Customer Reviews for Saeco Electric Water Kettle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Saeco Electric Water Kettle

The Electric Kettle from Saeco combines elegant design and technological innovation with all the traditional features of a standard water kettle. Not only does it rapidly boil 50 ounces of water conventionally, it can also heat water up to exact, preset temperatures and hold that temperature for up to two hours. The kettle can also perform a combination of these two functions. The advanced digital control panel, built right into the handle, displays the exact temperature of the water at all times. The kettle also features the new Color Changing Technology, a multi-color backlight within the carafe. As the temperature of the water increases, the carafe changes from an elegant blue shade to a bright red, so you always know what temperature the water is, even at a quick glance.   Includes: Recipe Card   50 oz. Water Carafe   Digital Control Panel   Conventional Boiling   3 Preset Warming Temperatures: 100°F, 150°F, 200°F   Push Button Technology   360° rotational power base   Cord-Free pouring   Easy grip plastic handle   Removable Water Filter   Dimensions: 8.75” W  x 6.5” D x 10” H   Weight: 3 lbs.   1 year limited warranty If you have any questions regarding your new kettle please contact Saeco at: Email: costco@saeco-usa.com Toll free: 1-800-933-7876 (8am – 6pm EST, M-F) Model:101167
Average Customer Rating:
3.888 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
(out of 107 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
12
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
20
79 of 107(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Review 1 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, CA
Date:February 21, 2011

Great Appliance

Pros: maintains the temperature for two hours, easy to clean, great price, cordless when removed from the base, opaque reservoir
Cons: lid opening minor problem
Model Number: SAECO, Model - KET001
"I went to all the other sites on the net looking for a water kettle. I found kettles priced cheaper. I also found kettles that I wanted, priced quite a bit more. I believe that I paid around ten dollars more than I would have paid for the cheap kettles. But I got the features of the more expensive models.
I read the instructions but there really is no need, the controls are easy to use. Once filled with water, push one button to start the boiling process. It takes no more than six minutes with the full capacity of 50 ounces. It will boil for approximately 10 seconds and then automatically shut off. A subtle beep sound lets you know it is done.
Once I have poured the water over my tea, I return the kettle to it's base. Another beep sound when it is attached to the base. I then push the second button on the handle to activate the "keep-warm" function. This must be done every time you return the kettle to the base. It is a safety feature that is not a problem.
There are three options of temperature; 100, 150, and 200F. I measured the temperature on a candy thermometer, it was perfect. I have seen more expensive units that have more than three options. Don't bother getting those features. These three options will serve you well.
I was skeptical of the variable color feature. But this feature works well. I can tell the temperature from across the room. If I want a more precise reading I can check the digital gauge on the handle.
Once the kettle is in the keep-warm state, you will hear the heater activate in a rhythmic process. There is no beeping just a quiet wave noise.
Some buyers/reviewers state that the top does not open fully. This is true. It opens to a >75 degree angle, hinged near the top of the handle. If you remove the filter at the pouring spout, it will make the opening bigger. This will allow access inside the pot with your hand. I did not find this necessary to accomplish cleaning. I find that it is not that difficult to clean with a brush. I may not have a problem because I only use filtered water.
I like using this kettle versus using the microwave oven. This takes about the same time but allows for a keep warm feature.
Costco's service was excellent. It was delivered on-time as promised."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Macomb, MI
Date:September 6, 2011

Saeco Electric Water Kettle #101167

Pros: can be set to keep water at 100°f 150°f 200°f, translucent-shows water level from both sides, illumination-water turns green/blue/purple/red, keep warm feature-up to 2hrs-allows quick reboils, two different markings: cups and ounces, large opening for easy cleaning / filling, corded base-cord free pouring, temperature reading display, heating element not exposed-easier cleaning-safety, kettle to base alignmnent not required to activate
Cons: no optimal 176°f setting for delicate green tea, no milliliter markings, kettle surface is not cool to the touch at boiling, the hand holding the handle can't press lid button, can't set custom temperatures-preprogrammed only
Model Number: Model# 101167
"Saeco is an established European label and has penetrated the North American market primarily in the small-medium countertop appliances. Electric Water Kettles are an efficient way to heat up various amounts of water very quickly. They take up little room and come in a variety of heating methods and materials.
This particular kettle is comprised mainly of plastic and has a stainless steel finish. It is lightweight and easy to use. The 50 ounce canister's color changing technology (from green=cold to red=hot) provides an excellent visual to the relative temperature of the water. It's auto shut off and keep warm feature adds safety and allows for quick reboils.
Personally, I was looking for the following specific features (in no particular order):
1. Cleaning: Large opening for easy filling and cleaning of the inside
2. Versatility: A corded base where the kettle can sit in any position to operate (some kettles require specific alignment to activate)
3. Safety: Cool to the touch exterior when water is at a boil
4. Variety/Range: Variable Temperature Settings
5. Convenience: Temperature reading display (will offer the ability to allow you to remove water at desired temperature manually)
6. Safety: Heating element not directly exposed to water
This kettle met most of my requirements (the kettle was on the warmer side when touched). There were two other kettles in contention with this one, the De'Longhi and the Breville. Given the price points of the other two, this was a winner hands down!
Tip: to decrease calcium/lime build up, use filtered water.
Summary: While this kettle does not have all the bells and whistles of the the other two, it rivals them in every aspect of performance. It's lack of "cool to the touch" is truely a sore point for me as I have two young children. And while it may not be flashy, at the end of the day, it gets the job done!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LA County, CA
Date:January 7, 2011

