Customer Reviews for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™

Shelf Reliance® is your premier source for food storage and emergency preparedness planning. Because nothing is more important than the health and safety of your family, they provide only top-of-the-line products. Shelf Reliances line of THRIVE™ Foods are held to the highest standards. All THRIVE™ Foods have been developed with everyday menu planning in mind, though they are also the perfect addition to your long-term food storage supply. With their great taste and simple preparation, THRIVE™ is a trusted source of healthy, delicious meals anytime. To help you make the most of each food in your supply, we’ve included our exclusive THRIVE cookbook featuring dozens of recipes that will empower you to create gourmet meals your family will love! For questions or additional information please email costcosupport@shelfreliance.com. Please include the item number and description that corresponds with your question. This THRIVE™ Food Supply package comes complete with 84 #10 (gallon size) cans of grains, fruits, veggies, protein & beans, dairy, and baking essentials. With over 4,800 servings and many foods with a shelf life of up to 25 years, this package will give you variety, nutrition, and peace of mind.   12 month food supply for 1 Person   6 month food supply for 2 People   3 month food supply for 4 People   Shipment arrives in 14 separate boxes   Grains and rice have a shelf life of up to 30 years   Freeze-dried foods have a shelf life of up to 25 years   Dehydrated foods have a shelf life of up to 15 years   Simple rehydration instructions, recipes, and helpful tips are included on each can   4,866 total servings   84 gallon-sized cans   This THRIVE™ Food Storage package contains 84 #10 (gallon size) cans. See below for specific package contents.   Grains:   8 Cans of Instant White Rice (48 servings per can)   12 Cans of Hard White Winter Wheat (44 servings per can)   3 Cans of 6 Grain Pancake Mix (46 servings per can)   2 Cans of Elbow Macaroni (25 servings per can) Vegetables:    6 Cans of Dehydrated Potato Chunks (42 servings per can)   1 Can of Freeze-Dried Sweet Corn (46 servings per can)   1 Can of Freeze-Dried Green Peas (41 servings per can)   1 Can of Dehydrated Chopped Onions (45 servings per can)   1 Can of Freeze-Dried Chopped Onions (45 servings per can)   1 Can of Freeze-Dried Broccoli (52 servings per can)    Fruits:    2 Cans of Organic Apple Slices (48 servings per can)   2 Cans of Freeze-Dried Strawberries (45 servings per can)   1 Can of Freeze-Dried Blueberries (50 servings per can)   1 Can of Freeze-Dried Blackberries (49 servings per can)   2 Cans of Freeze-Dried Raspberries (48 servings per can) Dairy:    6 Cans of Powdered Milk (43 servings per can)   3 Cans of Chocolate Drink Mix (48 servings per can)   Proteins/Beans:   The taste and texture of TVP (Textured Vegetable Protein) is consistent with real meat, making it a great addition to vegetarian diets   3 Cans of Bacon TVP (47 servings per can)   3 Cans of Beef TVP (44 servings per can)   3 Cans of Chicken TVP (45 servings per can)   2 Cans of Taco TVP (42 servings per can)   6 Cans of Pinto Beans (49 servings per can)   1 Can of Black Beans (49 servings per can)   2 Cans of Lima Beans (49 servings per can)   3 Cans of Lentils (51 servings per can)   6 Cans of Whole Eggs (236 servings per can)   Cooking Basics:    2 Cans of White Sugar
Average Customer Rating:
4.263 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
(out of 38 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
33 of 38(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Review 1 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 13, 2013

GMO TVP

"I bought the non gluten free version more than a year ago and am so sorry later to learn that the majority (more than 80-90%) of the US soy beans are GMO.And so are any soy products that do not specified as non GMO.The TVP from this manufacturer for these kind of emergency food kit are most likely GMO-or they would have stated otherwise.How I wish the manufacturer would point out that I am wrong about their TVP.To me,GMO is much worse than gluten.I have opened a couple of cans already so returning is not an option."
Review 2 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2013

Totally Disgusting

"The soy meat type products are so overloaded with salt that they are completely inedible. The same applies to the cheese blend, and the rice is instant, meaning it has virtually no nutrition value at all. Most of the fruits, grains, beans and vegetables seem fine, although we have not tried them all. We have about 90% of our original purchase unopened and intact, if I thought I could return them I would."
Review 3 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Layton, Utah
Date:August 13, 2012

