Customer Reviews for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System

Includes: 72 K-Cups and My K-Cup Reusable Filter
Average Customer Rating:
3.496 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(135 Reviews) 135
(out of 135 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (135 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
11
1 star
38
84 of 135(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Review 61 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:January 1, 2010

plastic holder melted down

Pros: cheap
Cons: plastic
Model Number: Keurig Single Cup Coffee B77
"K-cup taste was good and we loved this machine before we found something.
We wanted to try MY K-CUP with our own ground coffee. So we removed cup holder and were embarrassed to find the holder melting down. We only have used this machine for three days!
We are going to return this item tomorrow.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2009

Disappointed

Pros: quick easy single cup of coffee with no hassle
Cons: short life span
"Let me start by saying I LOVED this coffee maker. I loved it for all of 3 months before it randomly started brewing half cups, no cups or most distressingly double cups (what a mess!). I purchased this item online but returned it to a local Costco store. The associate there was very nice and assured me it was uncommon to get returns on this item. She refunded my full purchase price and based on the information she gave me I immediately purchased another one at the store assuming it was a fluke. It worked for about 1 week before it started doing the exact same thing. Honestly, this coffeemaker is idiot proof. You make sure the water is full, turn it on, wait for it to say "ready", put your k- cup in and push the flashing button. I tried with both the K-cup and the provided filter for your own coffee-same result. Even with no filter at all it does the same thing. I am returning it today with much reluctance."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southwest Florida
Date:February 21, 2010

zero for two

Model Number: B-77
"Nice product but the electronics are bad. Purchased two of them and they both shut off for no reason. How can I get one that works????"
Review 64 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lancaster PA
Date:February 21, 2010

Fatal design flaw. 0 for 3 so far.

Model Number: Platinum 77
"I purchased the unit in early January 2010. I have gone through three units to date. I am awaiting a fourth unit directly from Keurig. The problem is that the water pumping system is fatal flawed at worst, or there’s a HUGE number of defective units in the market at best. The return desk at Costco states they are seeing large numbers of returns. Remember also, there are a number of customer that will simply suffer through a problem like this.
Under normal use the pumping system turns on before AND after each brew cycle. The units appear to work OK out of the box when new. After 1-2 weeks you will notice that the water pump has a different pitch. That is because the impellor (the “paddle” portion of the water pump) is starved for water. You will also notice the water level in the reservoir does not go down. If you reseat the water reservoir it may start pumping. It may not. If the water is not able to be pumped, the unit turns itself off so that the heating element does not burn out. If you have the unit programmed to “wake up” at a certain time and preheat the water so that your coffee machine is ready to brew, and the water didn’t pump, the unit turns off as a safety feature. Not cool!
What is really frustrating is when you have reseated the water reservoir and it does pump water normally for that one cup of coffee you may expect that it will continue to do so. WRONG. The very next cup will have the same problem. Keurig states that this problem occurs in a very small number of units.
My personal experience is 0 for 3. Two model 77 units from Costco and one model 76 unit directly from Keurig. When it works, it is a really neat coffee maker that exceeds expectations. This unit seems to have a fatal design flaw. If you are interested in a Keurig, you may want to explore a different model altogether. This stinks because Costco had a great price on the model 77.
I am going to give the fourth unit a chance. If it does not work I am going to a different brewer . It is just getting too frustrating to deal with this product.
Two model 77’s from Costco, one model 76 from Keurig (different lot, different serial number rang same result!
"
Review 65 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2010

Great Tasting Coffee

Pros: great concept... fast coffee and clean machine, costco will take back products sold happily
Cons: machine lasts only about 4-6 weeks
Model Number: Current Costco model
"I know some complain that the coffee is weak. If you like Starbucks style of battery acid, you won't want this machine. I generally use the bolder coffees and run water thru it twice (as their large 10oz cup). It fills a 20oz cup and makes coffee to my liking. I have never had to buy replacement k-Cups because the machines die before you go through the free ones that come with your purchase.
This too was a Christmas gift. My second machine just died this morning (I have it set to start at 8 am and I got only a 10oz cup out of it) and I still have about 40% of the supplied coffee left. I will return it tomorrow to Costco for cash. I am tired of bringing it back, so I may be looking for another barnd of coffee maker that uses K-cups. I am hooked on the concept for my office."
Review 66 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2010

Looks good. Tastes bad.