So far so great!

Pros: cool design, feature rich, great value, nice feel/weight
Cons: plastic clicks a little on heating & cooling, wish cord was a tiny bit longer
"After reading lots of great reviews for this kettle I was very excited to receive it. I am from the UK, where electric kettles are infinitely more popular and in comparison the kettles available in the US have been very dull and uninteresting. So I was pleased to find this one, so trendy looking and at such a good price.
We've had it for about a week now and I confess I still get a bit giddy everytime I make myself a cuppa. The light show is very cool and the combination of the plastic and metal with the water give this a light feel with a low center of gravity. It's hard to explain, but it just feels nice to pick up and pour.
The Variable Temperature settings can be used in two ways, contrary to a previous review. You can boil the water to 212F and then have it cool to one of the three preset temperatures, or you can set the preset temperature and it will heat up (albeit slower) to that temperature and hold it.
I have not had any issue with a plastic flavor, though I did fully follow the initial recommendations (3 boils I think) for cleaning. There was a little bit of a residual plastic smell after the cleaning, but it did not permeate into the water. I am very fussy about how my tea tastes (like all brits!) so I was looking out for this, especially since I was switching from my all stainless Ikon kettle (I have owned plastic kettles in the past and have not had issues with plastic taste either). I read somewhere that the plastic on this kettle is BPA free too.
So five stars for now. I cannot at this time comment on the durability of the kettle."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:February 6, 2011

Best kettle I've ever owned

Pros: stylish, easy to use, easy to clean, multiple temperature settings, temperature hold to keep warm, very fast boil
"I'm English. Literally everyone has an electric kettle in England and we use them a lot. In 30 years, this is the best kettle I have ever used either side of the Atlantic. I bought it about a year ago and I love everything about it. The color change feature looks cool, but also gives me an at-a-glance way to estimate the temperature from across the room. I can set exactly what temperature I want, and see where it is currently using the LCD display (and hold it at a specific temperature if I want). The display is clear, the functions are easy to use. It is very stylish and I get comments from anyone who sees it (particularly when it's in use and changing colot!). I use my kettle daily (multiple times) and it is durable, easy to clean, easy to fill and use. I couldn't ask for anything more from a kettle. Starbucks is now selling this kettle as "the new top-of-the-line kettle" for twice what Costco charges. Get it now before they're gone. You won't regret it."
Review 5 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OR
Date:January 16, 2011

Heats water fast and keeps it warm!

Pros: works fast, space saving
"I received my kettle about two weeks ago and have used it almost every day since! As noted by other reviewers, follow the instructions to boil and discard a couple of kettles full of water before use.
I was pleasantly surprised at how quickly the kettle heats the water as other reviewers suggested it was slow. I am comparing to a standard kettle on the stove, so maybe it's slower than other electric kettles?
I use the function to warm it to 150 degrees without boiling the water first and it only takes a few minutes. I find this a perfectly drinkable temperature - I hate having to wait until my tea cools enough to drink. It's also warm enough to steep the herbal teas that I drink.
If you prefer to boil, it does that quite fast too and beeps to let you know when it has reached boil or whatever temp you set it for. Works great!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2011
Pros: very fast handy easy to use, makes the very best tasting hot beverages., great price.
Cons: no cons. none nada zip.....
"This is definitely the best appliance we have purchased in a long long time. Once in a great while, you run into that perfect cup of coffee or that perfect cup of tea, and you always say: "I wish I could make a cup of coffee like this !!!" We had always thought that it had to be the quality of the coffee beans or the tea used. At last, the secret to a great cup of coffee or tea is using water at 200 degrees, before it comes to a boil. This electric kettle gives you the option of bringing the water temperature up to 200 degrees and keeping the it there for 2 hours. You still have the option to boil your water, or just warm it up to 105 or 150 degrees F. Slight plastic smell, but no plastic taste. This kettle has enhanced the enjoyment of our favorite hot beverages at least ten fold. Also makes very yummy hot chocolates !!!"
Review 7 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene, Oregon
Date:April 4, 2011

It works!