Great product

Pros: price compared to shelf reliance website
Cons: expensive
Model Number: NA
"This is the third time I have purchased this product from Costco. Thrive products are premium products at a relative premium price. We use them for every day cooking. Love them."
Review 4 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boise, Idaho
Date:April 16, 2012

Great starter kit

Pros: has the basics, well rounded, cost is outstanding
Cons: energy intensive, no baking powder
"This assortment has all the basics to get you by in a pinch but lacks necessities that you will need. Fruit and vegetables are a little scarce and it takes a lot of energy from some source to cook beans and rice and grind grain. Don't get me wrong, it's a great kit but you need all you can get to "keep back" in case of emergency."
Review 5 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:February 16, 2012

As Advertised

Pros: great quality
Cons: 5 dented cans (carrier)
Model Number: 443250
"Got it about a month ago and have made several very yummy meals. The TVP is easy to prepare and taste great!"
Review 6 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bolton, Connecticut
Date:February 14, 2012

Shipping

"I got mine yesterday 2/13/12 for 12/21/12. It shipped UPS. I did not have to sign for it. All of the boxes were in perfect shape. I will open them when I have time. I have a big stock of the costly freeze-dried food I bought for Y2K. I bought this for backup. I just tried a can of eggs from the pre Y2K stuff. It was very good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2012

Don't

"We made the mistake of buying this package. The fruits and vegetables are average, the meats are inedible because of the massive amounts of salt, which is totally unnecessary in a dehydrated product."
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:October 26, 2011

Preparedness

Model Number: Thrive one year package
"I cannot claim to have thoroughly researched long term food storage, but from what I have learned, I chose this product and am happy with it. The cans all arrived as advertised, and I didn't notice any dents in them. I have seen many comments about people labeling their boxes for expiration dates. I searched the cans, and can certainly find production dates, but no expiration dates.
Of note, this food is just basic ingredients, that will need to be used to create dishes to feed your family. While there are recipes on the cans, you may or may not happen to have all those ingredients in your household at the time of a disaster. Many of the other manufacturers make meals that are more ready to eat. Just hydrate, heat and serve. THose options seem to be about twice as expensive. So, since I doubt I will ever have to use this food, it does seem to be a reasonable, cheap alternative to have at least something available in your household.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gold Canyon, AZ
Date:October 20, 2011

A purchase we many never need,

Pros: excellent customer service
Cons: 5 damaged containers in shipping
Model Number: 443250 One year's supply
"However, if we do need it we will have it on hand. In addition, we can use it anytime. if we choose. We ordered, the company delivered on time, we did have 5 containers which were damaged. We contacted Costco who in turn contacted Shelf Reliance who shipped 5 new containers out immediately & provided a shipping label for return of the damaged containers. Costco & Shelf Reliance provided excellent delivery & excellent customer service."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2011

Very Fast, great product!

"I received this item 4 days after purchase. Came w/out any damages. Have not had a chance to taste yet, but i am sure it will be great. Price wise, this was hands down the best deal I could find on the internet. I would recommend to everyone!"
Review 11 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:October 10, 2011

1 yr supply dehydrated and freeze-dried

"Fast, fast service. The meals seem to be very well planned out."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle Metro
Date:October 8, 2011

Flavorful value for the long term

Pros: long shelf life, lots of variety, tasty fruit options, can successfully add to fresh foods
Cons: requires lots of storage space, dented cans upon arrival, some have high sodium, requires lots of water/fuel
Model Number: 1 year, 1 person supply
"Keeping in mind users of this type of product will need lots of fresh water and cooking fuel during a real emergency, it remains a good idea for a backup food supply. Shelf Reliance has a wide selection, Costco typically carries starter packs so that you can dabble before doubling down. The TVP "meat" products are thirst provoking due to higher sodium content. The dried fruits are very flavorful and great for baking and right out of the can. We liked the diced potatoes too.
My wife and I bought the 1-year 1-person kit to start us on a 6-month (2 person) plan. From here we'll add more slowly to fill out a full year supply. I recommend keeping a week's worth of backpacking food (kinds that require no fresh water or fuel to make like Mountain House) for immediate needs in case of evac b/c they're lighter, quicker/easier to make and require no special tools.
Overall, a great value for the calorie count and tasty choices, especially when on sale. I had two severely dented cans in my shipment but Thrive and Costco worked to trade them out in no time at all...very happy with both companies!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, Alaska
Date:September 30, 2011