"Bought this for the apparent simplicity but I enjoy grinding my own coffee and wanted to use the reusable filter. It became clear with the first cup of coffee that I wasn't going to be happy with this coffee maker. The coffee was tasteless, much different than the coffee I brew with my much cheaper and more ordinary 4-cup coffee maker. I'm sure it has everything to do with the ultra-fast brewing method, which seems to result in coffee that looks the right color, but falls short on taste. I returned it right away."
Review 67 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grosse Pointe MI
Date:February 17, 2010

Love it! Love it! Love it!

Pros: every cup is fresh & fast, ease of switching to decaf/reg/ tea/cocoa
Cons: none :o)
Model Number: Ultra B77
"This coffee maker is fantastic. My daughter has been telling me about it for months and I finally purchased one. I love a FRESH cup of coffee every cup, and in less than 1 minute. No messes, brew a cup of decaf, regular, hot cocoa, without having to make a whole pot. Unit is attractive and this Model has a setting for Iced beverages which is SWEET!! Plus, the customer service from Keuring is outstanding."
Review 68 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Md
Date:February 16, 2010

Almost perfect

Pros: fast 60 second brew, beautiful well built machine, no more messy filters, conveinant 1 cup option
Cons: does not make a full cup of coffee
"I waited a couple months to buy this wonderful Keurig. I had a hard time spending so much on a coffee pot but used one of these at my local bank and was hooked! I wanted to wait a few uses before I rated since I know many have had problems with the machine shutting off. I have NOT had this problem. The machine works well and does as it says making a cup of coffee in 60 seconds. It is also a beautiful machine and it looks amazing in my kitchen. I love that it came with so much coffee already and a personal K-cup so I can make my personal coffee. The only reason why I did not give it 5 stars is because it does NOT make a full cup off coffee no matter which setting you choose. The machine offers 3 different sizes on the menu only they all brew the same amount no matter what. This is really no big deal for me. After cream and sugar I still get my full cup. I just feel that this is also an on-going issue that I think keurig should resolve. What is the point to having different size options if none of them work? I also feel it can be wasteful since it only makes a half a cup of coffee when the K-cup should have enough coffee in it to make a full cup. Other than this issue, I LOVE my Keurig and plan to buy another for my husbands work. Well worth the money and with Costco's life time warranty, you have no fears even if you get a defective machine. Thanks Costco!"
Review 69 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2010

Very convenient, decent taste quality

"love the product, very easy to use for single brews. coffee quality is good, not excellent. I have noticed black slivers or small chunnks of plastic in my cup if you just use the machine for hot water. most likely the slivers come from the previous plastic container the coffee was in, but not sure if the plastic will cause harm if ingested."
Review 70 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:February 11, 2010

Twice bad

Pros: convenience
Cons: lukewarm coffee, poor customer service
Model Number: B77
"I'm about to return my second Model B77. The first one made lukewarm coffee. The second one made lukewarm coffee, too, and then it just quit working after 2 weeks.
Keurig customer service was no help at all. They said 155-160 degree coffee is perfectly acceptable. (The coffee industry says recommended brewing temp is 195-205 degrees.) Keurig could not explain why a friend's B77 makes coffee much hotter than mine.
It's too bad. I really like the one-cup concept. I'm going to try one more, but if it doesn't work I'll try another brand."
Review 71 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colville, WA
Date:February 11, 2010

Excellent product

Pros: fresh single servings, no waste
Model Number: Select B77
"I love this thing for it's versatility! I can make my 2 cups of excellent brewed coffee every morning (Tully's Kona Blend is my favorite) without wasting the rest of the pot or I can make freshly brewed servings to my dinner guests. It doesn't seem to have any problem making multiple cups.
I''ve been using it since Oct 2009 on a daily basis without a single problem.
"
Review 72 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 11, 2010

Looking for a better experience

Model Number: B77
"I purchased my Keurig in Jan 2010. I used the machine for a week & discovered the same problem with the pump as described by several others. After waiting 3 days for a call back from Keurig, they were able the correct the problem. Not long after a new problem arose. The 9.25 oz setting was brewing 12 oz. Keurig could not fix this problem & will be sending me a new machine. Hopefully, this machine is free of defects. Surprisingly, Keurig advised me the throw the current machine in the trash. I couldn't believe they didn't even want it back! Like others before me stated, this is an excellent machine when it actually works. I can't wait for my new machine to arrive."
Review 73 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Merced, Ca
Date:February 9, 2010

Awesome Product!

Pros: quiet, quick, easy to use
Cons: k-cups can be a little expensive
Model Number: B77
"After realizing how many pots of coffee my husband and I waste, I finally realized we needed something that would control how many cups we brew. The Keurig has solved all our problems. It's fast, easy, quiet and makes a good cup of coffee. I began by comparing prices from many places and found Costco had one of the best models and the absolute best price for the Keurig. I was also amazed with how many k-cups came with the Keurig. I absolutely love having it, and I would definitely recommend this to all my friends and family."
Review 74 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange Park, Florida
Date:February 9, 2010

Yummy!

