Customer Reviews for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo

Resolution: 1366 x 768 Contrast Ratio: 800:1 Brightness 500 cd/m2
Average Customer Rating:
2.809 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
(out of 21 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
8
10 of 21(48%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Review 1 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 25, 2009

Volume Defective

"I had such high hopes for this one. We used it in the bedroom. I have to keep it on the highest volume to hear it. It goes from 0-50 and its on 45 to 50 all the time. I went into Costco to test the one on the floor and the employee and I had to put our ear to the speaker to hear anything. I am returning it. I have a Westinghouse w/ DVD and its great. These are definitely defective. Picture resolution is not that great either. Have to look at it straight on"
53 of 54 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tahoe City, CA
Date:December 1, 2009

great picture, perfectly adequate sound

Pros: great picture, easy setup
Cons: no date/time function, only a sleep timer
Model Number: 26LV61K
"An excellent second set for the bedroom, den, or whatever. Easy to handle, even by one person, and very easy to set up. I was particularly interested in having an integrated dvd player as this set is in the master bedroom. Since I am quite ill and thus spend quite a bit of time in bed, it was important to have a good tv in the room that also allows me to play dvds.
In contrast to other reviews I've read, I find the sound perfectly adequate. I did notice that I have to set the sound level higher on digital channels than on analog channels (we're on a regular cable system, no HD, no digital, but the set still receives some digital channels), and I find the sound absolutely adequate. Only for dvds do I need to turn the sound up all the way, but that seems to be a problem inherent to many dvds, I've had it happen with various combinations of tv sets/dvd players, and friends have complained that they have the same issue.
The one thing I do miss is a date/time function that displays on command (or at least I haven't found it yet, and believe me, I've searched for it).
All in all, I find it a great value for the price and perfect for a bedroom/guestroom set."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:September 29, 2009

Great Combo

Pros: great picture, great sound, great remote
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
"Just received this last week and I have found it to be a great tv/vcr. I've had no problems whatsoever with sound . We are using this in our spare bedroom as a second tv and the size is perfect. We bought a 32 in Pro Scan combo tv/vrc which was awful and are returning it.
This Toshiba fits all our needs."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, Washington
Date:December 8, 2009

It's a keeper for a bedroom TV

Pros: great reception for those using an antenna
Cons: big black square blocky frame
"I have found the sound to be adequate for a bedroom. True, the volume is minimal, it's not able to blast rich deep sound like a living room theater but fine for our needs in a quite room. Many TV's today seem to have a poor digital receiver for use with an antenna. This one is as good as our Samsung or better. All channels come in clear. I see some Costco's are now carrying a 27" Samsung with 1080 res. and no DVD player for $50 more. The sound on it is weak too but it's a better looking frame. This Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo is a good TV with an excellent picture."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:January 6, 2010

Costco looks out for it's customers

Pros: great picture, easy to use remote, sleep timer is wonderful, dvd player is easy to use
Cons: speakers are located in the rear near the bottom
Model Number: 26" TV/DVD combo
"I purchased the 26" TV/DVD combo from my Costco warehouse in Aug'09 and it's been a wonderful TV with no problems. The volume is not an issue as some users have experienced. About 2 months after my purchase, I received a Costco cash card ($30) in the mail with a letter explaining the Costco buyer was able to negotiate a better price from Toshiba. They decided to pass the savings on to members that purchased the TV at the higher price. Costco didn't have to do this, but it's an example of a GREAT company showing its integrity during difficult economic times."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2009

sound bad

"Just bought one for my motor home. Sound is not loud enough."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:DC
Date:December 7, 2009

nice but video died after 2 mo

Model Number: 26LV61K
"We really liked this TV and had none of the sound issues mentioned. Nice size for our bedroom, convenient sleep timer (sounds silly but this is a deal breaker -- who wants to wade through the menu to set the sleep timer?). But last night with no warning or prelude, went to turn it on and got nothing but gray lines. No amount of unplugging, power cycling, etc. made a difference. Clearly some problem w/internal video (as even the on-screen menu would not appear). Very few options for decent TV/DVD combos, hopefully this was a fluke."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:November 19, 2009

Nice TV!

