Customer Reviews for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System

Includes: 72 K-Cups and My K-Cup Reusable Filter
Average Customer Rating:
3.496 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(135 Reviews) 135
(out of 135 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (135 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
11
1 star
38
84 of 135(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Review 1 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ
Date:November 30, 2009

Great coffee, very hot & no mess

Pros: fast and easy, makes good coffee, no grinding or clean up, huge selection of avail coffees
Cons: largest size is too small, yet another appliance for the counter top, k cups cost more than "by the pound"
Model Number: Keurig SIngle Server
"Our son & daughter in law bought this for us for Thanksgiving because they know that I drink a lot of coffee and Mom loves tea. He felt the product has proven itself because for the past several years his office has been using one that is shared by about 20 people and he has had one at their house for about a year now.
Even though I've only had mine for a few days, I find the coffee very good (although there are some flavors I don't care for, but that's not the product's fault.) It's served hot...really hot and quickly. Since I enjoy Sumatra I am looking forward to trying the decaf version.
The only down side I've seen so far is that it's missing a large enough serving size. However, I'm thinking that using an extra bold k cup, having 30% more coffee, and brewing both a small and medium or two medium cups with the one k cup should give me the larger size I want with less work and time than grinding coffee and brewing a pot.
NOW, is extra bold available in decaf? If not, it should be!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:November 30, 2009

Variety and Easy to Use

Pros: variety of choices reg or decaf tea cocoa, easy to use and clean, looks great in any kitchen
Cons: brewing cup choices are small
Model Number: Select B77
"I live alone and tired of instant coffee, because brewing a pot is wasteful. You can't make one or two cups of coffee in a regular coffee machine, it tastes funny. Keurig is the perfect solution for me, a 2 cup of coffee per day gal.
Thanksgiving Dinner gave me the opportunity to really put the Keurig to the test. 12 people, regular coffee, some decaf, some tea and the kids like cocoa. No problem at all, single cups freshly brewed and a variety of choices. This is the perfect coffee maker for every occassion and its so easy to use everyone wants to brew their own cup. How wonderful to think people get such joy out of making a cup of coffee, tea or cocoa. No more getting up to refresh and rebrew coffee while entertaining. The kids were facinated with the lights and the looks.
You will love this coffee maker, and when you purchase at Costco you get 72 sample coffees in the box as well as a filter if you have a favorite coffee you want to drink, that too can be done with the Keurig.
Perfect for the holidays, get one today before they are gone."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson Arizona
Date:December 2, 2009

At Last A Great Coffee Maker!

Pros: piping hot and more flavor from the coffee
Cons: can't figure out the auto on/off setting
Model Number: B77
"I just picked one up today at Costco after reading all the reviews and deliberating for months. I was hesitant because of some of the negative remarks. The real test to me was it hot enough and strong enough. Well if someone says it isn't hot enough they must have a defective machine. I like my coffee piping hot and that is what I got. I love Kirkland coffee so I will use the refillable K cup and as a matter of fact I ordered two packs of two filters so we can always have one ready to go. There was no plastic taste and you can really get more flavor from the coffee this way. We will probably just use the K cups for traveling or if we have a guests who prefer a different blend. Now with the new Keurig and our Kirkland coffee we are very happy coffee drinkers. Give it a try after all its Costco so if for some reason you don't care for it return it with ease."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 19, 2009

Easy to use.

Pros: ease and convenience.
Cons: only make 12 ounces
"I tried this today and find it very easy and quick. I use bottled water. This is the best deal for the coffeemaker. Besides the price they also give you many samples plus the filter, which is extra. It's good to try the different samples so you can find what you like best.
I tried the Carabou and the Tully Kona and the Tully Kona seems stronger. What is great is that you can also use your own coffee with the filter that costs $15.00 if bought alone. There are many more choices of coffee and tea and there is even cocoa. I'm watching my saturated fat so I don't like using the cocoa.
It can also be used to dispense hot water to make cocoa or using tea bags.
You have to fill the water to a certain level for it to work. The directions say if the water is left for over a week without use to throw it away. It's easy to set up. There are directions included that give step by step directions. I changed the default cup size of 7.25 to 12 ounces.
I picked this up at my local Costco."
Review 5 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DC
Date:July 29, 2009

Positive Review From a Serious coffee snob

Pros: no waiting for that morning cuppa, wide assortment of available blends, very flexible design, looks pretty good sitting on the counter, easy and intuitive to use
Model Number: 66
"I order green coffee beans, roast them myself in a FreshRoast 8 roaster, burr-grind those fresh beans and use a Chemex brewer when I want a good cup of coffee. I ordered the Keurig for my office but decided to check it out at home first. In short, it makes great coffee. Be prepared to sample and play with the varieties to find your favorite since there are a gazillion k-cup products and as you would expect they vary widely from pretty mediocre to pretty good. That said, no doubt the best coffee the machine has delivered is made from my own fresh roasted and ground beans so take advantage of the supplied re-usable filter if you are a committed coffee tweak."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winchester, VA
Date:November 17, 2009

Great - But....

