Customer Reviews for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™

Shelf Reliance® is your premier source for food storage and emergency preparedness planning. Because nothing is more important than the health and safety of your family, they provide only top-of-the-line products. Shelf Reliances line of THRIVE™ Foods are held to the highest standards. All THRIVE™ Foods have been developed with everyday menu planning in mind, though they are also the perfect addition to your long-term food storage supply. With their great taste and simple preparation, THRIVE™ is a trusted source of healthy, delicious meals anytime. To help you make the most of each food in your supply, we’ve included our exclusive THRIVE cookbook featuring dozens of recipes that will empower you to create gourmet meals your family will love! For questions or additional information please email costcosupport@shelfreliance.com. Please include the item number and description that corresponds with your question. This THRIVE™ Food Supply package comes complete with 84 #10 (gallon size) cans of grains, fruits, veggies, protein & beans, dairy, and baking essentials. With over 4,800 servings and many foods with a shelf life of up to 25 years, this package will give you variety, nutrition, and peace of mind.   12 month food supply for 1 Person   6 month food supply for 2 People   3 month food supply for 4 People   Shipment arrives in 14 separate boxes   Grains and rice have a shelf life of up to 30 years   Freeze-dried foods have a shelf life of up to 25 years   Dehydrated foods have a shelf life of up to 15 years   Simple rehydration instructions, recipes, and helpful tips are included on each can   4,866 total servings   84 gallon-sized cans   This THRIVE™ Food Storage package contains 84 #10 (gallon size) cans. See below for specific package contents.   Grains:   8 Cans of Instant White Rice (48 servings per can)   12 Cans of Hard White Winter Wheat (44 servings per can)   3 Cans of 6 Grain Pancake Mix (46 servings per can)   2 Cans of Elbow Macaroni (25 servings per can) Vegetables:    6 Cans of Dehydrated Potato Chunks (42 servings per can)   1 Can of Freeze-Dried Sweet Corn (46 servings per can)   1 Can of Freeze-Dried Green Peas (41 servings per can)   1 Can of Dehydrated Chopped Onions (45 servings per can)   1 Can of Freeze-Dried Chopped Onions (45 servings per can)   1 Can of Freeze-Dried Broccoli (52 servings per can)    Fruits:    2 Cans of Organic Apple Slices (48 servings per can)   2 Cans of Freeze-Dried Strawberries (45 servings per can)   1 Can of Freeze-Dried Blueberries (50 servings per can)   1 Can of Freeze-Dried Blackberries (49 servings per can)   2 Cans of Freeze-Dried Raspberries (48 servings per can) Dairy:    6 Cans of Powdered Milk (43 servings per can)   3 Cans of Chocolate Drink Mix (48 servings per can)   Proteins/Beans:   The taste and texture of TVP (Textured Vegetable Protein) is consistent with real meat, making it a great addition to vegetarian diets   3 Cans of Bacon TVP (47 servings per can)   3 Cans of Beef TVP (44 servings per can)   3 Cans of Chicken TVP (45 servings per can)   2 Cans of Taco TVP (42 servings per can)   6 Cans of Pinto Beans (49 servings per can)   1 Can of Black Beans (49 servings per can)   2 Cans of Lima Beans (49 servings per can)   3 Cans of Lentils (51 servings per can)   6 Cans of Whole Eggs (236 servings per can)   Cooking Basics:    2 Cans of White Sugar
Average Customer Rating:
4.263 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
(out of 38 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
33 of 38(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Review 1 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, Washington
Date:March 10, 2011

Just In Case

Pros: 34 boxes easy to store.
"With all that is happening around the world and even in our own USA - I decided to buy Thrive supplies for my family - Just in Case.
My husband thinks I'm crazy - but he reluctantly okayed this purchase.
The product arrived with days of ordering - that was very surprising - all boxes were in excellent shape, no damages. WE have not eaten any of the supplies- My reasoning is ...
If an event should occur -
We eat it then -Being very very hungry - I don't think taste will be a Big Factor as is survival. So I did not want to prejudice myself or family against the 'food taste'. This is for Emergency Situations only...
I've watch many survival programs and read 'true' stories for survival - desperation will out way taste ...so I recommend buying it - storing it properly - and forget it. You have 'just in case' -- An Insurance food supply. Remember to prepare with meds and other various emergency stuff as well.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:October 26, 2011

Preparedness

Model Number: Thrive one year package
"I cannot claim to have thoroughly researched long term food storage, but from what I have learned, I chose this product and am happy with it. The cans all arrived as advertised, and I didn't notice any dents in them. I have seen many comments about people labeling their boxes for expiration dates. I searched the cans, and can certainly find production dates, but no expiration dates.
Of note, this food is just basic ingredients, that will need to be used to create dishes to feed your family. While there are recipes on the cans, you may or may not happen to have all those ingredients in your household at the time of a disaster. Many of the other manufacturers make meals that are more ready to eat. Just hydrate, heat and serve. THose options seem to be about twice as expensive. So, since I doubt I will ever have to use this food, it does seem to be a reasonable, cheap alternative to have at least something available in your household.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:USA
Date:September 16, 2011

Awesome Product, quick shipping!