Shelf Reliance - THRIVE

Pros: long shelf life, tastes good, earthquake proof
Cons: some cans dented, had 2 make space in my garage
"I live in Anchorage, AK. I'm amazed at the food and the shelf life!
We're cut-off from the rest of the Lower 48 and in the event of an earthquake or natural or unnatural distaster, I know my family will be okay.
I balked at the shipping, but I thought about the cost of food rising and knew this was an amazing deal.
I ordered strictly on the feedback and I highly endorse this product.
Don't be caught off guard - buy it for your family and you wont have any regrets later."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:USA
Date:September 16, 2011

Awesome Product, quick shipping!

Pros: did not take up as much space as i thought, great variety, super quick shipping
Cons: shelf life of some products as low as 5-8 years, boxes are not labeled
"I purchased the 1 year supply of THRIVE freeze dried / dehydrated food from Costco. 84 # 10 cans shipped in 14 boxes, when it was on sale. Time from purchase to delivery was four days which is amazing, and a huge bonus was there was no additional shipping charge. Hauling them all to the basement took a bit longer than I expected as most of the boxes were slightly heavy (tougher to carry 4 boxes at once). They arrived in great shape, just a couple small dings on a few cans but otherwise no big deal. I had to open and inventory (and subsequently label the outside of the box) each box because there are no markings indicating what specific cans are inside. I decided to purchase these based on positive reviews all over the internet about them, their relative low cost compared to other 1 year supplies, and finally because I could have them quickly as opposed to having to wait for a backordered item to get re-stocked."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca.
Date:July 25, 2011

Holding for the future

Model Number: 443250
"We purchased the supply as a standby. There are too many possibilities of problems on the horizon, civil unrest, inflation, strikes and shortages in food that could cause problems. We are senior citizens and want to avoid ay unnecessary problems for our selves, family and friends. Past experience with the food we know it is wholesome and nutritious."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:The Future
Date:June 9, 2011

Y2(O)K!

"I bought this "year's" supply of delicious dried beans and meat products in preparation for the inevitable Armageddon that should have beset us 1 January 2001. I emerged slightly peckish on March 14th, having learned far too late that the 2000-odd canned eggs were more than a few days' worth.
I had polished off the six cans of those slimy pearls in no less than three days, having run out of all other preserved delicacies herein included, and at great cost to my lower intestine. Beware the ides of March indeed.
But other than the tiny amounts, this food supply leaves little to be desired. Well, besides taste. It could've done with some taste."
7 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, Arizona
Date:May 22, 2011

Shelf Reliance is a great supplier!

Pros: great shipping and packaging, easy long term food storage
Cons: a few dented cans during shipping
Model Number: 1 year supply
"I bought the one year supply, was so impressed that my borther in law, sister, and mother have also bought their product.
Nicely packed, but a few dented cans probably during shipping. Costco customer service was great about shipping new replacements.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Stockton, CA
Date:March 22, 2011

good for the price

"I have had time to open up and taste some of the cans of food. I opened up about 6 cans. They were badly dented during shipping so I just decided to open them up and start using them. The whole egg powder was suprisingly good. I've used them to make scrambled eggs, french toast, and in baking and it was good. The kids didn't know the difference. The other products were just as good. I gave 4 stars instead of 5 only because of all the dented cans through shipping. Otherwise, good peace of mind. Make sure you keep track of the shelf life of each of the foods so you know when to start using it so it doesn't go bad."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Nevada
Date:March 17, 2011

Food Riots Coming?

Pros: value and speedy shipment
Cons: wish it still came with a flour mill
"Arrived within 3 days after ordering! All cans arrived in good condition. With the expectation of food riots in other countries this spring as well as the rising cost of food due to the fuel prices, you can't go wrong. I priced comparable packages with other companies and the Strive ones through CostCo are definitely the best price. Since we have 4 kids, will need to supplement with additional food storage, however this gives us a good start. I have tried the food before and it is actually pretty good and the kids liked it too."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lake Havasu City, AZ
Date:March 10, 2011

Smart purchase

Pros: fair price, good quanity
Cons: dented cans poor packaging
"I havn't opened a can yet but just having it on hand gives me peace of mind. I'm isolated from major suppliers for food etc. These units are well worth the investment."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>