicely on my desk without the larger footprint of some other lightboxes. The timer can be set in increments of 15 minutes for up to an hour and then automatically shuts off which saves me remembering to turn it off. This light feels so good that my cat often sits in front of it and we fight over who gets to have the light!"
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:January 27, 2010

Worth Every Penny!

Pros: performance, room coverage, quality, ease of use
Cons: price
"We purchased two light therapy lamps, a lower priced lamp at $40 and this one. Both arrived the same time, during the winter, when my family is affected by Seasonal Affective Disorder. This lamp is superior to the other one, which we returned. This lamp is large enough to brighten the entire room, using it as a work lamp or homework lamp. The heat from the lamp is warming and comforting. The medical benefits from the lamp are effective, as this was recommended by our doctors as a treatment option for the Seasonal Affective Disorder. Highly recommend to anyone who has winter blues!"
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Great Falls VA
Date:January 26, 2010

Works for me!

Pros: very effective!, easy to use., easy to change locations of the light.
Cons: somewhat expensive
Model Number: HF3310
"Recently went through a period of depression that was very scary. I immediately started looking for help for myself without resorting to drugs. Bought this light about 4 weeks ago and I use it anytime I am at my computer (up to 4 hours a day). I feel wonderful - more energy, more positive, happier than I have been in years. I also learned that I have very low levels of Vitamin D and doctor prescribed 50,000IU a week for a couple of months to try to get that fixed. Perhaps the combination of the increased Vitamin D and the Philips Energy Light are my miracle."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:November 3, 2009

Getting LITE on the subject!

Pros: the automated settings and shut-off are great!
Model Number: Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
"Seasonal affective disorder goes hand and glove with life in the PNW. I have been so happy with my purchase of the Phillips briteLITE 6 Energy Light over a year ago, that I bought one for a friend last week.
It fits so nicely next to my computer and starts my day out just right! My cats seem to appreciate my improved mood. I know that I do!!!!!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:December 5, 2009

It works!

"I've been using this for about a month and have noticed an improvement in my sleep cycle and my energy level. The only "problem" is that I love it so much I have to be careful not to over-use it or I notice waking too early."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:December 17, 2010

Relief from SAD

Pros: light feels good easy to use works pretty quickly
Cons: no cons
"I have suffered from SAD for about 15 years.
The last 3 years I was spending my winters in Arizona.
This year I was not able to go so I purchased the briteLITE in hopes that it would give me some relief.
Sure enough I noticed a difference in about a week.
I would highly recommended if your looking from some winterblues/SAD relief.
Thank you,
Satisfied customer"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2010

Great Buy

"I have been looking to purchase a light box for several years. This one was much more affordable, light weight so it can be moved easily. I noticed a change in just a few days. My cat even seems to like sitting in front of it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:November 26, 2010

The light works great

Model Number: Phillips Brite Light
"After reading other reviews, I'm happy to say my light arrived in perfect condition. I had 'shared' this same light with another coworker last winter and this light made a huge difference in both our lives. As the coworker moved on, I've been in search for this same light. I am thrilled with the price, delivery and Costco service. The light changes my sleep pattern and allows me to keep a normal vs hibernating mode in winter."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:March 8, 2010

Quality/Shipping Problem

Pros: light weight, easy to operate
Cons: a little big
"I purchased this for my wife. The light arrived with a loose broken plastic piece inside of it. I turned it on and only half the light worked. I don't know if it was broken during the shipping process but that is what I suspect. It is larger than I expected so make sure you have room for it. The half that did work seemed to put out quite a bit of light and I only wish the other half worked."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:November 4, 2010

only half lit up

"I was so excited to get this and try it out...and when it arrived, only half the bulbs worked. The silver lining is that I returned it and Costco gladly refunded my money.
I bought the GoLight Blue instead - and it is MUCH better - portable, rechargeable batter, etc. I'd encourage you to purchase that one rather than this one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:October 19, 2010

Lots of lemons

Cons: unreliable
Model Number: HF 3310
"Same issue as several other reviewers: Only half the screen lit up. I called Philips customer service. They said they would send a replacement bulbset. Two weeks later I was still waiting, so called again. They had no record of my earlier call in which I was promised a replacement. We'll see if they deliver this time..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:January 4, 2011

exceeds expectations

Pros: easy and effective
Model Number: Philips BriteLITE 6
"I trusted the hype with reservation. I thought for sure I would be returning it. Boy am I glad I ordered this light. It has made my outlook on life better. The first thing I noticed after 2 days was the way I began engaging with others instead of avoiding conversation. It has only gotten better from there."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Oregon
Date:March 13, 2011

Excellent!!

Pros: life is good - when you're happy!! :-)
"I have used my light for 3 winters now, and can not believe the difference it has made in my life. If I miss 5 or 6 days I start feeling overwelmed with life and start to slip into a feeling of depression. Last year we began to have some nice days in February so put my light away thinking that I would be getting enough light, but when the clouds returned, the blues took over again. This year I will continue to use it til at least the end of April. I love the energy and happiness it gives me, my friends and family do too. :-)"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:January 3, 2011

great product with unexpected benefits

Pros: it has helped my mom with her limited sight
Cons: it is extremely bright for others that are in the, room with her
Model Number: HF3310/60
"I bought this for my mom who has macular degeneration and has little eyesight left. She has become increasingly depressed and this time of the year makes it worse. I bought it for the depression and to my surprise and everyone else's it has helped her to be able to see. She was reading things from a distance and she has not been able to read for a very long time. At first I thought it might just be a fluke but then they adjusted the light to their television and she could tell what was on it. It gave their tv more color depth."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2010
"This is nice to have when your stuck indoors having to do unpleasant tasks like reviewing mail, paying bills and balancing banking accounts, or, say, housework. It reduces that anxious cabin fever like feeling helping to keep the self discipline from melting down. The price seems to high though, but am not aware of a suitable alternative for any less, so considering the benefits, say it's worth it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:February 17, 2010

Worth every penny

"I bought this for my dog - yes, it's true. I have seen a drammatic improvement in his mood and energy level since I started using it. I turn it on the automatic 60-minute setting each morning when I leave for work and he lays down right in front of it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carmel Valley, CA
Date:February 19, 2010

Worth Every Penny

"I purchased a similar light about two years ago. I started out using it in the winter months but found I fell better if I use it all year long. It has drastically improved my moods and energy level. I highly recommend it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips briteLITE 6 Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nor Cal
Date:November 18, 2009

Christmas Presents

Pros: more energy helps fight depression
Cons: it's a bit expensive
"I purchased two of these lights to give as early Christmas presents. Thus far, I've been informed the lights have improved mood and have given them more energy."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>