Pros: great coffee., little if any mess., makes great teas., great customer service from keurig.
Cons: hamsters live longer than this things lasts., coffee is hard to find in retail outlets.
Model Number: Limited Edition
"I have purchased about 6 of these machines. Mostly as gifts, but I bought one for the wife and I to use. We drink a LOT of coffee and tend to only use the Newman's Extra Bold (We like our coffee strong).
The first machine we bought for our own use lasted about 6 months. Got it from Keurig directly, and they replaced it with a free machine, which was also an upgrade from what we had.
That one went bad about 6 months later. The pump just stopped. After talking with their support people, I was told we would have to clean it at least once a month, since we had well water. Even though we have a huge filter system that makes our water cleaner than the best bottled stuff.
Anyway, they sent another one. Which we gave away as a gift and bought another one from Costco.
Now that one has gone bad after about 10 months.
I love this machine, but for the life of me, the lifespan has not proven to be much longer than a hamster.
I assume we will be returning this one to Costco to get a replacement. Without this machine, drinking coffee from any other machine is akin to eating moldy Cheddar Cheese and calling it Bleu Cheese... it's just not the same."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:August 24, 2009

Great coffee flavor

Pros: excellent coffee taste, quick initial warm up time, quick warm up between brews, programable
Cons: no temperature setting
Model Number: B77
"I just purchased this machine (Keurig B77) and have sampled various coffees which were included with this package and so far I am impressed. Coffee tastes great and not bitter. I have also made my own coffee using the My K-cup and taste was much better than my old drip coffee maker. I can say I am very familiar with coffee since my dad owned a cafe in Europe. There I acquired a taste for espresso and other varieties of coffee. I am truly impressed with machine.
The only negative thing I have to say so far is that there is no temperature setting feature as compared to similar Keurig models. I would have liked to brew the coffee at a higher temperature, since adding milk or cream without warming them up first lowers the coffee temperature a bit. This is no different than my old machine and in no way prevents me from recommending it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, California
Date:September 9, 2009

Love the machine

"The machine is :-
1. Quick. Makes a cup of coffee in less than a minute
2. Convenient. Nothing to clean, no maintenance required. Just add water, a K-cup and voila !
3. Delicious. Most of the K-cups I have tried are great and there is even tea for those that like tea (yuck).
4. I use the auto on and auto off features so it uses very little energy.
5. The "noise" it makes is when boiling the water and it is hardly a noise at all.
6. Clean. No messy grounds to deal with.
7. Easy to operate.
It is simply a great machine and if you use the included filter you can make your own coffee to suit your own taste."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern VA
Date:December 13, 2009

Coffee too watery

Pros: easy to use, cool concept, sleek machine
Cons: very weak coffee, dishwater coffee, is this coffee?
Model Number: B77
"Cool machine; great idea. I wanted to like this machine and ditch my single drip ritual, which is kind of a pain. The machine is great -in concept- everything works as expected ...except for the resulting brew. The water shoots through the K-cups too rapidly/ without enough heat to make anything more than dishwater. Even on the smallest cup setting, the coffee was weak. When I peeled open the used K-cups, there was a very generous amount of coffee in there but it had barely been in contact with water and looked like a lot of waste. Tried lots of different cups & also the funnel w/ my own coffee. No dice. This machine is going back. I hope Keurig comes up with a better water delivery system. I might try it again."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:January 22, 2010

very disappointing

Pros: fun to use
Cons: weak coffee units not reliable
"I think the concept of this coffee maker is great but they haven't worked out the flaws yet. The first unit I returned to costco since after 2 weeks the heating element died and the unit kept shutting off. I figured I'd try it again and this unit is acting up as well. The coffee is relatively weak and the reusable filter is a great idea but seems the water rushes through the k cups and filter too quickly. For the price of the coffee maker and cost of the k cups I am opting to return this unit as well and purchase a $20 coffee maker and go back to my dunkin donuts coffee I make at home. The other thing that was neat about it is that the hot water is instant for hot chocolate or tea. It seemed when I was returning the item that the costco employees told me they have gotten a lot of these back for a number of reasons and a lot of them had the same problems as I did. You have to love costco and their return policy! Thanks costco! Sorry Keurig..."
Review 11 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2010