Pros: did not take up as much space as i thought, great variety, super quick shipping
Cons: shelf life of some products as low as 5-8 years, boxes are not labeled
"I purchased the 1 year supply of THRIVE freeze dried / dehydrated food from Costco. 84 # 10 cans shipped in 14 boxes, when it was on sale. Time from purchase to delivery was four days which is amazing, and a huge bonus was there was no additional shipping charge. Hauling them all to the basement took a bit longer than I expected as most of the boxes were slightly heavy (tougher to carry 4 boxes at once). They arrived in great shape, just a couple small dings on a few cans but otherwise no big deal. I had to open and inventory (and subsequently label the outside of the box) each box because there are no markings indicating what specific cans are inside. I decided to purchase these based on positive reviews all over the internet about them, their relative low cost compared to other 1 year supplies, and finally because I could have them quickly as opposed to having to wait for a backordered item to get re-stocked."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Harrisburg, PA
Date:February 11, 2011

Good Value

"A very good value for what you get, but you must understand the different food types do have different expiration dates and the calorie content per day is ~1,300. Most of the food expires in 25 years, and some expires in 30 years, but some are less, specifically:
Taco TVP - 10 years
Chicken TVP - 10 years
Beef TVP - 10 years
Bacon TVP - 10 years
Pancake Mix - 10 years
Elbow Macaroni - 8 years
Powered Eggs - 5 years
The best way to use this food purchase is to actually eat it and develop a food rotation."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle Metro
Date:October 8, 2011

Flavorful value for the long term

Pros: long shelf life, lots of variety, tasty fruit options, can successfully add to fresh foods
Cons: requires lots of storage space, dented cans upon arrival, some have high sodium, requires lots of water/fuel
Model Number: 1 year, 1 person supply
"Keeping in mind users of this type of product will need lots of fresh water and cooking fuel during a real emergency, it remains a good idea for a backup food supply. Shelf Reliance has a wide selection, Costco typically carries starter packs so that you can dabble before doubling down. The TVP "meat" products are thirst provoking due to higher sodium content. The dried fruits are very flavorful and great for baking and right out of the can. We liked the diced potatoes too.
My wife and I bought the 1-year 1-person kit to start us on a 6-month (2 person) plan. From here we'll add more slowly to fill out a full year supply. I recommend keeping a week's worth of backpacking food (kinds that require no fresh water or fuel to make like Mountain House) for immediate needs in case of evac b/c they're lighter, quicker/easier to make and require no special tools.
Overall, a great value for the calorie count and tasty choices, especially when on sale. I had two severely dented cans in my shipment but Thrive and Costco worked to trade them out in no time at all...very happy with both companies!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Been all over, USA
Date:May 8, 2010

A year's worth of food is surprisingly manageable

Pros: surprisingly simple with costco
"It surprised me just how compact and manageable a year's worth of food (granted, for one person only) can be. It must be the miracle of freeze drying. The #10 cans are for the most part light and the boxes easy to store. I had them all off the front porch and onto a basement shelf in about 30 minutes. Given all the madness out there, for the price of insuring your car for a year, you can purchase a bit of catastrophe insurance for you and your family. Then hopefully you can forget about it for 20 years because you never needed it."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Stockton, CA
Date:March 22, 2011

good for the price

"I have had time to open up and taste some of the cans of food. I opened up about 6 cans. They were badly dented during shipping so I just decided to open them up and start using them. The whole egg powder was suprisingly good. I've used them to make scrambled eggs, french toast, and in baking and it was good. The kids didn't know the difference. The other products were just as good. I gave 4 stars instead of 5 only because of all the dented cans through shipping. Otherwise, good peace of mind. Make sure you keep track of the shelf life of each of the foods so you know when to start using it so it doesn't go bad."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bozeman, Montana
Date:October 7, 2009

Wish you had trial sizes

"Wonderful Idea for Costco to carry these products! Perfect for today's economical hard times!
However, I wish they would carry a larger variety with smaller cans than the "Starter Package".
I would love to be able to sample every one of these products, and open a little can at a time and not have so many opened cans in your pantry.
I would buy each of my children a supply for Christmas!
"
55 of 65 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:October 13, 2009