"Love this TV. The sound does go up to a high volume. Perfect size and the color and images are vivid. Enjoy having the DVD player in the TV and having only one remote. Love it so much I am buying another one for my daughter."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:September 26, 2009
Model Number: 26LV6K
"This TV/DVD combo superior to the one I had before. The sound is great and the picture is an excellent quality."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Potomac, MD
Date:December 27, 2009

Good TV

"Some reviewers of this unit are actually evaluating 19 inch set's and berating the sound quality. Agreed, I have yet to hear good sound out of any brand of 19 inch. The manufacturers are crazy to save money on speakers and lose sales. We kept a 13 inch analog set with an add-on digital tuner in the kitchen after returning a couple of 19 inch TVs with insufferable sound. BUT, we have this specific unit in a bedroom and the sound is much better, almost as good as the great sound in a 42 inch Toshiba Regza we also have. The DVD player on ours works just fine too and the picture is very good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:February 9, 2010

Excellent TV

Cons: wish it came in a 36"
"A truly excellent tv for the price and size. No problems whatsoever! No sound problems here. I did notice that I got about 10 extra channels when I started using this new TV. I also noticed that the sound has to be turned way up for the premium channels, but not for the other 50 regular channels. That would be a problem with the cable company, not my TV. The DVD works great and is effortless. I even hook up my pc to this tv when I want to watch something from the internet or play internet games on a bigger screen. I highly recommend it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Darien, Ct.
Date:September 28, 2009

What did they just say?

Pros: sleek looking set., great dvd player and remote.
Cons: volume too quiet, volume too quiet (incase you did not hear me).
Model Number: 19" lcd/dvd combo
"I agree with the other reviews. I bought the 19" combo. and while the picture is pretty good and the dvd player works great the sound is ridiculously low. Even when it is maxed out at level 50 if they whisper on the show or there is any outside noise it is just not audible and can ruin a good movie. I am looking into external speakers which really should not be necessary but unfortunately are. At least I now know it is not just my set. Come on Toshiba fix the issue."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:November 30, 2009

19" version also not loud enough

"I purchased (and returned) the 19" version of this TV at a Costco. I specifically wanted it for my kitchen when I cook. If the water was running or I had the hood fan on even low, the TV was not loud enough at the highest setting. At the higher #'s of the volume, there was not much difference."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:WV
Date:November 10, 2009

Dont buy 726260 26" Toshiba TV

Model Number: 726260
"sound is no where near loud enough
Called toshiba and they dont care
If you cant here it picture dont matter
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:September 27, 2009

Great Picture / Bad Sound

Pros: picture quality
Cons: sound system
"I bought the 19inch model w/ DVD for my motorhome. While the picture is excellent the volume must be on 50 in order to hear anything that is said.
If there is any background noise (generator, people talking outside, etc) there is just no point to watching it because you cant hear it at all. (there is only about 2 1/2 feel from TV to couch) so distance is not an issue at all. Toshiba should provide additional external speakers for this TV so it can be heard.
"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, CA
Date:February 9, 2010

Broke down after one month of rare usage

Pros: good picture quality
Cons: broke down after 1.5 months of use
"I used this TV for only about 10 hours a week and after a month and half the video and audio went dead. Static and snow was all I heard and saw.
After reading other reviews, this seems to be a common problem with this model.
The picture and sound quality was good enough for me as it was only my bedroom TV but breaking down after such a short time is unacceptable.
Costco immediately took it back after examining the unit to make sure the screen was not cracked and gave me a full refund. It was truly hassle free since it was under 90 days."
Review 17 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:January 17, 2010

Be careful of this one!

Cons: lasted one month
"I bought this as a birthday gift for my wife, and initially was pleased. However, as other reviewers have noticed, it completely died in less than 1 month of purchase! Grey screen etc. I called Toshiba Customer Service and performed the power-down procedure, but it did nothing to help, so back it went to Costco. We replaced it with a 32" Panasonic and are very pleased.
When it was working, the sound was OK in the bedroom except when we watched a DVD, when it was very hard to hear. I do not recommend this unit."
Review 18 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sacramento
Date:December 12, 2009

Sound problems

Pros: nice picture
Cons: sound too low
"I examined this product in the store with a focus on the sound issues. We had the volume turned all the way up to 50 and for some reason it sounded like it was 1/3 the volume on a normal television. Both the Costco guy and myself agreed that we would need to buy extra speakers and forget thinking about movie-theatre quality sound with this unit. If there is dialogue or whispering in a movie, you will not be able to hear it. I will go with the Proscan and take my chances with the quality."
Review 19 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, CA
Date:November 21, 2009

Had to bring it back

Pros: great picture
Cons: poor sound
Model Number: 26LV61K
"Major trouble with sound even though it was turned up maximum volume. I had a great picture but the picture went out one night, the screen went spastic white and then the sound went. Mine was obviously defective {I only had it 6 weeks} but I thought about replacing it with the same model. But I will get a different one now because after reading other reviews I realize the sound issue isn't just my particular set."
Review 20 for Toshiba 26" LCD/DVD Combo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:OC, California
Date:January 21, 2010

Do not purchase this TV

Pros: good picture
Cons: problems after 3 months of ownership
Model Number: model #37AV52U
"I bought the 37" which was a very bad purchase. The TV has gone black while DVD is still running, grey with lines, and makes a loud boom noise when turned off. The problems began within 3 months of purchasing. Sounds like this is a sound problem which is common from these reviews. I am currently waiting on a tech to come out and inspect the TV as Costco would not take the item back."
1 2 next>>