Been through 3 of these--Defective

Pros: great cup of coffee.
Cons: many of these models (b77) are defective.
Model Number: B77
"Since Christmas we have gone through 3 of these. Costco was awesome and took them back, but after this last one stopped working, I decided to call Keurig. I talked to 2 differfent people. The first person wanted to transer me to their technical dept. The second person knew what I was talking about. Apparently this is a common problem. They are sending me a free replacement and it will NOT be model B77, but similar. The problem was after it brewed a cup, it would make a noise and then shut off. Like I said, it happend to 3 of these and we were more than frustrated.
Be persistent with Keurig if you have this problem and insist they give you a replacement, but not model B77.
No problems with Costco (they took the defective ones back without question). This is a Keurig issue."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ
Date:November 27, 2009

Wonderful Coffee Maker

Pros: convenient, many types of coffee to chose from
Cons: brews smaller cups of coffee, inconvenient for entertaining
"My husband and I work different shifts, so we always drink coffee at different times. This machine saves us from throwing away half-full pots of coffee. It is just so convenient-just throw a K-Cup in and you're done. There are so many varieties of coffee to choose from. The only two drawbacks are that even the largest size doesn't brew a full mug of coffee (I guess we Americans are used to the supersized mugs of coffee), so I have to brew two at a time. The only other issue I have is that it may be inconvenient if you entertain a lot. Although for Thanksgiving, everyone just picked out what kind of coffee/tea they wanted and drank that."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:November 13, 2009

Excellent Coffee Maker

Pros: quick brewing, hot coffee, quiet brewing
Cons: none
Model Number: B77
"I don't know if some of the reviews here that listed this badly had a defective product or the ones that stated the coffee was weak did not read the directions but this maker is the best coffee maker I have purchased to date. The coffee maker is adjustable for flavor and the coffee is hot. I had a Philips Senseo before this (Supreme) which I thought was a good maker but they had a recall and discontinued manufacturing the Senseo. So I read all the reviews of this product and was even wondering if it was worth it? Well it is and I am very glad I did purchase the Keurig. The reusable filter is no harder to clean than any other permanent filter (i had a BUNN before also). I even put one of my Senseo Pods in the reusable filter and had a whole robust flavor that I never got out of the Senseo. I would recommend this brewer to anyone wanting a VERY GOOD single cup brewer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Memphis,TN
Date:January 30, 2010

Shouldn't have waited so long

Pros: so fast & no clean up
"I purchased my Keurig in Nov.2009 and have absolutely loved it. My son and I both use it at least 4 times a day. It is SO convenient and easy to use with NO clean up--Love it. I wasted so much coffee with my reg. coffee maker--would make too much and end up pouring it down the drain--NOW, 1 cup whenever I want it --FRESH --
I also use it a lot with hot chocolate packets--pour that in the cup--set it on the base and within seconds the hot water is filling the cup for wonderful hot chocolate. You set the cup size to your taste --strong to weak. I love how easy,fast and simple it makes everything.
I wasn't sure about spending the money for it--a bit expensive for me--BUT, I would not hesitate now, knowing how wonderful it is.
I read all the reviews that have been posted by others buying theirs in Dec. and I'm hoping I don't end up having problems--But, for 2 1/2 months now ,it has worked beautifully.
I really do recommend it !!
"
Review 15 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bucks County, PA
Date:January 12, 2010

TWO pieces of junk

Pros: good coffee
Cons: both brewers stopped working
Model Number: B77
"I've had two Keurig B77's in the past six days. Both stopped working.
Each one came up with the exact same problem. The brewer will go through the prep cycle (where the display reads “Not Ready”) and then shut down completely. If I reset the power button, the exact same thing happens. No brew, it doesn’t get that far in the cycle.
The first brewer worked for about 4 days, the second worked for one night. And then each had the same issue. Once shut down, I cannot access the menu buttons at all.
I’ve tried all that I can think of. ‘AutoOff’ is NOT set. I’ve gone through the troubleshooting/cleaning sections. None of that has fixed the problem.
It's odd that they would have the exact same problem, perhaps a defective batch? When I returned the first one, Costco did mention that they’ve been getting a lot of them returned.
I was thinking that maybe I wasn't doing something right. So, I called Customer Service this morning, but I was told that it would take up to 48 hours for a technician to get back to me. That is completely unacceptable. I will return the brewer to Costco and move on.
It's a shame. I was really looking forward to getting this. Maybe it was a defective batch of brewers, but I can't keep dealing with this."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2009

Poor coffee but fun to use

"Very disappointed in the quality of coffee that this produces. The coffee was missing flavor and had a bad after taste. The taste of hot plastic was fresh with every cup. The K-cup coffees were far from the taste of fresh ground and we were never able to get the plastic taste to go away. We are returning it and going back to our drip style maker. I will say it is fun to use though."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2010