Pros: price cant be beat at costco, comes with a variety of coffee, auto shutoff, 4 brew sizes, looks great!
Model Number: Ultra B77
"We recently purchased the Keurig® Ultra B77Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System.
This coffee is outstandingly wonderful!
The taste of the coffe is so smooth and delicious and so much better than our Tassimo! The variety of coffees out there is outstanding!
We had always adored our Tassimo, but visiting a relative over the holiday and using thier Keurig made me realize that it was so much better! We love it!
"
Review 75 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:February 7, 2010

good unit just did not last long

Model Number: B77
"I bought my unit in Dec 2009 and it quit working on Feb 7 2010. Returned to Costco and purchased another one. I hope this one last longer if not I can always return back to Costco. Thanks Costco for the great return policy."
Review 76 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winston Salem, NC
Date:February 6, 2010

A huge fan - noticing similar issues as others BUT

Model Number: B77
"I have only owned and used the B77 for a week now. I read the reviews and have been "on the alert" for the problems stated by many. Noticed something interesting and will keep any eye on it before contacting Keurig. I read the review of RobV on 1/29 and that may very well explain the issue but at least for me, the only time I get the "Not Ready," followed by an automatic shut-off is when I am using the gold filter brew basket instead of the pre-packed Z cups. It has now happened twice but has not happened at all with the pre-packed ones. As someone who has been in the coffee industry, here's where I am doing my "trial and error" at this point, since I am taking a stab that it has something to do with grind size and how high the filter basket is filled. The water is unable to push through the grey Z cup holder and "shuts off" (as I would expect it must because there is nowhere for the water to go). Both time, when I removed the Z cup assembly and opened the grey lid, the grounds, sure enough, were up to the top and surrounding the opening. It does not surprise me that the water cannot get through and thus a shut off occurs. Both times, the "reset" process was easy (I would not recommend, as some have, slamming the water reservoir down on the base) - simply take the lid off the reservoir, remove the reservoir, wait 10 seconds and then replace the reservoir and lid. Then turn the machine back on. Both times, it worked like a charm and I adjusted the grind/fill level. I am by no means saying I know this to be the reason - maybe it is exactly what has been proposed by others and is a faulty valve - I am just sharing my experiences and wouldn't mind knowing in anyone else is having this problem only when using the gold filter cup and ground coffee. Either way, I have become a huge fan of this machine - much more than I thought I would. I will wait this out, see if my tinkering with grind size works and go from there. Any feedback on shared experiences would be great!"
Review 77 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:February 6, 2010

Pump poops out daily

Pros: good coffee
Cons: poorly functioning pump, coffee is expensive
Model Number: B77
"When this works, it makes great coffee. I find that the water reservoir must be removed and reseated repeatedly for the pump to pull water. If this isn't done you get either a 2oz cup of coffee or the unit just turns off. Very frustrating. I shouldn't have to work harder than the machine for a cup of coffee."
Review 78 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:February 5, 2010

Love it, but only worked 5 days

Pros: great coffee, easy to use, keurig is sending me a new unit due to problems
Cons: quit working after 5 days
Model Number: B77
"I love this coffee maker....but quit working this morning after 5 days. Just like other reviews, it shut off while trying to heat up. I called Keurig, they were very helpful. She said there has been a problem with this unit since Christmas and they would send me a new unit. They said I should receive it in 3-10 days. I appears they are being more helpful than they have to others in the past. Maybe they realize it's a real problem. Otherwise, as a very picky coffee person...I really liked it."
Review 79 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wild and Wonderful
Date:February 1, 2010
Model Number: B 77
"I bought two of these models last year (one for my office and one for the parents) and we all absolutely love this machine. Unlike others that have had issues, to date, we have not had any problems whatsoever.
Great machine, great coffee pronto! What more could one ask for?"
Review 80 for Keurig Single Serve Gourmet Coffee & Tea Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:University Pl, WA
Date:January 31, 2010

great coffee.... when it works

Pros: fantastic coffee
Cons: major design flaw with pump
Model Number: B77
"Like many other reviewers we love the coffee, but the problems with the pump are a pain. RobV (1/29/10) gave a fantastic review of the problem and I agree wholeheartedly. When the Keurig works we get great coffee, but the amount of tinkering required to get it to work is unacceptable. Keurig really needs to work on this or their image will be toast."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>