Pantry Usage and Storage

"The contents of opened cans can be easily stored in glass mason jars, the ones used for canning, with a canning lid which is vacuum-sealed onto the jar with a food saver jar attachment. For jars which are in constant use, use a white plastic screw-on lid available with canning supplies.
The product is wonderful for crock-pot soups and stews, and allows for personal cooking preferences (versus pre-mixed/packaged meals)!
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:February 6, 2010

Great Quality food at a Good Price

Pros: outstanding quality and taste
Cons: sometimes backordered becasue of demand
Model Number: 443250
"As a prepper since 1998, I have tried and purchased many prep items. Without a doubt Thrive is one of the top 2 suppliers in terms of quality (Both of the product itself and storage method) and taste. My finicky kids will eat all of the fruits right from the can without rehydrating, and Thrive foods last long enough once opened to become part of your weekly menu. Every item we have tried has been excellent! They also provide tons of info at their homepage.
You will not be disappointed in the quality, taste and variety. My only complaint is the food tastes so good that it is hard to keep in storage!"
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Billings, MT
Date:April 20, 2010

best stuff!

"this stuff is awesome....i use it into my everyday cooking! the freeze dried fruits and veggies are oh my gosh...amazing! and you can just reconstitute w/ water so simple and fresh! not sure what some people are talking about but not only is EVERY can labeled nicely...there are nutrtion facts on the label, directions...and on some easy yummy recipes!! you won't be disappointed! if you want to sample just get a hold of a local consultant to try product!"
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:March 9, 2010

Not Enough Calories

"Add up the calories from the Nutritional Information and divide by 365 and it comes out to 1220 calories per day. There are enough calories at the recommended 2000 calories per day to last only 223 days.
Remember you will have to have to means to cook the meals you can make from this food supply. That may not be possible during an emergency situation."
26 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:February 5, 2010

GOOD customer service

"Concerned as we are about Wiemar Republic-like hyperinflation, we bought this product. One can had cracked open at its bottom due to blunt force trauma during shipping. We contacted Costco who put the THRIVE people in touch with us. They quickly sent us a new can to replace the damaged can. Nice service! Thanks."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Michigan
Date:April 24, 2010

Excellent Value

"If you are looking at this you already know that long term storage food is a good insurance policy for the family. What sets this apart from the rest is the cost per calorie and cost per nutrition ratios. It can't be matched anywhere by anyone. To top it all off, Thrive quality is second to none so unlike other offerings out there, you aren't sacrificing quality to get quantity. This has it all."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2010

Good merchandise, poor delivery

"have tried the merchandise before purchasing and was really excited. Product was delivered with between 15-20% of the cans either missing or damaged. Getting new product meant we had to ship the damaged cans back or pay to keep it at a reduced cost which meant work for us just to get what we had ordered. Hopefully they'll fix the packing and shipping issues."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Nevada
Date:March 17, 2011

Food Riots Coming?

Pros: value and speedy shipment
Cons: wish it still came with a flour mill
"Arrived within 3 days after ordering! All cans arrived in good condition. With the expectation of food riots in other countries this spring as well as the rising cost of food due to the fuel prices, you can't go wrong. I priced comparable packages with other companies and the Strive ones through CostCo are definitely the best price. Since we have 4 kids, will need to supplement with additional food storage, however this gives us a good start. I have tried the food before and it is actually pretty good and the kids liked it too."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South
Date:October 14, 2009

Great Price on Great Product

"Everyone needs to prepare for rough years as our dollar dies.
Quality product & a price that kills competitors. Get this while you can!"
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2009

Great Product at a Great Price

"The food is great tasting and if you understand where we are going as a world in the next couple of years, to pay only about 2 + dollars a day for a supply of food that last about 25 years, you would jump on this wagon now before too many wake up and then you will just not be able to buy at almost any price. This is a deal and a half and the quality can not be beat. Buy now.. in a couple years or sooner (2009 now) you will not be able to get.
Listen ... there is plent to know now if you are looking"
14 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2010

No Markings on boxes

"I purchased for emergencies hope I never have to use it. Don't know about the food, I hope it is good. But you have to open every box to find out what is in it. Then write the contents on the out side. Looks like they could put a label on when they packed it. Would make life a little easier.. Order showed up very fast."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4,866 Total Servings of Emergency Food Kit By Shelf Reliance® THRIVE™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:The Future
Date:June 9, 2011

Y2(O)K!

"I bought this "year's" supply of delicious dried beans and meat products in preparation for the inevitable Armageddon that should have beset us 1 January 2001. I emerged slightly peckish on March 14th, having learned far too late that the 2000-odd canned eggs were more than a few days' worth.
I had polished off the six cans of those slimy pearls in no less than three days, having run out of all other preserved delicacies herein included, and at great cost to my lower intestine. Beware the ides of March indeed.
But other than the tiny amounts, this food supply leaves little to be desired. Well, besides taste. It could've done with some taste."
7 of 13 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>