Pros: quick and easy to use., it actually works as described., less costly than all the competition.
Cons: cannot think of one.
Model Number: 101167
"I've thrown away my stovetop kettle. The Saeco is quicker and easier to use. I was leery because other, similar products... at twice the price, get bad reviews.
We ditched our spendy espresso machine in favor of a simple, inexpensive, manual 1-4 cup press that makes superior tasting brew. Our stovetop kettle would not allow us to monitor water temperature... a critical factor in good espresso. The Saeco solved all that for us and simplified the process completely. This kettle is FAST! It provides a realtime temp readout during the heating process, and it will "hold" the temp at any of 3 preset temps for up to 2 hours.
We're not big tea drinkers, but imaging that the tea fans will find this tool very much to their liking. Thanks, Costco. We love this thing!
"
Review 8 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frederick, Maryland
Date:January 10, 2012

Terrific Buy

"This water kettle does an absolutely phenomenal job. I use it exclusively to brew loose leaf tea. Teas use different temperature water for brewing, depending on the type of tea. Using the digital readout, you can pour water anywhere from 1 - 212 degrees. I've had my kettle for about a year now and it has, and is, operating flawlessly. You fill the kettle, hit the button, and watch the kettle turn colors as the water heads up to boiling. The Digital readout is accurate, as the water starts boiling when it hits 212 degrees. I've also checked the digital readout against a thermometer and it's right on the money. I purchased another one this last Christmas for a friend of mine, and she is already in love with it. A super kettle at the right price!!"
Review 9 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Concord, CA
Date:October 28, 2011

Strange tasting brew in a pretty package

Pros: pretty colors
Cons: tinny plasticy taste
Model Number: 101167
"This kettle is all plastic lined. The only stainless steel is on the outside. I do not like heating or cooking any edible item in plastic. I assumed this would be a stainless steel kettle but it isn't. I boiled a full pot of water in it three times then threw this water away before I used it, as the instructions stated. Even after using filtered water for three more pots it still tastes and smells like bad plastic. If something tastes bad for you it probably is bad for you. If an item says it is stainless steel, it should be made of stainless steel or say that it is made of plastic but covered in steel to look pretty.I will return this pot to Costco and purchase one that is all stainless steel instead."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:February 4, 2011

The best kitchen gadget ever!

Model Number: Saeco 1167 50-Ounce Electric Water Kettle
"This is the best kitchen gadget ever (well, maybe my new fridge is as cool as that, but it costs 20 times more, so it does not count).
My god, this thing is awesome!
It actually changes the color as it heats! Yes, I know that product description says that, but reading about it is one thing; actually seeing is another. This is just sick.
It has a built-in digital thermometer!
Now when I am desperately waiting for the kettle to heat up, not only I can see the whole thing lit up and change the color like a Christmas tree, I can also watch the thermometer counting the degrees.
The best kettle a geek can have.
Oh BTW, the tea tastes fine, it heats up pretty fast, etc, etc."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:October 13, 2010

Love it!

Pros: easy!
Cons: looks a bit worn after using every day for a year.
"I love this electric kettle! This is the first product review I have ever written. I keep it in the waiting room and refill it with filtered water every time it gets low. This was one of the first things I bought to make my new small business look like a real business when I opened a year ago. It looks nice, requires no maintenance and is very easy for guests/clients to use. All I had to do to provide was put out the tea and cups.
After using it every day for a year it is starting to look a little worn. It still works great, though so I think I will replace it for cosmetic reasons and keep the old one at home in case the new one ever breaks."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 1, 2012

plastic taste contamination problem

"We bought the unit and were very pleased at first, liking the idea of bringing water to 200 degrees and leaving it at that temp through a couple of hours in the morning since that's only slightly above the "ideal" temp for making coffee. (We pour cup at a time thru a paper filter in a single cup filter holder, regular ground coffee.) So after about 5-6 such usages and satisfaction the coffee taste changed, and tasting just the water that had been held at an hour or more proved that a plastic taste was present in that hot, held water. Returned to local costco and a glass container based kettle now ordered from costco online instead."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hanford Hills, CA
Date:November 8, 2011