Keurig Platinum - It's not the greatest

"I was very excited to receive this for Xmas. That's all I could talk about. Actuality is that it is ok. The coffee brewed from the k-cups are not as strong as I like. You have to use the dark roast to get a "medium roast" flavor. The menu option stinks as you have to scroll through the whole menu to get to the cup size. It is very convenient as I am the only one who drinks coffee in my household, so having one cup is nice, although my Cuisinart did a fine job previously. I believe I have a defective maker as it keeps shutting off on me in the middle of making my coffee. I hit the on/off to reset it and it doesn't work. I think it is having problem passing the water through. I plan on returning it to Costco today. I would like to try it again just in case mine is defective. I love the look and ease. I think if Keurig can fix these issues, it would be a good product. I was expecting a fantastic product for $150.00."
Review 18 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CLAREMONT , CALIFORNIA
Date:August 5, 2009

WOW!

Model Number: KEURIG SELECT MODEL B77
"This was recommended to me by a friend and I just LOVE LOVE LOVE it!! very easy to use and the clean up is fabulous. If you are use to regular coffee makers and are skeptical----BUY THIS--- I was skeptical too and I was a big fan of regular coffee makers, but this is wonderful and Costco is the best place to get it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Leesburg, VA
Date:January 29, 2010

Great coffee, but design flaw causes failures

Pros: makes great coffee
Cons: design problem as noted below...
Model Number: B77
"I really wanted to love this product, because it does makes very good coffee and is so easy to use. (Only caveat is to buy only what they call "extra bold" K-cups, which contain more grounds and aren't any more expensive - otherwise, you'll likely find it too weak if you brew one of the two larger sizes.)
Unfortunately, it looks like Keurig has a major issue with either defective design and/or bad parts that causes the unit to fail, often within a matter of weeks. And it's not just me -- you'll find hundreds of similar reviews all over the Internet.
From my research, the problem appears to be a recent redesign of the pump that extracts water from the clear reservoir into the brewer. Most reviews of earlier Keurig models complained about the loud noise of this pump, so the new ones use a small DC motor and impeller to reduce noise. The new design is quieter, but only problem -- it just doesn't work!
Here's what happens: There is a "check valve" on the base of the unit, right below the spot where the water reservoir drops into place. This is needed to keep water inside the unit from flowing out when the reservoir is removed for filling. But the design allows air to get into the system, and the tiny new pump apparently isn't strong enough to "self-prime" (ie, remove the air). The result is a "not ready" indicator on the panel, and/or the unit simply turns itself off because the pump is running but unable to pull water from the reservoir. Other symptoms include half-full cups of coffee, apparently because enough water wasn't brought into the brewer.
I've had two units from Costco already since December (I'm SO happy I didn't buy it somewhere that doesn't have Costco's return policy!). The first one worked for about 3 weeks, so I simply exchanged it for a new one. The replacement failed within 3 days!
This time I called Keurig directly, and couldn't even reach their customer service due to "abnormally high call volumes" (not surprising!). They're supposed to call back within 48 hours, but many people report that they never even receive a callback.
The problem appears to affect most of their newer models, including the B77 offered by Costco as well as the similar (and slightly better) B70 model sold elsewhere. Even B60 users are reporting the same issue.
FWIW, if you're having the same problem, the easiest workaround is to lift the filled reservoir up about 1-2" and then quickly jam it back down into place with the brewer turned on. This usually forces just enough pressure into the system to open the check valve and cause the pump to extract water -- but you'll likely have to do this after each cup you brew, and again the next time you turn the unit on. Simply not acceptable in a product this expensive!
I'm holding onto this unit for awhile to see if Keurig comes up with a fix -- otherwise this one will, sadly, also have to go back to Costco. Shame, because I really like the product when it actually works!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2009

Disappointed

Pros: quick easy single cup of coffee with no hassle
Cons: short life span
"Let me start by saying I LOVED this coffee maker. I loved it for all of 3 months before it randomly started brewing half cups, no cups or most distressingly double cups (what a mess!). I purchased this item online but returned it to a local Costco store. The associate there was very nice and assured me it was uncommon to get returns on this item. She refunded my full purchase price and based on the information she gave me I immediately purchased another one at the store assuming it was a fluke. It worked for about 1 week before it started doing the exact same thing. Honestly, this coffeemaker is idiot proof. You make sure the water is full, turn it on, wait for it to say "ready", put your k- cup in and push the flashing button. I tried with both the K-cup and the provided filter for your own coffee-same result. Even with no filter at all it does the same thing. I am returning it today with much reluctance."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>