Almost a 5 star

Pros: fast, attractive, easy fill, reasonably priced
Cons: last 2 months it has not always shut off automatic
"I have had the best luck with this kettle having owned it for almost a year now. I've read all the terrible reviews and feel lucky that mine has been so good. No leaks, works fast, keeps water warm if you want it to, color changes are fun and warn you from a distance how close to being done it is. It does have a plastic taste but when used for tea or french press espresso I cannot tell the difference. Reasonably priced, attractive, nice that the cord and base remain while picking up the carafe to serve and refill! I would have rated it a 5 but lately it has not always turned off automatically so I have to watch it now."
Review 14 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:December 2, 2010

Love this Kettle!

"Ok, we have young kids so the light changing feature is pretty cool. It does a great job heating the water and I love that there's a temp read-out. The preset heating temps aren't all the useful for us and don't really work they way you'd expect. The kettle heats up to 212 than cools to the preset temp and lets you know. So, seriously who's going to wait around for that? But the colors change at certain temps so I expect we'll get good at figuring out what color equals whatever temp we want. (we're tea snobs, so that's important) Overall it's a winner, and even better since we got it from Costco!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:January 22, 2011

Almost excellent

Pros: quick colorful three temperature settings
Cons: lid design sensor signal
"Very quick boiling water and fun to watch. Good capacity and looks good too. Few small things, which can be improved: 1) lid lock is small and too far away from the handle - need to use second hand or put kettle down to open; 2) lid opens only about 70 deg. - difficult to fill from a pitcher; 3) sensor shuts heater a bit too late - works as a humidifier for about 5 sec.; 4) anoing be-e-ep when you put empty kettle back; 5) have no idea why there is a filter, unless someone likes to put loose tea inside.
Inspite of these, this kettle is better than three I had before.
"
Review 16 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2010

Depends what you are after

Pros: great looks very user friendly
Cons: very heavy plastic smell
"I was very excited about this kettle and thought it is a great deal.. The truth is that it does smell like plastic. A lot. I am not one of these people who freak out on that subject, but it is very very pronounced. The picture is slightly misleading, because the stainless steal part is on the outside, and the actual body of the kettle is completely build from plastic... Otherwise - great gadget. Lights, temperature shown at any moment, beeping sound when its ready... All the bells and whistles. I will think a little more, but as of now I am inclined to return it..."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:June 2, 2011

Excellent kettle - highly recommend it

"This is a very well made kettle. If you like coffee, tea, soups, oatmeal or anything that requires hot water - this kettle replaces the stove kettle without question. Very quick to boil water (3 temperature settings) - it holds it hot if desired for 2 hours - turning off and turning back on to keep the temperature selected. Very safe, it turns off each time the kettle is lifted to use so you have to click the button to reset it and this is good safety. Not complicated, anyone will feel right at home with this. The changing colors are very nice also."
Review 18 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2011

Great kettle!

"My husband and I love kettles and have had one since we moved to England in 2000...couldn't shake the habit now that we're back. This kettle is the best ever - temperature controlled, color coded, fast and efficient. I'm giving it four stars because at the level we use it - minimum of twice per day - it will only last for about 2.5 years before it starts to leak...but that's about par for every other kettle we've had. I highly recommend this one...and dare you to find one better if you're serious about your tea or filtered coffee."
Review 19 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:February 9, 2012

Great While it lasted

"We really liked this water kettle, unfortunately, the first one only lasted about a month, then the LED went haywire so we took it back got a refund and ordered another one. That one lasted about 6 months til one morning it just would not turn on. I called the manufacturer they said they would refund our purchase price. So I followed their instructions, followed up in about 6 weeks. They said they would sent us the rebate and in about 6 weeks, that was 5 months ago. We still haven't seen anything."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Saeco Electric Water Kettle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California Dreamer
Date:January 20, 2011

Saeco Electric Water Kettle

Pros: boil water and add to pot on stove
Cons: yellows just a little with use
Model Number: 01167
"We just wore out our first kettle purchased Sept 09, & ordered another one. My husband couldn't talk me into changing brands. Used it continuously every day. Boils at 212 degrees in about 2 mins. I like being able to view how much water is in the tank, like how fast it boils plus the keep warm feature and temp display. It's a great machine. We use it for our individual cups of coffee and coffee press or tea and for cooking. Great for steaming veggies, fast cooked cereal and soup prep, too."
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>